Selfish campers !
Submitted: Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 13:00
Member - Vic S (VIC)
We have been camping / caravaning for 40 years and possibly we have been lucky but its amazing how one person can destroy the tranquillity of the bush,we arrived at
Talbotville (near
Dargo) at 1.30 on last Wednesday to the sound of a dvd movie at full blast eventually that finished and it was bush noise for a while .A group from City West 4x4 club arrived and we had a bit of a chat about roof top tents nice quiet group ,then the loud bass music started and did not stop till 11.30 that night.The next day we did a trip to Blue Rag which was fantastic and interesting as when we reached the top we were above the clouds which limited the view. Just makes us want to return on a clear day,it must be fantastic.On our return to
camp along McMillans Road we had to run off into the bush as the car and camper coming from
Talbotville was in the middle and made no attempt to move over........... yep you guessed it, it was the same white Pajero and Kimberly Camper from
our camp.
Why go into the bush and take
home with you ???
Thursday night was great,a tag along group from NSW pulled in with 6 campers and kids and we hardly new they were there.
Vic
Reply By: Member - Vic S (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 13:04
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 13:04
Sorry to Pajero owners it was a Prado, my son just corrected me.
Vic
Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 13:10
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 13:10
hahahahah~!!! doesn't matter... there are yobbos that drive every make!
Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 13:28
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 13:28
Sounds like the King Off the Road wanted to be King Of the Road! :-)
Follow Up By: pdm3006 - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 13:45
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 13:45
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .
Forum Moderation Team
Reply By: PradOz - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 13:41
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 13:41
Some can be so selfish but there is really little that you can do escept move on yourself which really shouldnt be necessary, especially in the bush. A van park you could expect the occasional problem.
At Xmas we stayed in a van park in
Nambucca Heads where we met up with my 2 brothers and their families. Afetr a few days a new family moved in beside me on the other side. That night didnt we know they were there, but not for loud music etc. They all went to bed really early and all got up really early. The problem was he snored the loudest any of us had ever heard. He could be heard over 3 van sites away and it continued all night non stop. We just couldnt believe that his wife and 2 kids could sleep so close through the noise. Then every morning his kids would get up so early and make heaps of noise and we thought the parents must be too tired to try control them They left before us and our last 2 nights with the next new neighbours were like
heaven, so so quiet. I am just hoping we dont end up with Mr Snore booking there again next year as we go every year so the 3 families can meet up together for an annual get together
Normally you would think peace is a reason why its better to
bush camp hey. Sorry it wasnt in your case and its a one off
Follow Up By: Member - Vic S (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 14:24
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 14:24
The group from city west 4x4 had a snorer and the poor bugger slept in the middle of the paddock in his swag .
Vic
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 18:03
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 18:03
Poor bugger ????? More like lucky bugger LOL sounds like he was the only one to enjoy his nights sleep :-))
Fred.
Reply By: Wilk0 - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 14:14
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 14:14
Hi Vic S,
There is nothing worse to spoil the tranquillity of the bush then doof doof music (or any loud music for that matter)
It staggers me that people who dont appreciate why they are going bush ,to get away from the crap that is modern life (mobile phones, loud music, the push n shove of modern life, etc), seem to want to make the bush part of the city.
When I go camping, I like the phones off no TV and have the radio on to get the news in the morning.
Unfortunately it seems that there are more ferals and imbo's going camping nowadays
Its to bad they couldn't be banned from breeding; )
Cheers Wilko
Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:53
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:53
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .
Forum Moderation Team
Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 08:16
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 08:16
Hi T N,
What did you write that the got moderated?
Cheers Wilko
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 14:19
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 14:19
"It staggers me that people who dont appreciate why they are going bush"
....not everyone goes bush for the same reason as you?
I actually enjoy having the music on out bush.......and it might be my favourite music and not yours.........
Not everyone has the same
views and reasons for being there......sometimes there needs to be some give and take from BOTH sides?????
Hairy
Follow Up By: Member - T N (Qld) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 23:35
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 23:35
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .
Forum Moderation Team
Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 07:56
Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 07:56
Tom me old boy,
You say some interesting stuff, but never start a battle of wits when your only half way prepared.
He He Cheers Wilko
Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:41
Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 18:41
Hi Hairy,
Agreed about understanding of other persons
views especially when camping spots in the popular place are getting busier.
