What music do you listen to?

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 09:06
ThreadID: 67705 Views:3400 Replies:15 FollowUps:24
Once I got out of range of any radio station in went the cassette/CD.
No-one could beat Slim Dusty for me,
Slim
Remember heading out of the Alice listening to 'Lawsie' on 8HA when he 1st played,
Looking Forward, Looking Back
blew me away, waht a song!
First thing I packed coming over here was all my collection of favourite Aussie CD's.

Dennis

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 09:08

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 09:08
Oops,
Meant 'what' not 'waht', sorry.

AnswerID: 358917

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 09:20

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 09:20
Dennis
Yes have to agree , Slim is missed , for music I have little flash drives , just plug them into the USB slot on the front of the radio, for news I listen to the ABC on the HF Codan.

AnswerID: 358921

Follow Up By: Angler - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 21:53

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 21:53
Dennis,

What is the frequency of the ABC on HF

Pooley
FollowupID: 627036

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 00:19

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 00:19
Angler
Dennis didn't write that....I did

Domestic Shortwave Radio Service
ABC's Domestic Shortwave Service provides Local Radio (not Radio Australia).

The frequencies are:

Site Day Frequency Night Frequency
Roe Creek 4835kHz 2310kHz
Katherine 5025kHz 2485kHz
Tennant Creek 4910kHz 2325kHz

Roe Creek site is Alice Springs. Ideal for SW Qld

To receive this service you will need a shortwave radio. All three services would be received in parts of the Kimberley Region.Barkly Hwy, NW Qld

Radio Australia Shortwave Frequency Guide

FollowupID: 627049

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 05:42

Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 05:42
Hi Doug,
Wish those flash drives were about when I first moved here.
Like you, I used to catch the ABC on my Codan.

Dennis

FollowupID: 627161

Reply By: Member - William H (WA) - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 09:21

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 09:21
Good morning Dennis.
How is it going over their.

While you are over their, put all your Music onto a thumb drive, and when you get back home to Australia, all you will need to get is a music system with a USB port, saves a lot of space in the toyota when travelling.

Cheers for now...William H...Bunbury...WA.
AnswerID: 358923

Follow Up By: qubert - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 19:18

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 19:18
there
FollowupID: 627011

Follow Up By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 21:31

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 21:31
They're?
FollowupID: 627033

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 08:04

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 08:04
No, qubert is right
FollowupID: 627059

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 05:43

Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 05:43
Thanks William, will look into that.

Dennis

FollowupID: 627162

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 09:54

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 09:54
G'day Dennis

R&B mostly. BBKing cranked up high. Wife likes Crooner stuff like Michael Bublé and Rod Stewart. Together we have around 4Gig of music on flash drives. 4 speakers in the Nissan. Might even get a subwoofer one day .. A mate heard me coming down the Main Street the other day and said " I thought Showboat was on its way "...LOL...I like it loud

AnswerID: 358929

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 11:33

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 11:33
Good morning Willem.

Now this is the subwoofer you should have,with an amp to run it

Image Could Not Be Found Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

Then all of Peterborough WILL here you.

Cheers for now...William H...Bunbury...WA.
FollowupID: 626948

Follow Up By: Wisey - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 20:20

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 20:20
Hi Willem,
I'm into the blues also, have ya had a look at Seasick Steve from Missippi? he plays a 3 strings ....................electric.
FollowupID: 627021

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 21:12

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 21:12
Hi Wisey

Yeah I have only just come across him. Saw a stint on ABC TV tonight.

FollowupID: 627030

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 07:45

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 07:45
Willem....

Rod Stewart a crooner????? LOL.....

And I guess you would be a Spicks 'n' Specks man seeing Seasick Steve on the ABC????? Steve has a certain style doesn't he? I loved it, thought it was great! Reminds me of a (slightly more refined) version of Hat Fitz...... have you heard Hat at all??

FollowupID: 627056

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 08:03

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 08:03

Maybe you are behind the times.

After his throat operation some years ago Rod Stewart started singing the Golden Oldies songs and has put out a number of albums along those lines. The better half likes those kind of sloppy songs and I just wear it and sing along....LOL

Yeah Hat Fiz, heard of him.

Every now and then I get musically inspired and go looking for words on the internet. I dust off my old rhyth guitar and strum a few songs until the dog goes and hides in another place and then it is over for a month or so :-)

FollowupID: 627058

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 08:06

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 08:06
William

That subwoofer will probably loosen the rust flakes on the old GQ....LOL

FollowupID: 627061

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 08:43

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 08:43
Willem,
I knew of the first Crooner album Rod did, but was unaware of the rest of the story..... cheers for the update. I stand corrected!

Same here, my 25 year old Ibanez V300 accoustic hangs on a hook on the lounge room wall and a couple of times a week on average I get it down and play along with ads on TV.....

I have however, just last month, recorded a blues thing I had in my head for the last 15 years or so.... no sense rushing these things is there?... I used it as backing for a YouTube video of my other toy......

You can view it here if you want.

FollowupID: 627068

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 09:25

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 09:25
Hey, that was great! Yer a better player than me.....

Wish I had a bike like that. Still have the licence for it but have left it too late as my wrists wouldn't cope with riding :-(

FollowupID: 627075

Follow Up By: Wisey - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 10:14

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 10:14
Thats cool, Great work Brian, and the video was good too

So how long now for the album.....................

soon?
FollowupID: 627081

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 15:17

Friday, Apr 10, 2009 at 15:17
Willem,
Thank you. And we're ALL good players..... if we sound good to ourselves, nothing else matters!
I love my Honda, I have patiently waited 25 years for a big V-Twin, it's so much fun out on a ride!

Wisey,
Thank you, ummm, no plans for an album...LOL..

