Anyone crossed the Simpson recently?

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 06:20
ThreadID: 57133 Views:2784 Replies:7 FollowUps:16

Eric posted earlier this month, that a mate of his had just crossed the Simpson and it has obviously been very tough going.

I'm planning to travel along the french line (and maybe parts of the WAA line) in about two weeks from now. I reckon there has been some traffic since then and the track might have been improved, but it would be good to have some first hand information about current conditions.

And another question, so far I thought I'll do it west to east, but if conditions are still bad, it might be better to do it the other way round. What are your suggestions? I'm travelling in an 1HZ Troopy (no CT)

Cheers Wolf

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 07:58

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 07:58
Hi Wolf
It is still very early in the season and things would not have changed a lot since the last report a few weeks ago. For the best advise, give Dave an email at Mount Dare, for the most up to date info from desert travellers.

Once the cooler southern winter takes effect, which will not be long, more and more people will make the crossing.

The WAA Line will be much different, as this track gets less traffic. For safety sake, make sure that you are not travelling alone and be prepared for many sand bogging seeing it is early in the season.

AnswerID: 301255

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 08:39

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 08:39
Reports from VKS737 members in The Simpson at the moment (as late as Sunday) is that conditions are still a bit hard, with a lot of wind swept dune crowns.
General concensus is travelling in an Easterly direction is the favourable way.

AnswerID: 301260

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 08:44

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 08:44
Weather good - 8 min and 22 max - slight breeze but no hard wind expected in next two weeks (and no rain either). Best to come west to east - at least there is Birdsville on the end!!!!
Not many travellers out there at present - still a bit early - stay on the French Line for safety. Good travelling.
AnswerID: 301261

Follow Up By: phil hod - Monday, May 05, 2008 at 11:45

Monday, May 05, 2008 at 11:45
Gday Ruth, we were out your way a few years ago on our postie bikes and you did brekky for us before we took off for alice.
Was out again in march but I think you were out of towwn.
Will be out again in june (not on posties this time) and would be great to catch up,

any word on Rig Road?
seeya
Philthy Hodgens.
FollowupID: 568142

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, May 05, 2008 at 14:30

Monday, May 05, 2008 at 14:30
Hey Phil - heard you were looking for me in March, knew from the description it must have been you! We'll be here in June, for the rest of the year actually so look forward to catching up with you.
Going out to the SD next weekend or the one after so will give you a first hand account of the Rig Road, o.k.
FollowupID: 568167

Follow Up By: phil hod - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:26

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 20:26
no worries ruth, we'll be in late on sat, june 7 on big orange bikes that sound like harleys. We're coming from all corners with riders getting in at different hours but most of them know you... you are a national legend!!!!
seeya
philthy hodgens
FollowupID: 568645

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:03

Wednesday, May 07, 2008 at 21:03
Ok, picked a big weekend - it's the Annual Birdsville Gift weekend - (like the Stawell Gift) and on that night Graeme Connors will be performing. Look forward to hearing you arrive.
FollowupID: 568652

Reply By: brushmarx - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 10:44

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 10:44
I don't know if it is a relevant comparison, but I went from Birdsville to Poeppel's Corner and back 2 weeks ago.
The dunes were quite a bit easier from West to East with more gradual slopes, except they had soft crowns from a steady south easterly wind all day which made the top few metres a bit tricky.
I did it in a Holden petrol auto Monterey, but as Doug and Dusty points out, with a Toyota, you could stick cruise control on at 80kph, and sail over them, and only use two litres of fuel for the whole trip.
PS getting over Big Red from the West was heaps harder than from the East.
AnswerID: 301284

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 13:54

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 13:54
Hi Wolf, When I was last there in September it was a lot easier east to west. A bit steeper on the eastern sides but the western sides had a lot of scolloped areas on the climb so you could not get a good run up with out bouncing everyone (and everything) out of their seats. (70 series)

AnswerID: 301316

Reply By: Member - Wolf (Int) - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 16:25

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 16:25
thanks a lot to all for the advice.

I'll stick to the easterly driving direction and stay on the French line for safety's sake.

Might be the right time to buy a pair of them maxtrax thingos :-)

Cheers Wolf
AnswerID: 301336

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 17:54

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 17:54
If you need a set of Maxtrax then you're doing something wrong with your shovel & tyre gauge ;-) Not neccesary on the Simpson.
Cheers Craig...........
FollowupID: 567438

Follow Up By: Member - Wolf (Int) - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 19:01

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 19:01
Thanks for that Crackles,

since I actually got a space age shovel (fibreglass handle and aluminium blade) and a decent tyre gauge, I might be better off saving the money.

