Is Broome in 2007 overated?

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 10:52
ThreadID: 42250 Views:3312 Replies:20 FollowUps:22
This topic came up over a few beers last Saturday.

Your thoughts on the subject?

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 10:55

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 10:55
G'day V8Diesel.
Perhaps you could be a little more specific. Are you talking about the fishing, the beer, the women, the sightseeing, the shopping, 'the trip', etc. A bit more details would help in formulating a worthwhile respone.
AnswerID: 221377

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:13

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:13
Hi Dio, I've left the question open ended intentionally just to see what comes up. I don't want to lead the discussion in any one direction.

I should have pointed out that I'm familiar with Broome myself, it's not a trip planning question or anything along those lines.

FollowupID: 482151

Reply By: Member - Toytruck (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:19

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:19
V8Diesel,
do you mean Broome specifically or the Kimberley Region in general???

Toytruck
AnswerID: 221378

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:25

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:25
Broome the town.
FollowupID: 482153

Reply By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:25

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:25
"Is Broome in 2007 overated"

Yes. e.g. Cable Beach is Ok (sort of) - but when compared to many others such as some of our local beaches down here in the SW it rates very low.

AnswerID: 221379

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:45

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:45
Please, please say yes. I'd love to go back and find it only half full of tourists, the way it was in the late 80's :)))))))))
AnswerID: 221381

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:08

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:08
The remainder would probably be Developers, Footyl.
FollowupID: 482156

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:18

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:18
Jeff, hadn't thought of that ! Blast, and without some tourists on Cable Beach....hmmm.....Twas my favourite spot in Oz, but now ? Haven't been back, but I know 80 mile beach is over rated and over developed so I'd guess Broome has probably gone the same way.
FollowupID: 482157

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:56

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:56
It is a nice place for an old fart like me to look at all the backpacker bikini girls though . Don't get rid of them !
FollowupID: 482160

Follow Up By: Member - Mike H (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 13:47

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 13:47
Hi Wilie
I can relate to that :-)
That's about the only thing there that gets a 'rise' out of me nowadays. LOL

Broome now isn't anything like it was back in the late 70's and 80's.

However, it's agood place to stock up with supplies when travelling through.

FollowupID: 482170

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:47

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 11:47
Broome itself is very overrated IMO.....Cable Beach is nice but there are better beaches in many other places.

IMO the Kimberley region is fantastic, so Broome is a good stop to get provisions etc and that's pretty much it.....
AnswerID: 221382

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:07

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:07
I was thinking of taking the family for a holiday to Broome and El Questro Wilderness park, no 4WD unfortunately, so spend a week or so in Broome and then 3-4 days doing El Questro, any advice..??
AnswerID: 221383

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:57

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:57
Forget El Questro , go to Kimberley Coastal Camp .
FollowupID: 482161

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 13:42

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 13:42
El Questro is very over-rated IMO. If you are passing by then by all means check it out but as already mentioned there are better and cheaper places.
FollowupID: 482169

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 13:48

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 13:48
Interesting. We skirted (actually trespassed on) El Questro , as it seemed a bit flash. Later on the trip a number of people spoke well of the place. I believe it's changed hands since then. Maybe gone downhill? Jeff.
FollowupID: 482171

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 15:49

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 15:49
El Questro isn't cheap but nor is anything these days....I personally really enjoyed our stay, planned for only 2 days but stayed for 4 days. IMO it is a waste to travel all that distance and avoid a place that is really nice to save $30 odd dollars...Seems silly to me but different strokes for different folk......Emma Gorge, Zebadee Spring, Chamberlain Gorge, El Questro Gorge are some of the great things to see and do....5pm at the bar for Happy Hour is also entertaining....
FollowupID: 482194

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 20:03

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 20:03
El Q is expensive, you have to get a Wilderness Pass (valid for a week or so) think the pass was $15 per head. Tent site (all unpowered) $15 per head per night, fires allowed. Dunnies and showers are a fair hike from the campsites. You can get a private campsite by the river if you want. Other forms of accom expensive (win Lotto lately). The Gorge tours they do are good and not badly priced. Emma Gorge is a decent walk over a boulder stroun river bed. The hot springs are ok if you can find a hole in the stream to blonk your bum. The other gorges aren't bad but the water is icy cold.

