Authenticity of speedo reading ?
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 16:54
eyspy
I am looking at upgrading my cruiser to another 100 series V8 petrol.
I have one in mind and the km reading is very low for age (2003 model)
Is there a way of checking if the speedo has been tampered with or replaced with a lower reading?
Can I get a Toyota mechanic to
check the computer module for the engine management and will it tell me what sort of milage the vehicle has travelled and what has been done at the service intervals ?
Not sure what the modern technology can do nowadays ?
I don't want to get ripped off with this purchase and buy a vehicle based on the ultra low kays when in fact it may have done crap loads !!
Reply By: Member - nick b - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 17:10
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 17:10
what about checking service history and a good look at the general condition .
are you buying from owner or dealer ? ... talk to owner & service mechanic !!!
does this vehicle have the new style gear shift ? ... new style heaps better !!
cheers nick
Follow Up By: eyspy - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 17:16
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 17:16
Unfortunately the service books are not there and it's a private sale.
I can't
check up on servicing due to no log books. The owner seems genuine but I still need to know if it can be checked thourghly via the computer chip ?
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 19:51
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 19:51
I would give it a miss, no service books and private owner.
There is no other way of finding out with out documented evidence.
No computers on vehicles record kilometres as yet.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 00:16
Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 00:16
id have thought while not recording ks they may record running hours?
Just as an efi outboard etc does, and recorded as <1000rpm, 1-2000, 2-3000, 3-4000 etc.
But its your Toyota place you need to talk to, not a
forum of us purveyors of hearsay and rumour!
If nothing else Toyota may have the milage recorded at the various recalls over the years-brakes etc. Look for a sticker on driver side door frame (I think) to show if recalls are completed.
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 06:05
Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 06:05
You could ask the owner what garage he gets the Vehicle serviced at, and ho fine the place, and hav a yak to the mechanics !
Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 10:38
Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 10:38
I think you need to ask your self more Questions like why no service books on 4wd that's only done 60,ooo odd ks , may be look a lot deeper in to the vehicle it self where has it come from .
check with motor vehicle rego , get them to do a
check on it .
but getting back to what i said general condition will tell you what sort of life the vehicle has had good luck
regars nick
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 17:23
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 17:23
How many k's are on it??
I have an 04 105 Series and only have 130k km's on it, had close to 90k km's when I bought it in late 07.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: eyspy - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 17:37
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 17:37
only 63,000 kms
But that is irrelevant to the question posed. Can I
check up on the engine computer chip ? Regardless off how many kays it should have on average and regardless of what the log books say, can I
check it 100% positive on the chip ?
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 17:51
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 17:51
I have a BIL with a 2004 100 Series 4.2 turbo diesel.......he has just 23000 genuine kms on it. Uses his work truck or the family ute most of the time and only takes the cruiser out to wash and polish the bloody thing really. IMHO I reckon the money could be better use doing something else if he ain't going to use the vehicle.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 18:20
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 18:20
Try asking your Local Toyota Dealer to
check the computer records for the chassis number to see if it was Dealer Serviced, and at what km's it was done :)
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Flighty ( WA ) - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 18:21
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 18:21
I may be a little off line here but I have a 79Series with 39000 on clock when purchased 2 years ago it now has 75000.
But for a 05 model it is still very low.
Big question is that I would think that if it has a digital odometer/dash panel you would not be able to do a thing with it, please correct me if wrong but the days of a drill on the odometer are long gone.
Flighty
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 18:27
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 18:27
Flighty....I wouldn't mind betting that there are some
young computer whizz kids out there who can hack into these digital systems and "fix them".
Follow Up By: cruza25 - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 19:14
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 19:14
back in england we could get any speedo reset or changed to what numbers you wanted for about 25 pounds . a laptop and a cable and a fancy bit of software.
best to
check the dealer for history and have a full inspection.
good luck
cheers mike
Follow Up By: snoopyone - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 19:47
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 19:47
With the right software digital speedos can be reset by dealers
Also can buy one out of a wreck and replace it.
