Worthwhile Getting Permits For National Parks?

Submitted: Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 18:21
ThreadID: 45314 Views:3013 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
We're doing a trip to NT & WA in August with an off road caravan and seeking guidance if it is worth purchasing an National Parks annual pass or paying an entry fee as we go in the following areas:

NT - Litchfield staying 3 to 4 days
NT - Kakadu staying 3 to 4 days
NT - Alice Springs (Palm Valley 1 night, Grand Canyon 1 night & Uluru 1 night)
WA - Gibb River Rd, staying along the various spots for 5 days
WA - Purnululu for 3 days

Thanks in advance
PeteS

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:07

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:07
definitly dont wast your money all Northern parks are free with the exception of kakadu (I think this has changed) but was not covered by any psses anyway (either is ayres rock). The only place a park pass is valid is the Bungles - so jusy pay it is cheaper than a pass. It is only down south you have to pay to take every step
AnswerID: 239123

Follow Up By: PeteS - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:33

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:33
Thanks Davoe
Exactly the info I wanted.
PeteS
FollowupID: 500175

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:28

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:28
Hey PeteS

Litchfield free to enter, camp fees only

Kakadu free to enter, some free camping, some paid camping.

Palm valley free to enter, camp fees only, Kings Canyon free to enter, resort camping, Uluru $25 per person over 16 camping fees.

El questro entry fees camping fee to be honest a rip of.

Not sure about GRR fees and camping.

Purnululu Entry fee and camping fees pay as you enter at the site.

Hope this helps Steve.
AnswerID: 239130

Follow Up By: PeteS - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:34

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:34
Hi Steve
Thanks for the info. I though as much but did not know exactly what I was faced with in each area. Much apreciated
FollowupID: 500176

Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:37

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:37
I dont know about other states but as far as I know the parks in the NT are national parks ( owned buy the Nation).
Some places have an honesty box for camping fees but no enterance fee.
Unless of course your thinking of going to the rock...(sorry ULURU) which of course isnt owned buy Australians but leased buy us guests from the real custodians.
Maybe if you go to Uluru you should call into Mititjulu and show your appreciation by visiting the community and checking to see if its how they left it. (they all live in Alice now because someone trashed it while they wernt looking)
Sorry all tounge in cheek??? ( except the pass bit)
AnswerID: 239133

Follow Up By: PeteS - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:49

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:49
Hey there Hairy
LOL, appreciate the advice and the lesson in the "local" knowledge.
PeteS
FollowupID: 500180

Follow Up By: kimprado - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:54

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 20:54
Hairy

I don't why you worry so much. They'll all go back again when Scrubby Town dries up in the next couple of weeks.

I'll watch with interest whilst chewing on a few Chardy cubes!

Kim
FollowupID: 500182

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:22

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:22
Gday Kim,
If your still comming up, dont forget to bring your Listerine, there's talk of taking that off the shelves too.
mmm it got crog in it!!!

FollowupID: 500195

Follow Up By: PeteS - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:26

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:26
What about the after shave.... May come in flagons by August?
PeteS
FollowupID: 500197

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:35

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 21:35
What's that about having to hire an armed guard for your esky/Waeco/Engels ? :))))
FollowupID: 500202

Follow Up By: kimprado - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 22:19

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 22:19
Hairy

What's next, a ban on kero? My favourite concoction just happens to be two thirds Listerine with a kero top up. Don't drink it myself, but it certainly gets the shirlas in the mood.

Seriously, I'm having a blue at work re time off. Not a problem, because if I don't get it, they can shove the job.

Planning to leave the Village around 12-13 June. I'll give you a ring shortly.

You have a sober day now, ya hear!

PeteS. Sorry to interupt your post.

Kim
FollowupID: 500212

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 23:30

Thursday, May 10, 2007 at 23:30
We are doing the WA coast June /July mostly camping in National Parks where we can and will purchase the WA Holiday Parks Pass. Unfortunately the camping fees are extra.

From your itinerary to me it looks like it would be line ball. Without doing the detailed calculations I'd pay as you go.
AnswerID: 239198

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 09:25

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 09:25
WA coast is a different story I got one for my trip that went as far as Karatha ad it was great value (Kalbarri, Millstream, Monkey Mia, Karanjini ec). the only Northern park a pass works at is the bungles. Places like Geike Gorge, Tunnel creek, mitchel falls , Parry creek,Litchfield, Gregory Np Keep riverNp, etc etc etc are all free and the few places I had to pay no park pass covered anyway (kakadu and Uluru)
FollowupID: 500261

Reply By: arewelost - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 00:09

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 00:09
hi PeteS
off memory all the camping spots along the GRR are free with exception of Mt Barnett station this is a pay for one privately owned hope this helps have a good one
cheers steve and margaret
AnswerID: 239203

Reply By: PeteS - Friday, May 11, 2007 at 06:33

Friday, May 11, 2007 at 06:33
THANKS to all who replied.
Questions answered.......... NO need to get a permit

Thanks heaps
PeteS
AnswerID: 239215