An interesting place for a few days. The restaurant is nice but not cheap as you'de expect.
Oh yes we where there at the end of June and the nights were damned cold.

FollowupID: 482236

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 20:07

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 20:07
Gday All

As far as EL Questro goes, I think you'd be mad to dodge it. They have well spaced bush camps along the pentecost r that are just far enough away from each other - not very expensive relatively speaking and more private than most places along the roads that are free. Its also a 10 minute drive back to the station for supplies, a shower & flushing toilet, and the meals at the restaraunt were great and on a par with the prices we usually pay for food of that quality.

We Quite often even do the day trip out (from KNX), have a morning swim at zebbiddee, then lunch and a few beers at the homestead before driving home. All up cost of about $75.00, its quite compareable to a days entertainment in the big smoke.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 482238

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 20:26

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 20:26
You would be lucky to get a soak at the hot springs as there is only room for a couple of doz people (max). You have to be out of the springs by mid-day as it's bus groups only in the afternoon even though you have paid your 'park' fees.
FollowupID: 482246

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 20:28

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 20:28
I'm with Andrew on this one. We loved El Questro when there last year. Had one of the private sites on the river. Look at the cost this way. If the features of the property were 200KM apart, each would be worthy of a National Park or private set up and you would happily use the fuel to travel to each one. We spent 3 nights there and could have easily spent 3 more. Yes, it is a touch expensive. But given the cost of fuel etc to get to the area, it is very small overall. It would be nice if it was free or even half the current price, but it's not.

If you are in the area don't miss it.

Reminds me of some people we met who were leaving Lawn Hill. They didn't do the canoe hire as they though it was expensive. They have no idea what they missed. Once you have done it, you would never quibble over the cost. Just fantactic. Driving that far, then pinching pennies is plain crazy.
FollowupID: 482247

Follow Up By: Member - Ron O (VIC) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 20:34

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 20:34
And don't forget brancos lookout at sunset its fantastic but need 4wd to get there
FollowupID: 482248

Follow Up By: Lyds- Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 22:20

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 22:20
get yourself a private camp site, and run around in the nuddie to prove it

get to the restaurant and have nice meal in a nice setting (I didn't think price was too bad given where you are)

have a nice soak at Zebedee

have an ale or 3 at the Homestead

have a nice walk up to Emma Gorge (its open?)

do this and don't think about the dosh, and you'll have yourself a very nice break indeed....
FollowupID: 482275

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:13

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:13
it is .. because there is nothing else ..
and thats why there are too many idiots.
gmd
AnswerID: 221384

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:23

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:23
Depends on your perpective, in our case we'd been on the road a while and really liked the little bit of civil living Broome provided. Could go on for a while but we spent a week there and are planning a return visit, which from Brisbane says something.

AnswerID: 221388

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:29

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:29
Just go, it's the journey not so much the destination IMHO, that way if you don't like it YA move on.

It's on my "to go to" list for me.

AnswerID: 221391

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:53

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 12:53
Mr Diesel ,

Last year I spent a week in Broome with my wife and had a great time . Plenty of restaurants ( Zoo was the best ) , went to Willy's Creek pearl Farm , went on a bloody uncomfortable camel ride , took great pictures of the sunsets , went for a sunset cruise on a pearl lugger and took plenty of early morning walks along Cable Beach after which I had great breakfasts at the zoo .

After 7 days I was running out of things to do , but we enjoyed our stay .

