Ever thought your fellow campers weird ?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:25
ThreadID: 46315 Views:2829 Replies:8 FollowUps:32
Site Link

I once camped next to a bloke who thought he was on the Star Trek set. He played each and every character all night every night. Harmless but I made sure the axe was locked in the car.
Ever ended up camped next to a questionable person ?

Reply By: Member - Greydemon (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:29

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:29
How do you know that he wasn't right? Perhaps you are the weird one but haven't realised it.

AnswerID: 244926

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:37

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:37
Hey!!! A Bond Bug!!!

Almost bought one once - drove it a bit, very sensitive steering, regret not buying it.
Were they imported into Oz?

FollowupID: 505995

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:47

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:47
Like the Reliant Mike NO they were not imported here, the only 3 wheeler in Oz that I know of was the Messerschmitt KR-200 with the single wheel at the rear as it was less likely to tip as did the realiant

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Messerschmitt_KR200

pages.zoom.co.uk/elvis/regal.html

FollowupID: 505996

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:08

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:08
"How do you know that he wasn't right?"
Perhaps because one definition of a mental disorder is acting or reacting innapropriately to a particular social setting.

"Perhaps you are the weird one but haven't realised it." This is either
a) an attempt to stir the possum
b) an attempt to cover your own weird behaviour or
c) Hardly profound, but an acceptable attempt to respond to the post.
FollowupID: 506003

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:13

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:13
Ah... but the Messerschmitt's had a major problem Doug - they had no reverse gear which, in the 1950/60s in the UK meant they could be driven on a motorcycle licence.

All well and good you say, however: consider the poor chap who arrives home and drives his new Messerschmitt into the garage, parking close to the rear wall of the garage in order to leave maximum space. Trouble is... Messerschmitt's had a single front opening door! Consequence was the poor devil couldn't open the door to get out and couldn't reverse away from the wall! Don't know if it ever really happened but it's a nice story :)

FollowupID: 506006

Follow Up By: Julian - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:34

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:34
Sorry Mike - it was the Isettas and Heinkels/Trojans that had the opening front door, and they had reverse gears..
The Messerschmitt had a reversable starter motor which allowed the engine (2-stroke) to be started backwards for reversing and I fairly sure they had an opening top like 'plane cockpit.

Julian
FollowupID: 506012

Follow Up By: Member - Greydemon (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:42

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:42
Sorry Footloose, I forgot to put the 8-) on the message to show I was only stirring!

Mike H - unfortunately the Bug in the picture isn't mine, like you I wanted one (a 700ES) but never bought one and have always regreted it. At the time they came out I was too young and poor so had to stick with my grandmother's 1939 Ford Prefect.

FollowupID: 506013

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:42

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:42
>The Messerschmitt had a reversable starter motor which allowed
>the engine (2-stroke) to be started backwards for reversing

Did it really!? No reason why you couldn't do that with a 2 stroke and it would probably still have complied with the "motorcycle" law of no reverse gear.

>and I fairly sure they had an opening top like 'plane cockpit.

You're taking me back 36 years but I think you're right - a friend of mine owned one when we were at Tech. and if I struggle to remember I think the top did raise rather than an opening front door.

If the others had reverse gear it would have reduced their selling ability because they would have required a car rather than a motorcycle licence?

Perhaps I'm just getting old but I do miss the sheer _character_ of such vehicles :)

PS. For those babies amongst you... we're talking about "Bubble Cars" :)
FollowupID: 506014

Follow Up By: Member - Greydemon (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:53

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:53
Isn't technology wonderful. New readers to this string are probably wondering why we are all going on about Bond Bugs when the vehicle in question is clearly a Chieftain Tank. The 'door' opened upwards and I know that they had several reverse gears when supplied to certain countries. 8-)
FollowupID: 506018

Follow Up By: disco driver - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 18:18

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 18:18
The Messerschmitt was so low and narrow that you could not see it if it was correctly parked behind you, particularly at night

I know because I backed an old Vanguard van over one years ago. (shows how old I am).

Fortunately no-one was in it.

Disco
FollowupID: 506029

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 18:54

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 18:54
Also the BMW came in 3 and 4 wheelers, I have put some photo's on my website , 3 little ones that the younger ones probably never heard of

Site Link

Doug

FollowupID: 506042

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:12

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:12
Doug

Your pic is on Main North Road out of Adelaide near Bunnings. Parafield? Don't know Adelaide all that well but have driven past the plane a few times

FollowupID: 506047

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:30

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:30
Willem
No mate it's at an entrance to Acherfield Airfield. Qld. down the side street behind the BP Truck stop off Boundary Rd, They also have a operational Hawker Sea Fury in that Shed ,the power of that thing is awesome with the 2,480hp Bristol Centaurus two-row 18 cylinder air-cooled radial engine, I was at the BP about 4 years ago and the Pilot was giving it a workout , doing complete loops , you should have heard that Motor.

Doug

FollowupID: 506053

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:31

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:31
A Vanguard! A bloody Vanguard!

Well! We know you could not possibly still have you own teeth.

I remember them, but then I remember lots of tstuff from when I was three years of age. LOL.

