Outback travels, ExplorOz members and country hospitality

We've been on the road since Tuesday last week, been through Nindigully, Cunnamulla, Noccundra, the Dig Tree, Innamincka, Cameron Cnr and now at Lyndhurst. Heading up to the flooded Cooper Ck/Birdsville Track later today.
What a magnificent country we have! And we are lucky to be seeing it in all it's glory at the moment after the recent rains have turned everything so lush and green! And the people! The workers at all the places we have stopped have been so friendly! Really nice people who will bend over backwards to see that we're comfortable. Always ready with a yarn or two, and a happy smile.

Special mention to Rosie & Warren at Innamincka, what a pair of characters they are! And "Bomber" at the Dig Tree. I could sit and listen to Bombers yarns forever I reckon!

Also have met a couple of other EO forumites..... met one guy at Innaminkcka, out at the Burke Grave site if memory serves me, mate, if you're reading this, I didn't write your name in my trip book and I'm sorry but for the life of me, I can't recall it. If you can, please message me with your name again.
We met "Warrie" at Monte Collina Bore camp area yesterday morning, as we were enjoying the benefits of the Hot Spring. Warrie and Mrs Warrie are a really nice couple, a pleasure to meet them!

If you're out here and see "Dusty" the fun-loving GQ Patrol, please come and say G'day, we're always ready for a yarn!!

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 13:04

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 13:04
Hi Brian
Glad to see you are having a great trip. Wait till you see the water over the Birdsville Track. Make sure that you head out past the Road Closed sign to the MV Brennan site, it gives a great perspective of just how much water is out there.

AnswerID: 422881

Reply By: Member - Tommy T (Moonta SA) - Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 14:54

Saturday, Jul 03, 2010 at 14:54
G'day Brian

We are heading up to Innamincka on Wednesday for several days camping & checking out the Copper crossing of Birdsville track the following week. What is the situation re camping near Cullyamurra waterhole ... dried out enough yet ??

Tommy
AnswerID: 422887

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 04:38

Sunday, Jul 04, 2010 at 04:38
I caught up with an EO member in Wellington NZ and Edinburgh Scotland in the past 6-8 months, this family is truly world wide and they are both great guys, with equally wonderful better halves.

AnswerID: 422934