FollowupID: 627101

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 05:47

Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 05:47
Hi Willem,

Geez, looks like I am way behind the times, have to get one of them flash drive thingies, lol.
Reckon one of the best crooners was Dean Martin.

Cheers mate,
Dennis

FollowupID: 627163

Reply By: Rossc0 - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 10:12

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 10:12
Anything and everything (except rap and hiphop).

Vehicle pc has 9GB of mp3's (all our cd's ripped) and random plays when switched on.

So each day is different.

We don't turn it on in camp as would rather just listen to the bush.

Ross
AnswerID: 358931

Reply By: Member - Rick P (NT) - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 10:42

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 10:42
Hi Dennis
You could have the new JVC KDR 606 head unit fitted, about $260 for the unit. It has the ipod cable out the back and it will also now charge 4th generation ipods. That way you could download all your Slim Dusty music on your ipod and never have to worry about having to change cd's and or carry them in your vehicle.
AnswerID: 358937

Reply By: Frankie Paj - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 11:27

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 11:27
Hi Dennis,

I have just 'discovered' an artisit called C.W Stoneking. He is an artisit born in Katherine. I wasn't sure what you would call his style but wiki tells me it is hokum blues.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C_W_Stoneking

I have never been into Blues, being a rock man but I love his work. I have bought his albulm Jungle Blues after hearing a song on Triple J. Give a few songs a listen on youtube and I'm sure it will grab you! The orchestra that backs him is so vibrant and rich!

Frankie.
AnswerID: 358945

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 05:50

Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 05:50
Will do, Frankie.
Thanks for the tip.

Dennis

FollowupID: 627164

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 11:57

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 11:57
I like most genre's of music, pretty much. But I have to say my fav is traditional rock and roll, early rockabilly, and surf (reverb). Fav song of all time - Falsom Prison Blues by Johnny Cash.

Louie
AnswerID: 358953

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 05:51

Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 05:51
Hi mate,

Loved him singing 'Hurt', absolutely brilliant!

Dennis

FollowupID: 627165

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 12:39

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 12:39
Gordan Lightfoot, Phil Collins, Ronan Keating, Willie Nelson, Jim Reeves, Nat King Cole.....whilst cruisin'.

Iron Maiden, Deep Purple, Twisted Sister, Pink Flloyd.......When camped up, especially near other campers....lol.

NO...ELVIS.

Cheers......Lionel.
AnswerID: 358959

Follow Up By: mowing - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 20:56

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 20:56
Hi Lionel, I think that you can cancel the EPIRB purchase, playing that stuff, they will hear you from miles around. :)

FollowupID: 627027

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 05:53

Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 05:53
Hi Lionel,
After Slim I would choose ELVIS then Roy Orbison then......lol

Dennis

FollowupID: 627166

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 12:44

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 12:44
Hi Dennis,

we like John Williamson, Fleetwood Mac, Joe Cocker, LRB, Slim Dusty, Steve Miller Band and the list goes on. Usually we have the CD player going in the front and the girls are in the back listening to their favourite Bindi Irwin Kid fitness DVD with their headphones on and yes they are singing along at the top of their little voices....................... LOL they usually win and we turn off the CD.

Caroline
AnswerID: 358960

Reply By: Member - Au-2 - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 13:05

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 13:05
Give yourselves a treat fellas and listen to this sweet 24yr old Welsh girl, Duffy! Strong voice like Dusty and very modest dress and movements. Wow, she takes me straight back to the 60's and her band has the music of the time, down pat. Oh JOY, finally 'they' are getting 'it' back! The bass guitars, big drums, and reverb are all there. If you cannot find pleasure in this music, you're either deaf or you've forgotten the '60s.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9FbKl6KQdxc&feature=related

Millions of voung viewers can't be that wrong!

Sheila.

PS. I think I have put a lot of those millions on there all by myself, haven't stopped listening for three weeks, got the MP3 player loaded.
AnswerID: 358964

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 19:45

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 19:45
Hi Sheila,
Yep, Duffy is good, isn't she?
Another along the same lines is Amy Macdonald,

This is the life

A wee lassie from Glasgee, lol.

Dennis
FollowupID: 627015

Reply By: beelzebug - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 15:48

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 15:48
Most anything from the 60's and early 70's.
Beatles, Stones, Animals, Manfred Mann, Motown, Steely Dan, Van Morrisson, John Lee Hooker (any blues)
Crikey, easily pleased eh?
AnswerID: 358981

Reply By: TassieD - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 19:59

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 19:59
Just put a CD together for the trip tomorrow. Lynyrd Skynyrd, Meatloaf, AC/DC & Creedence. Gonna drive the 13yo nuts on the trip.
AnswerID: 359016

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 20:01

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 20:01
I just like the sound of the engine purring along:-)

OK, on occasions I am known to play the occasional Eagles Album.
I have all there music loaded onto the Ipod.

I do find however we are less inclined to play music now "on the road" and definitely NEVER at camp.

AnswerID: 359017

Follow Up By: Angler - Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 21:56

Thursday, Apr 09, 2009 at 21:56
Great site to download from

http://tropicalglen.com/

Pooley
FollowupID: 627039

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 06:03

Saturday, Apr 11, 2009 at 06:03
Thanks to all that replied.

I also like,
Andrea Bocelli,
Sarah Brightman,
Sara Storer,
Tania Kernaghan,
Ned Miller,
Harry Secombe,
Michael Crawford,
Roy Rogers,
Buck Owens,
Shania Twain,
Dolly Parton,
Jim Reeves,
Rob E G,
Jade Hurley,
The Platters,
Slim Whitman,
Heaps of others, lol.

Looks like I am going to have to upgrade the stereo in my old Pajero next trip back.

Cheers all,
Dennis

AnswerID: 359166