BIG RED - a few stooopid questions.

Hello all,
Just in the planning stages of this year's family holiday and one of the MUST DO things on the list is to go to Birdsville enroute to the Gold Coast around August. I have a few questions which may seem stoooopid to some of you, however, having never visited this area, they are probably logical questions to ask...well I hope.

1. What is the Long/Lat of Big Red? (I'd hate to think I'm looking at it only to find it was Little Red or some other random dune).

2. Do you need a desert park pass to drive out to Big Red?

3. Do you need a sand flag to get out to Big Red? I know it's a good precautionary measure but is it mandatory (meaning there would be size, height, colour specifications - I'm guessing).

4. Finally, would an AWD Captiva get to at least the base of Big Red? I noticed there are a few dunes on the way out to what I believe is Big Red. I'm not game enough to give the big fella a crack in the Captiva but a sunset picnic is on the cards at the top of it. Plan is to hike up it.

Any answers to some or all of the questions would be greatly appreciated. Likewise, if I have neglected to include some information, please feel free to ask.
I've read loads of books about this area, watched every DVD I can get my hands on and have trolled this forum for info too. Providing I can pull this trip off uneventfully, it may pave the way to getting SWMBO to sign off the purchase req. for a real off-roader. So I'd hate to screw this introductory trip up. I'm sure some of you will be nodding your heads knowing exactly where I'm coming from.
Thanks...
Fab.

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 11:59

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 11:59
Google earth may give you the coordianates you require.

AnswerID: 398056

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 12:21

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 12:21
Hi Fab,

1. Latitude 25.87904º S 25º 52' 44.54" S
Longitude 139.0531º E 139º 03' 11.33" E
Altitude 61m

2. No pass required. You are not yet in the Simpson Desert National Park.

3. No sand flag needed to get to Big Red. The dunes on the way are minor.

4. Yes, no trouble. Some might even give the big fella a crack in a Captiva. If you got stuck someone will always tow you off.

Have a great trip. Take water, it will be warm in August.

AnswerID: 398059

Reply By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 12:24

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 12:24
2 - No
3 - No
4 - No - The track from the main "road" when we went in September was severely rutted and I don't think a captiva would get through them wheel clearance wise -- Its also a long way to walk in to the track over Big Red - not sure exactly how far but could be a kilometer in ?? Might be best to park on the main track and hitch a lift in with a bigger 4X 4 ..

Rgds

AnswerID: 398060

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 12:26

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 12:26
1.....S25 52 50.8 E139 03 11.6

2 NO

3 NO

4 YES....

are a few dunes on the way out ...NO, the road is well formed and dunes have been cut and capped, at S25 54 04.2 E139 04 14.5 are a picnic table and a warning sign.

AnswerID: 398061

Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 12:36

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 12:36
Yes you can drive along the track to big red.

The first dune you come to is little red, turn right and follow the track to Big red, when i was there for the Birdsville races there were holden cars parked at the bottom.

With a good run up an AWD will do both tracks but not after a few large 4Wd have dug up the sand, have fun I did.
AnswerID: 398064

Reply By: Member - Cantiva Clay (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 13:27

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 13:27
Hi Fab72, Just back from there, you don't need co-ordinates, sand flags etc.. just go to Birdsville which is defiantly worth a coupla nights stay and then the main road out of town west goes straight to the dunes, little red to be exact. Its well graded but a few bogs and minor ruts which are not a problem providing you slow down and pick your line...! The bogs have probably dried out by now but they were easy to drive around anyway. Its about 35 km or 40mins from town. The road ends in a car park at little red however just before the end on the right a 4wd track leads of to big red - its quite obvious. The road is rutted requiring first and second gear its now rock free as I went out with a local first before taking the captiva and dutifully moved all the large rocks of the track (I should invoice the shire!) so should be clear for a while. When returning that evening to take photos my underbelly carefully graded the remaining deep ruts...maybe I should just go on the council payroll! I never tried and wouldn't recommend trying to drive up little or big red as while its easy at the start they quickly become steep and soft = lots of problems if you get stuck, I decided I will save it for when I upgraded to something more suitable (eg with real 4wd). But don't let that put you of, you can still easily walk up little or big red and enjoy a beautiful touch of the edge of the Simpson desert, it really is a nice spot. Go out and watch the sunset (tell someone your going and when you expect to be back) and enjoy it, its great.
Just a note, before you head up that way, the main tracks are well graded however have a good look under the car with a torch while reflecting on how rocks the size of small footballs seem to wander onto the dirt roads at night and go to sleep waiting for unsuspecting AWD owners to come bowling along...its more a problem with minor roads but is something to be aware of. Couple of other things, on local advice I let my cold tyre pressure down to 28psi which significantly improved dirt road grip and ride quality and lastly holden ripped us of with a piddly little 65L tank (on a 3.2L V6!) I don't know what they were thinking, you'll need a coupla 20L's in the back as fuel is far between. Actually one other thing see if you can pick up a spare five stud second hand wheel for peace of mind, my local holden dealer found me a commodore wheel with tyre for $200 - cheap insurance. It was my first trip out there as well and I loved it. There is lots to see and do in an AWD, you just need to take it easy...., think of the pride when you come back to the city and park along those big flash expensive 4wd's with all the gears which are lucky if they see a pothole, while your humble captiva is covered head to toe in red dirt from exploring outback oz!
AnswerID: 398073