FollowupID: 506055

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:43

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:43
Doug

Yeah, I have seen that one at Archerfield too. Could've sworn tho.......lol
FollowupID: 506067

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 23:05

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 23:05
The Messerschmitt was actually built around the fighter plane cockpit.
FollowupID: 506106

Follow Up By: Julian - Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 09:16

Wednesday, Jun 06, 2007 at 09:16
The question of driving a three-wheeler on a motorcycle licence was always vexed.
Local "rozzers" were unclear on it. I drove my Isetta on a learner car licence for a year with no problem. And yes bubble cars were difficult to see behind you apparently because on my first outing in mine after completely respraying it (orange and purple with spray cans!) some bugger crunched it while it was parked. I also rolled it in a car park, while showing off its maneouverability, when the nearside front wheel dropped into a deep pot hole. I just got out and flipped it back over and drove off embarrassed. ( I was 17 then)

Julian
FollowupID: 506158

Reply By: tvl - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:29

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:29
this did the trick , smashed sacred ceramic pipes over them to set their spirits free.
AnswerID: 244927

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:32

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:32
Footy,

There'll be a lot of that around 7/7/7 at Warraweena LOLOL
AnswerID: 244929

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:11

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:11
Gramps. Not to denigrate or cast dispersions on those who have no doubt worked their insides out organizing things, nor those who will drive zillions of corregations to be there, but you could be right !
I suspect that a major reason for the gathering might be to provide stories for EO posts for some time to come :))
FollowupID: 506005

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:19

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:19
Footy,

Given the attendee list, the material to come from such a congregation promises to entertain for quite some time.

ps pi$$ed off as all get out that I can't make it and really stir a few possums :)))))
FollowupID: 506010

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:49

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:49
Gramps, relief from all going that I can't make it :)
FollowupID: 506015

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:51

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:51
To think I only made arrangements to go as I believed I could peer out the window at you Foo like.
FollowupID: 506016

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:54

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:54
John, dear me. How uncouth. Just make sure that the wind isn't whispering "right back at ya , buddy " :)))))
FollowupID: 506019

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 18:14

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 18:14
Hahahahahahahaha you two are incorrigible
FollowupID: 506026

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:16

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:16
You two? Which two? I thought I was the sane one.
FollowupID: 506049

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:43

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:43
Everyone in this asylum is sane :))))))
FollowupID: 506068

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:59

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 19:59
And I thought it was just you and I ? I still have my suspicions about you :))))))))))))
FollowupID: 506081

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:11

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:11
Yes, I can see the constant smiling faces indicating the level of sanity.. }:-))))))
FollowupID: 506086

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:33

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:33
So you were the nervous quiet person I was camped next to.....

beam me up Scottie

AnswerID: 244930

Reply By: Blaze - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:44

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:44
Hey Footy I would have had the axe right next to me, not in the car....
AnswerID: 244935

Reply By: Blaze - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:46

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 16:46
I have camped next to Uncle Des, I guess this would count....LOL
AnswerID: 244938

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 18:35

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 18:35
Be back in a minute, just going out to the shed to pack the axe and the chainsaw.
FollowupID: 506035

Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:20

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:20
Footloose: funny you should ask that mate. Last time I was camping, the people nearest to us seemed to do everything possible to avoid contact with us.

Don't know if it was anything to do with the Tarzan getup I was wearing all week - or the "you Jane, me Tarzan" malarky coming from our van.

But you're right, there are some weirdos about.
AnswerID: 244946

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:51

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 17:51
Role playing can be healthy, but can also make others nervous.
I sometimes annoy the heck out of others when I'm playing the role of Footy :))
FollowupID: 506017

Reply By: taps - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 18:34

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 18:34
Ummmmm yes,

Back in the mid 90's we were at camping near the beach near the Maheno on Fraser island, when a naked pom came and sat in a spare chair with us, and with a strong english accent just said "nice night for it innit"......while we were looking for other things to look at, his naked mate was climbing a tree, ripping bark off and chewing it......very strange.....

The claimed they were part of the "Fraser Island Shakespearian Theatrical Society".
They looked very different the next morning, clothed and hung-over......

Taps.
AnswerID: 244972

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 18:39

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 18:39
To tree or not to tree
Is that the question ?
Alack poor Yorrick, I knew all of him well.
All the world's a stage, especially Fraser Island ?

hehehehh
FollowupID: 506037

Follow Up By: ellmcg - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:17

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:17
Getting naked on Fraser Island does seem to have become a tradition for British travellers. I wonder if these were the first...

Then again, maybe it's just getting naked anywhere in Aus that they're into -reference Coogee & Bondi beaches
FollowupID: 506090

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:24

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 20:24
I used to go to Fraser almost every weekend and never saw any naked tourists...oh I lie...there were two swedish girls that the cops had to caution but decided just to "keep an eye on em".
FollowupID: 506094

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 23:28

Tuesday, Jun 05, 2007 at 23:28
Or the 18 stone nudist woman doing somersaults done a sandblow on Fraser, I still have nightmares. :)
FollowupID: 506114