Many years ago, I had a
young couple pull up next to us @ a
free camping spot on the Murray. The area was approx 3 km long in which they could
camp but they pulled up 30mts from us.
They were fairly quite until they went to bed then there was obvoius sounds of what
young couple in love do. My Kids were asking alsorts of questions and SWMBO was not impressed.
I got the kids in the car for a trip to town to get some Maccas icecream and when we got back all was quite. Looking back it was the funniest thing and yes people do go camping for a lot of different reasons.lol
p.s. what is your fav music, i may just like it
Cheers Wilko
Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Tuesday, Jan 19, 2010 at 13:42
Tuesday, Jan 19, 2010 at 13:42
Tom me old mate,
Whats your opinion???
Cheers Wilko
Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 15:21
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 15:21
The most noise you hear from
our camp in the way of electronics will possibly be the Cricket on the ABC when they are playing.
Other than that we go bush to hear the sounds of the bush.
Muddy
Follow Up By: Member - John - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 15:42
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 15:42
Come on, fair suck of the sav.............. not the bloody cricket.............. LOL
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 16:02
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 16:02
Luv the Cricket, Luv the Cicada, Luv the Frog, I like all the Noises in the Bush, except Ferrals. Yeah ok I give up I like listening to the Cricket on the Radio.
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:16
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:16
A few years back was camped in Alice at the G'day Mate CP. Great spot, and always stay there when I go thru Alice, but this particular time, a peanut down the far end decided one Sat arvo that the whole CP needed to hear the footy, with his radio wound flat out. Now I haven't got anything against footy, but if I want to listen to it, I have my own radio close by.
There's a spot I regularly
camp on down south on the Donnelly River. One year, a van pulls up on the other side of the river, and first thing the guy did was to take a blat into the bush with his trail bike, while blonde bimbo sat back doing her nails, listening to loud music. Once their tent was pitched, the music was turned up. This was barely tolerable until a song came up that they REALLY liked, so the level went up another 20dB. This was too much, so some calls across the river to desist went unheeded, with bimbo bopping to the music, deliberately ignoring us. A quick blast on the air horns still went unheeded, so two minutes of air horn eventually gave them the message. A smile and a "thank you" from us, and no further trouble. They wound up the music as they left the next morning as a parting gesture of defiance. But they were gone, and peace reigned again....
Why do these people even bother to go bush?
Reply By: WayneD - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 16:41
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 16:41
Ah yes saw this guy on the track and also all the marks where he had bottomed out, many times.Must have been a fair old strain on the vehicle.
We also had a couple of guys that thought we would enjoy their "Doof Doof" musiic from bout 8 oclock to midnight. We were a fair distance from them so they could have played their music at a reasonable level and everyone would have been happy. Eventually the grog took effect and they retired to bed and we were left with the sound of the river.
Most people you meet on these types of trip are happy to stop and have a chat or offer help when needed its just the boofheads that we seem to remember!!
Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:10
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:10
You will probably meet one such selfish camper every trip. We too wonder - why don't they stay
home? One caravanner we were travelling on a similar route with once would march over and tell them to turn it down or turn it off (he was ex London Police). He didn't win them as friends but sometimes it worked.
Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:35
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:35
If you choose to
camp at popular sites like
Talbotville during the holiday period I think you would be a little naive to expect a quiet
camp with no dropkicks. I really think you were lucky to only have the one. Just after xmas we had a shady water front site to ourselves while there were over 50 cars packed into
Talbotville with mini bikes etc less than 15 minutes away :-)
I can't see the point in
bush camping with a crowd.
Cheers Craig...............
Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:53
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:53
Why
camp at
Talbotville, when there are literally thousands of hectares of quiet bush?
I agree, there isn't much more annoying than loud music, maybe kids on mini-bikes!
Reply By: pop2jocem - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:58
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:58
About 30 or so years ago we were camped with a relly and his kids (yes we had 3 of our own) at a caravan/camping ground in SW of WA. From memory I think it was
Hamelin Bay but not sure. Anyway we were all living in tents at the
camping area so not much insulation from surrounding noise. All of a sudden this peanut thought we would like to hear his CD, tape or whatever played at 120 decibels. Now if this wasn't bad enough although it was mid afternoon one of the rellys kids was crook and the mum was trying to get the youngster to lie in bed and have a sleep.
