Have Toyota finally lost their mind ???

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 09:33
ThreadID: 76733 Views:6543 Replies:17 FollowUps:15
The new Fj Cruiser

This will be released here mid year, along with something called a RUKUS, which looks like a box on wheels.

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 09:46

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 09:46
Toyota Edsel?

AnswerID: 408196

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 09:49

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 09:49
The FJ Cruiser has been on sale in the US for years. It is build on a Prado chassis and running gear.
A couple of privately imported ones have been running around Oz for the last few years. The one that ARB imported has been at various 4x4 shows around Aus over the last few years as well. So if you want to see one in the flesh keep an eye out for the ARB one at 4x4 shows.

AnswerID: 408197

Reply By: tonysmc - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 10:31

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 10:31
All the design, development and engineering that would have gone in to producing this vehicle and the could put out a standard Landcruiser dual cab and they would sell like hot cakes.

Tony.
AnswerID: 408204

Reply By: Member - Dave and Shaz - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 10:36

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 10:36
Boy that's ugly. Still prefer our brick on wheels LOL
AnswerID: 408205

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 20:09

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 20:09
Yep, Fugly is definitely the word for it.
Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 678213

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 10:38

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 10:38
A radical departure from the 60s juke box styled Prado (which I find abhorrent).

Properly set up it could be alright.

AnswerID: 408206

Reply By: Rip64 - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 10:58

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 10:58
I like it and I want one !
Chunky bar and winch, custom screen visor, loose the hi-mount lights.
AnswerID: 408209

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 11:08

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 11:08
A bit like this one maybe

FollowupID: 678140

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 11:10

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 11:10
Or this??

FollowupID: 678141

Follow Up By: Rip64 - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 11:17

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 11:17
Yes - Thats it - please call prior to delivery to make sure i'm home
FollowupID: 678144

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 07:11

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 07:11
Those colours remind me of things found in baby's nappies.

HaHa
FollowupID: 678275

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 11:00

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 11:00
Obviously trying to get into the 'trendy' market. But how 'trendy' is a petrol powered 4wd? I thought fuel efficient cars were in.

Could you imagine pulling up at the Birdsville pub in that thing?! I agree with the above post, factory Landcruiser 70 series dual cab on the Troopy chassis. Almost the perfect vehicle, it only needs coils in the rear.
AnswerID: 408211

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 13:03

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 13:03
"Could you imagine pulling up at the Birdsville pub in that thing?"

Could you imagine turning up in this?

FollowupID: 678161

Reply By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 11:02

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 11:02
heaps of them getting around Lybia!
Working there in June 09 in a Shipyard watched about 50 roll of a car transportor and thought they looked pretty flash!
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

AnswerID: 408212

Reply By: cycadcenter - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 11:28

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 11:28
There are quite a few around here in California and reportedly have good off road ability with good ground clearance and approach.exit angles.

There have been a lot of rumurs here that 2010 will be the last year of production here in the USA.

Bruce
AnswerID: 408218

Reply By: Member - Cantiva Clay (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 13:35

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 13:35
I love it! But surely they will drop the d4d in it for Australia? Assume it will have the full kit traction control, rear slipper or locker and stability control abs etc does anyone know? Hopefully no surrond cameras...and not in blue..how long do you reckon those rear tail lights will last?
AnswerID: 408232

Follow Up By: Member - Cantiva Clay (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 13:43

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 13:43
Actually theres a good write up in Wiki - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_FJ_Cruiser -- the supercharged Toyota Racing version would be perfect......except for the 72L tank...you won't be going far but at least you'll get there quickly! LOLLOL

FollowupID: 678168

Reply By: age - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 13:50

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 13:50
Hi Donks1

Do you have a link to the story about this coming to Australia. Just very interested that Toyota would tool up a production line for this model for Australian compliance. Not sure this vehicle is even currently produced in a right hand drive version, so would require a massive investment by Toyota to make right hand drive for such a small market in Australia.

A
AnswerID: 408234

Follow Up By: age - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 14:08

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 14:08
Found it

FJ Cruiser for OZ
FollowupID: 678171

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 14:13

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 14:13
I don't know Age but there a quite a few countries that drive on the left - including Japan. Maybe Oz is just an after thought!

