Submitted: Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 00:21
Markymark
Hi all, a late one but just came
home from a friends place who are going to the centre with us during mid-year school holidays. We're travelling from Victoria and have a rough sketch of the trip but not having been there before, would appreciate some recommended stays. Have done a bit of research but as we're pushed for time we won't be able to see everything. First thing:
1. From
Renmark to
Port Augusta, we're thinking of going through
Burra and
Peterborough, which looks like the easiest way on the map. Does anyone have pros/cons on this route?
Coober Pedy: How long to
check this out, we're thinking a few hours or overnight depending when we get to leave.
3. The Centre itself: For this trip we're trying to stick to the West McDonald Ranges. Two nights at Uluru/Olgas, two nights Kings Canyon, a visit to Alice and from here do set up base (wind-up campers) and do day trips or take our campers with us? At the moment we've 'locked in'
Palm Valley & Ormiston
Gorge. Yes there's heaps of other areas but which ones are really worth checking out and how long to do them?
Lots of questions but even if you could answer one part for us we would greatly appreciate it and of course, on our return we can give our experience back to the
forum which is what it's all about isn't it?
Thanks in advance,
Mark.
Reply By: Oldman - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 03:13
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 03:13
Hi just got back for there towing my Cub Camper.
I wouldn't worry to much about how you get there but
Burra and Petersborough ares a nice stop for a cupa.
We went
Renmark to
Woomera (had a look at Roxby Down - 80ks from
Woomera, good place to fix a
puncture,
Renmark Big 4 by the river is great)
Woomera to
Coober Pedy - depending on how much time you want to look around but can see a lot in a few hours. We left next day after a short look around
Coober Pedy to Yulara/Uluru where we spent two nights - in my opinion enough. I reckon the Olgas is better value and worth seeing why you are there
Yulara to Kings Canyon where we spent two nights - did the
Rim walk which was great. Could have spent another night as the
camp site there was great
Kings Canyon to
Alice Springs (via bituman but there is a dirt track you can take if it is OK) where we spent two WET nights. I think if weather is better and have time you may want to spend more time here. We went and saw the West McDonald Ranges and had time to do only one of the walks. We left camper at Alice. Big 4
camp is good.
On the way back we went from Coober to Williams Creek and down the
Oodnadatta to
Marree then
Marree to
Renmark (broke a bloody back window on trip to
Marree - I did not put some cardborad up to defelect stones bouncing off camper
Just a hint - lots of driving here - we get those CD story books to listen to - keeps ya awake - good thing while driving.
Weather was hot going up - 39 degrees and coober very humid. Once we got there it was mild, nights cold.
Reply By: Member - John L G - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 05:04
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 05:04
Don't you guys go to bed??????????????
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 07:56
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 07:56
They must be
young 'uns who always go to bed LATE!!!!
We Ole Farts get up early, eh?.......................hahahaha
Follow Up By: Oldman - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 01:51
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 01:51
Don't be so sure re age.
Us oldies have to get up and take a #$% more often.
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 07:54
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 07:54
Marky
Remember that there is a Fruit Fly Roadblock just before
Renmark. Don't attempt to bring oodles of fruit and vegies with you. You can buy good quality fresh food in the Riverland.
The road from
Renmark to
Morgan is OK. Have a look around
Morgan and a relax by the river. There is a nice bread
shop there.
Morgan to
Burra is one smooth bitumen highway and you could go over the speed limit quite easily.
Burra to
Peterborough needs an upgrade.
Peterborough to
Port Augusta is reasonable and quite a pretty drive. The boring bit is PA to Uluru or
Alice Springs.
Coober Pedy is an interesting place for a one off visit. A day would suffice.
Out from Alice you could spend a lifetime looking at all the natural wonders. The length of time to do them is up to you. I could go up one of the gorges with an inflatable mattress and just laze around all day on the waters. There are many
places that tourists do not know of. A nice drive is out along Namatjira Drive via
Glen Helen, Tylers
Lookout, Gosse
Bluff and back to Alice via
Hermannsburg. Don't forget to head out to the East MacDonnel Ranges to Arltunga, Ruby Gap or N'dhala
Gorge.
Take your woolies with you as the nights can be a tad fresh in the Centre.
