Grinner
A group of us from the local CFA usually go away this time of year up to the
Murray River near
Robinvale (Wemen) for a fishing trip. However, one of the group went up yesterday and found the river was but a trickle at our usual spot.
Does anyone know of somewhere along the Murray in Victoria where there is enough water to get a tinny in for fishing, and room for 6 or 7 campsites, and preferably no speed boats?
Grinner
Reply By: Tony - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 11:54
Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 11:54
Down stream from
Robinvale. The Hatta/
Kulkyne. Good place to launch a tinnie and some
great camp spots.
As far as water, not sure, but there are some deep holes along this part of the river.
The only other place I know of is Gunbower Island, suitable for big camps.
Reply By: where2go - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 12:06
Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 12:06
Not sure exactly which part you are talking about but we camped at Boss Beach in Barmah SF several weeks ago and it was lovely. Didn't have a boat (
well we did have a kayak which doesn't really count for what you are after) but locals did come down and easily put a boat in to fish. We caught some cod from the bank that were undersized (only just) that went back, a silver perch that should have gone back but got eaten (I know they are protected but there was no saving it, blood from gills, hook so far gone it couldn't be reached etc) and many many many big carp (in fact they were the biggest fish we caught - dug a big big hole and buried the whole lot in one hit). Nice spot. Easy swimming, sheltered and clean.
Follow Up By: bruce - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 14:44
Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 14:44
We are heading that way in about 3 weeks...to Cobram or thereabouts....where is Boss beach ? in relation to Cobram....
Do not wish to pinch your topic ...but is related..we both want a similar result...a good camping spot...and people on this
forum seem to more local knowledge than other forums....cheers
Heading to Cobram Vic. in 3 weeks time and it is new ground for us....suggestions or knowledge of the area for camping would be greatly appreciated....we have 2 couples ..1 in a Falcon wagon with a 17 ft dual axle van the has fourby with similar van...we like a
camp fire so wood supply not toooo far away would be handy....we have a small boat so easy access to the river is needed and preferrably reasonably flat ....shade is not really important as 1 of us has a new solar panel to try out..me..no hoons required...we like peace and quiet...except for a very quiet genny when and if required and some low music at night while we sit around the
camp fire , have our red ned and watch the stars....any and all suggestons will be appreciated....does not have to be right at Cobram...general area will do...cheers
Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 14:40
Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 14:40
If the hook is that far in a fish's mouth then leave it in and cut the line. It will have a better chance at survivng than tearing half its guts out to save a 20c hook.
The water levels around Cobram will be getting low for boating. I was at Yarrawonga a few weeks back and I reckon the level has dropped a metre since the beginning of the year. Lots of logs just below the surface everywhere so you need to be very careful. We only hit a few submerged logs!
Leroy
Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 19:17
Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 19:17
Cobram Regional Park is pretty nice - lots of room mosts times - close to town - directions - go in from Highway as if heading into town - keep going to a roundabout with a pub on corner - go through roundabout - - turn left at Wundah (I think thats the spelling) follow all the way down and you will come to a fenced area -
miles and
miles of room in there for just about any sort of camping - no power tho - pit
toilets at the most popular spots - some little beaches to put your boat in - pretty nice spot to just chill out.
jules
Follow Up By: bruce - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 10:43
Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 10:43
Thank you , Julie P ...we will most certainly
check that out ...will be arriving there fairly early in the day (before noon) so will have plenty of time to have a look around and ask questions before Weaco pub time....cheers
Reply By: dj Patrol - Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 12:07
Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 12:07
WOW,
I was camping along on the Murray in December and was chokkers full of water cant belive it got turned off like that musta turned the tap off up the mountains.
Reply By: Member - Lindsay- Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 16:19
Tuesday, Mar 27, 2007 at 16:19
G'day Grinner
We normally go to the area you describe but due to time and fuel cost restraints we spent 2 glorious weeks camped on the Murray just west of Yarrawonga. Plenty of water and those in the know were catching iconic aussie freshwater fish.
Bruces beach, Local Haven & Sharpes beach as
well as many other great
places are all accessed via Bruces Rd off the Murray Valley Hway about 10km west of Yarrawonga.
We arrived there on Vic labour day weekend and half of Melbournre was there but we still got a great
site 6 meters from a sandy beach with shade.
Camps Australia 3 has Bruces Beach Gps coords & description (you can get the latest edition "4" for renewing your 4wd monthly mag subscription).
No speed boats at all in the 2 weeks we were there.
If you want the Gps coords let me know.
Lindsay & the Polar Bear
Follow Up By: Grinner - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:13
Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:13
Thanks Lindsay, I'm heading to the Caravan show at Caufield this weekend, and hope to buy a copy of Camps 4.
Grinner
Reply By: Grinner - Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:11
Wednesday, Mar 28, 2007 at 11:11
Thanks everyone for your replies, I'm sure we'll find some where out of that lot, and have some good tips for future trips.
Grinner
Reply By: allanmac856 - Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 12:29
Thursday, Mar 29, 2007 at 12:29
I have a place at Tocumwal & the river level now is what it usually is around late May/June. Anyone who attemted to put a ski boat in the drink will be mad, but no doubt someone will give it a try.
As Julie said, some nice spots around Cobram, but get there early. I think
Easter will be a lot quieter than usual anywhere where people enjoy boating activities.