GU 4.2 Auto

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 13:34
ThreadID: 41261 Views:3016 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
Have a 2.8 GU with a buggered Head, I would like to convert it to Auto so was wondering if anyone out there has had any experience with putting a 4.2 and Auto out of a GQ into it. The best idea I feel would be a Chevy diesel but am under the impression this conversion can't be done with the Auto box.I would like to hear from anyone that has any information, either first hand or about anyone that does conversions especially on the east coast.
Thanks Rossco.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 13:58

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 13:58
The V8 Chev and Auto can be done. I had a quote from brunswick, and their agent in Melbourne. $23k drive in drive away + car, and thats you supplying the Auto.
AnswerID: 215647

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 14:02

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 14:02
Gday Rossco

I think both can be done.......and may be considering this myself at some stage. A quick call to Brunswick diesels shold confirm the chevy option (I think they put a turbo 700 behind them. The GQ had a bigger gearbox than the GU, and according to a thread from Bilbo, the firewall required some modification (with a big hammer?) to make it fit...Good luck with it all

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 215650

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 14:48

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 14:48
Ross,

There's a bigger issue here. Fitting a 6.5 Chev with an auto box into a Nissan GU can be done - easily - as above, Brunswicks do 'em.

But putting a 4.2 engine in a 2.8 GU is a difficult job. So much so that Brunswicks won't touch it, even though they would make a killing on the labour charges and Greg Jones at Brunswicks gets his 4.2 motors real cheap. There's just too many things that have to changed to get the engine managment and vehicle electrics right.

You must understand that when they put a 6.5 Chev in any Nissan (or any other vehicle) al that "electronic gizmo stuff" gets chucked out. It isn't required as there isn't any on a 6.5 Chev. Hence, wiring harnesses don't have to be altered, sensors don't need to be recalibrated etc, etc. Changing to a Chev is about 98% mechanical changes. Changing a 2.8 to a 4.2 is 50% mechanical and 50% electronic - it's all too much messing about.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 215660

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 15:03

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 15:03
actually theres only a matter of moving 1 engine mount, and wiring for the 4.2 to fit.

plenty of threads on OL about it...
FollowupID: 475946

Follow Up By: Grungle - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 20:41

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 20:41
Converting a 2.8 GU to a 4.2 is relatively easy. I've done it on mine. There is only a little to do with the wiring because the 2.8 has a 5 plug engine loom whereas the 4.2 have a 4 plug so it is just moving pins as the plugs are basically the same.

Would be more work wiring wise for the Chev as you would have to connect the loom that runs under the car (carries fuel, speedo, 4wd light etc signals) via the Chev engine loom to the instrument loom so these functions and the Chevs signal (RPM, oil pressure, oil temp etc) still work. I was lucky in the fact that the 2.8 and 4.2 have similar connectors on the engine loom so adaption is relatively easy.

Compared to to a Chev conversion, the mods to the vehicle are basically the same (not sure if they change the front driveshaft though for the Chev - not needed for a 4.2) as the gearbox is changed for both, engine mounts need moving, engine loom needs connecting, accelerator pedal changed to cable type, transmision crossmember modified slightly, exhaust adapted to suit and diff ratios changed (I think thats it).

Difference is that it cost me $10,000 to convert from a 2.8 to a 4.2TD and I got to keep the intercooler (big wow I know) as opposed to $25,000 quoted from Brunswich which included the engine and gearbox.

I also didn't need it engineered as it is a standard motor configuration in that range.

Now if money wasn't an issue then I would go the Chev.

FollowupID: 476024

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 21:29

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 21:29
I stand corrected - perhaps.

But go ahead 'n do it if it's that easy,,,,,,,,,,,but why would ya bother?

Bilbo

FollowupID: 476041

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:24

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:24
Why bother? $10k compared to $25k to start with is one reason... Ease and cheaper insurance.. plenty of coin left for mods, and even an ocean cruise and mobile roadblock....

dont get me wrong, I'd love the Chev if the conversion was $10k-15k cheaper, but yea, cant justify it.. neither could Mr Moneybags, he bought one already done.
FollowupID: 476063

Reply By: Tim (vic) - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 14:57

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 14:57
4x4 connections in Eltham Melb do them. 20K for chevy diesel installed if i remember correctly.

Tim
AnswerID: 215661

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 15:08

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 15:08
tried to buy some snow chains from them a couple of years back....'just sortin them out, what's ya number and i'll call you back when we're finished'....never got the call. Needed last winter Rhino bars/ski bars, same deal, we'll lookem up and call you back. No hear from dem.

Leroy
FollowupID: 475947

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:25

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 22:25
Leroy, try Alan at Outback accessories in seaford, I was lookin at Rhino gear on Saturday while Cammo was at Karate.
FollowupID: 476064

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 09:20

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 09:20
thanks for the but I already bought the gear from a mob in Thomastown. i was highlighting that they didn't seem to care too much about getting back to be so I'd be a little hesitant spending $20k with them

Leroy
FollowupID: 476140

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:37

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 13:37
tis kewl... agree.

seems to be so many 4wd stores these days - but less and less that know anything or give a toss.
FollowupID: 476186

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 15:42

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 15:42
Hi Rossco

Why not forget the diesel, and put a 5L holden efi v8 in with a turbo 700.
Petrol is cheaper than diesel, and you will easy get the same, mostly better fuel economy, and there are very few places in oz that you cant access petrol.
You also have the option of a gas, dual fuel convertion , susidsed by Mr Howard, if you want to go down that path.
Mate has a GQ ute and has spat the dummy with the lack of power for towing, and poor economy, and hauled out the diesel last week and is half way into fitting a 5L holden club sport v8, he will have more than twice the power 185kw against 86kw, and better economy, and he will go down the gas convertion road too as most of his miles are near gas outlets.
He also has a 4500 80 series, on gas, so has been spoilt for 10 years with good economy and plenty of power. He has struggled on for 18 months with the nissan, but it has been driving him mad.
He is doing the job himself and it will cost around 6 1/2 grand, plus the gas convertion, minus the sale of the 4.2.
$2900 for motor complete with all accessories, s/h done 130k, about $2500 for Marks adaptors for all the convertion bits and clutch and extractors, and about a grand for bits and peices including new exhaust system.
Yours will be a little more, as you will need a turbo 700 as well as he is staying with the manual box.
Your job should be about half the cost of the v8 diesel convertion and you will buy a lot of fuel/other stuff with 10 grand.
So if you want a 4.2 diesel in perfect working order, done 58,000k, send me an email. (Addy behind rig pic)

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 215675

Reply By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 12:37

Wednesday, Jan 17, 2007 at 12:37
Hey RosscoH what went wrong with the 2.8? I have a 1998 GU 2.8 with 225000km on the clock and haven't struck a single problem with it yeeeeeeetttttt! Keen to know what the fault is with yours and what may have caused it.

Pete
AnswerID: 215869