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:02
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:02
A few brief thoughts on th centre.........
The Rock is
the Rock of course (a walk round the 9.5km base is worthwhile too)...... the taller Olgas are better value IMO .... the Valley of the winds walk is outstanding !
Kings Canyon, early or late on a lovely day is fabulous on the
rim walk (the short valley walk does nothing to display the 'riches' there IMO) - takes a few hours to appreciate the rim - with a blue sky and some sunshine, you might be blown away (few pics on my site -
http://users.picknowl.com.au/darian).
Palm Valley is great - several visits to date - we will be back. Three walks - the one right down to the bottom of the valley (the one that takes a loop track back to the
carpark) is good - from right down there you can see west to the "palm paddock" - a giant basin that locals used to hold stock in.
The Mpara walk (the longest) has outstanding
views of the areas - in several
places, kids would need to be supervised very carefully though - possible to take a tumble here and there - no guarding used, but sensible walkers have nothing to worry about. Gosse's
bluff west of
Glen Helen, plus Ormiston
Gorge are good - as you get closer to the Alice though on that Namatjira trail, the gorges get a bit tiresome and are thrashed by tourists (like us :-o).
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:39
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:39
Having lived at Waikerie for 9 years I'll give you a quik one on the Riverland,
Renmark to
Burra section, Sealed good road, , a bit windy through Glossop, Nice C/park on Lakeside Drv
Barmera near
Lake Bonney, Site of failed attempt of world water speed record by the late Sir Donald Campbell in 1964, From
Barmera to
Morgan you have 2 ways North or South of the River, if you want to see Waikerie,
Ramco, stay on the Sturt Hwy, after going through
Ramco , up the
hill and 1.9 Ks from the old Church turn Left and have a look at Sunlands Irrigation ,after that keep heading to
Morgan and cross the Ferry , Some very old buildings and Pubs in
Morgan plus
the Wharf,
Doug
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:48
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:48
Er...Doug.....One can turn west 16 kms from
Renmark and go via
Monash and Overland Corner and miss all the traffic along the Sturt Hwy.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:51
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 09:51
I know Willem, but then they will miss
Berri, I use to go that way in the Trucks,
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 10:02
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 10:02
Ahhh....
Berri....yes......some famous EO forumites live there. A small town with a BIG
bridge
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 10:26
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 10:26
Willem
I havn't seen the new
Bridge at
Berri, was camping at Martins Bend for about 5 months in 1990 , having a break from Trucks and just divorced , had a job at the cannery,
Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 10:12
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 10:12
Mark, We (2 adults, 3 kids ) drove from
Melbourne to
Port Wakefield, then to
Coober Pedy, and spent 2 nights there. Toms working
mine is a must see, oasis pub and many other underground houses and churches. We spent 4 nights at Ayers
Rock, there are many reasons why they won't let u climb
the rock, eg: to windy, to wet , to hot, it pretty much has to be a perfect day. The Olgas are also fantastic, and a must see. From there we went to Kings Canyon where we spent 3 nights and did the walk around the rim, magnificent!
Alice Springs, we spent 12 nights at Alice and everday we spent sightseeing, West and East Mac. Ranges including all the gorges, Larapinta Drive Meerenie Loop,
Palm Springs Finke Gorge National Park , Flying Doctors,, School of Air, a reptile park which has all the deadliest snakes in Australia where u can carry a large python and last but not least is the
Alice Springs Desert Park of Australia.
Coming
home we came down the
Oodnadatta Track , via Ood. and Willem Creek ( great little place ) and
Coward Springs, a fantastic camping spot, then we turned down the Borefield Track to
Roxby Downs 2 nights,
Woomera then
home.
Hope some of this helpful in your trip,
Have a great trip,
cheers, Lance
Follow Up By: navaraman - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 17:43
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 17:43
Lance S (Vic) posted .....and Willem Creek......
I knew the old bugger was famous around those parts, but not that famous. We are not worthy,
Patrolman Pat
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 17:50
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 17:50
Hahahahahahahaha..yes...I saw that too.......:-D
Follow Up By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 18:11
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 18:11
U should be so privledged William??
