Firewood

Hi Guys

Just got back from sheepyard flat had four good days doing not a lot. It was good to get out and see first hand the tracks and trails.
However my question is how big does a fire need to be? I seem to be able to cook and keep us warm with not much wood but campers over the weekend were burning logs that must have been 600mm diameter.
Am I being a bit soft? Or does a good fire need flames shoulder high?

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 09:50

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 09:50
Richard,

Too many people can't tell the difference between a campfire and a bonfire. We reckon a campfire uses the minimum amount of fuel needed to cook and maybe provide a bit of warmth for an hour or two. It can be a good social focus point too. A lot of urban folk seem to remember it as something to do with cracker night with flames metres high. No - you're not soft, just conservative and sensible.

AnswerID: 467312

Follow Up By: ozjohn0 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 11:05

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 11:05
Ditto
FollowupID: 741421

Reply By: Ian & Sue - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 11:04

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 11:04
We are with you too Richard - I will add that some people don't seem to be able to build a fire that doesn't smoke excessively and don't care if the smoke heads straight to the neighboring caravans either.

Stepping up on my soapbox! I hate the fact that in areas with very sparse timber growth some campers will rip out any twig and sapling, even if they are green thus denying the wildlife a place to shelter of feed. Off my box before I go on forever.

I think you are correct about it being city guys too! Mostly that is, ekkkk.... Ducking for cover now.

Sue
Karratha WA
AnswerID: 467324

Reply By: Ray - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 11:07

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 11:07
Perhaps they should pay a carbon tax
AnswerID: 467325

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 11:10

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 11:10
G'Day Richard,

It really gets my back up when I see people have large bonfires with no consideration for other campers in regards to using all the firewood. Its also important habitat for our native wildlife.

A while ago I was camped at a National Park where firewood was scarce & a group came in built a bonfire & used most of the timber that had been bought in by the ranger. He was not a happy chap but he came over to our camp & gave us some wood because he saw our small fire & said he would not replenish the main supply until people could be more responsible with their fires.

Good on you for putting forward this question.

Stu
AnswerID: 467326

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 13:12

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 13:12
Probably depends on your view of why you are there Richard.

You may have a view that its about keeping you warm and or cooking, but in that area there you often get large groups who may go there just once a year and a big fire is really meant as a social focus point.
Going out and getting the firewood together becomes part of the fun.

In these later cases its not about the minimum necessary but about a memorable occasion and a big fire often helps.

The regulations say fire size is 1 meter max and any piece of wood is to be no longer than 1 meter, but this is widely ignored. A unintended consequence of complying with this is more chainsaw use.

Provided there is common sense then I tend not to worry to much about what others do.

The good will generated more than makes up for the odd excessive size fire !

AnswerID: 467334

Follow Up By: NTVRX - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 14:50

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 14:50
I agree with you Robin. Earlier this year Parks launched a public awarness, media release & one of the issues raised was the regulations (Now in force) on the size of the fire we can have whilst camped. Rego numbers of people parked at various locations will be noted & fines issued for campsites vacated with fires not extinguished. I think the fine for an "Oversized fire" is $396 & the same for fires left not extinguished.
FollowupID: 741444

Follow Up By: Member - Richard L (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:33

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:33
Hi Robin,
I think you have a valid point about the social aspect of a fire, there is nothing better than sitting around a camp fire with your mates. I do worry about having to put it out afterwards though, a fire that size would need a lot of water.
The couple who pitched nearest to us put their fire out with half a pint of milk! It was still smouldering 5 hours later.

FollowupID: 741463

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 18:10

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 18:10
Gooday Robin. I have been around for 58 years but have never heard of the 1 meter rule for a fire both in length and size. Where do these laws apply?
FollowupID: 741474

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 18:49

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 18:49
They are Victorian laws which apply to all public land Bigfish.

Whole bunch of new stuff like stay away from rivers - think 50m - can't remember the detail but I did a full post on it last year with reference to documents concerned.

FollowupID: 741482

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:05

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:05
Found it thread 76057 which contains a link as proposed last year

Some badly thought out rules were -

Camping minimum 20 meters from a river

No soap within 50m of river (shower tent)

Any toilet waste area 100m away.

We should all now take trail bikes into the bush so we can commute between
our various outposts.

FollowupID: 741484

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 21:12

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 21:12
Thanks Robin. I now know of another reason why I packed up and left the nanny state 20 years ago and have never been back!!