Well no way that was going to happen. While we were looking in this clowns direction and deciding if it was going to be worth the agro to have a word a guy comes out of his tent which was a lot closer to the noisy one, walks purposefully over with a cricket bat in hand (Mr Noisy was stretched out blissfully on a reclining lounge drink in hand) and held the bat rather menacingly over the offending source of the music.
Well Mr Noisy leaps to his feet and words and threatening gestures were exchanged.After said cricket bat was waved in Mr Noisy's direction the volume was turned down and the bat wielder returned to his
camp to a standing ovation by all within earshot. Didn't see this clown for the rest of the day and the next morning he was gone.
Now I am in no way suggesting that violence or the threat thereof is the answer to all of these situations but it sure as hell worked that time.
Cheers Pop
Follow Up By: Thermoguard Instruments - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 19:01
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 19:01
Yeah Pop,
Have to agree that violence (or the threat thereof) is rarely the best policy, but it sure as hell feels good when a bit of "assertiveness" makes some dropkick see the error of his ways...
Reply By: Paul75 - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 18:53
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 18:53
G'day Vic,
I know exactly what you are talking about. We were at
Talbotville on the 10 & 11th of Jan and the same people in the Prado & Kimberely were there making the same noises.
Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:17
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:17
Hi Vic
The tagalong group was lead by none other that our fellow member Wayne(NSW) from Great Divide Tours, we meet him the week before at
Talbotville and he was taking another group up there the following week (this week).
How was the weather up there? as we left last Saturday (9th) the temps were forcast to hit 40 we were told, did that happen? and did you have fire restrictions? Hope you enjoied your trip anyway Vic.
Cheers Colin
Follow Up By: Member - TJ (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:39
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:39
No fire restrictions and it was 38 up the Marathon Road. We headed
home as it was very windy as
well as stinkin hot where we were. I presume conditions would have been similar over the
hill.
Follow Up By: Member - Vic S (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 11:10
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 11:10
The group we met from City west 4x4 were there on the hot days,they told us it reached 45 and they just walked into the river sat down and stayed there.I was under the understanding that the area was total fire ban on the Wednesday only.
Vic
Reply By: Member - Carl- Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:28
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:28
I having learned the hard way from a magistrate that telling people to pipe down, is not the best way.
Now I am more subtile. I simply leave them a note when they are asleep. This being by way of a permanent BLUE marker pen on the side of their car. It appears Blue cannot be removed from paint work.
The following morning, they do not know who to blame and everyone is happy.
Some people just need their behaviour corrected.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:55
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:55
Puts a whole new slant to "getting a bluey". LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 00:00
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 00:00
"Puts a whole new slant to "getting a bluey". LOL" Ha ha ha ROTFL
Deanna
Follow Up By: The Boss (Formerly Kroozer) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 04:03
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 04:03
Yes, but now who is the yobbo?
After all, what they did was not illegal, just inconsiderate. Your option is illegal, and drags you down to there level.
Plenty of better ways around it then that.
The problem with yobbos and the like, is they are usually full of silly soup, or high as kites. And they get violent real quick.
Best solution is to own a big dog, take big dog over into there
camp and ask nicely to behave. Job done
Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:48
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 21:48
I can sympathise with you Vic.
Last year when we were exploring WA in our van we decided to visit
Coalseam Conservation Park for a few days and were pleasantly surprised to be the only occupants of the
campground. Later on the first day an elderly couple in a van pulled in a few sites from us and the inconsiderate old man ( 'Organ man') set up his keyboard and played loud, horrendous music for hours, powered by his generator!
He repeated this the following morning and again in the afternoon, although as we were not actually in the
camp all day, I cant say for sure whether it continued without a break.
It spoiled the peace and quiet of the park and drowned out the bird calls, frightened away any wildlife and caused me to think nasty and violent thoughts about just what I would like to do with his organ!!! LOL
Unbelievably a few weeks later when we free camped along the highway on our way further north we had to tolerate his presence and inconsiderate behaviour again!
Fortunately, we encountered very few such campers on our nearly 6 month away. And I guess it does make for a good story to tell.