Willie .
AnswerID: 221393

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 13:41

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 13:41
Willie come clean now! Topless backpackers and boredom don't fit your profile.
Did the Boss put the foot down?
(I won't even go near your last sentence). .. ... Jeff.
FollowupID: 482168

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 14:33

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 14:33
Willie ! Cease, desist and stop. You'll give all who appreciate nature a bad rap.
PS Ever see yoga done on Cable ? It's errr...interesting .
FollowupID: 482177

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 14:49

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 14:49
G'day Willie,

A little story to teel of just one day there bear with me,

Today is fishing day for Geoff, Lynette, Lis and I. It is Geoff’s and mine 50th birthday present, a day of Sailfish fishing. The boat was El Quenta, skippered by Danny O’Sulivan, a bit of an extravagance but well worth the money. We got onto this guy by word of mouth in Derby and made arrangements from there. Danny advised us that today would by the most favourable day of the month for sailfish so we booked it.

Rang him last night to tee up our pick up from Gantheum Point, a beach where all the charter boats moor. He advised us to arrive about 5-50 for a 6am departure, we arrive about 10 minutes earlier and were somewhat concerned about the weather which was blowing up some chop on the beach. The prospects of being picked up in a small dingy was starting to look like a theme park horror ride. Well, the moment has arrived and Shaun the deckie ushers us to the end of the beach where the waves looked a little kinder. First Lynette and Geoff and then Lis and I arrive on the boat relatively dry and are introduced to Danny who welcomes us aboard and runs through some safety issues before departing.

The vessel is a 40 foot fly bridge game fishing boat (Danny and the boat as it turns out were the winning crew of the 2005 Broome Sailfish competition), very well appointed and very comfortable. Soon we were on our way, Danny had told us about an hours travel and he was expecting the winds to ease later in the morning and gave us a run down on how to fish for Sailfish. He spent a fair amount of the travel time rigging baits and rigging a couple of queen fish that would be connected without hooks to the end of the teasers. He suggested that with only 2 fishing that we would also run some marlin lures as they had also been around. Our expectations are high as yesterday they caught 3 sails.

We arrive at the destination and the water is still somewhat choppy with about a half to a meter swell but it was crystal clear. The teasers go over and so do the baits and Geoff and I are again reminded on how to hook these fish. It wasn’t long before we hit panic stations as a sail was chasing one of the teasers, it was on Geoff’s side and he was soon hooked up and then some came up and well I was over taken by the moment and broke a golden rule (tried to set the hook which usually results in a miss). All the gear comes in and Geoff lands the first sail of the day – a beautiful fish which we photograph and release. I get a lecture from Danny!

Some time later we managed a triple hook up, now this was a problem with only 2 fishing so Lynette decides to come down from the fly bridge to take on the 3rd fish. Lynette’s fish was the closest and she lands hers first my fish was jumping around near another boat about 100 meters away and Geoff’s was in the front of the boat. We managed to catch and release all 3 due to Danny’s skill in maneuvering the boat around without tangling any of the lines and Shaun’s speedy recovery of the remaining lines – great team work. This was 4 sails for the day and we were stoked.

There were a couple of boats turned up and we noticed a friendly exchange between the captains but things slowed down a little and we were able to have something to eat and drink. Lis was feeling a little off and spent some time on the fly bridge and another bait was taken, again on Geoff’s side and he lands his third sail, this was truly a special day. A little time later the bait on my side is taken by a tuna and Lis catches a nice Mack Tuna which danny rigs up for trolling to catch a marlin. This had to be seen to be believed, the tuna was all of 5 kilos and anything that would want to eat him was going to be pretty scary – but out he went on the biggest reel on the boat. It is only about 10-30 and we had already exceeded expectation. We troll for about 15 minutes when Danny decides to ditch the tuna bait as it was upsetting the other set lines (this fish is released only a little worse for wear). Not much later I catch another sail, these are just magnificent fish to look at, both in and out of the water. This is sail number six and what a great day!

