76 Series Landcruiser info please.

Submitted: Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 23:29
ThreadID: 81538 Views:22700 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Hi 76 owners. There are a couple eo members who have one and we are interested in your thoughts positive and negative. We are turning the old girl into greener pastures and lashing out on a second hand 76 work mate or GXL depends on the best deal we can find. How happy are you with your vehicle? The Gall Boys sold us last year when watching one drag a Kedron up the cape.

Reply By: Twinkles - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 12:09

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 12:09
I'm interested to know what owners think too.
I have read that they can consume excess oil in their first few thousand kilometres. Do they all do this? Do the later ones do this?
Is the low mounted alternator a problem?
Are they comfortable for touring?
What year did they change the interior?
Do you get a lot of road noise?
AnswerID: 431385

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 17:57

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 17:57
Not an owner but had the opportunity of driving one on a track near Arkaroola last May.
Previous Owners: Gaul Boys.
Previous Trip: Canning Stock Route
Featured: Gaul Boys CSR video.

Drove it both on a rough track (Arkaroola Mt Jacob Backtrack) and on the highway(Coober Pedy to the Breakaways).
Has some go when you wind it up on the blacktop but a bit slow off the mark.
Bit agricultural as you would expect and I found the seat a little uncomfotable and couldn't move it back far enough for my prefered driving position. Passengers don't have much leg room either.
Pretty hard to lift a wheel on the rough stuff and I did the track in 4WH.
Came across one ticklish spot on soft sand in a river bed that that had a bit of a washaway and had a couple of goes but wasn't sure how far the vehicle would lean before rolling. I managed to get the wheels up on the rocks on the side and straddle the wash away to keep it level and got through OK.

AnswerID: 431405

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 21:47

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 21:47
Will have to buy that dvd and watch it probably over and over like the other one.
FollowupID: 702163

Reply By: Member - Mark C (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 21:01

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 21:01
Hi old girl
have a gxl troopy and am not impressed! toyota have no answer to the oil consumption! toyota and apparently no one else have answers to the fuel consumption! mine had to have the whole wiring loom replaced due to an unfindable short and after 20000km of travelling on a trip my body was wrecked due to the gearbox mound being to wide and so your legs are permanently on an angle! dont have any answers on what else will do the same job but look around and test drive well. If you want more details let me know I can be very critical for $70000 and had to fit aftermarket suspension and everything else I cant afford that needs fixing
AnswerID: 431417

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 21:20

Saturday, Sep 25, 2010 at 21:20
Bugger big time. So much for warranty. We were thinking of the work mate because kids and carpet doesn't work well, so over sand and mud that I have to scrub out after every trip. We do a lot of off the beaten track stuff. All our cars get done over by ARB with after market goodies before we use them any how. Will buy flairs because we don't like split rims and skinny tyres. Doing all that is still cheaper than the GXL. Just hope there isn't engine and electrical problems with every one that came off the line.
FollowupID: 702160

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 09:00

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 09:00
Hi Guys

You know reading this and couple of other current threads isn't encouraging , a 76 series was a car we considered, and the last one we drove before deciding on our new petrol Patrol - from towing to comfort the Patrol was better everywhere except fuel consumption - and then it was only $50k new - and its a car without a single known bug !

FollowupID: 702187

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 09:37

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 09:37
Robin We nearly went there. The 80 has a Nissan tow tongue to warn it. Seriously now, we want to be able to tow 3t and feel that the V8 might withstand that weight for a longer period. Its hard to tell at this point as they have only been around for 3 years. We have a blow up Nissan with a V8 Chev in. Comfort is way better than the old girl even but I don't trust conversions its just a very expensive toy. We have been thinking of relocating over to the west to travel the state for a couple of years. Want to tow family van (home base) with 76 and tow camper with 80,then retire the 80 as a go to work vehicle. I understand there isnt any bells and whistels in the 76 but the $$ talk too. Ive seen one go for 38k so far. My main consern is the oil thing. Is it just running in or there for life?
FollowupID: 702194

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 11:32

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 11:32
Hi Old Girl

I think I could give you some comfort on the oil issue - certainly from my brother an automotive engineer who has run a toyo workshop - his feeling is that the oil issue is now effectivily solved , despite the odd lemon.

For you , you would need to be sure that a 2nd hand one wasn't dumped for that reason.

I would be more concerned about wether the comments we hear such as - "these cars need new injectors at $8000 every 200k " is real or not if the car your looking has done a 100k already.

A mate of mine has the tray version 6 months old- zero issues - but replaced the seats because of back issues.

FollowupID: 702204

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 13:14

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 13:14
Thanks Robin.
FollowupID: 702216

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 23:17

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 23:17
An advantage of a GXL over a Workmate is that it is easier to fit after market seats for driver and passenger. These are pretty well essential. Recaros, Stratos and other brands have been mentioned by Exploroz members in earlier threads. I have a Stratos suspension seat and find that it makes the cruiser a very comfortable vehicle for me. It was a merciless back killer with the original seat. GXLs also come with the wider alloy wheels that are very expensive to get from Toyota. I was quoted $1,045 each recently. Just as well there are other suppliers of wheels.

