Attaching Strap to Towbar

Submitted: Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 14:45
ThreadID: 85512 Views:4097 Replies:14 FollowUps:31
It is convenient but a dangerous practice to attach a strap to a towball. Many warnings exist about this procedure.

However, I believe that I have found a method of quickly attaching a strap to a towbar tongue that does not place strain on the ball.

1. Loop the strap eye over the tongue behind the ball nut:Image Could Not Be Found

2. Cross the strap and place around the ball: Image Could Not Be Found

Or 3. For a dropped tongue: Image Could Not Be Found

This method places no pulling strain on the ball. Under load, all the force is taken by the loop around the tongue with only a squeezing effect on the ball.
It is fast, strong, safe, and the strap will not easily drop-off the tongue.
(PS. I used a winch extension strap in illustration for its colour.)

Reply By: Kimba10 - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 14:56

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 14:56
The third picture looks like it would be ok, still not sure about the second one ?? looks like it would still be pulling on the top of the ball and nut underneath ?/ Unless Im looking at it wrong ?? Personally I still wouldnt take the chance, id still be using one of these or just the pin...........
AnswerID: 450693

Follow Up By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 15:11

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 15:11
I totally agree. I am no engineer but the image 2 appears to load the ball trying to pull it off. It would be only maginally better than straight on the ball. Image 3 looks fine if it is kept in that position which it may not if the direction of pull was altered slightly.

It is so simple to just remove the hitch and use the pin in the receiver by itself. Safe and simple.

FollowupID: 723154

Follow Up By: Alllan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 16:29

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 16:29
Image 2 was arranged with the strap raised from the tongue to show the layout of the strap. In actual fact, when even a light load such as a manual pull is applied, the sides of the strap embracing the ball position themselves low on the base of the ball, flat on the tongue. This then places no bending moment on the ball stem, it merely serves to keep the strap crossed over so as to maintain the loop around the tongue.

I also would normally use the pin in the receiver of the hitch, if for no other reason than I travel without the tongue fitted. However, not all towbars have removable tongues and this method allows safe attachment of a strap to such bars rather than to a vehicle point which may not be appropriate for towing. Also with many towbars the tongue may have been removable when new but has long since become rusted in position.

Without an option such as this, some people with non-removable tongues may be tempted to simply drop the strap over the ball even if they have been warned of the danger. Better that they are given an option which is safe.

As an engineer, I would asses that there is little to no load tending to bend the ball stem with my proposed method. In extremes, the strap would break before any such problem. Mind you after witnessing some snatch recoveries, it was a wonder that the whole towbar did not part company from the vehicle! Many people do not understand the physics involved in the use of an elastic snatch strap.

FollowupID: 723162

Reply By: Wild100 - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 15:15

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 15:15
I cant believe after many years of telling people not to do this, you come up with a plan like this, if you remove the towball completely, will this still work?
No, it wiont, therefore there is still strain on the towball
This page should be removed from the forum
AnswerID: 450696

Follow Up By: Alllan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 16:00

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 16:00
Well OK WildOne! No need to keep repeating yourself!!

The problem with just putting the strap around the ball is that it reposes in the hollow which is some 25mm above the tongue. Hence there is a force imposed that tends to bend the threaded section of the ball thus shearing it.

With my method there is no force other than a squeeze on the ball, it merely serves to keep the strap apart. The pulling force is directly on the tongue with the nut resisting any tendency for the strap eye to slide. Being close to the tongue. the nut would easily resist any load that the strap could impose. It is applied engineering principles.

FollowupID: 723160

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 16:29

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 16:29
There is a bad echo in here isn't there. LOL
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 723163

Follow Up By: Member - michael H (NSW) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 16:40

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 16:40
I agree with Wild100
To be sure, to be sure, to be sure
Roflmao
FollowupID: 723164

Follow Up By: Wild100 - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 16:52

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 16:52
Cant help the 3 copies, I reply once and get 3 posts
But this type of method is just asking for some in-experienced person who gets it wrong or in the dark, doesnt connect it correctly and we have another snatch strap death, better to just use the proven tested safe methods
FollowupID: 723170

Follow Up By: Alllan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 17:00

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 17:00
It has been said that if you keep repeating an expression, people may come to believe it! LOL

FollowupID: 723171

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 08:08

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 08:08
Your duplicate postings have now been removed Wild100 :)

Modsquad
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 723223

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 08:41

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 08:41
Al I reckon you are spot on here, there are no fulcrum loads on the bal in either of your solutions

By the way are there really three L's in your name? To be sure to be sure to be sure???