The day is punctuated with several sightings of whales, dolphins, sea snakes (lots) and turtles but we continue to fish and all of the sudden a lone marlin strikes on Geoff’s side lure but fails to hook and even though he hangs around for a while we were unable to get him to strike again. A pod of 8 humpback whales get our attention and pass within 10 meters of the boat – what a great show. They were not concerned about our presence and swam closely together so not only great fishing but a magnificent whale tour to boot! Danny said another 10 minutes and we were happy with that so the baits were out again and got our attention. Someone was really smiling on us and we got another strike and again on Geoff’s side but he gives it to me (what a gentleman!) and I get to land my 3rd sail for the day (so 7 sails and 1 tuna) we could not have asked for more.

We not only have great memories but also great photos to remind us what a perfect day it was. We were fortunate with the weather, the date, the boat and the crew which all conspired to help us have such a memorable day. The word of mouth was certainly good for us as we picked a good skipper who enjoyed his job and clearly does not just take clients fishing, HE is part of the team and stated a couple of times that there was no point going if the conditions were not right. We’ll be talking about this trip for years!

See,

FollowupID: 482180

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 15:46

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 15:46
Beatit ,

A great story and well written . You could put that in Modern Fishing if you had good photos .

I will not bore you with my fishing stories - none are as exciting anyway .

Thanks for that ,

Willie
FollowupID: 482193

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 17:27

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 17:27
Did someone mention TOPLESS backpackers????? Long drive to see those, instead try any of the less populated beaches on the South coast of NSW in the summer. My personal choice is on the beach near Camel Rock at Bermagui. The poor things obviously have not even enough money to afford correct beach attire, I did request centrelink to send out a "salvation" team equipped with cash handouts and swimwear but as these persons were a) not single mums, b) not a minority ethnic group and c) not of aboriginal or torres straight islander background they refused.

Yes Broome is a place one should see but it is an overrated destination.
FollowupID: 482206

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 00:47

Wednesday, Feb 14, 2007 at 00:47
Basil,

Yes,,,,,,,,but we'll always have Paris,,,,,,,,,,,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 482305

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 14:16

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 14:16
V8Diesel - Haven't been in 2007 so can't say. But I would have rated it as average last time we were there a few years ago. Too touristy! Assume it would be worse by now.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 221414

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 14:27

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 14:27
We were in Broome last year and quite enjoyed it for a short stay. It does not have anything all that fantastic, but it was a nice town. We enjoyed our time in Cape Leveque.

Downside for us was ElQuestro. Overpriced, over rated and over booked! We'd sleep in the car rather than go back there.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 221418

Reply By: Member - John L G - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 19:00

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 19:00
First there in 1969 when doing a 12 month stint at Derby Hospital. We used to spend WE's there or drive down for a Chinese meal with the boys in the back of the ute with a carton and the girls and dogs in the front driving. A chineses meal then was served by Mama Kim on the front verandah of her and hubby's fishing shack/home with the days catch drying on the clothes line above the table.

Broome then was China Town, the real china town, the Conti and Roebuck Pubs, the Hospital, School, Cop Shop, Council and probably 30 houses and of course the Male family ruled.

Cable beach was a battle to get to in our utes as 4wds were for rich people but many serious parties were held there.

Broome then was a special place but now it's simply another commercial town smothering what it was once famous for, which was an unspoilt environment there for the purpose of pearling and meat export.
AnswerID: 221480

Reply By: Spango - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 21:37

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 21:37
I remember Broome in the late 60's, you could walk Cable Beach and not see anybody, we use to live in Derby and holiday at a Caravan Park near what was the old Wharf, have cheap feed of Chinese, went back in 2003 after 35 years, what an over commercialised dump, could not get out of there quicker enough. In the tourist season it is absolute chaos no traffic control whatsoever, we ended going to Derby instead, lot quieter.
AnswerID: 221526

