Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 17:22
Here are some
pic's that all have been waiting for of the
Lake Rason 7Millers
Shack rebuild.
I hope there in the right place for all to find.
Ready for traverlers of Oz again. hope you all enjoy our hard work. every day was over 40 Deg.
Hi Guys,
as said, we rebuilt the Seven Millers
Shack. better than before. on inspection of the area, we found many new trees that had been blown over from the Easterly storm that Trashed the
Shack.
We got there at 5pm and began the clean up, a bit disapointed that no one else picked up the mags and loose paper to prevent a big clean up turning into a huge one!... anyway as the pics show, build it bigger and better, no wood for the white ants, more stays, concrete, and star pickets driven over a meter through
rock into the ground then welded to the posts.
The temp only once fell below 40 in the day, Australia Day was 46 Deg. no wind we pulled the
pic and went for a drive up the other end of the lake ( The Big Rabbit Patch) as we turned to come back there were clouds, which got darker as we got closer to
camp. our beds, power
tools clothes bags and so on were out-side ( due to the fact that there was no in-side YET!) On our arrival to
camp we found Rivers of water 6inches deep running through the
shack area down into the Lake. I've never seen that much water flowing out there. Our swags were soaked, pillows, dripping wet, clothes bags full of water and so on. All we could do was laugh. It went from Blue skys Hot and dry 46 Deg's to Cyclonic winds and downpoor all in 3 and a half hours! one big section of roof was relocated 40 meters away.from where it was when we left........ An AUSTRALIA DAY I won't forget. An hour later our mates from Mandurah Adrian and Peter Arrived. We Got stuck into the rebuild .
A lot of hard yakka, and a big effort from all.
Note the new lighting in the
Shack.
Note:
We took over a ton of damaged tin etc to the tip along with 28 garbage bags of rubbish....... 7 of which contained Bottles/ Beer stubbies.
Please take your glass back out with you, the
Shack isn't a dumping ground.
It was a hard 8 Days,hot dry ( execpt for the storm) 2 of us were consuming over 25 liters of water a day.
Many thanks to all,
7Millers
Shack Rebuilt by:
Darryl, Brian ( 7 Millers)
Adrian and Peter
Between 25th Jan 2010 to 3rd Feb 2010
Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 18:06
Saturday, Feb 06, 2010 at 18:06
Well done lads,
I was shocked when I first heard your beloved
shack had been damaged.
Many of us thought that vandals were the cause. Thankfully we were wrong in that assumption and therefore felt better that the ugly Australian hasn't ventured that far out.
I hope it wasn't all work out there and that you got sometime time to tour around or do your thing.
Again congratulations from all us who go that way and have enjoyed your marvellous facility.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 15:11
Sunday, Feb 07, 2010 at 15:11
Is that Darryl, son of Des?
Follow Up By: DesertCruiser - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 22:03
Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 22:03
Yes this is Darryl, dags, son of Des McLean
Who's this Gone Bush?????
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 23:36
Monday, Feb 08, 2010 at 23:36
G'day Darryl,
I used to have the Dick Smith
shop in Mandurah when you and your dad had your security business.
Follow Up By: DesertCruiser - Tuesday, Feb 09, 2010 at 14:23
Tuesday, Feb 09, 2010 at 14:23
I knew the number plate, had seen it arround but couldn't remember where.
good to here from you.
Darryl