Trek
Submitted: Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 21:09
Mark C7
Hi i am wondering if any one has any handy information they wouldnt mind sharing on a nice trek not to far from
melbourne that would fill in a long weekend.
Reply By: George_M - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 21:20
Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 21:20
You may need to give us a little more information, Mark.
Are you towing a camper trailer or do you want to
camp? Do you want to stay at different
places each night night? What type of vehicle are you driving and how adventurous are you feeling? Travelling with little kids or mates?
As an ex-Queenslander I can say that
Melbourne is central to an amazing number of interesting
treks. From desert, to high country (the tracks are starting to close for the winter), to some of the more remote national parks in the north of the State - all close to
Melbourne.
So let us know what you're looking for - I'm sure lots of people on this site will help.
George_M
Follow Up By: Mark C7 - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 21:34
Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 21:34
Oh yeah that would help. I am traviling with mates all of us in our mid 20's with for wheel drives so looking for something maybe around lake mountain or marysville area and to see abit and stay somehwere different each night and it will be rollout the swag and sleep by the fire.
Follow Up By: Member - nick b - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 21:54
Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 21:54
I thought any track out of
melbourne would be good one . LOL
Follow Up By: Mark C7 - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 22:04
Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 22:04
Haha good one!!! Didn't know this was a comedy
forum!! If you haven't got any usefull information save your comments for you & your mates to laugh at.
Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 22:46
Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 22:46
(the tracks are starting to close for the winter)
Well not specifically. A few individual tracks have had flood or storm damage from last year but the vast majority are open till Queens Birthday weekend.
Cheers Craig.............
Follow Up By: Notso - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 22:48
Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 22:48
Cripes, sensitive or what!
Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 22:52
Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 22:52
Bit of a heavy response to a light hearted comment.
Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 30, 2011 at 10:22
Saturday, Apr 30, 2011 at 10:22
We agree with you Nick, any day you are driving out of the city is a good day mate. I reckon you get the best view of
Sydney in your rear vision mirror!!!!
As you are leaving Hahaha!
Cheers, Bruce.
| At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 22:53
Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 22:53
If you want a bit of a challenge slip up to the Big river area camping near Stockmans reward. Work your way up to Mt Terrible then along the ridge to
Woods Point camping on the
Goulburn river. Few nice tracks in the aea will lead you over Matlock & back to the city via
Warburton. Take your mud tyres Mark & a chainsaw.
Cheers Craig.................
Follow Up By: Mark C7 - Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 23:04
Friday, Apr 29, 2011 at 23:04
Craig I always go on a yearly camping trip in big river and stay at the big
river campsite now known as
big bend camp ground and normally do the drive up to mt terrible (cracker
views) but I always come from eildon never the other way. Is that out near walyalla? What are the roads like?
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Apr 30, 2011 at 09:23
Saturday, Apr 30, 2011 at 09:23
Gday Mark
Do you mean
Walhalla? Head out that way and go to Bruntons
bridge. Nice
places to stay and
camp. Plenty of river crossings and picturesque scenery .