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 21:42

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 21:42
Broome is the most over rated tourist destination in Australia by far. The local tourism board could sell ice to the Eskimo's I'm sure. A photo with a pearl lugger, a nice sunset & a bunch of camels & somehow it's rated as the number 2 destination in Oz, behind the Great Barrier Reef! Ya got to be kidding, it's not even close. My mate went last year in July (when the cyclones aren't blowing;-) & couldn't believe he'd been sucked in by all the hype to travel so far for so little. There is no doubt it's a great touist town if you like crowds & I'd certainly drop in for a few days if I was passing through but wouldn't make a special trip that's for sure.
Cheers Craig...............
AnswerID: 221527

Reply By: Lyds- Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 22:36

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 22:36
Broome is a chance to rejoin civilisation for a moment after the dusting you copped through the Kimberley. Its a turning point for the great trek you have made from your home many tousands of kilometres away...

Touristy? you bet it is, and thank god for that as it gives you a differnet holiday as part of your bigger holiday!

If you have kids its a must: Maccas, camel rides, bus tours, movies, lazy sailing on a pearl lugger, the pearl farms, coastal beaches, shopping centres, and its not another gorge!

Take it for what it is and become a tourist for a few days.
AnswerID: 221550

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:38

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2007 at 23:38
Dunno about 2007

1982 was a year for a two month visit...and then again in 1984 when we spent 4 months beachcombing the place. Went close to near my ancestors colour lying on the beach in the raw. Did some work for Lord McAlpine who was trying to put Broome on the map. He succeeded.

Did all the stuff one does in Broome. T'was a laid back, easy-going place. Ate turtle on the beach with some mates, and scoured the coastline for all sorts of indiginous delights.

Today I would say it would be akin to Port Douglas in the tourist season. Jampacked Grey Nomads all queueing to get into a caravan park and buying up souvenirs to say that they had been there.

The natural wonders and historic sites would still be there if you could ignore the throngs of people.

I wonder if the lot of the Kennedy Hill people has improved?

I haven't been back since that time.

Prefer the solitude of the deserts instead.

AnswerID: 221567

Reply By: Grizzle - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 17:08

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 17:08
We went to Broome in May 2006 for our 20th Wedding anniversary. Stayed at Cable Beach Resort. Very nice but Broome boring. We hired a 4WD and drove to Cape Leveque. OUTSTANDING!!!. Worth it just for that

AnswerID: 221912

Reply By: Im.away - Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 19:31

Thursday, Feb 15, 2007 at 19:31
Did Broome in April and August 2006. Like any place in Australia, it's what YOU make of it that counts. We went to relax, and relax we did! On both occasions we went to the Thursday night concert at The Pearl Luggers featuring the Pigram Brothers. Absolutely magnificent!

We did the sunset at Cable beach, stairway to the moon and most of the other touristy things. The only grumble I had was the wait for a feed at the kiosk on Cable Beach. We also went to Cape Leveque, stopping at Beagle Bay and Middle Lagoon as well. We did it as a day trip out of Broome.

The other major issue was that Avis would not let us take the hire 4WD onto Cable Beach!! I was wondering why they bother to hire 4WD's out if you can't actually use them for 4WDing?

We ate at a heap of different restaurants and enjoyed them all. The Mrs got herself a pearl and I got a stack of brownie points for that.

Would I do it again? Maybe. We'll be up that way again this August to spend a month or two at Middle Lagoon, so we'll at least drop into Broome for some stores...and maybe another Pigram Brothers concert.
AnswerID: 221941

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 07:36

Friday, Feb 16, 2007 at 07:36
Is Broome over rated in 2007? Is Kakadu Kakadon't? Is the Great Barrier Reef swamped by snorkelling tourists? Is Sydney just another city? Is Uluru not as good as the photos in glossy magazines? Has the Gibb River Road got as much traffic as Bourke Street?

Yeah maybe for some!! But, I'm still going to have another look.

Go with a sense of adventure and enthusiasm and you'll find something to enjoy out of most things. The look of Broome has changed, it's more crowded and touristy than years past but nothing can change the history that's still there if you take the time to look and nothing can take away the beauty of a sunset over Cable Beach.

Viv
AnswerID: 222030