Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 17:05
Member - Geoff M (VIC)
Hi Eveyone,
A question that has been bugging me is "how often should we conduct oil/filter changes on a new common rail vehicle". The manufacturers recommendation is 10,000 km which I have been following up to now, but on my previous vehicle I used to change the oil every 5,000 km and oil filter every 10,000 km.
Now the new common rail engines have much tigher tolerances and the oil certainly seems to stay cleaner for longer than my previous diesel. Is this a reason to stick to the 10k interval or should I change more regularly (as I previously did) to be on the safe side?
What are other owners doing?
Cheers, Geoff
Reply By: Muntoo - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 17:13
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 17:13
Mate, even with the 5,000km service intervals on the older cars, many people who got there oil tested where able to get many more kilometres out of the oil then just 5,000.
I reckon its a safe bet that with the oil that is needed in common rails and the far more efficient burn cycle that it would be safe to go 15,000kms.
I will only go 10,000kms with
mine but i still make sure i use Penrite oil.
Its safe to go 10,000kms easily mate.
Follow Up By: escapesilv - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 17:33
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 17:33
I have been contacting mitsubishi dealer, as they recommend 15.000 Km intervals
services, for the challenger.
Most of them confirm that it is not necessary to change oil more often, and some suggest if you want you can have an oil and filter change. and quote $ 290.00 for the oil change only, a bit much in mhop.
Reply By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 17:40
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 17:40
we do oil an filter changes on our MBenz ambulances at 20k intervals
but you have to use the correct oil stick to the manufactures recomendations
specially with the new diesel particlate filter models ,as they use a low ash oil .
very expensive but thats life .
mechpete
Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 17:47
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 17:47
Gooday,
Have a Jeep CRD and they recommended is 10,000Km , which annoys me as in other countries it is 20,000. I won't buy Toyota as they gouge buyers with their 5,00Km
services.
Boroma 604.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 18:42
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 18:42
My 2002 Landcruiser TD has 10k intervals for oil changes.
Which Toyotas are you talking about?
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 19:28
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 19:28
My 2005 has 5000k intervals 1 HD-FTE motor
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 19:35
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 19:35
Graham,
5k interval is for "severe service conditions". Interval is 10k under normal conditions.
I guess you do yours at 5k because you tow a big van.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 20:22
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 20:22
Nope I cheat and do it at 7500 roughly depnding on where I am at the time.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 20:31
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 20:31
Graham,
Your secret is safe with us :-)
But the point is that pages 30-33 of your warranty and service manual says the interval is 10,000k under normal operating conditions.
In those pages it outlines the conditions that trigger more frequent oil and filter changes - namely "operating on dusty roads" " towing a trailer, using a camper or cartop carrier" and "repeated short trips less than 8km and outside temperature remains below freezing".
There's plenty of people who prefer to change their 1HD-FTE oil at 5k intervals - just a waste of good oil. Their motors don't go any longer than the rest of us.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:40
Thursday, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:40
My 1HD-FTE has 210K on it, I have done several oil samples on it over the 100K Ive had it and even at 10,000 it comes back
well within spec for soot, viscosity, dispersancy etc.
It gets to about 7500 before there is any visible change in the colour as opposed to the old indirect injection motors 50-100k's!
Quite happy to run 10000k intervals.
PhilG, from memory it also lists "high speed highway travel" also as a reason which about covers everything!
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 14, 2011 at 08:43
Friday, Jan 14, 2011 at 08:43
Gday Fisho,
For "continuous high speed driving" they list auto trans fluid, diff, transfer and gearbox oil for more frequent replacement, but not engine oil.
Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 18:27
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 18:27
I may be wrong but I think these long service intervals are a con.
Services used to be 5000k's or 12 months what ever accurs first.
Now some manufactures are saying how much cheaper thier vehicles are to maintain due to the longer service intevals of 10,000 or 15,000km, but what they don't mention is that they have dropped the time to 6 months.
So unless you are doing more than 10 or 15k km's in 6 months, their service cost have increased greatly.