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:13

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:13
WOW...what a great reply. In fact all the replies so far have been really helpful, however, this one, being from a fellow Captiva driver is priceless.

Our little bus has been off the beaten track quite a bit so it certainly has earned its stripes. Mostly through the Flinders Ranges and up around Alice Springs.

We've got a 65L tank in ours too however being a diesel, ours might get slightly better range. I was thinking of still taking 1X20L jerry with us. Fuel economy varries so much because, not surure about the ULP version, but in the diesels, top gear (auto) converter lock up doesn't happen until 120kmph, so in SA it means speeding a bit to get the best economy. Better on juice at 120 than 110 or even 100kmph.

As for the spare....have you actually tried to fit that onto the car? I'm puzzelled because I was told that the Captiva have the same stud pattern and off-set as a Ford Territory and/or BA Falcon, which is quite different to a Commodore. Please let me know, because this was another must take item on our list.

Will take note of your suggested tyre pressures..... still on our original H/T's. Can't wait for a set of A/T's.....or like you, an upgrade to something with a transfer box.

Cheers....Fab.
FollowupID: 666928

Follow Up By: Member - Cantiva Clay (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:27

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:27
Hi Fab, yes I checked it fits - apologise if it wasn't from a commodore maybe ute anyway it fits, however it won't fit in the spare wheel holder - to wide. The tyre circumference also of its 17" also matches my 18" size.(the 16" spare is out by a fair bit hence the 80kmh rating).. I cant get 18" at's for it bewilders my why they are bringing 4wd's out in 18/19/20 inch wheels! Also now you wouldn't put a ford part on a holden would you.....!
FollowupID: 667001

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 22:37

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 22:37
Hi ya Cantiva Clay...oh good. I can gets heaps of Commodore spares from where I work...dime a dozen..well to borrow at least. And don't have to suffer the humiliation of borrowing my sister's Ford Terror-story spare wheel.

Mine's the CX so it only has the 17 inch wheels which I'm kind of grateful for, purely because the slightly taller side walls....very marginally.

I know what you're saying about 18, 19 & 20's. I'm starting to see a lot of 4X4 Hilux's with 20+ inch chrome wheels. What's the point?

Thanks again...you reply has not only enlightened me but many other too I think.
Fab.

FollowupID: 667027

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:47

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 15:47
There are tours from the caravan park if you are a little nervous.

AnswerID: 398104

Reply By: Fatso - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 16:46

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 16:46
Firstly, that was an excellent reply Cantiva Clay.
Secondly Fab, I don't think anyone has mentioned that Big Red & Little Red are different crossings on the same dune. Big red is just a few k's north.
AnswerID: 398115

Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 19:45

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 19:45
Another way of putting it heading out of Birdsville, on the main desert track you cross "Little Red" before continuing on across the desert. "Big Red" is off to the right and is basically a sidetrack, another crossing of the same very big and very long dune. As has been pointed out "Big Red" can be reached without crossing dunes.

I reckon I could easily get to it in my sedan. Getting up it in a sedan - that would be a challenge.

Before attempting to cross you should broadcast your intention on CB channel 10 and monitor it for oncoming. Vehicles cross both ways.

