FJ Cruiser

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 22:51
ThreadID: 84097 Views:5600 Replies:13 FollowUps:7
Just been checking out the new Toyota FJ Cruiser on Google ....Different ..I like the look of it .. Not here in Aus for another couple of months ...Will be good to see one in real life ..Anyone else seen it ?????

Cheers Hilary

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 23:24

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 23:24
There are heaps of them everywhere in the USA, very popular there (just spent some time in the USA). Basically a Prado with a different body.

Not sure why there is only petrols and no diesels available in AUS, would have made them more popular with many more potetial customers, but then I suppose they didn't want to pinch Prado sales. Don't really know where the FJ will fit in the AUS scene as it seems to be more about looks than function :(

AnswerID: 444093

Reply By: Dave JK - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 03:37

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 03:37
The mate has talked to Toyota about it. He was keen on it but Toyota wont give a firm price but the indications are high $50K and it will only be availble with the Prado 4 litre V6 engine, no diesel.

Initially one FJ per dealership and many are apparently presold so no test drives availible. Much like the 76 Cruiser release.

Toyota dont do themselves any favours. One of the reasons I now own a Jeep after 4 Toyotas.
AnswerID: 444100

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 06:36

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 06:36
Hi Hilary. This one was at the 4wd show in Sydney a couple of years ago. Not sure how practical a vehicle it would be though. Cheers,Bob

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 444101

Reply By: garbage - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 07:36

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 07:36
I saw one in Randwick last weekend, just parked on the street. It does have a polarising look, but I think I like it!
AnswerID: 444103

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 09:00

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 09:00
G'day Chopperdog,

Looks like country SA has been amongst the first to get a good look at these
in the flesh -so to speak.

Two weeks ago, here in Jamestown SA, there were three such animals.

I had a good look over one and spent some time talking to the reps. They were on a 'goodwill' tour of all Toyota dealers in the state and generally showing the wagons to anybody that had interest.

Neat looking and would make a nice little runabout on country roads. The rear lights would be first casualty tho' as they tend to stick out a tad.

The rep was at pains to tell me just how good the sound system was....hmmmm

Inside was quite spiffy (my terminology for 'initially looks good but dunno about practicality')

Don't see them as a 'hardcore' off roader.......but then again I've been wrong before and it all depends on peoples likes and dislikes.

Michael J

AnswerID: 444114

Reply By: stevieaus - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 09:37

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 09:37
There due here in 52 days, cant put any more than 20kg on the front so no bullbar or winch. Kind of stupid. There only here for two years and then there done.
AnswerID: 444122

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 18:39

Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 18:39
Not sure where you get your info from stevieaus but you better get a new source.

ARB have been selling whinch bars for these for over 2 years now That is a bullbar and a winch. There is even a photo of one above, or you could check the ARB US web site. Also Aust waited for the update so it has more than a 2 year life cycle.

FollowupID: 716671

Follow Up By: stevieaus - Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 07:59

Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 07:59
I'm aware there's an ARB bullbar for them, I have recieved an email from Toyota (that I can email to you if you like) that states as a dealer we are not allowed to put anything in excess of 20kg on the front of them. The reason why they are not telling us though.

FollowupID: 716739

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 08:31

Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 08:31
Thanks Steve, understand.

Remembering that "can't" and "Toyota doesn't want to" are 2 completely different, and unrelated things. Knowing Toyota, I would say it is probably a marketing decision rather than a technical decision. Probably to do with their bull bar supplier isn't ready, so they want to delay bull bar purchases till they can sell them.

It's like the "I agree" button on Toyota's navigation disclaimer that you have to press every time you start the car. Toyota say they have to do it that way as it is required by Australian law, so they can't remove it. Apparently the same law doesn't apply to Lexus' which copy BMW and Mercedes where you don't need to press the botton every start.

After all it is a Prado chassis with a different ( lighter) skin so there is nothing fundamental in the way.

FollowupID: 716744

Follow Up By: stevieaus - Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 08:45

Tuesday, Feb 08, 2011 at 08:45
You are probably right, after all the dramas we have had with bullbars i wouldn't put it past Toyota.
FollowupID: 716745

Reply By: cycadcenter - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 09:54

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 09:54
I'm currently in the USA and just stopped off at a Toyota dealer to check one out.

On the topic of it being built on a Prado chassis, well maybe but it has been chopped about 150mm on the wheelbase which would adversely effect the ride.

second, Toyota is really ripping you off on this one. The FJ is 100% made in Japan with no foreign content so I presume the same goes for the ones coming to OZ, over here they are selling with a full list price of $30,500 and saw one marked down to $25,000 and thats before any negotiation, they are pretty much a "has been" SUV over here having been around for probably 8 years at least and dealers just can't sell them anymore.

With the AU$ at abt parity with the US$ why are theu costing twice as much in OZ compared to USA when they are coming out of the same factory in Japan.

Seems just about the same distance for freight.

Just wondering

Bruce

AnswerID: 444129

Follow Up By: garbage - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 14:48

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 14:48
Someone definitely pocketing the change here. In the US, they're pretty close in price to the Kluger and cheaper than the Prado. $60k for that - yikes! :(
FollowupID: 716273

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 13:00

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 13:00
I have been invited to the National Media Launch but happy to send a rep.... contact me directly via email if anyone is interested.
Michelle
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 444151

Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 15:09

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 15:09
Chopperdog
I saw one down south(Dunsborough WA) 2 weeks ago, yellow colour. thought they had already landed in Aust. ????
AnswerID: 444176

Reply By: equinox - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 15:36

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 15:36
There's a blue licensed one driving around Perth at the moment.

AnswerID: 444188

Reply By: Pebble - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 22:58

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 22:58
My Husband said he saw one Perth way as well, he hates them.
They are supposed to compete with the Jeep Wrangler kind of market, now way I'd buy that over a Wrangler!
AnswerID: 444236

Follow Up By: Dave JK - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 11:27

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 11:27
Based on the comparison of internal sizethe JK is almost the size of a Prado, with the JK having more useable volume in the rear compared to the Prado.

The FJ looks very much smaller.
FollowupID: 716396

Follow Up By: Pebble - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 11:42

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 11:42
I've read a bit about them on some of the US mountain bike forums. Major point seems to be about lack of visibility (more blind spots), but they seem to love them in regards to off road ability though. Toyota seems highly regarded over there as well for reliability etc.

My Husbands and my own opinion would be based mainly on looks though, we ended up with a JK because funny enough it's probably the most similar fourby to the "agricultural" style of the old 79 series ute, which Hubby would still have if it wasn't for the need to fit the two kids in also. The petrol JK certainly lacks the kind of power we're used to though, but sure has an awesome turning circle compared to a cruiser ute lol.

The Toyota FJ is that kind of car that could grow on someone I guess, but only if it was satisfactory in price / performance etc.
FollowupID: 716399

Reply By: cycadcenter - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 10:15

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 10:15
Anyone have any idea how ARB got one registered still with left hand drive?

Bruce
AnswerID: 444274

Reply By: Rod - Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 09:35

Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 09:35

Yeah, they're tough all right - Not!

http://www.fjcruiserforums.com/forums/problems-dealer-service/33440-engine-bay-body-rips.html
AnswerID: 444488