Reply By: disco driver - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 19:25
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 19:25
If you
check with your owners handbook you may find that long distances between oil changes only apply if the vehicle is running under ideal conditions.
Depending on what your book says this may be described as;
No journeys under 15-20km, Ambient Temp range 5-25 deg C, No dirt roads, No maximum loads or somethind similar.
That's pretty restrictive, especially in Australia outback.
Is it worth the risk.
Even at $15 per litre for the oil, (full Synthetic), an intermediate oil and air and oil filter change is a fairly cheap way of ensuring that your pride and joy lasts as long as possible.
Just my thoughts on the subject.
Disco.
Reply By: mikehzz - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 19:31
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 19:31
Land Rovers in Europe are 12mths 24,000 kms but they halve it for Australia due to "harsh" conditions. I would have thought driving around
Sydney or
Melbourne isn't that harsh. At least it isn't 20 below zero. Dealers getting away with murder more like it. Mike
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 20:35
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 20:35
AFAIK, there's nothing special about common rail when it comes to oil change intervals. Most "direct injection" motors like yours have 10k intervals because, like you've observed, the oil stays cleaner and is not prone to oil thickening.
The old 5k oil and 10k filter changes was common with "indirect injection" motors like the 2H, 1Hz, 1KZ-TE and TD42.
Reply By: RobAck - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 20:55
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 20:55
Your concern is regarding the fuel tolerances to support correct fuel atomisation for a common rail system.
Most are not aware nor understand that Australia's ability to accept the really good quality common rail systems remains compromised due to our relatively poor fuel quality compared to Europe.
That aside Australia has legislated a lowering of the sulphur ppm to such a level that currently we have diesel fuel that is actually performing very close to petrol when it comes to burn efficiency. Apart from the normal fuel contamination risks associated with outback travel you will find that city and regional fuel outlets have a legal obligation to provide the high quality diesel we presently enjoy.
So your only real risk of contamination is from a dodgy jerry can or poorly maintained refuelling rig.
As sulphur is the major contaminant in diesel you have a very low risk needing to go to the expense of increasing your filter and oil changes. About the only time this is now relevant is when your vehicle's duty cycle is mainly CBD and short runs. If that is the case then moving to a 5k cycle is not a bad idea
RobA
Follow Up By: Ruffy-Dan - Thursday, Jan 13, 2011 at 11:14
Thursday, Jan 13, 2011 at 11:14
I tend to agree with your comments for the most part, except about the fuel outlets.
Yes they have a legal obligation, however you will find the the quality of the fuel that leaves the refinery is generally comprised in it's storage or delivery at the retail outlet more so than anywhere else.
Unfortunately, there is laws in place to inspect and
test storage vessels and delivery systems but no policing of the result.
This so extreme in cases that i have perosnally experienced a tank of diesel in a truck that was actually petrol due to the delivery of a load of petrol into the diesel tank at the servo. The fuel was then pump from the diesel tank into the petrol tank so as not to waste the fuel or have the enviromental hassles of disposal.
Petrol used to be a great injector cleaner in indirectly injected diesels. Petrol will kill your common rail faster than you want to think.
I cannot strongly enough recommend and auxillary sedimenter/filter on any common rail, especially those who venture off the beaten track.
Dan
Reply By: Member - Geoff M (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:18
Thursday, Jan 13, 2011 at 10:18
Thanks everyone for your replies - I reckon I will stick to 10,000km intervals for oil changes, other than the mandatory oil change before starting an outback trip whatever the km's are.
Cheers, Geoff
Follow Up By: petengail - Thursday, Jan 13, 2011 at 16:14
Thursday, Jan 13, 2011 at 16:14
Thanks for a very informative post which I have wanted to see since buying my first diesel 4x4
Reply By: Abraxxas - Friday, Jan 14, 2011 at 06:59
Friday, Jan 14, 2011 at 06:59
Please see link below.
http://www.ultimatesyntheticoil.com/Scamsoil_Skeptics.htm
I am interested to know if anyone has used this product and if so, what do they think of the company's claims about oil change intervals of 25,000
miles? Do you believe this oil will cope with the rigours of towing?