A short (???) run to Lake Eyre

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 17:06
ThreadID: 85926 Views:4079 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
5AM Friday morning and the house is stirring. We are off by 6AM and well ahead of any heavy traffic. First stop is Wagga for an egg and bacon sandwich. Next stop is Mildura for fuel and then Renmark. 12 hours after leaving home we are at Renmark. Half way to Marree the step off point for tours to Lake Eyre. Leaving Renmark and a night of doof-doof sounds from a few local yokels, it's full steam ahead to Hawker for fuel and a bite to eat. Small detour as I turned the GPS voice off and missed a turn. Just a small 60Kms detour. But we make up a little time and get to Marree in plenty of time to check out the town and the lake Eyre Yacht Club. Tom Kruse's old mail truck is still there and a bunch of old Ghan engines. Not much more in Marree so we lie down and wait for dinner. Asleep by 9:30 in the old Marree Hotel. I don't think I would rate the bed too highly. Woken nice and early by a family of birds nesting in the wall. It was quite pleasant actually.

At 9:30 we climbed aboard the helicopter for a 90 minute flight over Lake Eyre. I will hope to get one or two videos up on our account on youtube and will give you the link when uploaded. It was fantastic. The lake is over half full with water in Lake Eyre up to 2M deep just above Jackboot Bay. We flew straight up to the area between the two halves of the lake, Lake Eyre South and Lake Eyre North. We then flew down the banks of lake Eyre South and back to Marree. We got down to less than 500 meters. Low enough to see the salt sparkling. Just above a Wedge Tailed Eagle. You could see the pinkish shade of the algae. Unfortunately we are not allowed to land. The "local" mob doesn't like it.

After the flight it was into the trusty Toyota to start our trip home. But at a much different rate. We have three days to get home. Not two like the drive over. First stop is Parachilna where we are staying at the Prairie Hotel. This place is quite well known for all its Australian "game" meat meals, Kangaroo, camel, emu etc. Not really our choice but dinner was must welcome. A magnificent sunset on our cabin and a good meal ended the best day for ages. A bonus at about 9PM when a coal train rumbled through town. 168 BCH bilk coal hoppers. That makes 1.87Kms of train, not including the three big diesels pulling it. Just 50 Feet from our cabin, on the old Ghan train line that is now upgraded for coal transport to Port Augusta to fuel the Adelaide power generation. I was in my element. The driver let a whole series of blasts on the horns. People came from everywhere to wave and watch. It was over 17300 tonnes. A BIG train.

Monday we head east through the Flinders Ranges and then swing south to Wilpena, hoping to see something of the ruggedness of the area. Quite disappointed but it may have been my choice of roads. You cannot drive into the pound and we did not see any lookout. Plenty of ways of walking into Wilpena Pound, but that's physically beyond us. Oh well.

Next stop is Broken Hill via a few cross country tracks to pick up the Barrier Highway at Yunta. FLAP, FLAP, FLAP. Oh hell I think there goes a stub axle. Luckily it was the tread coming off one of the older tyres. Changed tyres and we are off. Not long after a cuppa on the side of the road we come across a bloke stuck in the soggiest, stickiest mud. He is making headway very slowly. Naturally we stop to lend a hand. After a while we decide to hook up to our car with a snatch strap and get him out. The strap does its job and he is out. Tidy up and off to an Egg and Bacon sandwich at Yunta. We get to Broken Hill just in time to find a Fish and Chips shop still open. Some tucker and its in to bed.

Because we only took one spare on this trip we decide to stay with the traffic and not come home via the Menindee Lakes and the dirt roads. Down to Mildura and home in Canberra at 11PM. Phew. A killing drive but you have to take the chance when you can. I would do it again. It was well worth it.

I do not have a blog so this is the report.

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 17:10

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 17:10
There are a few photos on Photobucket as well.

Lake Eyre Easter 2011

AnswerID: 452582

Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 17:34

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 17:34
Bloody Terrific Phil

Great way to spend a few days Thanks for sharing

Cheers Teza
FollowupID: 725280

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 18:21

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 18:21
No worries.

FollowupID: 725292

Reply By: member-PradoMad - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 17:40

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 17:40
It's what you have to do sometimes in this big and beautiful country of ours!
I used to do a lot of those 'trips' when I was single.
I used to leave Sydney at 12am and first stop would be Dubbo at 4:00am for breakfast at the Shell Roadhouse....bloody crazy if I think about it now.
JS.
AnswerID: 452589

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 18:20

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 18:20
Too true.

I used to jump into the Kingswood straight after work on Friday, drive to see my girl and later wife in Sydney, alll non stop, and get back just in time for a shower and shve for the Monday Parade. Twits. uBt we were in love. $2 years ago and still married to her.

The Mondays were the longest days ever.

The Lake Eyre trip was awesome. Glad you enjoyed the report.

FollowupID: 725291

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 18:46

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 18:46
Any excuse is a good excuse to head out the desert Phil. Love your dedication for a 1 & 1/2 flight :-) How is the bird life on the lake at the moment?
Cheers Craig...............
AnswerID: 452605

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 19:28

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 19:28
Not a lot of birdlife actually on the lake as it is quite salty. We saw the odd crow etc and a beautiful Wedge Tailed Eagle though.

FollowupID: 725302

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 19:03

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 19:03
G'day Phil

Bloody wonderful video!! Made my day.

Not normaly my type of music, but I loved it.... can you tell me who it is (singing) and what album it is from please?

Thanks for the report on your trip, damn fine trip, wish I had done it!

Cheers, Dave
AnswerID: 452607

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 19:31

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 19:31
Oh dear!! Its Slim Dusty and I am sorry I do not know the albums. I got them from Youtube. I received a general warning that they may breach copyright though. Thats a sham as this is just between friendly 4WD people. A mob that he always stuck up for.

FollowupID: 725303

Reply By: member-PradoMad - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 19:04

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 19:04
a few weeks ago we drove from Sydney down to VIC high country just to drive about 150km on some awesome off road tracks, staying one night, then back to Sydney.
--1500km, --27hrs. driving!!
JS.
AnswerID: 452608

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 19:33

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 19:33
Mad mugs aren't we??

FollowupID: 725304

Reply By: vk1dx - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 20:03

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 20:03
Thanks for the response. But any replies from me will have to wait until tomorrow. I did this trip with a 36+ temp and its now just hit 38.5. Two things got me. My blood problem and the first ever flu injection two+ weeks ago!!!!!! Bloody doctors said I would be fine.

So Phil will respond when he is better.

AnswerID: 452617

Follow Up By: member-PradoMad - Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 21:19

Thursday, Apr 28, 2011 at 21:19
hope you feel better soon.
I'm better off WITHOUT the injection.
JS.
FollowupID: 725321

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 02:31

Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 02:31
Reckon so. I still cannot sleep and its damned boring lying in bed.

Unfortunately there are a couple of complications that I must be very careful of. So this appeared the best way for me.

FollowupID: 725360

Reply By: Sigmund - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 08:04

Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 08:04
Thanks for the TR.

Go to Arkaroola and aroundabout if you want rugged in the Flinders Ranges.
AnswerID: 452686

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 08:25

Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 08:25
We didn't have time. Unfortunately.

FollowupID: 725374

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 08:51

Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 08:51
Arkaroola! One of my two favourite places in Australia. The other is Lawn Hill Gorge. Similar colours but more water!
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 725381

Follow Up By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 09:17

Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 09:17
Arkaroola! One of my two favourite places in Australia. The other is Lawn Hill Gorge. Similar colours but more water!
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 725383