I really feel sorry for the people remaining.
FollowupID: 741504

Reply By: disco driver - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 13:14

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 13:14
Once upon a time an American Indian observed a camp fire lit by white settlers and made the following comment.
"Silly white man keeps warm by running to get wood for a fire he can't sit near.......American Indian, he has little fire,uses little wood and sits up close to his fire.

Who's the smart one then?

Disco.
AnswerID: 467335

Follow Up By: Member - Richard L (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:33

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:33
lol
FollowupID: 741464

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 18:38

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 18:38
And Indian Chief he say in day of Hiawatha the braves would go out & hunt & fish while the squaw she stay home & keep Tepee clean & tidy & coo& make arrow sharp for braves & Chief.

White man come & teach him better way of life. Now the braves & Chief have to ask Squaw for permission to go hunt & fish & usually gets told to stay home at Tepee & clean & mow grass & look after little brat while she make whoopee with other squaw.

White man he call it progress but Indian Chief shake head in sad way. LOL
FollowupID: 741478

Reply By: Bill BD - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 13:22

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 13:22
If someone wants to bring their own (legally sourced) wood, are not annoying anyone else, and not causing a hazard... why not? Years back me and mates would light a decent fire and sit around it until the early hours, cooking spuds, spinning yarns, and sinking a few drinks. It was always a great time. Conversly, if you want to cook some food, sit for an hour or two, then hit the sack, then a modest fire makes sense.

I am not sure it is "dem city folk" that always light big fires. I live in a small country town and if anyone lights a fire here it is always bigger than texas and usually started with a liberal application of flammable liquid.

I do dismay at the level of damage people do when they "gather" wood at camp though.... very destructive.
AnswerID: 467337

Follow Up By: Gramps - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:38

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:38
Bill,

"I am not sure it is "dem city folk" that always light big fires"

Agree with you but it seems that "city folks" are responsible for all the world's evils according to some on here.

I prefer smallish fires that are easy to extinguish and consume less firewood. Each to their own.

FollowupID: 741466

Follow Up By: Member - Richard L (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:38

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:38

I agree with most of what you say, not sure about the flammible liquid though!
When we pulled onto the campground the road was blocked by some campers gathering the tree they had just dropped.
All they used was the section that was blocking the road.

FollowupID: 741467

Reply By: snapper49 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:27

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:27
We usually take firewood with us and we use a choofer which really doesnt use much wood at all
Use it for cooking then heating afterwoods
AnswerID: 467352

Follow Up By: Member - Richard L (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:42

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:42
Hi Snapper
We always take some firewood with us and I carry a bow saw and axe to keep up with my exercise regime.
Not sure what a choofer is though!!

FollowupID: 741468

Follow Up By: snapper49 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 17:37

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 17:37
http://aplaceinthesun.com.au/Choofer.htm

http://s221.photobucket.com/albums/dd116/Smokeydk1/Towitta0909/Choofers/

will give you an idea of what a choofer is
FollowupID: 741472

Reply By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 17:46

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 17:46
This is why we brought a Oz-Pig, do not need a lot of timber, great for cooking on and will keep four people pretty warm.
AnswerID: 467357

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 00:20

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 00:20
Ditto. We got one and sold our Cobb. They do a nice roast or loaf of bread in a coleman folding stove. It fits the top perfectly.
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 741713

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:23

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:23
It all depends on location.

In some parts of the Vic High Country you do them a favour by reducing the fuel load. In other areas people strip the camping areas of available wood. Bringing the wood in from further away helps, but from my observation, there are too many vehicles out there that can't or won't carry firewood from outside their campsites.

Different story in most parts of South Australia. In 2012, all fires in Witjira Natinal Park will be banned - there's just too many people travelling thru the Simpson Desert and the wood collection is not sustainable. Similar story in the Flinders Ranges - good firewood is becoming scarce as tourism increases.Great Victoria Desert doesn't get the same tourist load, so a decent fire is OK.
AnswerID: 467372

Follow Up By: Nickywoop - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 22:14

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 22:14
Phill,

Not much to say-- But you are talking Sense.
That is what most Aussies now lack -

especially PLOODY POLICTICIANS.

Sorry Nick
FollowupID: 741512

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 21:36

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 21:36
Hi Richard,

I like to have a fire when camping but usually it wouldn't be more then a metre in diameter. It usually is burning for most of the night (at least the time we are sitting around it).

600mm might seem excessive but if there is a group of 20 or so, It would need to be a bonfire to keep every warm on a chilly night. (I personally dont know why someone would like to camp with that many ppl, Its one reason I go camping to get away from the crowds.

