Any phone coverage in Fraser Island?

Submitted: Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 15:15
ThreadID: 99633 Views:4692 Replies:10 FollowUps:2
Hi so i will be going to fraser island on Thursday and i was wondering if anyone has any experience with phone coverage with Telstra.

I have been reading a lot, some people say yes, some people say no. so i am confused.

I checked on instagram the hastag (#fraserisland) and started asking questions to everyone who had pictures up. (There is even a check-in on lake mcenzie) And most of the people with Telstra told me there is service. around MOST of the aera meaning they had service most of the time. One of them even told me "Yes mate im responding you from fraser island right now". Another guy told me that sometimes he didnt have service but since there are towers from telstra on the island he was able to get service a lot of times.

So i just want a little more clarification.
Thanks and this is the first time i post

Reply By: baz&pud (tassie) - Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 15:53

Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 15:53
Hey Leo,
We have had good reception when camping at Inskip Point, and Fraser isn't that far away, so i would say you will get reception, but not necessarily on the whole island.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 500996

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 15:55

Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 15:55
Theres some on the main resort on the west coast, and not a lot elsewhere, but that was when I was there a few and a bit years ago, still its an opportunity for Telstra so of course it'd be getting better .......

AnswerID: 500997

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 16:01

Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 16:01
It possibly doesn't get any clearer than the information you already have. In some locations there is Telstra service & in others there is not. Have a real holiday & turn the thing off ;-) Ironically the one place I needed service to book a campsite it wouldn't work :-) Have fun.
Cheers Craig...............
AnswerID: 500998

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 17:12

Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 17:12
Yes, that's an interesting thing about the Qld NP camping permit system. You have to get a permit, but very often there is no coverage with which to get it.

One time, years ago in the earlier days of mobile phones when I had a $10 plan and expensive calls (a bit like a sat phone today. Used only for emergencies) I did get through for a park west of Caloundra, I think it was. A $13 phone call for a $10 camping permit. Not just my name, rego and credit card, but next of kin (x2), phone numbers, addresses yada, yada, yada and she at the other end trying to work a crapped out computer booking system.

I hope they've streamlined it since then.

FollowupID: 777041

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 18:03

Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 18:03
There are several Telstra towers providing Next G service on Fraser Island, however they are positioned at locations of permanent residences so the reception can be patchy away from those areas.
I have achieved reception at more remote locations using an external Next G antenna.
I have only been interested in Telstra so have no knowledge of other carriers but I would think not due to the low commercial usage.

AnswerID: 501002

Reply By: troopy 47 - Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 18:54

Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 18:54
We where there last year and had coverage with Telstra most of the time we stayed at happy valley and went over to kingfisher bay and still had reception.
AnswerID: 501003

Reply By: George_M - Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 21:09

Monday, Dec 24, 2012 at 21:09
There is a Telstra tower at Eurong, on the east coast, Leo. You will also have Telstra coverage for a small area around Indian Head - not sure where the tower is.

Coverage on the west coast is very good.

Have you had a look at a Telstra coverage map? That should answer all of your questions about Telstra coverage.

George_M

Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

AnswerID: 501007

Reply By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2012 at 00:55

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2012 at 00:55
Like a lot of "remote places" or fringe reception areas.

Coverage can depend on how good ya phone is and exactly where you are.

My current nokia, gets two bars and works fine in places where my wifes samsung just wont play.

The locals will know where the coverage is.

A mate of mine has moved to a town in the brisbane valley..everybody goes to the cemetry to use their mobiles.....back in the day of anaolge phones the size of a brick....I was doing an aerial job on straddy.....the pager went off....the customer told me stand between that big rock and the fire hydrant cover in the park across the road and you'll be rock solid..sure enough.

When in doubt find a hill.......coverage can come from places you would not expect.

AnswerID: 501022

Reply By: gbc - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2012 at 06:37

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2012 at 06:37
Putting the above all together, the southern end is covered from the mainland. kingfisher and the lower west beach up to Coongul creek is covered by Hervey bay. North of there it is very patchy. There are two telstra towers on the back beach, one at Eurong, one behind Orchid beach. They aren't very strong outside of the relevent townships, but they are good and reliable in close. So there you have it, where once my phone never worked on the island, now I have to choose my campsites more carefully lest the bloody thing ring! Merry Christmas :)

AnswerID: 501026

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2012 at 08:41

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2012 at 08:41
Well gbc, if you choose your campsites more casually, the bloody thing won't ring and disturb your peace! LOL

FollowupID: 777071

Reply By: Member - Glen B (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2012 at 11:20

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2012 at 11:20
Telstra works on most of the Eastern Beach and even at Sandy Cape. Optus coverage is minimal.

AnswerID: 501039

Reply By: Pegasus_rise - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 12:13

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2012 at 12:13
Been to Fraser twice this year, would agree with gbc's summary. Eurong and Orchid beach have good coverage, but it is unreliable away from there. I found that along the eastern beach you can sometimes get reception when you get close to the waters edge, but not when camped in the dunes.
As others have said, it doesn't hurt to turn the phone off sometimes!

Regards Gary
AnswerID: 501066