Friday, Feb 26, 2010 at 01:33
ok firstly, damn you guys are quick! i wasnt expecting so many responses so quick! much appreciated!
Pete, firstly, thanks, i had been doin a lil bit of research but hadnt come accross Maize Island or
Katarapko Creek, so i'll have to
check them out, thanks!
GoneBush, yeah while researching i came across
Morgan, and a friend said something about there when i spoke to him today, so that shows promise as
well. also yeah i know about Fire Bans and the like, this isnt 'my first BBQ' if you will, but i didnt know when Fire Bans were lifted, Des later on also said about it, so i will make sure i look into that, might save me a few bucks and a hell of a lot of trouble! lol
Roachie, truth be told, showering is a secondary thought, were fine with just having a wash in the river or lake, but we did want to be on the water, that way we can pretend to be fishing while we have a few! lol. might have to ask you a bit more about some spots on the Yorkes, but at the moment i'm still lookin into other spots, so i might ask ya when i'm ready, thanks!
Sparra, yeah i saw your post there mate, have to turn you down this time mate, we're just having as a 'just us' sorta thing, but thanks for the offer! i would like to know a bit more about spots near
Morgan you said about and the property you mentioned, but i wanna ask about the dirt road you spoke about, i just need to make sure that a smaller car will be able to handle the road, i dont think we really wanna get bogged in the sand if we can help it! LOL
Des, yeah i travelled a bit and know about the Fruit Fly stations and things like that, so i know about not takin fruit and veg and the like, but thanks for the reminder, ill have to make sure to get me some spuds, carrots and onions (planing on making a
camp oven stew on the fire, beautiful stuff! lol), havnt got any canoes to bring unfortunately (pity cos i really enjoy that!), but you did also mention one of my favourite words, YABBIES!! mate as far as i'm concerned, campin on a river with no other bugger around for
miles, an esky full of beers and a pot of yabbies boilin away on a fire, as far as i'm concerned, thats pretty friggin close to paradise! might have to find me some nets! lol
ok so if someone can tell me about some spots near
Morgan or Maize Island, or tell me where i can find some info on them, it will be very much appreciated!
Thanks Guys!
Follow Up By: Sparra Carter - Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 09:09
Saturday, Feb 27, 2010 at 09:09
Marco
The private property near
Morgan is a top spot and I do recommend it.
The dirt road from the bitumen to the
farm gate is a two lane graded dirt road. Once through the
gate the road degrades to tracks but I can only think of one spot where there is some sand but 90% of the tracks are solid.
My original direction are fairly accurate to get you to the
Gate but after that you have to find your own spot to park and set up. There are about 8+ great spots and some not so great ones, some will give privacy and other a great view of the river. A good amount of RR Gums are throughout the property along the River.
Happy Camping.
Sparra
Follow Up By: Marco72 - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 18:29
Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 18:29
Thanks Sparra, the place your talkin about is startin to look quite appealling!
sounds like the car should be able to handle it without too much worry, but if we decide to head down there, we might need the directions to be a bit more in depth, cos none of us have been out that way and we wanna make sure were on the right property (could be a bit of trouble if we end up on the wrong one, which would probably happen knowing our luck! LOL), so if you could give us some more in depth details of the property, it would be much appreciated, also, perhaps using Google Maps might be an idea, cos you would be able to point it out for us on there and we should be able to work out how to get there from that, just an idea that i thought may help us out! would really appreciate that if you could!
Thanks, Marco
Follow Up By: Sparra Carter - Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 21:45
Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 21:45
Hey Marco
Shyte ... I follow my nose with most directions but I looked
the spot up on Google Earth and found the area.
I have no idea if what I am about to tell you means anything to you but here goes ...
The turn-off on the
Adelaide side of
MORGAN is at the following co-ordinates 34Deg 01' 57.76" S and 139Deg 39' 42.33" E (Blanchtown Rd)
The
Gate to the Property is at 34Deg 07' 46.66" S and 139Deg 39' 53.02" E
The middle of the general
camping area is at 34Deg 08' 24.99" S and 139Deg 39' 32.55" E
On Google Earth you can see the Orchards of the adjoining
farm and there is a Houseboat
parking near the
gate to the
farm
Follow Blanchtown Rd south and pass-by the following side roads (about 12-15+ Km) ... a few aren't marked but these following ones are marked ...
Eudunda Rd, Stoney Steps Rd & Thamms Rd then turn left onto Pelican Point Rd. As I said if you run out of Bitumen then you have gone about 300 Meters too far. Then travel about 3 Km pass one road on the left (to Wombats Rest), until a steep decent (not really steep) then turn right onto Hausler Rd at the bottom. Cleared Orchard on your right and House Boats and Rubbish Drop point on the Creek side.
Don't hold me to the actual distances they are from memory.
Good Luck, the
Camp offers NO Facilities but the camping spots are very good.
Sparra
Follow Up By: Marco72 - Thursday, Mar 04, 2010 at 00:25
Thursday, Mar 04, 2010 at 00:25
well mate, if i follow me nose mate, chances are i'd probably end up in the middle of bloody nowhere, and while that wouldnt worry me so much, the other might get a tad peeved about it, helll theyre having enough trouble with the idea of going somewhere without a
toilet! but like i keep tellin them 'Suck It Up Princess!' LOL
but ive had a bit of a root around on Google Earth and i reckon i have found the place you were talkin about, but i just wanted to sent you the
pic from G.E to make sure i have the right spot, so if you dont mind sendin me your email address so i send ya the
pic, we can make sure i'm in the right spot, plus then i can ask you a few more questions, about if we have to get a permit or pay a camping fee or just let the property's owner that were down there
so if ya dont mind sendin me your email, or i can send ya
mine, which ever way youd prefer mate
also, sorry it took a couple of days, been trying to organise some stuff here and aint been on much the last couple of days lol
all your help has been very much appreciated mate
Marco
Follow Up By: Sparra Carter - Monday, Mar 08, 2010 at 17:08
Monday, Mar 08, 2010 at 17:08
G'day Marco
sorry to take a while getting back to you but I have only today (Mon 8 Mar) returned from a
camp at Wall Flat (near
Mannum) on the Murray.
We got rain upon fairly heavily last night and tho we stayed dry the ground everywhere turn to MUD so we headed back today.
Thought you were heading off for the long week end so this may be too late but if not my email is vacarter @ bigpond net au.
If you did get away I hope you and the royal family had a great time.
Sparra
Follow Up By: Marco72 - Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 23:03
Wednesday, Mar 10, 2010 at 23:03
yeah i thought that might have been the case and you had gone off somwhere, but no, not too late, we only planning the trip at this point, and we tend to plan a long way ahead cos it gives us time to sort everything out, plus since we wanna have the campfire we were gonna wait til the end of fire ban season anyway, campin's just not the same without the fire! LOL but i wanna ask you if you can have fires in this spot, but before i can do that, i should probably make sure i'm lookin at the right spot
but thanks for the email, i'll send ya that
pic tomorrow (mainly cos i'm about to head to bed now and get an early night lol), and if i got the right spot, i will ask you some more questions
thanks mate
Marco