I have a GXL cab chassis with 50,000 k on it in 18 months. The motor has been good. No excessive oil consumption. No need to top up oil, if changed every 5,000 k (recommended). Fuel consumption quite good. I notice some recent posts have indicated heavy fuel consumption from the V8 and that is the first I have heard of that. My long term average is just under 12.5 litres per 100k. Best figures in the low 11s and worst, across Simpson Desert this year, 16.78.

There are now quite a few of the V8 79 series traybacks where I live and no reports of high oil consumption. Some are older but most newer than mine.

Only mechanical thing I have done was to fit Koni shocks. There is very little difference I can tell between them and the originals so I reckon the suspension could be left alone, depending on your needs.

Issues with the vehicle have so far been limited to a recent $1,000 plus rebuild of the rear brakes. The rear brakes have an unfortunate habit of self destructing if exposed to sand, mud and dirt. Yeah well, that's what I got it for!

The 76 lacks the second fuel tank and for some this may be important. Also the rear springs are a bit shorter than on the Troopy and cab chassis. Don't know if this means anything in practise.

The V8s are not the vehicle to take through deep water.

Buying second hand? It could be more important than usual to know the vehicles history. The turbo V8 is an easy motor to thrash. How many former owners/drivers have allowed the turbo to spin down before turning off? How many crash start the engine? The driving style may have a bigger effect on the V8 than usual.

This follow up got a bit longer than I first intended.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 702335

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 20:12

Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 20:12
Hi Flynnie, We have a contact for affordable GXL look alike rims. Certainly going to chase them up. With Flares to make it legal a standard should look pretty good.
FollowupID: 702421

Reply By: Guzziman - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 08:35

Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 08:35
Old Girl.

A few comments from a satisfied LC76 GXL owner. Had the vehicle for a little over 15 months and done 28,000 km, probably 50% of the time towing a camper of about 900kg. Steel bull bar and a tow bar are the only add ons otherwise bog standard. Only two people travelling with not excessive gear. Plan to ditch the Tirfor and fit a winch one day.

I have owned Landcruisers since 1973 so my comments may be seen by some as being one eyed, and up until 3 yrs ago drove off road every day in my job.

For me the 76 being shorter, narrower, much lighter, with better entry and exit angles, greater ground clearance and $35k plus cheaper than a 200 series was what sold me. No oil consumption issues, drive as if an egg is under your right boot and an average of 11.7l / 100km is the current figure. Once up to cruising speed not a lot pass me. When you need a bit of stick it has plenty, great overpassing ability up hills. I don't do extreme off road driving but I go where most go without flogging to pieces what is an expensive bit of gear.

Issues. The LSD doesn't, fitted a locker to the rear diff and all is great. Certainly could do with higher gearing, 2600 @ 110km seems excessive for such a torquey motor. Narrower rear wheel track, no discernible issues as raised by others, in fact in some mud conditions the rear tyres seem to push additional material down into the front wheel tracks and support the back. Maybe imagination, very subjective issue. I have concerns as to the longevity of the common rail system and electronics of the motor, only time and water ingress will tell. Previous diesels got up to 320,00 km with no real issues (AC belt tensioner, dodgy starter, and most of all keeping clean fuel filter and air filter. ) Change oil @ 5k and filter @ 10k.

Seats, yes they aren't the best for long days, a break and walk every 2+ hrs solves it for me. Ride, certainly much better and with a better turning circle than my ute, still a big lump though.

I suspect that in 10 years time I will be saying the 76 was a good buy.

Guzziman.
AnswerID: 431550

Reply By: westozal - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 14:12

Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 14:12
We have 3 V8 troopies where I work. The most mileage is about 50k now. they all use oil including the 50 k vehicle.
Aside from the woeful turning circle I really like them. Plently of power and nice V8 noise.
Even if they do use oil it doesn't seem to be detrimental overall, just that you need to check under the hood more often which perhaps isn't a bad thing.

Regards AL
AnswerID: 431578

Reply By: Member - Allan W (SA) - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 14:31

Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 14:31
Have owned a LC76 since may, 2009 model, with 25K on the clock. Have not noticed any oil problems and have just returned from a 4K trip up the Birdsville and Oddnadatta tracks towing our Off Road caravan and had no problems. We get a lot better fuel mileage than our old Patrol.
AnswerID: 431579

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 20:01

Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 20:01
Thanks every one for your effort in replying were now loaded up with good advise. I'm satisfied that the oil thing has been rectified. The seat thing is either change it or take a teaspoon of concrete and harden up. The search is in full swing.
Thankyou again
Sharon
AnswerID: 431613