FollowupID: 723227

Follow Up By: Alllan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 09:08

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 09:08
Thanks Bonz. I'm glad some can perceive the physics involved. But there were some good points re sharp edges of the tongue. However it was presented as a fall-back option, not a preferred way.

Re the name........ you are the first to pick-up on the three L's since I put it there. I got tired of people leaving out one "L" and calling me "Alan" so I put a spare one in, LOL. It seems to have worked...... every response in this thread using my name has used two "L's". I note you played it safe and used simply "Al". Maybe I'll switch to that, it sounds nice.

On the same theme, no-one has commented on my rather improbable profile picture. Perhaps they do not want to embarrass me!

FollowupID: 723230

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 09:11

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 09:11
I thought you were drowning a Toyota, which is entirely honorable and in no need of comment !

FollowupID: 723232

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Apr 10, 2011 at 02:07

Sunday, Apr 10, 2011 at 02:07
I'm with Alan on this one, I'm no engineer in physics either but I can see quite plainly there would NO strain on the Ball.... all that will happen is the poor little bugger will be choked.
Brilliant Alan...bloody brilliant.

FollowupID: 723345

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Apr 10, 2011 at 02:13

Sunday, Apr 10, 2011 at 02:13
Allllan
Just looking at the pics again and my previous comment is for the drop tongue, and so's this one, it looks good especially if you have something like those chain links to stop it from sliding down, maybe a little testing on a drop bar without those links would be interesting to see the results.

FollowupID: 723346

Reply By: PajDIDauto - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 15:53

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 15:53
Hi Allan,

The methods that you've shown are still dangerous unfortunately.
a) It may not look like it from the photo's however the edges of the towing tongue are quite sharp for a product like nylon webbing to be running across with the energy generated during a snatch recovery.
b) A snatch recovery also generates quite a lot of heat through the strap due to the kinetic energy; heat and sharp edges will cut nylon very quickly.
c) Also, the tow hitch is offset from the centre of the line of pull (higher) and isn't designed to handle the load that will be applied.
d) Any large angles, or twists in nylon straps reduces their capacilty by a substantial amount, worse if they are wet.

Best to stick with the methods mentioned by everyone so far.
AnswerID: 450702

Follow Up By: Alllan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 16:52

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 16:52
Paj, In response I would offer:

a) There should not be any nylon webbing in contact with the tongue. Any half-decent strap has leather reinforcing on the eye.
b) Any heat generated is due to the deformation (stretching) of the strap. No stretching takes place in the reinforced loop section. Hence no heat here.
c) Granted that the tongue may be offset. However the towbar assembly is rated to take this into account and be capable of managing the typical 2 ton or so towing load which incorporates high impulse forces due to jerking motions. I would think properly conducted snatch recoveries to impose no greater loads.
d) What is your scientific source for this assertion?

The methods "mentioned so far" are not always available leading people to unsafe alternatives. Be assured that my proposed alternate method has been considered carefully from an engineering perspective.

FollowupID: 723167

Follow Up By: PajDIDauto - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 21:10

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 21:10
Hi Allan,

I understand where you're coming from and with an engineering background you'd have a much better idea than me. It would be worth setting your system up on a test bed to see the result.

I've had snatch straps and equalizer straps on a static test bed to check performance. With the equaliser straps the protective sleeve was cut through under heavy load in every case, and in a number of cases the heat generated melted the strap at the eye although not enough to cut right through - nylon on nylon maybe; I'm not qualified to determine why but the physical proof was clear. Most straps that I've seen feature a synthetic reinforced eye rather than leather hence my comment.