Ask to see the service records or the name of the
places it was done.
If he wont give them walk away.
I have just sold
mine and provided all the books and all the receipts for
services and parts since I bougt it..
Bought Dec 2006 with 58,000k on it
Sold it last month with 151,500k on it including a 50,000k around
the block trip
Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 19:55
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 19:55
unless you can get your hands on a dealer computer diagnostic machine, you can
check the details that way! or if you have a
dam good aftermarket type OBDII connector you might be able to get that info...
Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 19:57
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 19:57
you can also ask the RTA if the speedo has had a flick, walk in with all of the details, vin, chassisn engine number and they may tell you if it is legit, remeber you have to give a speedo reading for rego!!!! so the gov can tell if you are lying on your tax return
Reply By: Axle - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 18:41
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 18:41
Mate if the owner will let you..lol.. Have a compression
test done, readings Should not be far off a new one, if They are then be wary, Also those engines run incredible low oil pressure on idle, so when hot make.sure the needle is on the first digit, if not walk away. (i have a 04 model v8 petrol)
Reply By: Nutta - Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 21:24
Saturday, Jul 09, 2011 at 21:24
If you are around se qld just be wary of flood damaged vehicles, there are a few around.
With those sort of ks and no books id be very weary.
A careful look at the condition is probably a good indicator too.
Good luck either way.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 00:21
Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 00:21
If it was an insurance claim I believe you can
check to see if its been a repairable writeoff etc cant you?
Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 11:00
Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 11:00
Just because it maybe a flood vehicle, doesnt mean the the owner has bothered to claim, it might be insured for less then what he could sell it for or maybe a case of not insured at all, but yes heaps of flood vehicles heading all over the place as my mate who works for NRMA has found......
Reply By: eyspy - Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 08:50
Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 08:50
Thanks for the advice everyone. I will get the RAA to do a thorough vehicle
check to play it safe. Thanks once again.
Follow Up By: B1B2 - Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 10:45
Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 10:45
As Kev said go to Toyota and ask for records, they should have something. I had a 1998 EL Ford and took it in to Ford for service in 2001. The next time they saw it was in 2009 and they knew my name address, phone number and history of the car.
Reply By: Kimba10 - Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 10:12
Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 10:12
Not sure where you live but you can do a history
check via REVS and go for the dearer one (full history
check), will tell you now many previous owners, wether it was business or private rego, klms at every pink slip and so on. I use this everytime I buy a newer vehicle, it tells you of any possible write offs as
well, VIC roads I also do as a double
check, some times will tell you more then REVS even though the vehicle is registered in NSW. Worth the few $$$ it will cost you, make sure you pay for it and get the print out, this covers you.......
Follow Up By: eyspy - Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 10:39
Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 10:39
Kimba,, not sure here in SA but I will follow up. Cheers
Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 10:40
Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 10:40
theres other sighns like gear knob (tranny shifter0 wear,
seat wear steering wheel wear drivers carpet wear etc
if it looks worn with low ks then it probablly is
also body condition - its pretty hard to rack up heaps of ks and not rack up plenty of stone chips and very small
carpark dings etc
along with underneath condition
not foolproof but just a tool you can use
Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 10:57
Sunday, Jul 10, 2011 at 10:57
also brake pedal rubber, carpet near foot rest on the edge of it, edge of drivers
seat is a big one, dont be put off by low klms once you work out if its original or not. I would love to get hold of my mates 100 series turbo diesel, 07 model (last of them) just turned over 23 thou, but looks like it just come out the show room.....one day, uses it purely to tow the van (23 footer) and the occassional trip to Penrith and back so when he does drive it, it warms up properly, not just to local shops and back, he was offered 60k for it 2 weeks ago,problem is he dislikes the 200 series....