A fire is prob the best part of camping. There is something magical about a fire out camping.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 467381

Reply By: Fatso - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 22:42

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 22:42
Love the fire.
Sizes we use vary from a foot across to 1.5 m with a chimney in it.
The chimney is a bit of a party trick where you get a hollow log up to 6 foot long, cut a gap out of the base to let the fire in & stand it up in the middle of your fire. The bigger the diameter the log & the hollow the better. Big bangers 2 foot in diameter that take 2 good men to carry are the go.
Once the fire takes hold it can shoot sparks 20 feet into the air.
Drop in some copper or aluminium or other combustible metal & you get incredible coloured flames.
Drop in a 600 ml plastic softy bottle full of petrol & you get 20 foot flames.
The ultimate one is to drop in one of those portable butane gas canisters.
Man does that have a effect.
If you are dropping in the gas canister you have to do it while the log is still quite solid so it doesn't blow the side out of it.

What I can't stand is those people who have to light their fire on a new spot every time & you end up with a camping area full of old fire places.
AnswerID: 467388

Follow Up By: Nutta - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 22:57

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 22:57
I'd be too scared to throw a bottle of petrol in there myself!

At bathurst one year some lunatic threw a gas bottle on a bldy big bonfire,
I've never seen people run so fast!

Lucky the safety valve blew before the bottle!
FollowupID: 741514

Follow Up By: Fatso - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 23:03

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 23:03
Me too Nutta. I wouldn't be that stupid.
But my nephew certainly is.
Cutting the log & putting it on the fire & throwing in some copper to show the kids the flames does me.
That gas canister trick is awesome though.
FollowupID: 741516

Follow Up By: Meggs - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 08:52

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 08:52
I've seen that done with branding irons but the log has been no more than 1 m high or less and 200 to 300mm diameter.
As for using petrol I sometimes use petrol when I don't have enough kindling but I'm careful I get a small piece of rag the size of a handkerchief tie it to a long stick and soak it in petrol well away from the fire and take it back and shove it in the fire and light it. If the fire has some embers it will light immediately but this is the safe way.
FollowupID: 741528

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 04:30

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 04:30
ive seen a butane canister chucked into a fire (full) it actually blew the fire out!
FollowupID: 741625

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 23:49

Saturday, Oct 15, 2011 at 23:49
Is this a serious reply/replies.....
FollowupID: 741871

Follow Up By: Meggs - Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 00:47

Sunday, Oct 16, 2011 at 00:47
Can't speak for everyone else but mine was fact.
FollowupID: 741874

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 06:05

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 06:05
When camping at our favourite locations for more that 2 days, we always have a fire.
Sometines big, sometimes small, but never out of control, and always take into consideration which way the wind is blowing, and have a jerry or a bucket of water handy....Just in case.

Most important, we have alternative cooking, on the fire, if bans are in place.

Always common sence, and caution used.
Shoulder height fired are dangerous, and not always warm.
Red hot coals are the order of the day.

Chers

AnswerID: 467398

Reply By: rooster350 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:42

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 10:42
At our last camp just 4 months ago there was a father and son from down south of Colac near us , they reckoned that they had stumbled across this great camping spot on the Murray river with plenty of firewood about and they would have to keep the location "under their hat".....the problem was that they were burning a ute load of wood each night, thankfully they were only there for four nights...at the rate they were burning the wood I do hope that they do not go back there for a while because very soon there will be none left for them or anyone else...they reckoned that they were top bushmen.....yair sure
AnswerID: 467412

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 19:18

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 19:18
I suppose it's a matter of if the fire was appropiate for the area at the time & seeing we had a little bushfire a few years back that has left a billon tonnes of dry dead wood in the High Country, that Sheepyard is a nice wide open area & that it was cold last week I say why not.
As long as max wood length is no more than a metre, consideration is given to minimising the number of scortch marks, collecting away from the camp, no trees are fallen & fire risk is minimal then light up. If you want to sit around a bush pig burning eco logs then each to their own ;-) Of course the same fire up the Murray or out the desert would be totally innaproppiate.
Cheers Craig........
AnswerID: 467460

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:19

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 21:19
I reckon the "bush pig" would weigh as much as a nice little "Husquvarna".
I know which one I would pack.
FollowupID: 741613

Reply By: barney136 - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 20:30

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 20:30
A little hint when lighting fires locals call it a Fraser island firelighter.
Take an empty beer can and cut top off it then fill with sand to top,Fill the can with petrol or flammable liquid Place can in fireplace and put a match to it will burn without exploding for approx 20 minutes long enough to get fire going even without kindling.
AnswerID: 467604