With the offset tongue there are many non Reece style fixed tow hitches that are definitely not rated to 2 tonne - I had a choice of a fixed 750kg or a 2.5T when I purchased my vehicle - which could result in disaster should someone not know the difference.

There has been formal testing carried out on wet snatch straps and their capacity was reduced by a great amount - it was published either 2009 or 2010, but I can't remember who the tester was. If I find it again I'll submit it. I think twisted straps were also tested in the same article, as was colour dyes.

I can't argue from an engineers point of view as I'm not qualified to do so. If your method saves the life of someone who doesn't have the correct gear then that's a bonus and I guess that's what you're suggesting.
FollowupID: 723198

Follow Up By: Alllan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 23:49

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 23:49
Hi Paj, Thank you for an excellent thought-out response.

From the "Just Straps" website: "A wet strap may be 20% under strength, a damaged strap may break. Do not allow the strap to contact hot surfaces or sharp edges."........ Confirms your expression, although it is universal and I cannot see how that specifically relates to my proposal.

The edges of my tongues are rounded and not likely to cut the strap but I will concede that not all tongues may be so. Certainly there would be vehicles with towbars not rated to perform snatch recovery and there would be drivers not capable or caring of determining the adequacy of their towbar or any other component involved in recovery. I once witnessed someone attaching the strap to the safety-chain ring using the trailer shackle. When I offered my criticism I was told where to go in no uncertain manner........ so I did so and ******-off. I therefore was not around to see the outcome. I offer this as an example of how it is not possible to educate all drivers in safe practice.

My method certainly is an improvement over simply looping the strap over the tow-ball where no rated recovery attachments are available. Thanks again for your contribution.

FollowupID: 723211

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 17:17

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 17:17
Gday Allan
That looks ok to me. I'll keep it in mind if ever i have to use my snatch strap . I also made up a hook similar to the other entry under yours with a 10000 lb hook and 5mm wall 50 mm sq tube .

AnswerID: 450707

Follow Up By: Alllan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 20:14

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 20:14
Thank goodness for your vote MUZBRY. So far: 3 against, 3 doubtful, and 1 for.
Perhaps it takes a grumpy old man to appreciate the unrecognised and brilliant concepts of another irritable senior citizen?
Ah well, they didn't believe Einstein at first either.

FollowupID: 723189

Follow Up By: GrumpyOldFart - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 21:04

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 21:04
Who's calling who grumpy????

I have used that method to tow a vehicle with a non snatch strap on many occasions. Including a stint as Clerk of Course at Hidden Valley raceway, Darwin.
Came to the same conclusion you have about stresses and loads plus it won't fall off if the strap slackens.

I prefer not to "snatch" but drive in low 2nd to the stretch of the strap then stop and use the stored energy in the strap to help the stuck vehicle drive out. Repeat as necessary. (hope that makes sense) Much gentler on vehicles and much safer.
Remember
Life is short, Break the rules, Forgive quickly, Kiss slowly, Love truly,
Laugh uncontrollably, And never regret anything that made you smile

FollowupID: 723197

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 17:29

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 17:29
Thanks for sharing the idea Allan, & for those that are experienced in recovery situations it might work & be safe. But............ for a lot of people maybe it is an accident waiting to happen.

I'm a bit of a bitumen person so don't have a need for recovery (except for an odd hangover!!) but I reckon if I needed to attach a strap to my tow bar I would go with the set up as shown by Kimba 10. It looks pretty robust & safe & I would not imagine that it would be all that expensive. Cheers.
AnswerID: 450711

Follow Up By: Alllan B (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 17:56

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 17:56
Thanks Barry, Kimba's 'Receiver Shackle' is very good and appropriate for those who frequently need to snatch, or believe that they MAY need to frequently snatch. However, it is just another thing to have to purchase and carry.

I think some here have missed the point of my proposal. It is not suggested as an alternative for those who ARE equipped with appropriate recovery points but for those who do NOT have such and can be tempted into using the all-too-simple method of just dropping the strap over the ball. It is well established in industrial safety considerations that when faced with a safe procedure that is perceived as being "too much trouble" persons will frequently resort to unapproved methods which are perilous. An alternate procedure, perhaps not as exemplary but quite safe, is better than no substitute at all.

