Cooper tyres overrated???

Submitted: Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 12:23
ThreadID: 45750 Views:4980 Replies:18 FollowUps:31
Went a camping trip on weekend with 6 vehicles down a fairly rough and rocky track here in the pilbara.
Cooper ATR puncture between the tread blocks.
Cooper ST’s large chunks missing from corner tread blocks, one whole corner tread block missing.
Other vehicles fitted with wrangler AT/R’s , Bridgestone dueller D694’s and Maxxis Marauder, small cuts but no major problems.

No question this could change from trip to trip but it seems to me not only from this trip but other accounts that Cooper tyres are no better than any other but cost more? Admittedly the guy with the Cooper ST’s was giving them a work out, spinning wheels etc but what’s the good of them if can’t spin a wheel without ripping off a tread block.

My theory is the tread blocks are just too high to get the ridiculous kilometre claims and they can’t take the shear load. It’s no secret if you make the tread higher you get more kilometes but if it stuffs the tyre what’s the point, you’ve blown 300 clams.

They seem a very overrated and over-marketed product?

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 12:25

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 12:25
Cooper tyres overrated???

You only just working that out now??

AnswerID: 241562

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 15:50

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 15:50
Now John, don't be too emphatic!
FollowupID: 502511

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:26

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:26
Who me?? Never!! :-)

FollowupID: 502564

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 12:25

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 12:25
Yawn
AnswerID: 241563

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 13:04

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 13:04
Its the same in our club.
All the flats are the coopers.
Same crap every trip yet they all swear by them. One day they will see the light.
No probs with my MTR's 2 sets heaps of off road still good.
AnswerID: 241574

Reply By: Member - Mark L (WA) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 13:12

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 13:12
I have Coopers ST and dont have a problem with them, I guess if you go off road in the Pilbara, knowing the terrain, what would you expect.
Taking about different tyre types on this forum is a dead issue, everyone has a different experience.
AnswerID: 241577

Follow Up By: cookie - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 13:41

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 13:41
Surely the whole point of such a forum is too discuss these different experiences.

Don't want to know don't read it!
FollowupID: 502501

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:34

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:34
"Talking about different tyre types on this forum is a dead issue"
To the contry Mark, this type of discussion is excellent particually when there are many cars with different tyres fitted travelling together & taking the exact same route. Although the results must be taken with a grain of salt it does give an indication of the wear in that type of terrain. Together with other posts & other forums a pattern starts to appear & unfortunately for Cooper Cookies findings are the same as mine. When fitted to similar vehicles carrying similar loads over rough outback roads, the Coopers on every occation had more chipping & total tread loss & often more punctures as well. Obviously your positive experience is just as important to get a balanced perspective & also gives people an idea in what areas Coopers do excell.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 502540

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 23:43

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 23:43
Don't believe anything discussed here is a dead issue. Of course you will get differing opinions but it allows viewers to at least have a look and of course the over riding thing is something that was discussed to death last year is now being read by new members and visiters and of course all there are new model tyres etc released ever few mths.
FollowupID: 502702

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 06:27

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 06:27
I think Waeco is best :)
FollowupID: 502710

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 17:37

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 17:37
If you think Waeco to be best Mike you could possibly say so on a Fridge thread, then back up your answer with some reason, fact or experience. Personally I don't think Waeco are best at anything bar price.
Ohh sorry I get it now, you were trying to be funny ;-)))
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 502836

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 17:56

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 17:56
Actually I think 3 way fridges are best - really :)
FollowupID: 502844

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:06

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:06
Blaze
Well put , good onya

FollowupID: 502850

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:09

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:09
You've convinced me now Mike with that glowing recomendation........I'm going to rush out & buy a 3 way Waeco fridge tommorrow.
FollowupID: 502851

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:13

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:13

Actually they do sell one but it's not very good, overpriced and doesn't include the gas hose or regulator!!!!
FollowupID: 502855

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:17

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:17
What a load of crap Mike ! Everyone that's been here long enough knows that an Engel with a f i t c h fitted is unbeatable !

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 502856

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:20

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:20
Double damn Pezza!!! I was hoping nobody would think of that!
FollowupID: 502858

Reply By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 13:27

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 13:27
Shortly after replacing my Cooper AT with Wranglers and discovering I also had my correct wheel alignment back, I decided to let the Australian distributor of Coopers know how disappointed I was with their product and all dramas they had brought me.

7 puntures of which the last one was right through the tread block.

