Sea sickness - any remedies???

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:02
ThreadID: 40119 Views:23698 Replies:28 FollowUps:33
I have been invited on a deep sea fishing day for a supplier xmas function, but the catch is I suffer from sea sickness. I have bought some "quells" to try, but will only be able to find out if they work on the day. But hopefully someone here on OE who also suffers from sea sickness has a proven remedy, especially if it still enables the consumption of alcohol (but somehow I think that may make my problem worse!!!) Thanks for any advise.

Reply By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:17

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:17
Hi Captain,
I have found the best preventitaive is a patch (like a nicotine patch) that were available from Chemists, but I believe that they may be unavailable now.
Qwells are also reputable and I use these as well. They make your mouth as dry as a dead dingoes ..., but work. I have a friend who swears by ginger but stay away from anyone else.
AnswerID: 208924

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:27

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:27
I've heard about ginger being a seasick remedy; but isn't root ginger as hot as hell?
Mao Tse Dong's mob used root ginger to keep them warm when fleeing over the mountains
from the Koumintang army of Chiang Kai Shek (atrocious Chinese spelling) Half of them died anyway.

T.R.
-----------------------
vkmx, zmkf, zmwp,
zmrq, zlo, zle zlp
FollowupID: 468915

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:34

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:34
Ginger tablets are just as good, tested thoroughly by "Mythbusters" on a seasick machine with two very susceptible volunteers.
FollowupID: 468951

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:20

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:20
There is one of those machines at HMAS Watson in Sydney called the "Bridge Simulator."

It is a full motion mock up of a ship's bridge that they use for training junior officers. The platform moves 5º in all directions but they can make the projected 270º picture pitch and roll an additional 15º.

If you are at all susceptible to sea sickness you are history as there is no way that your eyes and inner ear can give the same message to your brain.

I visited there in 1991 with the officers from the army command and staff course after a heavy night on the turps. The office in charge of the simulator was a mate of mine and I gave him the nod to wind it up to full nasty. Four of the army guys had a hurl in the waste bins.

Who says you can't have fun with expensive military technology?

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 468966

Follow Up By: Viss - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:35

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:35
I think you can buy ginger pills from the health food store I saw a segment on mythbusters about sea sickness and the ginger pills got the thumbs up. Worth a try.
FollowupID: 469066

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 23:22

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 23:22
And if the Mythbusters tell you it's so, then it is.............LOL

If they cant make it blow up or make you puke then they aren't happy......
FollowupID: 469079

Reply By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:20

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:20
Being a yachtie/sailor type I would stick with the Qells, BUT, start taking them the night BEFORE you go out, not 5 mins before boarding.
Three other things. keep out in the fresh air - avoid going below,
If you start feeling queasy, keep your eyes on the horizon.
(it's a balance inner ear thing)
3rd, avoid alcohol, otherwise find a good spot on the rail. It doesn't make you a wuss
just because you don't want to get bleep and throw up over everyone.
happy travels. (wish I was going)

T.R.
AnswerID: 208926

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:54

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:54
avoid alcohol?..what! r u crazy......i'd rather throw up than stop drinkin.....

you take all the fun out of going boating:(
FollowupID: 468957

Follow Up By: Wetty - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:59

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:59
I find catching a fish helps, but if all else fails, spew your guts out and enjoy the rest of the blokes going green with envy! LMAO
FollowupID: 469054

Reply By: Wayne-o - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:28

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:28
if its not rough, do the above, but one thing that you can do if it is a bit choppy is stay at the back of the boat, it doesnt move up and down as much!! unless its a diesel boat, then the fumes may make you sick. If you go out there worried about being sick, you will be! plan that you will be fine!
AnswerID: 208928

Reply By: JustT - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:29

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:29
I've found that Quells (Kwells?) don't work for me, neither did traval-calm(??). When I spoke to the chemist they gave me dramamine which seems to work for me. However (I can't stress this enough) take your first one at least 1 hour before hitting the water - And then keep taking them at regular intervals. - Once you start feeling sick no amount of pills are going to make you well again.

There are some other things I've found which increase my chance of feeling sick.
1) lack of sleep the night before.
2) lack of food (don't skip breakfast)
3) Beer (or any other "fizzy" type drink)

AnswerID: 208929

Follow Up By: slave - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:59

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:59
My kids found that Kwells sent them to sleep and now prefer Trava-calm.