FollowupID: 678174

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 14:38

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 14:38
We are always an after thought these days.

Fifty years of customer paid for, trials and development here to get their vehicles right ... and now they are conquering the world.

Clever business people the japanese ... slow but sure.

Might be getting a bit ahead of themselves just looking at the recalls lately tho.
FollowupID: 678176

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 15:03

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 15:03
Hi OzTroopy,

Same with the yanks! In another life I had some dealings with Mack and was a little surprised that all the truck makers were represented in this small market. They informed me that being so small it was easier to compete and to see what works. A strategic blunder would not affect their major markets. Kind of makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside doesn't it if taken into some context of the problems some brands have had in Oz. Let's not forget that some of these ownerships have changed as well and I think both Mack and Nissan are now owned by Renault.

FollowupID: 678178

Reply By: kingswoodwagon - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 14:51

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 14:51
The big question is

Will it get past Toyota Country Border Security?

AnswerID: 408240

Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 15:12

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 15:12
Sorry

I thought it was going to get better the more I read. It didn't. What on earth did they think of with those rear windows. Ooops forgot something and then stuck them in. Bad luck if you have children over 6 months. Where do their legs go??

There is some resemblance to an old Dinky toy I had as a child. The idea of the "double" door is good. But why bother - no room for anyone in there anyway.

With some work and a better paint colour (yellow = laughable) it could look a bit macho. But I cannot see beyond those silly rear side windows.

You could also dump all those stuck on bits of black plastic around the edges. What are they! Crumple zones for kangaroos or pedestrians.

Hey Guys This is how I see it. If you don't like what I say that's fine.

AnswerID: 408244

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 15:46

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 15:46
Was a post on here a couple of days ago, same topic. One reply showed a common fault with them, the metal cracking/splitting in the body.... have a look back a few days.

Cheers, Dave
AnswerID: 408250

Reply By: briann532 - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 19:15

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 19:15
Is this Toyota's "budget" version of a hummer???

Other than a few inner city hairdressers, who's gonna buy the rest???

Now that Nissan have gone independant suspension, I may have to swallow every ounce of integrity I have and buy a land rover.............

It seems to be the only decent thing left............LOL

Just for you lancruiser lovers............I know the diesel ute is great, but geez who can afford to pay 2 cars worth of money to only get 1?

Ah well, off to buy some chardonnay and a rover :0 :) :0

AnswerID: 408275

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 21:56

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 21:56
"I know the diesel ute is great, but geez who can afford to pay 2 cars worth of money to only get 1?"

Hi Brian, it's not about money....it's about whether your vehicle of choice is up to the task at hand!!! :)

FollowupID: 678239

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 11:44

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 11:44
The mega cruiser is a hummer replacement brought out years ago.
military megacruiser
http://www.megacruiser.com/images/exterior/ext01_640.jpg

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 678304

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 21:48

Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 21:48
Toyota lost the plot in Australia in 1998, when they refused to fit the 105 series with the 1HDFTE engine nd H series manual gearbox in the solid axle front cruiser.

They further showed stupity by trying to con the public here with the regurgitated overseas Prado defacto and sell it here as the 76 series wagon...nothing in body much more developed than a boxy 1980's Pajaro..except the motor and gearbox.

They then had the hide to sell the new V8.. 78, 79 and 76 series without an auto box, cruise control or even airbags...and a 2" gap where the metal dash meets or doesn't meet the A pillar.
AnswerID: 408303

Reply By: Twintrail(W.A.) - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 00:22

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 00:22
hi i have 2007 troopy and would like to know if any one has fiited spacers to the rear end and their thouhts. regards twintrail
AnswerID: 408321

Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 00:31

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 00:31
Simple and short answer.
Spacers are illegal for on road use in WA.
Doesn't mean that there aren't a few out there though.

Disco.
FollowupID: 678268

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 07:10

Thursday, Mar 11, 2010 at 07:10
They are illegal because they put stresses on the wheel bearings at angles to which the bearings were not designed to handle and could subsequentlty bleep ter.

If you really want to know ask your local RTA.

FollowupID: 678274