Family Station Wagon on Birdsville track, Cordillo Downs Etc.

Hi All, are planning to go the races with family and friends. We are travelling in a 4x4, but have friends who are travelling in a station wagon. The route we plan to take is the Birdsville Track and then down to Innaminka via Cordillo downs. Has anyone travelled to Birdsville with a car? I understand a lot depends on the weather etc. But can it be travelled on a dry track?

Thanks Steve

Reply By: Fab72 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 10:03

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 10:03
G'Day Steven,
You've kind of answered your own question. The weather is the decider. On any "normal" year, I'd say no problems. This last year has been pretty unpredictable.

Having said that, the track, I believe is currently being graded in preperation for the races. The Birdsville Track part might be OK but the section down to Innaminka is still a bit rough.

Anyway...have a look at this bloke who tried the Birdsville Track in a station wagon during a wet year.

Birdsville Track in a Station Wgaon.

Fab.
AnswerID: 461950

Follow Up By: Steven G1 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 10:16

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 10:16
Thanks for the info Fab, have checked out the video.
Cheers Steve
FollowupID: 735682

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 10:16

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 10:16
Jack Absolom did it in a Sigma Wagon with more success than the above Cortina driver. Just goes to show how different years can make a difference.

It is murder on tyres though (as stated below) and although a freshly graded road can be smoother, it also exposes all the sharp rocks.

Travelling in a group reduces the risk associated with solo travel and at the end of the day, people were travelling the Birdsville Track long before 4X4 monster trucks came along. Keep the speed down to prevent tyre damage and bottom outs and enjoy the scenery.

Fab
FollowupID: 735683

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 10:11

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 10:11
if the weather is fine and there is no need for high clearance and 4WD, my only concern would be the tyres. Bound to have P (passenger) tyres and I would recommend LT be fitted for the trip.

AnswerID: 461952

Follow Up By: Steven G1 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 10:18

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 10:18
Thanks for the advice on the tyres, we personally have put LTs onto the trailor. Very sound advice for our friends.
FollowupID: 735684

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 11:30

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 11:30
Had a friend do exactly the route you are suggesting in an early Commodore.
While in general it was a dry year he did stall in one small creek that had standing water resulting in 6" throughout the car. Up to Birdsville was not an issue but while cutting accross via Cordillo he tore half of the exhaust off then after Innamincka the air cleaner kept getting blocked until eventually the engine wouldn't go at all. Finnally got a tow into Tiboorburra where he had it cleaned out. He had quite a bit of stone damage & one puncture but was carrying 2 spares anyway.
Even on a good year this route is hard on a standard car & who's to say it won't rain up at the races while you're there like it has done previously?
Have fun. Craig.......
AnswerID: 461956

Follow Up By: Steven G1 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 14:15

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 14:15
Thanks Crackles,

this is great info that I can pass along to our friends.

Thanks Steve.
FollowupID: 735696

Reply By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 11:47

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 11:47
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundG'day Steven, I did the whole length of the bv track in 1995 in my Falcon wagon when it was a goat track! 5 punctures from the gibbers (no extra ground clearance - see pic's) take some tubes with you. Have fun!! hoo roo
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

AnswerID: 461959

Follow Up By: wizzer73 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 13:21

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 13:21
love the photos dingo!

wizzer
FollowupID: 735692

Follow Up By: Steven G1 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 14:21

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 14:21
Thanks a lot Dingo, like wizzer I love the photos. Definately plan to have a great time. Having a forum like this really helps.

Cheers Steven
FollowupID: 735698

Reply By: Rudds - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:14

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:14
Wouldn't mind a dollar for every "I did it" photo taken in front of the pub after tackling the BV track. I got my first "I did it" photo last year in the wet with my Ford falcon BA RTV, but I didn't have my Warwick Capper shorts......a mate of mine did it years ago in a HQ statesman. I'm pretty shore he would of up-graded the tyres and he put a bit of a bash plate underneath the transmission. Where doing it the opposite way to you this year. It's agreat trip :-)
AnswerID: 461975

Follow Up By: Steven G1 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:32

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:32
Sounds like you had a great trip. As this is our first time up the track we are really looking forward to it. I also too plan to have an "I did it photo" along with our travelling companions. Cheers
FollowupID: 735709

Follow Up By: Rudds - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 18:27

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 18:27
We got there Tuesday arfo after camping at Mungerannie which is a "must do", had a beer & got the photos of the ute in front of the pub. Went to the pub tuesday night, checked the place out, another "must do", on wednesday the road was blocked of to vehicles and the pub was cleared of every thing, i mean every thing that wasn't bolted down, even the dunny door was gone :-)
FollowupID: 735714

Reply By: Outback Gazz - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:19

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:19
G'day Steven - in 1989 I was heading up the Birdsville track in my new nissan patrol feeling pretty invinsible when coming in the other direction was the Morris Minor car club - made me think why do you need a 4wd on that track ! Another trip up that way a few years later we stopped and talked to an old couple driving a 1964 toyota corona - he told us he'd travelled the track 5 times in the same car all with no punctures ! He still had the original spare in the boot - his advice "drive slowly and watch out for nasty rocks " Water will create your biggest problems !

Happy travelling and enjoy the trip !

Gazz
AnswerID: 461976

Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:41

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:41
It certainly puts everything into perspective and what one's motivations are for modifying a 4WD.

Do you really need that rear bar, twin tyre carriers, rear storage draws, seventy HID lights, awning, 6" lift???

Are they really necessary or just bling and bragging rights?
FollowupID: 735711

Follow Up By: Steven G1 - Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:47

Saturday, Aug 06, 2011 at 17:47
Amazing what the old cars can do. I'm sure a lot depends on how well prepared you are and how you drive on the tracks. Not withstanding any water concerns. All this advice will help our fellow travellers in what best suits them.

FollowupID: 735713