Mrs S
FollowupID: 468920

Follow Up By: Steve77 - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 15:22

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 15:22
I found exactly the same - it seemed as though Kwell's & Travel Calm made me crook where as Dramamine worked good as gold. One the night before and a dose in the morning before you leave home. A couple of ginger beers in the esky and all is good.
FollowupID: 468930

Follow Up By: slave - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 15:59

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 15:59
Travacalm don't make them sick, but they have only used the HO version not the 'original'.

Kids have decided that they don't like ginger beer any more, so it's strictly water and gatorade type drinks now

DD has been known to forget to take tablets, throw up and jump right up and catch fish, out fishing many others.

Mrs S
FollowupID: 468936

Follow Up By: slave - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 19:16

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 19:16
Another good prevention method is those adjustable bands that have the bump on them. Put them on your wrists and they stop you from feeling sick. It apparently sits over a pressure point. They are available from chemists.

They worked for me.

Slaves daughter
FollowupID: 468997

Reply By: Darren C - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:33

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:33
My recommendation is also to make sure you get some food down you before you go out - something simple like toast as I know my stomach always feel more settled than if I have just had a couple of coffees/ teas and nothingto soak it up. Am sure a lot of liquid swilling around inside you when you go out doesnt help much

Above all, dont be like my other half who convinces herself she is going to be seasick before she goes out which I am sure also makes the problem worse!! Think positive!!

AnswerID: 208930

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:05

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:05
"Am sure a lot of liquid swilling around inside you when you go out doesnt help much"...cant agree Darren...it make it all come up that much easier...
FollowupID: 468963

Reply By: Bill13 - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:43

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:43
Hi Captain,
Years ago I ran charter boat for 4 years and during that time we had our fair share of people suffering with seasickness. To keep our clients mobile and well during the charter we, through trial and error, found that if clients took one Travelcalm before bed and another one first thing in the morning when they got up, they survived well during the charter. The problem of drowsiness from the antihistimine the next day, is much less because of the sleep the night before and it is in your system and the tablet in the morning doesn't have the same effect with regards to the drowsiness. Take another tablet 4 hours after the one in the morning. The big hint is - KEEP OF THE bleep - the night before. This routine has had a positive effect on clients who on previous occasions would have given me $10 to cut their throat and chuck them overboard, they were that sick.
Good Luck,

AnswerID: 208932

Follow Up By: tonysmc - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:15

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:15
I have to agree with above. I love fishing and suffer from seasickness. I had tried everything and nothing worked for me. Then I read on a Dr Karl (jjj) site all the reasons for seasickness and how the tablets work. It was suggested to take one tablet before going to bed, one as soon as you woke and one before departing. This made sure the chemical was well into your system. It also suggested taking another a few hours into the trip. Having done this I have been fine, even to the stage that I thought I didn't need the tablets any more and suffered badly on the next trip out.

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 468942

Follow Up By: Angler - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:49

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:49
I also agree with the above, as a grade five master for fifteen years I also had a few sickies on board. My extras include the following.

No dairy food the day before including milk and butter or marg.
Don't drink or take with you any orange juice or similar. (One instant chuck for every drink)
Vegemite on toast the morning of the charter. No butter or margerine.
Most definately keep off the grog the day and night before and during the day. Coke is quite good during the day but not too much.
Keep alert and in the breeze. don't watch the motion. Avoid the deisel fumes. Don't go below (downstairs).
If you do get crook lie down as your ears can't induce sickness when they can't dertermine the movement.

All the best and enjoy the day.

I was once told the only people who never ever get seasick are those who were born deaf. Don't know if thats true or not.

Pooley
FollowupID: 469072

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:48

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:48
750ml bottle of Bundy Rum,

keep drinking till you pass out !

You've had your alcohol and no sea sickness :-)))

Problem solvered !

AnswerID: 208934

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:57

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:57
i'm with you pezza

not to sure about needing to pass out but?..

tis a good feeling to be able to blame seasickness for throwing up and not the beers
FollowupID: 468959

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 00:01

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 00:01
mmm... like the idea but getting the headspins on a moving boat might kinda take the fun out of it.

FollowupID: 469087

Reply By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:50

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:50
I don't usually get sick unless it is rough for an extended period (days). I use Antivert as it is a once daily tablet that you take an hour before getting on the boat.

Hints:
1) Stay on the deck away from the exhaust. If you go below and start feeling ill go back on the deck.
2) Don't get dehydrated
3) Eat. Make sure you have breakfast before you go.
4) Don't get burnt
5) If you use any of the pills watch out as it usually increases the effect of alcohol

A friend swears by ginger pills. Never tried them myself.