With many things there is an established ideal solution, sometimes with bells-and-whistles, but for those not possessing the bells & whistles, I have proposed a safe, simple alternative.

FollowupID: 723173

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 02:15

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 02:15
Definite NO from me.

Those who do not possess the "Bells and Whistles" should never attempt to snatch without the proper equipment.

As stated elsewhere pulling around a sharp angle is a NO NO as it would place a concentrated strain on snatch strap.

It might hold up once but I would never use the strap again as it would be suspect.

Bruce
FollowupID: 723217

Reply By: fisho64 - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 23:51

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 23:51
youve got my vote Allen, looks good to me!
AnswerID: 450743

Follow Up By: Alllan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 00:55

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 00:55
Thanks Fisho.

FollowupID: 723216

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 03:11

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 03:11
You have my vote, have tried your method years ago amongst other methods, important thing is no sharp edges.
FollowupID: 723218

Follow Up By: cycadcenter - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 11:29

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 11:29
Alllen

You say in another post that your hitch has rounded corners, the hitch shown in the photo sure doesn't have rounded corners.

I agree with the comments regarding rigging, The ONLY time I have seen a rigging strap break below it's working load limit is when it is passed over a sharp angle as shown in your photos.

Perhaps if you used a forged hitch like this it may be OK but there is no way I would recommend it. This hitch is rated at 8,000Kg so it won't break.

[img]
[/img]

Bruce
FollowupID: 723243

Reply By: gbc - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 07:06

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 07:06
I can see how an engineer would think this is o.k., because he's looking at the forces on the ball/bar and I agree it is a better way of attaching a load to a bar.
From a rigging point of view it is a nightmare.
Image 2 shows a twisted nylon strap which WILL suffer degredation under load due to friction damage.
Image three shows the legs of the strop parted to an angle of guessing 110-120 degrees. Using that included angle, the stitching will part well before the strap reaches it's full potential.
I have used your methods similar to yours before when retrieving a vehicle with no other way of attaching the load and got away with it, but most of us, including the Op, SHOULD know that what we are doing is unorthodox and can be ultimately dangerous.
I wouldn't have bothered replying, but untrained 4wders read this forum and should be made aware that the proposed methods of attaching straps are not normal and contravene basic rigging principles.
It's a shame that more 4wd users aren't trained in rigging, because that is exactly what you are doing when recovering a vehicle, and it can turn nasty very quickly.
AnswerID: 450750

Follow Up By: Alllan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 09:28

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 09:28
Sorry gbc, about the twist in image 2. Clumsy of me.
This one better?

FollowupID: 723234

Follow Up By: gbc - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 12:22

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 12:22
The point still stands that there is nylon reeved over nylon which will create friction issues.
Don't get me wrong, if there were no other points of attachment, I'd do exactly what you've done, and have done in the past. But that still don't make it right ;)
FollowupID: 723246

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 18:13

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 18:13
Friction issues of "nylon on nylon" exist at a much higher risk when there is movement in one side eg rope situations...for this situation i would imagine very little wear would occur, and coupled with the infrequent use of the strap, the risk would be minimal if checked before, during and after use. The risk here is no higher than the well accepted technique of joining two snatch straps.

FollowupID: 723298

Reply By: mikehzz - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 07:33

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 07:33
Thanks, I think its a good idea if you can't do it the right way (can't get the tounge out) for some reason. My main concern would be ruining the strap in some way due to the twists and turns over hard metal edges. For me, a backup solution and much appreciated. Mike
AnswerID: 450753

Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 08:25

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 08:25
My preferance is to remove the tow hitch from the Hayman Reese receptacle completely, poke the loop of the strap into the receptacle and insert the pin through the loop of the strap.

Next would be the shackle through a plain hayman reese metal insert as pictured earlier in this thread.

And never use the towball options at any time. As a matter of fact I leave the towball hitch at home.