Some pics on one of my blogs.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 666968

Follow Up By: Fatso - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:34

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 21:34
A few years back one of my mates was on a variety bash out that way & he reckons a couple of blokes nearly made it up in 2 wd bash cars.
FollowupID: 667010

Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 22:05

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 22:05
Fatso

Yeah. I have encountered those Variety Bash blokes. Travelled loosely with some from Victoria for a day or two last year in the Kimberley.

Their vehicles are specially prepared and very heavily modified. (I towed one across a river but that is another story) I reckon only the heavy weight would have stopped those ones you mention getting all the way up Big Red.

I have heard of it being done in 2wd utes with diff lock.

Took me three attempts in my cruiser first time. But coming back after the second Simpson crossing I knew how to approach it, gears, tyre pressure etc and it was easy.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 667020

Reply By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 23:21

Thursday, Jan 07, 2010 at 23:21
Fab,

Most of your ? hav been anwsered. AWD getting up Big Red, well I guess this may depend on the year and how dry the sand is. I have only done it 1x in a hi lux, took me a few tries, holden rodeo did not make it, except by chicken track, this could have also been the driver.

Any way, whatever I am sure you will all have a good time trying.

R
Russ

Life-often hell but never boring.

AnswerID: 398179

Reply By: Patrol22 - Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 13:13

Friday, Jan 08, 2010 at 13:13
I was on Big Red in Aug 09 and went over in high range 4WD in my D40 Navara...so I can't see why an AWD wouldn't be able to do likewise. That said I probably have a bit more clearance (60mm lift) than the average AWD and I had low range to fall back on if the going got too tough. Approached from the west and hit the dune at about 60 kph running 18psi in the tyres.
AnswerID: 398265

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:19

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:19
Yeah.... H/T tyres, low clearance and too much plastic junk under the car won't help my plight at all.

I can't help thinking that having the wrong type of vehicle will lead to unnecessary wear and tear on the dune. I'll save the experience for when I'm better equiped. I'd be happy just to be able to drive to the base of it.

Cheers Patrol22.
Fab.
FollowupID: 667364

Reply By: Member - Hendrik v (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:47

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 10:47
Image Could Not Be FoundHi Fab

I have worked in Birdsville for a few months and would like to help with your questions.

You just take the road straight West out of Birdsville(from Birdsville Hotel) and that takes you to Little red. That is a dirt road and just a bit rocky, easy for your Captiva. You follow the road till get to the signpost that gives you all the Do's and Dont's of the Simpson on the left hand side and from where you will stand looking at the board, straight further along the road sits Little Red and about 400m to right of that is Big Red...can't miss it.

You should further give Big Red a go from the same (eastern)side, it's nothing for your Captiva with just the right tyre pressures.(20 psi)

I know you will enjoy your trip to there because it is beautifull.Image Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 398465

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 11:10

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 11:10
Hendrik...that is brilliant information. Thanks heaps. I've got the adventerous spirit in me and plenty of common sense, just never having been to Birdsville or Big Red, I never have known what to expect. And my common sense has always told me never to assume...and if in doubt..ask. So I did.

After your reply...I might just give it a go. After all.... I did manage to get the wife's Astra into Palm Valley NT when plenty said it couldn't be done.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2FlqWRTnm-w

As for loving Birdsville...... I'm affraid I will fall madly in love with the place and never want to leave. Going to Birdsville will be the highlight of our holiday. All the QLD theme parks etc after that will just be to keep the wife and kids quiet.

I've often looked at real estate at Birdsville and am in awe at how $110K can buy a respectable 3 bedroom home. Being a mechanic with plenty of Toyota 4X4 experience, I don't think I'd be short or work either. The only other hurdle to most would be the isolation and the heat. Both of these are a plus for me.

Convincing the wife and kids would be my hurdle.

Thanks again....maybe we'll catch up in Sept. Will be there the 29th and 30th. Captiva is silver in colour and will have SA plates on it. I'll be the bald ugly guy with the trophy wife and 2.3 kids (the .3 is only 5yrs old).

Fab.

FollowupID: 667384

Reply By: vanzyl40 - Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 16:46

Saturday, Jan 09, 2010 at 16:46
Glad the info came in handy...Just want to let you know that I'am not there any more, only worked there for 4 months some 2 years ago.

You'll have a gr8 time there anyway, enjoy our trip!

Hendrik
AnswerID: 398512