The Sunday History Photo

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 01:34
ThreadID: 62887 Views:3940 Replies:11 FollowUps:9
The Dog On The Tuckerbox Monument was unveiled on 28th November, 1932. A faithful friend, the guardian of the teamster's possessions, a dog accompanied every wagon that pushed inland. Gundagai is, and always will be, famous for the Dog on the Tucker Box. The story first entered into Australian folklore through an anonymous teamster's song, of uncertain date and has been re-invented and re-written countless times. A version of this song appeared in the gundagai Times in the 1880's in the form of a poem called `Bullocky Bill' which tells the story of a hardy yet unlucky teamster who gets bogged at Nine Mile Creek. The yoke of his bullock team breaks and to make things worse, `the dog =*_• in his tucker box'. Jack Moses, a talented story teller and raconteur who loved to recite bush poetry wrote a cleaned-up version of this poem in the 1920's in which the dog sits on the Tucker Box. This is probably the best known version today.
The statue of the Dog on the Tucker Box is situated just off the Hume highway 7 kms north of Gundagai. If you are traveling to Sydney, take a few minutes to stop off and visit this piece of Australian History.

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 02:50

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 02:50
Hey Doug

We did so 2 years ago, we have the photo to prove it.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 331902

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 03:48

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 03:48

Found this googling.

Almost 20 years since I last saw the 'Dog'.
Used to call into the Servo or Train opposite a couple of times a week for quite a while.

Remember the old way through the town before the bypass?

Good one again, Doug.

AnswerID: 331904

Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 03:53

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 03:53
http://mview.museum.vic.gov.au/paimages/mm/006/006491.htm

Could not get the other way to work.
Computer drongo here.

FollowupID: 599753

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:07

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:07

This is the pic at Dennis's URL above.

Very impressive to say the least

FollowupID: 599767

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:28

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:28
Dennis
Wow that's a beaut photo, I might have the date of 1956 wrong too because my Dad took it with the old Box Brownie , I have given some thought back through the years and noticed on another holiday around that time he took color photo's so I think by 1956 he had a color slide camera, we did gon to Sydney in 1953 so the b/w was more than likely taken then,

check this site out and see the original dog on a pole
Original Dog

FollowupID: 599783

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 04:01

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 04:01
Thanks for that one Doug, I do enjoy the old photo's. Have never seen the "dog on the tuckerbox" but is definitely on the to do list.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 331905

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 07:08

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 07:08
Good one Doug, but how come its only 7km from Gundagai. I thought the old verse said 9 miles from Gundagai (or 14.5km).
Any thoughts on where the 9 miles came from....
AnswerID: 331912

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 07:24

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 07:24
Saharman, It originally was 9 mile on the old hi way but they moved it when the by pass went in.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 599758

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:34

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:34
Saharaman
This site will do the explaning for me.

Full Explanation

FollowupID: 599786

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:04

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:04
Doug we were there around 4 weeks ago and its actually sad to see what its become. The dog is still there in all its glory but its overshadowed by a huge fuel outlet and a huge food outlet and then there's the dog..... sort of off to the side, at the end ....

It was very disappointing to see how its been treated.

AnswerID: 331922

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:12

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:12
Progress has certainly stuffed up one of OZ's iconic rest/fuel stops.
As Bonz says, with the new humungous servo and food court (everything from macca's to kfc etc etc.) There is a concrete parking bay for cars, buses and trucks the size of the MCG.
When I was there 12 months ago it had just opened, and inside the foodcourt I thought I was at the International airport waiting lounge, such were the tourists off the buses.
If you have seen it in it's past glory, you're in for a shock next time.
Fred.
FollowupID: 599778

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:04

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:04
Good one today Doug. I never knew the story behind it.....last time I was there was in 1994...been a while...!
AnswerID: 331923

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:18

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 08:18
Hi Doug

Thanks for some more History, I have never actually seen it in real
life, seen plenty of photos, just showed my Cook, and you brought
back some wonderful memories,of times long ago for her.

Daza
AnswerID: 331928

Reply By: nomadoz - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:45

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 09:45
I was there in 1985; there was no ugly fence around it at the time, or is my memory letting me down again.

AnswerID: 331938

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 10:07

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 10:07
Yes, that is one serious fence...anyone know what the reason for having it?