AnswerID: 450756

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 08:29

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 08:29
Hi Allan

I have done that exact same thing with a snatch strap. One would have to assess each tow point individually to be sure but how you have it I see no issue.

You have my vote and I do a lot of off road and have had need for recovery.

AnswerID: 450757

Reply By: ob - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 11:52

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 11:52
OK I'll put in my 2 bobs worth
What would you rather have hurtling towards you in a failed recovery situation? a cut snatch strap which would in all probability not cause too much angst or a snapped off tow balL travelling at a considerable rate of knots. My vote is that this is a better idea than dropping it over the tow ball.

ob
AnswerID: 450763

Follow Up By: Flighty ( WA ) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 17:50

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 17:50
ob.
Finally common sense has prevailed your "2 bobs worth " is the best yet.
It seems that some people are so intent to shoot others down at the drop of a hat,that they don't realise that Allan ( with 3 Ls ) has simply offered an alternative, for which I think is quite a good solution.
I for one would be more concerned about removing hitch, poke in eye of strap, then fit a shackle or bar, then have tow vehicle move on an angle to rub on 4 x sharp edges inside the hitch , and they ARE sharp from hitch movement.

FollowupID: 723296

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 15:50

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 15:50
Ive been doing it like that for years and never had a problem.
just drive accordingly.....that common sense thing again. LOL

AnswerID: 450776

Reply By: Member - Warren R- Karratha - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 22:38

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 22:38
Great discussion here folks. Has anyone seen a towball actually shear off?

Waz
AnswerID: 450811

Follow Up By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 23:19

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 23:19

FollowupID: 723336

Follow Up By: disco driver - Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 23:38

Saturday, Apr 09, 2011 at 23:38
I Haven't, but Ive had a bullbar impact against the heavy steel tray on one of my previous Landrover trayback utes.
An earlyish Toyota HJ45 was bogged to the axles on a rising tide on a beach near Northampton WA and he asked me to give him a tug.
i agreed, but only after he dug all the sand buildup away. I made sure that he was aware of the risks involved with a series Landrover towing a Landcruiser and asked the guy to fix his end of the snatch strap to his vehicle's tow hook.
"Oh I took it off when I fitted the bar, I'll attach it to the bar mounting brackets with a bridle strap . That should be solid enough".

"Are you sure it will be OK' sez me "It doesn't look too solid"
"Nah She'll be strong enough, and the tide is getting closer".
"OK then. Don't blame me if it all goes pearshaped

It wasn't.......so the 3inch channel at the back of the tray had some paint scraped off by the aluminium bullbar.

But we got out eventually and I got no thanks for my assistance.. I wonder why..

Disco
aka Tony
FollowupID: 723338

Follow Up By: Member - edwin (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 10, 2011 at 00:40

Sunday, Apr 10, 2011 at 00:40
Alll ,my troopies hayman reese tongue has been flogged by years of towing trailers on corrugations and isnt coming out in a big hurry,i learnt a good lesson when letting a backpacker help me hook up our tour trailer(i didnt check what he had done),he hooked the safety chains to the Rclip on the pin,it pulled the clip and i lost the pin,drove for 3 hours on crappy corrugations and found the chain dragging on the ground when i pulled up,,,,trailer still intact luckily ,,found that the genuine toyota wheel spanner fits thru the hole nicely held in place with some duct tape,,so not everyone has a nice new 4wd whos tongue easily slips out and therefore your ALTERNATE method works just fine ,ive used this for a long time now and as long as you inspect the tongue for sharp edges or nicks all is good
FollowupID: 723341

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Sunday, Apr 10, 2011 at 13:10

Sunday, Apr 10, 2011 at 13:10
You could ask the kid in Tassie who got killed by one that fired right through a Patrol and hit him in the head.

Several on Utube as well buried in the back of fourbys or shot right through the windscreen and all

FollowupID: 723377

Reply By: Lyle87 - Sunday, Apr 10, 2011 at 11:14

Sunday, Apr 10, 2011 at 11:14
What happens when you pull two tonne will it slip? onthoer way just take out the tow ball and use a bow shackle with the in in the tow ball hole
AnswerID: 450835