Endless and unsuccessful wheel alignments to correct a left drift. Finally resulting in advice from Cooper that could have caused major damage to the steering due to over adjustment. Thankfully a Toyota service found it before it got worse and problem gone.

Lets say I' still checking the Inbox for a reply.

You couldn't give me a set of Coopers.
AnswerID: 241582

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 13:28

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 13:28
I have heard they are so soft, that they make good fishing boat fenders!
AnswerID: 241583

Reply By: Steve63 - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 14:25

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 14:25
I've had Coopers, BFG and Bridgestones. I thought the Coopers were ok but not great and certainly didn't live up to the hype. The bs required to keep the guarantee valid just increased the cost of an expensive tyre. I suspect if you had the number of wheel alignments, balancing and rotations (carried out by an authorised dealer of course) that the guarantee expects you could get another 10,000km out of any tyres.

AnswerID: 241590

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 14:33

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 14:33
I ripped a block off one of my Cooper STs told MR Cooper that I was not impressed, he asked a lot of question and give me a slap on the rest for not lowering the pressures to a least 18 psi when in very rough conditions. I had already brought a set of Mickey Thompson MTZs so he gave me $150 off, had the Coopers fixed (one only) $40, they are now on the MU Wizard.
The other part of the story....dropped psi in the MTZs to 20psi and on same track ripped a small piece off one of them to.
So will I buy Cooper made tyres again NO and I think I will go buy a cheap set of Chinese things as they will probably do as good.
Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 241591

Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 09:47

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 09:47
Totally agree with the last part Bruce. I have had Coopers, BF's and MTR's. I now run Sava for off road stuff. I was expecting them to split and crack etc but because they are cheaper I didn't mind, well guess what 35,000k's later they are about 2/3 worn and have ahd no problems......... Just shows to go yah!!
FollowupID: 502741

Reply By: pprass - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 15:07

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 15:07
I have tried BFG AT's and Cooper ST's - and they performed the same from my experience. Both chipped on the edges and the Coopers cracked where the blocks meet the carcass ready to be ripped off. (and I have tried 2 sets of Cooper ST's and both did the same.) I never got a puncture in either set and I did 2 crossings of the Simpson and many trips to the Vic High Country in both brands.

However I now have Cooper STT's and they are fantastic. I can actually feel the difference that the tread makes - it really grips the tracks! And to my delight - no chipping, cracking or chunks taken out. I will see how many km's I will get out of them and if reasonable I would definitely get them again.
AnswerID: 241594

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:02

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:02
Hey whay I saw of Laura & Nathan's (( member,, Diver 1 )) and their 80 series with Cooper STT's , has changed my mind,, A trip to Innaminka and the Dig Tree, then off thru Walkers Crossing to Birdsville and along the Plenty into Alice chopped them up.
Not too original when I looked at them, alll chopped up from the gibber,,
Dunno how they are going, 8 - 10 months later,
But if you read this post Laura & Nath ,, perhaps you would like to add to it

Personally I recon that My Cooper ATR's have worn spectacular, 2 trips up in the Desert, and 80 k on them, never a puncture.
I may be helping that by continuously watching the road conditions and adjusting road positions, and pressures..

BUT rough riding tyres ,,, In the Navara I run 27 in the rear and 31 up front to easy the bumps ( the Mrs needs 2 sports bras )

They pull ( like a 16 Y.O. boy ) to the left, but it is only following the camber ,, as it does right thing on right hand cambers too ...
I could live without that part of it ,,,
Not too sure what BFG's will do

FollowupID: 502848

Reply By: DaveNQ1 - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 15:28

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 15:28
No. Never........Surely if you spend bucketloads of money advertising something that is no better than anything else and then get a big name such as Ron Moon backing it, it must be the best!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 241596

Follow Up By: slush - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 16:35

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 16:35
i have coopers (atr's)for the last 3 years and have had no problems, had bridgestone before with heaps of punchers, last 4by had st's no problem also. it depends on how you treat them.
FollowupID: 502521

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:17

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:17
"it depends on how you treat them".
I could not agree more. I have mates who have trouble with everything they put on. I still believe however that Coopers are no better than the other brands.
FollowupID: 502635

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:36

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 19:36
"Depends on how you treat them" never a truer phrase stated,

If you adjust the pressures to the terrain, you will get the desired performance.
If you don't flog the crap out of them trying to get up a rocky hill they will not tear.