Have a good trip

AnswerID: 208936

Reply By: garrycol - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:58

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 14:58
Being ex marine - the seasick tablets work best - but start the day before, stay off the bleep from the day before, eat light easy meals, stay away from greasy food. When you go out lie down if you can at first - being horizontal the inner ear gets used to the motion better than standing up and the nausia is reduced. When you are up and about stay out in the fresh air - don't look down and be seated out in the open if you can - if what you are seeing, motion wise, matches what your inner ear is sensing the the symptoms will be reduced - stay out of the exhaust fumes as they are bad news.

Also - many people effectively talk themselves into being crook by thinking about the issues - concentrate on what you are there for - enjoy the fishing and you might just find it is not an issue or is at least reduced.

Have a great time.

Garry
AnswerID: 208940

Reply By: JohnN - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 15:29

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 15:29
Much the same as the others... been sailing 35yrs yada yada.

If you must use quell or similar, use the ones with added caffeine so you dont get drowsy... a rolling boat and quell will almost guarantee sleepiness.
Ginger is the best remedy I have found for an offshore passage, ginger beer, ginger tablets from health food and ginger coated in chocolate from a sweet shop.
Only other tip is dont look down at the water... keep your eyes fixed on a point close to the horizon.
AnswerID: 208946

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 15:33

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 15:33
Salada biscuits!
Don't know why, maybe that they dry out your mouth, maybe the salt, or maybe the chewing action balances your middle ear, all I can say is that they work.
AnswerID: 208948

Follow Up By: cackles - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:35

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:35
I can add pizza shapes to that list, tried and tested over a period they work well.

cackles
FollowupID: 468970

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:17

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:17
Being a seasoned Burley Producer in the past, I found the Ginger Tablets, fresh air and looking at the horizon works for me. When others start spewing up around me, I do tend to get jealous very easliy and soon join in.
Be poitive, it will be a calm day, it will be a calm day, it will be a calm day.
I know of people who get motion sickness whilst crossing the Murray on a Ferry. You might laugh, but I do know of them. LOL
AnswerID: 208957

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:37

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:37
"...seasoned Burley Producer...." ROTFLMAO!!!!
FollowupID: 468952

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:01

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:01
maybe i need to go fishing with you des.....only for the auto burley dispenser tho!...as i dont catch too many...maybe you'd help heeps
FollowupID: 468961

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:58

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:58
Arr yes the dreaded Seasickness , being a Sydney to Hobart winner and yachtie (hence the name Terrafirma) and suffering badly from this condition over the years I never really found a cure. Today I have my sea legs and only over-indulgence in alcholol or lack of sleep seems to effect me. I believe the best cures medication wise are not sold in Australia for reasons of conformity, however if you do some Google searching and Ebay searching you should be able to buy online and have the product sent to you legally. I can't remember the name of the stuff that was highly recommended but it was only available in USA or the UK from memory.
AnswerID: 208967

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:25

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:25
UK!
FollowupID: 468968

Follow Up By: Frank_Troopy - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 00:09

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 00:09
Hi TerraFirma,

Is it Sturgeron you are thinking of? I think it is still not available in Australia.

Cheers Frank.
FollowupID: 469091

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 11:32

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 11:32
Yes Sturgeron, thats it.! hanks Frank. Here's something worth reading..

Site Link

FollowupID: 469136

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 11:42

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 11:42
Correct spelling "STUGERON".

http://shop.interhealth.org.uk/products/images/l/m21.jpg

FollowupID: 469140

Reply By: jondg - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:58

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:58
Captain,

Agree the antisickness tablets are excellent. I too suffer quite badly, but had no nausea at all during a recent sailing trip. I took Hyoscine, which I think is the proper name for the quells people are mentioning. The main reason to take them the night before is to get used to the sedating effect.
Take them regularly (according to the packets instructions)
during the trip until you get your 'sealegs', which took me about 48hrs. You'll know when you do, because the motion wont bother you any more. When you return to terra firm you might feel funny also!
One trick I learnt is an accupressure point. I'm not one for alternative medicine, but it suprised me how effective this is. If you feel like you need to chunder, press with a thumb on the middle of your wrist, about 2cm up the forearm from the wrist crease. Maintain constant, very firm pressure, until it aches. The nausea settles rapidly.
Jon
AnswerID: 208968

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:07

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:07
pezza is the only one who gave you the most sensible answer...you want to go seafaring and still want to drink....

all the other answers tell you to stay off it...so what will you be doin
AnswerID: 208971

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 20:29

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 20:29
Geez Nudie,

I can think of a hundred different alcoholic beverages I would drink before I took that weed killer. My wee tastes better than Bundy.

FollowupID: 469016

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 08:48

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 08:48
And you found this out how ?

FollowupID: 469117

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 09:45

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 09:45
I accidently drank some Bundy and needed to rinse my mouth out!

FollowupID: 469121

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 10:18

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 10:18
hahaha
FollowupID: 469127

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:09

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:09
Hi Captain,

I spent 21 years in the Navy, mostly in patrol boats (which would roll on wet grass) I have some experience with sea sickness - thankfully only in others. Here are some solutions we found effective:

No. 1 sure fire cure - sit under a tree.
No. 2 sure fire cure - tie a piece of bacon rind to a string, swallow the rind, then use the string to pull it back up - you will forget all about the sea sickness. (this also works with someone who is feeling queasy if you just tell them about it!)

Seriously though, we used to use the patches referred to higher up in the thread. They are still available (on prescription only) and their brand name is "Trans-derm Scop" marketed by Novartis. The active ingredient is Scopolamine. They were good for up to 3 days and needed to be applied behind on ear the night before sailing. They were effective on all the crew who hadn't had a skin full the night before departure.

For some more good info on sea sea sickness try this link and click on the "Preventing and Treating Seasickness" link.

Enjoy the trip.

Pete

AnswerID: 208972

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 20:30

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 20:30
You did 21 years? sheesh I only manage 9. Contrary to my post above, I used to have a tot of neat rum at 1130am each day at sea, and this gave me a big appetite for lunch. I don't think it was the rum that stopped the queasy, it was the food. Food? what food - I couldn't remember anything after 1132am especially on birthdays. At sea for long periods you just get used to the motion and ignore it.
p.s. Scopalamine - if that's how it's spelt - is one of the original truth drugs.
T.R.
Sparks
VKMX
FollowupID: 469017

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 08:52

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 08:52
Yes it was the "truth drug" popular in movies, but the patch only has 1.5mg. To use it as a truth drug a lot more is needed. Scopalamine is an anti nausea drug and is in a few other prescription sea sickness tablets.

Pete

FollowupID: 469118

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:23

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:23
Don't go.

If you are valuable customer they will find an alternative outing that suits you.

You don't have spend a day spewing and fishing to prove yourself to them.

Don't you have any alternative suppliers?

I gave one of my staff a great day at the Australian Open a number of years back, as it would have bored me witless and he had a great day. And they still worked with us to develop products we needed.

Max
AnswerID: 208993

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 19:16

Captain,

I'm quite lucky as I don't seem to suffer from this infiction, but it will bring an otherwise great day, completely undone.

Besides the motion sickness tablets and patches already mentioned, I have two other suggestions for your consideration.

Have a good breakfast before you embark. A full belly seems to lessen the effects.

Now, my mate, who has his own 20' boat swears by another cure.
You can buy a pair of stretch towelling type braclets which have a small "button" embedded into them. The button is placed over the inner wrist area and apparently works in a similar way that the tablets do, only more effectively.

Perhaps ask your local chemist about them.

AnswerID: 209006

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 19:16

Another alternative is the "SEA BAND " travel sickness bands .from chemist shops , works by applying pressure on the wrists ,does not cause drowsiness ,when we tried them the first time we were very sceptical ,worked a treat and best was could drink as much as wanted as well , all of the drug type remedies demand NO alcohol ,no point in a fishing trip if you cant have a beer or 3 [doz] .
AnswerID: 209007

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:07

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:07
Hi Captain,
One out of left field, the only time I get sea sick is if I'm dehydrated. And if I'm dehydrated I get VERY sick.
For me, 2 to 3 litres of water per day is what I drink normally so sea sickness is no longer a problem to me.
Best part is as long as I don't have a big drink the night before I can pretty well give the beer a shake on a day out like you're planning.

Oh, What's the two worst things about being sea sick?
Thinking you're going to die then realising you aren't!!

Geoff.

AnswerID: 209036

Reply By: wazzaaaa - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:07

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 21:07
Did you see "What's good for you" on tv, they has a segment on sea sickness and tested ginger tablets and kwells and they both worked well. What was interesting was by sucking lemon pieces when you are already sick eased the sickness substantially.
Wazzaaaaaa
AnswerID: 209037

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:44

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:44
Sorry can't help. I don't get sea sick...then again, I don't get out on the seas much these days.