FollowupID: 599791

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 12:05

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 12:05
vandals?
FollowupID: 599809

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 12:05

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 12:05
vandals?
FollowupID: 599810

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 15:12

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 15:12
http://members.pcug.org.au/~stmcdona/tuckrbox.html

Taupe's Tribute to
The Dog on the Tuckerbox

Like much of Australia's early folklore, the origins of the Dog on the Tuckerbox are clouded in mystery, uncertainty and controversy.

Yet, as with 'Waltzing Matilda', its origins lie firmly in the Australian bush and the early pioneers - who in this case forged west and south from the colonial headquarters in Sydney, following the explorers searching for the source of the Murrumbidgee River. Numbers of them took up holdings in the Gundagai district in the period 1830-50.

They were hard and hazardous times with supplies and stores having to be transported along makeshift tracks over rough terrain by bullock teams. To pass the time while often being bogged, or for the river level to fall at crossings such as Muttama Creek near Gundagai, 'bullockies' would recite doggerel and rhymes picked up on their travels - and, sometimes, even write a few lines. Often on such occasions the bullocky's dog would sit guarding its master's tuckerbox and possessions while he was away seeking help.

Prime Minister Joe Lyons unveiling the Dog in 1932

So was the legend of 'The Dog on the Tuckerbox' born in the 1850s. Whoever the author (using the pen name 'Bowyang Yorke'), the verse was amended some time later and promoted as a poem by Jack Moses. Its popularity quickly spread, capturing the imagination of Australians both in the bush and throughout the colony. Though the legend was also immortalised by Jack O'Hagan in 1937 in his popular song that put Gundagai on the world map, controversy continued over the exact location of the monument - 5 or 9 miles from the town - and later, on whether to move the famous monument in, or closer to, the town.

From The Dog On The Tuckerbox - Its Story by Lyn Scarff. Bowyang Yorke's Poem

As I was coming down Conroy's Gap,
I heard a maiden cry;
'There goes Bill the Bullocky,
He's bound for Gundagai.
A better poor old beggar
Never earnt an honest crust,
A better poor old beggar
Never drug a whip through dust.'
His team got bogged at the nine mile creek,
Bill lashed and swore and cried;
'If Nobby don't get me out of this,
I'll tattoo his bloody hide.'
But Nobby strained and broke the yoke,
And poked out the leader's eye;
Then the dog sat on the Tucker Box
Nine miles from Gundagai.

'Nine Miles from Gundagai' by Jack Moses

I've done my share of shearing sheep,
Of droving and all that;
And bogged a bullock team as well,
On a Murrumbidgee flat.
I've seen the bullock stretch and strain
And blink his bleary eye,
And the dog sit on the tuckerbox
I've been jilted, jarred and crossed in love,
And sand-bagged in the dark,
Till if a mountain fell on me,
I'd treat it as a lark.
It's when you've got your bullocks bogged,
That's the time you flog and cry,
And the dog sits on the tuckerbox

We've all got our little troubles,
In life's hard, thorny way.
Some strike them in a motor car
And others in a dray.
But when your dog and bullocks strike,
It ain't no apple pie,
And the dog sat on the tuckerbox

But that's all past and dead and gone,
And I've sold the team for meat,
And perhaps, some day where I was bogged,
There'll be an asphalt street,
The dog, ah! well he got a bait,
And thought he'd like to die,
So I buried him in the tuckerbox,

Stephen McDonald Last modified 10 January 1997.

AnswerID: 331964

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 18:47

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 18:47
Doug T.

I spent a bit time working in Gundagai. From memory the dog has been moved three times. Here is the only old poem I remember:

'As I was coming down Conroy's Gap,
I heard a maiden cry;
'There goes Bill the Bullocky,
He's bound for Gundagai.
A better poor old beggar
Never earnt an honest crust,
A better poor old beggar
Never drug a whip through dust.'
His team got bogged at the nine mile creek,
Bill lashed and swore and cried;
'If Nobby don't get me out of this,
I'll tattoo his bloody hide.'
But Nobby strained and broke the yoke,
And poked out the leader's eye;
Then the dog sat on the Tucker Box
Nine miles from Gundagai'.

Kim
AnswerID: 331991

Reply By: Middle Jeff - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 19:39

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 19:39
The place has changed over the years, if you are in the area the township is well worth the visit. They have preserved the old wooden bridge at the end of town and also the info centre has this, Rusconi's Marble Masterpiece and is well worth the visit.

Have fun

Craig
AnswerID: 331997