Heather
Reply By: WayneD - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:13
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 23:13
We were also there on the 9th, 10th and 11th. Also met Wayne and his group on the track. We were 4 Rovers 2x Rangies 1xD3 and 1 Defender.
And all
camp sites we stayed at had very few people.
Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 00:22
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 00:22
If lucky enough to set up first I have found playing a Slim Dusty album as they pass by scouting for a
camp site acts as a repellent. Johnny Horton is also effective.
This was inspired by a shopping centre that endlessly played Bing Crosby to discourage certain groups from loitering.
If they happen to like my music selection
well I don't mind them camping nearby.
Flynnie
Reply By: OREJAP - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 11:52
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 11:52
Spoke to Parks Rangers in Victoria recently and I was informed that if Campers complained about "Hoon" behaviour or loud music or general behaviour which was upsetting to fellow campers the "Offending party" can be ordered to leave the area by Parks Officers. Failure to obey a direction from Parks results in on
the spot infringement notices. Recently friends were camped near the Howqua river & the Parks
Ranger came cruising by & noticed M/Cycles (T/bikes) on trailers. He ordered the bikes to be removed from the Park as they were unregistered. The families were just about set up when he issued his instructions & the outburst from the ladies was unbelievable. Apparently husbands/boyfriends decided to ignore the signs on the way in "No unregistered bikes allowed" So they had to pack everything up & vacate!!! For those of us that
camp in Victoria, the Victoria Association of Four Wheel Drive Clubs has a "Report Hoon driving" on their web site & it can be confidential. Some years ago a "Hoon" was filmed doing donuts and ripping up some camping ground near Jamieson. The footage was handed to Parks with details of the vehicle & driver identity obviously on the tape. When questioned the idiot had only one option and that was to plead guilty in the
Mansfield Court...fined $2500.00.....yes Karma does exist!!! Some idiots just don't get it & think because they are on Holidays they can do what they like. Recently returned from camping trip cut short by idiots...married guys with families (all left at
home boys away for boozey w/end away) decided to drink copies amounts of grog into the ute and roar around digging up the
camping area throwing dust,sand & rocks over nearby campers. They were having a great time until Mr Plod came into the area & then proceeded to breath
test driver who told the Police that he wasn,t on the highway & they could place their testing device back in their vehicle or words to that effect. Nice police lady told the driver, "Drink driving can happen anyway. Even in your own driveway. Now blow into this or loss of licence for 2 years"
Well he did blow & the nice police took him for a drive!!! Not to look at the scenery I bet. I don;t care what anyone thinks. With the benefit of mobile phones to not only make calls but to take photos & videos lets dob these idiots in and the more aware the anti social people are that they will be dobbed the more WE are going to have a pleasant camping existence. Lastly, the chap that was paddling down the Murray doing a documentary & raising money for charity he was featured on this web site, there was part of his blog where a bloke had unloaded his drum kit from his Kombi & proceeded to bang & crash on the banks of the Murray....very peaceful....NOT
Reply By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 14:03
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 14:03
Hi evryone,
Have to admit hat my hubby sometimes breaks the peace when we are camping as he plays the bagpipes and when he has a competition comming up or he has to play at someones wedding (for free) he will practise in the afternoon but he always goes for a walk up the track and plays for 20 minutes or so. But often on return other campers will come and ask him to play them their favourite tunes.
barb
Reply By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 18:15
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 18:15
A couple of years ago we were camped at Dales in Karajini. After dark the sounds of quiet trumpet practice came from a nearby caravan - not intrusive, and reminded us of the many years when we listened to our sons doing the same daily practice. Similarly once at a big
camp between Halls Ck and
Broome someone brought out their accordian and gave surrounding campers a pleasant, and appreciated, concert for about an hour. Some even joined in singing. These were thoughful, human scale sounds not using amplification so accepted and even appreciated.
By contrast while at
Georgia Bore on CSR last year a group of 3 vehicles (5 men and one woman) came in and on setting up
camp turned up their "music" so that the whole
camping area was blasted. They then settled down to enjoy some ales.
We put up with it for a while but then I went across and with a smile asked them if they could turn it down a bit, which they did for a while. My theory is that (within reason) a woman is more likely to be successful with such a request - provided that the men around
camp are clearly visible!
Its the amplification that is really annoying.
Val
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |