Fitted Lovell "2 inch lift"
Submitted: Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 12:33
Member - Hughesy (SA)
Well over the last 2 days I have fitted a complete new set of springs and shocks to my 100 series standard.
The springs were Lovells Heavy Duty Raised (2 inch).
Well after finishing the work - I didn't think I'd get it out of the shed. It actually lifted the front and rear 4 inches!! It actually looks a bit wierd with the original skinny's - I reckon I could fit 38's under the gaurds now. So as a tip for those thinking of fitting the same kit as me unless you carry a HEAP of weight and tow, I'd recommend staying with the standard height HD set (otherwise it will look like
mine).
The difference in weight and size of the original springs to the Lovells is amazing. The original springs for the front and rear are both about 15mm diameter but the Lovels are about 20mm for the front and 25mm for the rear. The weight of one Lovells rear spring was about the same as all 4 of the original toyota springs. Now thats heavy duty!!
Fiting was no where near as easy as I predicted. I've done 2 complete leaf
suspension changes in my old 75 series utes before but these coils took the cake. Lots of cursing and swearing (which got me no where). My chassis stands were to short to start with and you need to have your wits about you or risk having the vehicle on top of ya (had a few close calls). The hardest part was getting the top nut off the rear shockies (rusted). Flat out getting a spanner onto it and then having to use stilsens to grip the shock and stop it turning.....not fun. Using the coil compressors on the front springs was a pain in the ar#e. Good for the original springs but the thicker and heavier duty springs made life difficult.
After my first short
test drive I will definately have to fit a castor correction kit now (out comes the
Gregory's manual again). You can easily see the change in angle of the front diff housing. I was also worried that
the springs would be too stiff but it rides suprisingly
well.
I'm going to Willaim Creek tonight to give it a bit of a trial and see how it handles (and have a few ales). I'll also come back with some photos so I can update my bloody profile.
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 13:12
Saturday, May 20, 2006 at 13:12
Hughsey,
Over the years, have fitted Lovells springs to an '82 Hilux dual cab, an '84 HJ60 wagon(that one stopped the Kids spewing, on the
Putty Road!), and on 2 different 80 series.
Reckon they're ooright, mate.
Also thought the heavy duty weren't too rough either, but only went for standard height on the 80's, in case we wanted to access a car park, while on holidays.
Fitting does tend to bring out the worst in us, eh? @@#$%!!!&^(
Hooroo...