GU Gearbox Removal

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 16:02
ThreadID: 38931 Views:14174 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
Just wondering if anyone out there has removed a gearbox box on a 2001 GU 4.2 Patrol, Im in the process of removing mine to replace the 5Th gear etc.
I have the transfer case out which was no problem at all to remove but the gearbox is a different story, if I look up at the box I can see that the casting (on the bell housing)for the starter motor will hit the firewall when pulled back. I have everything ready to go, all bolts etc removed and a small cradle made to support the gearbox. On some other cars I have done the gearbox needed to be spun around before it could be removed, do I need to spin the box around a little on the patrol.
I have been looking under the Patrol and Im even wondering if it will come out after spinning it around, this is a very tall box in the patrol and not a lot of room at all.
I dont think dealerships would remove an engine to take out a gearbox, I have never done that so I wonder if anyone out there as personal experience on this.

The Boy

Reply By: camwill69 - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 16:50

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 16:50
G'Day Boy,
From experience it is not an easy task. It took my Nissan dealer 10 days to remove gear box and replace clutch the first time. 8 days the second.

The dealer said that they do not have a harness to suit as per most cars so you can just use a gear box hoist to let it down. They just have to simply man handle it out (3x men).

We will see how long it takes to replace the clutch again at the 10,000 km service.
Buy the way our's is a 2005 4.2td patrol.

Hope you have some luck.

Camwill69
AnswerID: 201575

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:01

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:01
IO DAYS!! to remove gearbox & replace clutch, Hope you didn't pay that dealer.
FollowupID: 460955

Follow Up By: Black Beard - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 18:29

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 18:29
Why so many clutches Cam???
FollowupID: 460971

Follow Up By: donks1 - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 18:58

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 18:58
10 days!!!!!!

your dealer is obviously not one that does a lot of patrol work

we used to to the 5th gear job in two days

we had a fair bit of experience though... all the retirees buying patrols and 40ft caravans and heading north... 5th gear all the way.. lots didn't make it home
plus we had all the farmers who use and abuse their cars...

they do take a bit of wiggling to get the box out but we had a modified jack which allowed the box to " pitch and roll " . still needed two people to actually r&r from car
FollowupID: 460979

Follow Up By: donks1 - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 19:01

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 19:01
forgot to add......

not the job to be doing on the floor, and on your own
FollowupID: 460980

Follow Up By: camwill69 - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:15

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:15
Hi Black Beard,
The cause is unknown. They just keep on failing after very few km.eg; 2-3000km.

Nissan can't work it out and have said they will just keep replacing them until warranty runs out. At this rate it will be the 3 years not the 100,000 km as I am not game to drive it to far.

No cost to me just being without the car for 10 days at a time is a pain.

Camwill69

ps. Some good help and advise is coming thru. Keep it up team.

FollowupID: 461005

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:28

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:28
Boy Just keep listening, the right advice will come through.

Camwill 69 Thats is so pathetic from Nissan. Nail them now mate before its to late, ITS THEIR PROBLEM. find out why this thing is doing this.
FollowupID: 461008

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 00:09

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 00:09
Camwill,

In what way is the clutch failing? Is it "clutch slip", "clutch drag"?? What are the symptoms when it fails?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 461399

Follow Up By: camwill69 - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 19:26

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 19:26
Hi Bilbo,
Nissan will not disclose the fault.
It is a bearing, whether it's the throw out or the trust bearing I am not told.
The symptoms are an instant noise on release of the clutch. And I mean a loud noise every time from then on. Just good one minute and then this noise.
They hear you coming for miles.
Must be another lemon by Nissan.
Camwill69
FollowupID: 461605

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 20:47

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 20:47
My gearbox has been out twice. First time the Nissan dealer did the 5th gear replacement under warranty: 2 days.

Second time was recently for clutch replacement (200,000 klm). Got a local bloke (the Repco Mechanic) to do the job. He has one spanner man + an apprentice and only rudamentry gear (pit and a 3t hoist etc). Again 2 days.......one and a half actually.......and that included getting the fly-wheel machined off site.
FollowupID: 461627

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 23:25

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 23:25
Camwill,

When you say ",,,,,,,,,,on release of the clutch,,,,,", I assume you mean when the clutch pedal is in the up position. i.e the clutch is engaged, your foot is off the pedal and there is no pressure on the clutch pedal. Is this correct?

It's worth mentioning that the "thrust bearing" and the "throw out bearing" are differnet names for the same thing when talking about clutches.

This doesn't sound like they are replacing the clutch at all, if in fact they are doing anything at all with it. I reckon, yes you do have a problem (but I'm not yet sure what it is exactly) and they are taking the mickey. They're probably making money by claiming warranty work refunds from Nissan and using your car as a cash cow.

However, that doesn't solve the noisy clutch. So far we've established that the noise suddenly appears after taking your foot off the pedal. Does this noise appear when the car is in gear and driving? Does it appear when you operate the clutch when the gearbox is in neutral and not driving? Is the noise there when the car is stationary with the engine running and the gearbox is in neutral?

All this is very strange as clutch problems aren't that difficult to solve. They are a relatively simple device. Any experienced mechanic can diagnose it almost instantly if he drives the car for a few minutes. I wish I could take it for a drive, perferably down the Service Managers Office of the company that's giving you the runaround. Are you in Perth?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 461681

Follow Up By: camwill69 - Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:19

Wednesday, Nov 01, 2006 at 19:19
Hi again Bilbo,
No I am on the gold coast.

With regards to the noise it is only under load, when the clutch is being let out it starts and does not go away.

Was to be in Perth this week but canceled due to this problem.

Don't worry Nissan will get whats coming.

Over and out.
Camwill69
FollowupID: 461839

Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:00

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:00
If its anything like a GQ box, there a big pain in the butt to remove.You gotta twist, roll and tilt to get em out.Jack the front of the engine up to give yourself some more room(front up ,back down).Then once its out gettin it back in is even worse.
AnswerID: 201579

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 18:43

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 18:43
Dunno if this is any help, but on my old diesel Puegeot 504 I used to have, I had to remove the engine mounts and drop the engine a few inches so the bellhousing could move backwards enough to get the gearbox out of the vehicle. The workshop manual said to take the engine and gearbox out as a unit, but I didn't want to do that. Maybe you can drop the GU's motor enough to do the same?

Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

AnswerID: 201601

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:15

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:15
Most people who take on this job by themselves get as far as you have and then trailer their 4by down to a gearbox specialist to have the box removed and repaired.

My GQ box had to come out three times in a short period of time because of rear engine seal leaks. My local mechanic bought a Gearbox removal stand and by the third time, the box came out and then went back in all in a days work. Experience makes the job easier :-)

Nothing had to be loosened on the engine except for the clutch arms(and the gearbox bolts of course).

AnswerID: 201667

Reply By: The Boy - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 00:28

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 00:28
Thanks all, I will let you know how I go. Should be coming out tomorrow some time. Im sorry but I will not take my car to anyone unless I can not do the job myself, didnt become a mechanic for nothing..haha.

The Boy
AnswerID: 201731

Reply By: The Boy - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:57

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 23:57
Well I got the gearbox out today, serious pain but its done.
To remove the gearbox you need to pull it back as far as you can, turn clockwise (viewing from the rear) side back again, turn again. Now drop it down as far as you can, turn a little more and pull..... easy.

Now I have to get it back in..hmm

I used a trolley jack with a cradle to support the box, required the support of a second person to help and the extra eyes help alot too.
All went well considering its a chit job..haha

The Boy
AnswerID: 201950