Cooper Creek Update

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 10:22
ThreadID: 85394 Views:2631 Replies:7 FollowUps:11

Things have been a little quiet on The Cooper Creek and the ferry lately, so I tried to contact my contact person in Port Augusta last week and it turned out that she was literally taking a flying visit of the ferry site and checking first hand on the Birdsville Track conditions. I was able to phone her on a Friday and this is what I can report.

They drove to Marree and then flew along the Birdsville Track, inspected the upgraded ferry, flew the length on the Cooper Creek to see first hand its very slow progress and then flew into a land locked Birdsville for a refuel and then flew the full length of the Birdsville Track back to Marree.

I will receive a full report soon and photos of the work that was carried out on the ferry. What I can tell you is that the head of the flow coming down the Cooper is around 130 kilometres from the ferry site as of late last week and moving very slow. The northern section of the Birdsville Track is under water and the only way into Birdsville is by air and that the swales between all the sand dunes are full of water.

Until I get the full details, have a great weekend, what is left of it.

Reply By: Member - reggy 2 (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 10:47

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 10:47
HI
It looks grim for early travellers this year I hope it clears by mid July as there is a trip planned for the Madigan
Will be waiting for further updates .
AnswerID: 450159

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 11:00

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 11:00
Hi Reggy

It it is certainly looking like another crazy year, as under normal conditions for this time of the year, the Birdsville Track should be a dry track and only kicking up dust.

Lets all hope that things get back to normal very soon.

All the best with your trip planning and make sure that you have lots of plugs and good tyre changing gear for your trip, you will have a ball.

FollowupID: 722618

Reply By: Member - Graham N (SA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 11:36

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 11:36
Hi Stephen,
Thanks for the report and looking forward to the update, especially the length of vehicle the punt can carry Gov. web site till showing 7.8 mtrs. I read a report that they have lengthened it by 2 mtrs if that is also the extra length it can carry it should be good. Keep up the good work thank again.

Graham
AnswerID: 450165

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:04

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:04
Hi Graham

One of the first questions that I asked Juanita was the new official length. I can say unofficially that the new length will be 9.9 metres, or just over 2 metres longer than the present length on the internet and will be able to take nearly all camper trailers which will be great news for travellers with campers.

The moment that I do get the official details, I will post it here on the forum.

FollowupID: 722632

Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:48

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:48
Thanks for your report, I will take a trip up to the ferry when it is in action, then I hope it dries out for the Birdsville race this year.

AnswerID: 450177

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:53

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:53
Hi Cuff

No one wants to see a repeat of last years washed out race. Lets keep our fingers crossed that things dry out nicely well before then.

FollowupID: 722654

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 01:23

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 01:23
The races should be alright if friends that we met on the Simpson last year stay at home LOL, they have been to the races twice the first time was the Equine Flu the second was last year, we have told them we will not go to the races if that destination is in their plans. They live in Tassie.

Thanks for the update Stephen.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 722740

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:09

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:09
Hi Deanna

Don't worry about your friends from Tasmania, I am the one to watch out for. Me and holidays = RAIN, guaranteed.

Back in January when it was in the low 40's C here in Clare, we wanted to get away for a short break, so we booked 9 days over on Kangaroo Island for the middle of March just gone. Usually this time of the year should be just perfect over on KI, but no, watch out KI, Stephen is on his way.

It rained most of the time and the night that we got into Kingscote, we got drowned putting the tent up. Lucky for us it was an Oztent and did not leak one drip of rain during the torrential downpour the rest of the night...apart from the very wet drips inside the tent (Stephen and Fiona..LOL). Next morning we wake to one very went Caravan Park, with 110mm of rain having fallen that night.

It was quite comical next morning with a lot of people feeling sorry for us in the tent with all that rain, all asking how wet did we get. When we said that we were as snug as a bug in a rug and no water at all in the tent, they looked very puzzled, saying that they even had water coming in their pop top caravans.

So the moral of this is, it you want rain, just ask me to come along and it is guaranteed to rain, so I will keep away from Birdsville races.

FollowupID: 722763

Follow Up By: landseka - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:28

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:28
Well Stephen, trust me you are VERY welcome to come for a visit to S/W WA if you are looking for a holiday. We sure need some rain.
I just heard yesterday that it has been 60 odd days since we got the last drop. That would only have been a drop too.

Cheers Neil
FollowupID: 722767

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 14:08

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 14:08
Hi Neil

Yes we hear over hear in SA that things are very grim over in the West with your weather. Lets hope that you have good opening rains very soon.

Thanks for your reply.

FollowupID: 722813

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 15:00

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 15:00
While you are at it Stephen, bring your family to parched Perth, we really need a good downpour here at the moment, have just seen a news report that one of the main damns for water supply is only at 9%, not sure how accurate that report is but I do know that when we go past Mundaring Weir, (which is on a regular basis) the damn has been getting lower and lower, the worst we have ever seen it. So please do come and visit. LOL

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 722814

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:19

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:19
Hi Stephen,

Thanks for the update.
I am planning to travel to the Cooper along the Birdsville Track of the Easter/Anzac break.
Just a little water in the Cooper is all that we require:-)

Bill.

AnswerID: 450182

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:57

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 14:57
Hi Bill

There is still lots of water all the way along the Cooper and the only way that they could see how far south it had advanced was where they could see water discolouration where the fresh new water was meeting the water still in the Cooper. The way the temperatures are up that way at the moment, it would like being in paradise, camped by the Cooper.

Have a great time up there.

FollowupID: 722656

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 18:28

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 18:28
G'day mate thanks for the report,i'm thinking about going up to our spot on the Coopers just like last year, on the June long week end as i have that week off.cheer's GD
AnswerID: 450214

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 19:41

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 19:41
Hi Pete

Not sure of what we are up to at this stage. We will have to keep a close eye on the conditions up there.

FollowupID: 722705

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 18:28

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 18:28
G'day mate thanks for the report,i'm thinking about going up to our spot on the Coopers just like last year, on the June long week end as i have that week off.cheer's GD
AnswerID: 450215

Reply By: Teraa - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 20:02

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 20:02
That's really weird cause Phil at Mungeranie said that Sa roads only drove to the Cooper then went back he was kind annoyed cause they had left the road closed to his place and didn't even look at it so him and Pam had to go down and check it's conditon. I was kinda worried about the really bad washout on a blind bend, hopefully the boys will get to it before anyone gets hurt there. Tell me how do you check a road in a plane. We all got told as well Birdsville was out of Avgas and that's why we never had a mail plane. Hopefully they have had some come in so we can get the mail plane. But anyway got a old local in a plane mustering on the Cooper he reckons 6 weeks and another says June but definitley not the water that was there last year but there are other rises which look larger, first rise is at Lake Hope only 40km from the track.
AnswerID: 450230

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:06

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:06
Hi Tess

I will comment unofficially as I do not have any facts, but as you know, north of Mungeranie has always been problems and if it is still very wet, then travel on the already wets roads would only lead them to be cut up even further. If someone tries to get through and ran into serious trouble and the road was open, then Transport SA could be in all sorts of trouble. If the road is closed - for very good reasons, then there is no way of really knowing just how far wide spread the water is, so a plane flight would seem feasible to see just how much water there is out there, as well as the main reason and checking just where the new water is coming down the Cooper.

As for fuel situations in Birdsville, one again I have no idea, but must have not been a problem last week, or else they would not have been able to get any there.

When I get the full details, I will post them.

FollowupID: 722753