The missus on the other hand takes a carton of paper bags with her :-D

In another life I had some cruises on the Oceans on Liners, and used to have the whole dining rooom to myself in the rough weather....lol

AnswerID: 209068

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 09:02

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 09:02
I have a cast iron stomach at sea and used to love coming on watch eating a bacon and egg sanger dripping grease when I knew the XO was feeling the weather, then dragging out the handover while watching him turn green.

It is sad but sea sickness seems to engender no sympathy in non sufferers: "Snap out of it, it is all in your mind"

There is a certain mental component in it for some people. I have seen someone who was fine talk themselves into being sick.

Pete

FollowupID: 469119

Reply By: Niffty - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:53

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:53
In all honesty
I lived in the Torres straitts for years.The old Japs said " A mixture of Cabbage and Lettuce before you go out". Worked for me!Let me know how you go.
Do it every time and no spew to date.Patent pending!
Niffty Perth
AnswerID: 209070

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 23:50

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 23:50
Thanks all for the tips, it is genuinely appreciated.

Looks like taking quells the night before, drinking heaps of water and having a good breakfast is a good start. Alcohol is out, but I can drink anytime - not often you get a freebie deep sea fishing trip. Will post a pic if I manage to catch anything decent!

AnswerID: 209085

Follow Up By: Member - Jerry C (WA) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 01:04

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 01:04
Sturgeron seems to work, we carry it on the yacht, some of the crew use it when sailing on the ocean. I think it is available in Kl and Singapore, if you know anyone coming past.

Jerry
FollowupID: 469100

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 07:55

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 07:55
Hey Cap, just don't look at anything but the sea mate even when rigging,baiting up and Gasbagin enjoy the view and keep your mind on the fishing and you will be fine .....OH and if ya chuck just laugh and say there ya go boys free Burly LOL :)
Good luck looking forward to those big fish pics!!

Regards J.B.
FollowupID: 469223

Reply By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 23:57

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 23:57
I get shocking sea sickness.. so bad that I can't walk... can't move my eyeballs or blink without convulsing once I get going... No read the last bits.. It's true. When things get bad I cannot move ANYTHING without going into convulsions.

I have travelled to Tassie on the ferrie 23 times [return] now. Last time was Last week.

I go to the doctor when necessary and get a prescription for STEMETAL.

or I think the packet said STEMAZINE last time. I take three times the prescribed dose and manage usually. If things get really bad i.e. rough seas, I take a sleeping tablet also prescribed by the doctor. .. and I get by all right.

Timing is very important though. I take my first pill 15 minutes before I board the boat. Then I eat a good meal and even have a beer.

Then I settle down for a bit. When I start to feel the movement effect me ..... off to bed. Nowadays it's the business class seat. Take one or two more pills and a few hours later or even 20 mins if I am really worried... in goes the sleeping pill.

Not a lot of help for you perhaps.. my best advice is

DON'T GO.....

AnswerID: 209086

Reply By: Glenn WA - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 15:54

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 15:54
I get crook as a dog on a boat as well, but love my fishing.
I've tried Quells and Travel Calms from the chemist, they work all right but give me a thirst that needs constant attention.

For many years I have used the ginger herbal tabs from the health shop.

"Blackmores Ginger Travelcalm" , Take 1 before bed, 1 in the morning.
They work great for me.
Glenn
AnswerID: 209162

Reply By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 11:25

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 11:25
Hi, Captain ...............
from another ex-Navy bloke .............. the wristbands referred to are called ACCU-Bands and work on the principle of accupressure points and really are very effective.

However, the ONLY GUARANTEED Cure for mal-de-mer is to stand in the shadow of ULURU, aka Ayers Rock !!! Does it for me ..............
AnswerID: 209262

Reply By: lynmargie - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:06

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:06
I suffer from motion sickness and took tablets, wore wrist bands and ate granny smith apples. We have a boat and it wasnt the rough seas it was roll when we stopped. All these helped but one day after buying all my supplies at the chemist the lady serving me said she was told to put cotton wool in one ear. I have done this on many ocassions and I swear by it. It is a middle ear balance thing and you only block one ear. My husband asked a friend to read a map while they were driving and he said no he would get sick so he told him about my cotton wool trick so he grabbed a tissue and put a piece of it in one ear and my husband said the change was immediate. I still havent tried it on fast rides at the show but I m too old for that now. Try it doesnt cost much.
AnswerID: 209413

Follow Up By: cackles - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 10:41

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 10:41
I've tried this one too and it seems to work, bizarre huh?
FollowupID: 469416