Respect for past Era's.
Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 14:09
Ace000
Like many members I enjoy the traditional and historical sites that one sees whilst travelling around our country. In planning a trip recently I was amazed at the lack of information on line about
places like Agricultural Museums. It seems that Wiki has had a project running since 2004 but still languishes. I find that having a site to visit is part of the enjoyment of travelling and I find it very annoying if I miss something that would have interested me simply because I did not know it was there and it has not received a tourist gong . I have a particular interest in old machinery both agricultural and construction (earthmoving) and am thinking of doing something about the lack of information. Any members feel the way I do?
Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 14:22
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 14:22
Absolutely.
Two machinery/past era museums IMHO that are worth visiting here in FNQ are;
The Herberton Historical Village-Herberton
Irvinebank museum -Irvinebank.
If you call into the information centres as you arrive into towns, they can usually give you a pretty good idea of what is in the local area.
Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 16:28
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 16:28
Stu & Bob,
Went to a Historical Village outside of Herbeton about 13 years ago that was under development by an old "Tin Miner". Was absolutely brilliant.
Tried to find it a couple of years ago & told that it had closed down. Is that the one you refer to?
My first port of call is almost always the
information centre.
The Old QANTAS hangar at the original airport site in
Darwin is a must.
Mike.
Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 16:36
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 16:36
G'day Mike,
I think it is the same one, on the
Atherton side of Herberton, just before you get to Herberton properly.
They are going ahead in leaps and bounds, and now have a lot of stuff from the local district.
Well worth the visit.
Stu
Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 17:02
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 17:02
Stu,
Thanks, when I saw it was only early days. Terrific bloke to have a yarn & get the history of the old buildings & collectables.
The old FORD museum not far from you at Chilligoe is
well and truly worth a look.
Mike.
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 15:31
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 15:31
Ilfracombe, east of
Longreach, has a street full of the stuff. There is also a terrific
steam/tractor type one in Tassie..I've forgotten the town.
Griffith, NSW has a good
one too. ......oldbaz.
PS...Bookham
Farm Machinery, west of Yass, while not a museum as such, has acres of old gear I'm sure you could look at ,if interested.
Follow Up By: pmk03 - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 15:21
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 15:21
The Tassie one is at
Westbury Tasmania. I was there a few years back, from what I remember there was two or three huge sheds full of them at one location & another yard full just on the way out of town.
It was a very impressive collection.
PMK
Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 15:49
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 15:49
Its got plenty of web coverage ... but if your making a list ... Inverell NSW Pioneer Museum is good for a wander around.
Whats left of a private collection in
Cooma is on display somewhere I believe ... was mainly ex snowy stuff.
.... Ohhhh ... and theres an old steam tractor rusting away at a property front
gate out the back of the Warrumbungles ... LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 17:54
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 17:54
I agree with Inverell. While there talk to one of the people in attendance about a local collector. they reckon his collection is something else.
Another good one is at Gilgandra although I have not been in it yet.
There are several along the Newell Highway at the various towns as
well.
Cheers, Bruce.
| At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 19:16
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 19:16
Their is an excellent display of old ag tractors at Temora. Some of theses tractors are featured in Ian Johnsons book of old tractors. Their is another one in
parkes which I believe has a BIG 4 tractor.
Reply By: Livin On The Road - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 19:19
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 19:19
I'd be really grateful for this sort of project being undertaken. The information is what makes or breaks a place for us a lot of the time.
As
well as that,
places we visit are always part of the kids schooling, so yes, pleaes do!
Reply By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 22:24
Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 22:24
I wonder if David could put a "Museums" category in the
Places list?
Val.
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 09:03
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 09:03
It is not tractors and old machinery, but if anybody is passing through
Georgetown QLD, there is a Fantastic mineral and
rock display at the
information centre. Admission is charged, but
well worth it.
Mareeba has a good museum of old agricultural equipment at the
information centre.
Reply By: paulnsw - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 09:41
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 09:41
and many charge to much to get in. My parents travel a lot and have to watch their money, and they would go into every museum especially agricultural museums. For example Kadina in SA want $8 an adult. Realise these
places cost money to run, but if they did not charge so much more would go. Another one that springs to mind my parents told me was the Fishes museum Canowindra, NSW. These country towns need all the business they can get and charging high prices does not keep people in town. I know from my folks all these old folk travellers talk and swap good
places and locations. Then my folks tell me there are some towns that should not bother like
Burra, SA the Tourist Info were rude, the people at the museum could not chase them out quickly enough and it was early. They said they can afford to be rude there are so many people there and don't care.
Follow Up By: Rob! - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 10:02
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 10:02
$8 for an adult is excessive?
Reply By: Ace000 - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 10:33
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 10:33
Thanks you all for your responses. I think that Paul has nailed it. There is a lot of memorabilia at odd spots and most of it has a very interesting history. It is not all in formalised museums that need to charge for access. Collecting the information for these sorts of
places is what I think would make our travels just that little bit more interesting..Contrary to some opinions my years of web trawling don't bring up a lot. The better known
places receive a good coverage but there are in my view many many more that are not
well documented and the local visitor centres are generally speaking good but not always and not always open. Thanks for your
views.
Reply By: landseka - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 11:17
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 11:17
If you around Bunbury WA and interested in all things old, especially tractors & such then
this museum at Dardanup is not to be missed.
Cheers Neil