And now that I come to think about it, I'll also save the weight. By coindidence two of them are about 8 kilogramms and that roughly makes an extra slab of Boag's Premium. Looks like it's going to be a much more enjoyable trip. Tahnk you for that, mate.

I'll give you a ring as soon as I'm bogged.

Cheers Wolf
FollowupID: 567452

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 21:19

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 21:19
If you are travelling with other vehicles, I agree you probably don't need Maxtrax but if you are travelling alone they can be a life saver. An Air Bag and Maxtrax will get you out of most places. I always carry them.
Dick

FollowupID: 567473

Follow Up By: Member - Wolf (Int) - Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 22:39

Wednesday, Apr 30, 2008 at 22:39
Dick,

joking aside, since I'll probably be driving alone, I actually do intend to buy a pair of them for this trip. In the past, I've been using the European style aluminium boards several times with my old truck which was quite heavy compared with a Troopy. They helped me to get out of a few bogs, for instance in western Tassie where you can find a few nasty patches if quite soft sand.

Cheers Wolf
FollowupID: 567488

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 08:16

Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 08:16
What tyre pressure would you be using in sand Wolf ?

FollowupID: 567505

Follow Up By: Member - Wolf (Int) - Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 09:04

Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 09:04
Good question Kiwi Kia,

to be honest it is my first trip in soft sand with this vehicle. On my former truck we had 255/100R16 (that's equal to 9.00 R 16) Michelin XZL tubeless on split rims. According to the manufacturer manual you could go down to 11psi before they finally come off the rim. I never had to try less than 15psi.

With the Troopy (7.50R16 tube type split rims) I plan to travel as light as possible and only take what's necessary for a couple of weeks. But still the vehicle is quite heavy.

I thought I'd start with something like 18psi and go down to 15psi if that's seems still too much. I've noticed you drive the same car when in OZ, what are your suggestions?

Cheers Wolf
FollowupID: 567509

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 14:08

Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 14:08
Wolf, you are on the right track with your tyre pressure for the Simpson. You should not get bogged at all - most difficult thing is discovering the feel of the crest of the dune because you have no idea on most of them which way they will go as you crest them - whether left or right - and it will only take a couple of dunes to get the feel. Biggest problem is when you back off when almost on the crest - you know the old saying he who hesitates is lost!Well that's the same for the dunes. With the very soft sand blown in is sitting on the top and can try and trick you as you crest it. Lots of fun though. The weather is absolutely beautiful - 27 now as I type. I don't go very fast and usually in high range - mostly use low range for the mud. Have a good trip - will look out for you around the town.
FollowupID: 567553

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 14:28

Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 14:28
Hi Wolfe, Take note of Ruths comments.

I was rather heavy in my Troopy and had absolutely no bother - till I buttoned off that few metres short just as Ruth says :-))

Prevailing wind seems to have a southerly aspect to it which moves sand along the top of the dune and travelling east to west nearly every dune has a kink right then sharp left at the top.

I ran my standard Troopy tyres at about 22 psi. and was quite prepared to go down to 18 if required. As long as you make ground and the vehicle doesn't wander in the back end start off at say 22 and see how you go. It's all a good learning curve. I am used to loose gravel beaches and old rather hard dunes so soft dunes was a bit new to me at the start. After backing off a couple of dunes I soon found out where high first gear was and used it just as I got to the crest on a few dunes and had no more problems at all.

FollowupID: 567558

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 14:52

Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 14:52
My Troopy when fully loaded with 270L of fuel is about 3,700kg. If I don't need that much fuel I don't carry it. I normally carry about 100L of water.

At 3,700kg, I set my rear pressures to 22psi and I get about 320mm footprint which will work in most sand. The front needs to be at 18psi to get the same footprint.
Dick

FollowupID: 567562

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 15:23

Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 15:23
Hi Dick,
What is your tank arrangement to get 270 L, have you got a third 90 lt tank ?

FollowupID: 567563

Follow Up By: Member - Wolf (Int) - Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 19:54

Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 19:54
Thanks to Ruth and all the others for the good advice. I will try hard not to hesitate too much :-)

Cheers Wolf
FollowupID: 567613

Follow Up By: Member - Dick (Int) - Friday, May 02, 2008 at 01:06

Friday, May 02, 2008 at 01:06
Kiwi Kia, the Aux Tank has been changed to a Long Ranger 180L tank made by Out of Town 4WD in Newcastle. I also have two 55L Plastic Tanks that I can carry if I need the extra range. With all that fuel and about 100L of water the Troopy is very heavy so I only do it when I need extreme range.

Dick

FollowupID: 567670

Reply By: Gossy - Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 16:14

Thursday, May 01, 2008 at 16:14
We are heading across again also (did it 11 months ago). Two cars and 3 motor bikes. See your there!
AnswerID: 301478