I saw a brand new BFG Muddy get destroyed by hitting a hidden rock in grass at relatively low speed and i mean he was parking the car to air down, that slow. The sidewall just split like a banana skin.

I have had 2 sets of Cooper ST's and had no trouble with them. I went through all the rotations with the first set (265's) and got around 80,000 k's and took them off to step up to 285's. They still had about 10-15000k's left on them.

This set hasn't had the same care taken with them and i am on about 75,000k's and looking a bit more worn but still have about 6 months left in them.
FollowupID: 502883

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:04

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:04
A puncture proof tyre....any tyre, now I'd like to see that. Maybe some are better than others, but a stake through the sidewall is just that, regardless of what brand is on the rubber (surely!).

Running Cooper STCs, so far so good.........
AnswerID: 241612

Follow Up By: cookie - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:21

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:21
Well that's my point really, why would you pay more for them when they're just another tyre.

The STC's do seem to get good reviews, haven't seen any in action.
FollowupID: 502560

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 19:16

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 19:16
We''ll see how they go over time.....just looked at what I did pay for them $274, can't remember what I was paying for BFGs, a similar amount I suspect.

I'm not wedded to them, but willing to give them a go, nothing like first hand - experíence...
FollowupID: 502578

Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:38

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 18:38
Landy, I have a pucture proof one on the front of my camper...(it's called a solide) LOL
FollowupID: 502868

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:09

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 17:09
Cookie

To be fair to Coopers (I don't really want to be.....and Ron Moon is an old mate of mine), they are very good on bitumen and in sand, especially when aired down to lower tyre pressures. They are so-so on gravel roads but give good grip overall.

I bought my first set of STT's expecting wonders and at $1625 for 5, I came away disappointed. A number of sidewall stakes happened and then at around 28,000km the beads started cracking and my tyre bloke said it could be dangerous. Coopers let me have a new set of STT's with "More protection on the tyre curve" and away I went. This time around I did a little bit of offroad driving watching very carefully where I put the wheels.

The result of these excursions was 8 sidewall tears and one tyre completely u/s. I had tried to get some splits rims and cross plies before going on these treks but that didn't happen and I paid the price for taking these tyres, with their paper thin sidewalls, into the scrub.

So now I have 5 Cooper STT's sitting in my garage with 90% tread left and only useful for shredding or as flowerpots.

GQ now shod with split rims and 12ply rating MRF Super Traction Crossplies for bush tracks and offtrack work.

Daily driver tyres a set of El Dorado ZTR's, just as useless and made by Coopers but good for bitumen travel.

AnswerID: 241614

Follow Up By: cookie - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:26

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:26
I'm not saying they are a bad tyre but it's just my observation they don't live up to there advertised claims or their price tag, as you found.

Why pay more?

Sure some people get a lot of k's out of them but you pay more to get more tread to get more kilometers. That's not a better tyre, that's just more rubber for more money. Then if you stake one all that extra tread (extra money) is gone.
FollowupID: 502563

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:33

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:33
I just re read my post

'Coopers let me have a new set of STT's with "More protection on the tyre curve" and away I went.'

I should have added 'at cost price'

lol

FollowupID: 502568

Follow Up By: Diver1 - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:33

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:33
We got 5 stt's and love 'em ....had proper air pressure the whole time ..rotate etc....found them excellent in sand, mud (which they are made for) and good on black top......

its all on opinion....just like 2 caltex servo's can produce 2 qualities of fuel a tyre company can also produce 2 qualities of tyres...

so Willem...what are you going to do with the stt's ????

Laura
FollowupID: 502642

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:56

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:56
Laura

I tried to sell the alloy rims and include the STT's. Was in the Trader Section for about 4 months. Got some enquiries but no takers.

So will swap 'em for a carton of VB...the STT's that is. They can probably be of use to someone for bitumen or sand driving. I'll keep the alloys for flower pots.

No, its not a matter of opinion. They are absolute crap for rough tracks etc but then I expected too much of them....lol

So if yer passing, just drop a slab off and they're yours

FollowupID: 502660

Reply By: Member - Andy C (WA) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:08

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 18:08
Well - I know the Coopers have been bagged for sometime now....

I have had 265/75 Coopers ATRs on my Navara now for 30k. I've done 2 CSRs, a Gibb Rvr Rd, in and out to/from the Bungles (at speed), and after the last 10k trip ended up with a 20mm tech screw in one of them - easy fix (could have done that in my driveway). No other problems! I think I've still got 70% left.