I shood triple chech mi wurds.
all the best guys, Lance
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 18:24
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 18:24
Lance
You better
check again as you got it wrong again...lol
Reply By: Hairy - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 11:42
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 11:42
Sounds like you pretty
well know what you want to see, but I wouldnt try and plan too much, just take each day as it comes.
Dont want to put a dampener on your trip BUT dont walk around Alice at night, even down
well lit areas, if you want to go out get a cab and get dropped of at the door.
Reply By: GrahamK - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 13:02
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 13:02
If you want some serious off road adventure we did the
boggy hole track ..2 days one night ..stayed at Kings canyon then through
Boggy Hole to Helensburgh the most fantastic off road experience you could expect to get travelling up the
Finke river valley mostly in the dry river bed with a great free
camp site at
boggy hole room for 20 vehicles
Graham
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 18:53
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 18:53
Boggy Hole Serious off road? Good grief!
BTW its
Hermannsburg not Helensburgh.
Reply By: Member - Marilyn P (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 15:46
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 15:46
For peacefulness:
Rainbow Valley - there is still water in the claypan.
Reply By: Markymark - Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 22:02
Saturday, Apr 14, 2007 at 22:02
Thanks everyone for your replies.
Oldman, I had heard the Big 4 in Alice was good, unaware of one at
Renmark which we'll be staying at (I think) so that'll be handy. Do you need to pre-book a site during school holidays for either, or are they big enough?
Willem, thanks for the reminder of fruit fly area. We often travel up to the murray and buy it up there, heaps to choose from and fresh! Will look into those spots listed along Namatjira Drive.
Darian, nice website, very professional, did you do that yourself? We have small kids in tow (youngest 6), do you think they could do the Valley of Winds walk? We won't take them on the
rim walk at Kings Canyon but will do the bottom one instead.
Doug, thanks for detailed report of
Renmark and on areas.
Lance, was mentioned above
Coober Pedy could be done in a few hours, is that enough time to visit the things you mentioned?
Hairy, cheers on the warning in Alice.
Graham, was wondering about that track, we'll have to miss it due to time limits. Thanks anyways.
Marilyn, hadn't even heard of
Rainbow Valley, thanks for the tip!
While I'm at it, will we have to book camping sites at Uluru, Kings Canyon & Alice? I'm sure the parks themselves will tell us we have to, so they lock in our business, but what's the go?
Cheers everyone.
Reply By: Oldman - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 01:57
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 01:57
Hi - I would pre book the
Renmark Big 4. They told me they were full up at
Easter (we were there the day before) so school hols will be worse.
try to get a river frontage site and enjoy the view of the sunsets.
Only problem I had weas there was a bit of road noise .
Have a good one
Follow Up By: Markymark - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 18:01
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 18:01
thanks for the advice,
Mark.
Reply By: Member -Truk (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 11:38
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 11:38
Hi Mark,
We have just returned from 5 week trip to
Perth and back to
Brisbane via the Centre. This is our second trip to the Centre, our first in 2002.
We recommend possibly 2 nights at
Coober Pedy as I am sure you could fill in a day looking around.
As an alternative to climbing Uluru, we decided on a cultural tour with 2 local elders in the early morning after viewing sunrise on
the rock. This trip we did 'Valley of the Winds',
Kata Tjuta, shorter walk (2.5 hrs) and worth the effort.
Ormiston
Gorge is a good choice. Small
campground with bbqs and a kiosk with basics.
Standley Chasm also worth a visit. If you find yourself with free time, visit the East Macs. In my opinion, more scenic than the West Macs.
Corroboree Rock and the road into N'Dhala
Gorge are both very interesting.
Good idea to make Alice your base. There is so much to see around Alice and
Alice Springs itself. As a guide, it took us a full day, getting back to Alice after dark, to go to
Palm Valley and returning via Ormiston
Gorge, etc.
Hope this info helps. No doubt you will get more.
Truk
Follow Up By: Markymark - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 18:06
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 18:06
Thanks Truk,
Is it true the best time to be in
Standley Chasm is midday when the sun shines directly in, or do I have this confused with somewhere else?
Mark.
Follow Up By: Member -Truk (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 18:18
Sunday, Apr 15, 2007 at 18:18
Mark,
Yes, that's right. Enjoy your trip.
Truk.