Just did a 4 day trip on the Holland track and did a sidewall - threw the casing away! Does that justify giving up on this product?

Where do I go from here? I don't know - want to go a full set of BFGs but can I justify the expense?

We all have to remember that "tyres" are an "expense" not an asset. As are shockies if we're doing these sorts of trips. And I'd replace and take spare shockies (whatever the brand) on these big trips!
AnswerID: 241628

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:34

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:34
My 245/75 ATRs have been fantastic too, a little chipping on the corner tread from driving too fast over rocks (I mean big, flat rocks with lots of little rocks on top), and going up and down my gutters with very sharp corners, but apart they have been great, no punctures. Mine are LT construction though, and I think this may have something to do with it as far as puncture protection goes. Would be interested to know who else has LT versus passenger tyres.

D-Jack
FollowupID: 502611

Reply By: Olcoolone (SA) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 19:56

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 19:56
So the question is.....what tyre is the best?

I am waiting for you replys!

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 241671

Follow Up By: Garbutt - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:02

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:02
Evacool!!!!!!!!!!!! LOL!!!!!!!!!! Or maybe Engel!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 502594

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:07

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:07
Pfft, I am on my second set of Coopers, and more than likely I will by a 3rd set when these are done and dusted, if I was going to get a cheep set I would just stick on some Kuhmo MT’s or something.

I think I have had a good run with Coopers to be honest, thou maybe I just don’t expect then to handle like a SP9000 on road, then take em off road spin em, thrash em over rock sand and mud and then expect them too look a million $$ after it all.
AnswerID: 241675

Follow Up By: Member -Truk (QLD) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:30

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:30
Geez Cookie, you've got your work cut out sifting these replies. Anyway, just for my 2 cents worth.
Have a set of L/T ATR's and completed a 14,000k trip to WA and back in March. A mate travelling with me had normal ATR's. We travelled Strezlecki, track Balladonia to Esperance, Holland Track, East Mac's and back to Qld. Mate had one staking, one slow leak and a blow out, while I had some chipping of lugs on the drive only. I feel I hadn't the right pressures, duh!

After all that I feel quite happy with choice of Coopers, although will probably go ST's next time.
FollowupID: 502606

Follow Up By: Member - Andy C (WA) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:48

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 20:48
Truk - would you expect anything else from that trip?

While we can do the 4PSI trick as best we can - there will be the stake that we haven't seen that will do a sidewall (in any tyre) - and there will be the blow-out where a driver has hit a grid or black/red transition too hard!

It sounds like you had a "good" experience over your tough trip! And to "chip" a lug off the side of one of your tyres is to me - "sh--t, that bit was fun over that section!"

Andy
FollowupID: 502618

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:17

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:17
Yeah same hear mate, had the old AT’s and put 50,000 on em before switching to ST’s the AT’s probably had another 10-12000k in em so thay would have pulled the 60,000k they say.

The ST’s are better just about every where except wet sealed roads where you would expect the AT’s to be better anyway, the one thing that got me was they go better in sand than the AT’s did.

Yes they have Chipping on the side Lugs, but it doesn’t bother me and there is some fairly minor tread damage, but this is probably more caused buy me and my driving habits IMO.
FollowupID: 502636

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:04

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:04
Had 2 sets of Coopers on different vehicles now - the worst tyres I have ever owned. Would not accept them as a gift. Also note the so-called 'guarantee' is void if you go offroad. Found that out the hard way.

Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

AnswerID: 241694

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:07

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 21:07
YEP IN MY EXPERIENCE COOPPERS ARE OVERRATED. I had no end of trouble with 4 that I had fitted and had them replaced twice, turns out they were a faulty batch, but Coopers did honour the warranty and as well gave me numerous tokens of their esteem to shut me up, all of which I threw away.
My next set of tyres will be the elcheapos from Kmart, I've heard good reports and Kmart seem to be miles cheaper.......
AnswerID: 241698

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 23:14

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 23:14
Well all i can, like i said before. Had Em once NEVER AGAIN!!!
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 241752

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 00:26

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 at 00:26
YEP, a mate of mine and I have been watching this cooper tyre thing for two years now and nothing has made me want to change.

Sure, we do mainly highway/gravel/lots of beach driving but he's just replaced 4 BFG AT's on an 80 series which have done 114,000 K's and I have done 75,000 and have at least 20,000 left in mine. It's a no brainer for me.
FollowupID: 502705