Christmas this year is one full of cheer

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:27
ThreadID: 29138 Views:2621 Replies:13 FollowUps:26
Some musings from the desk O Bonz, this years been one to forget and also one to remember, you have all made it much easier for us to go on, thankyou all.

Read on ...................

Twas the night afore Christmas, and all thru the forum
Every creature was stirring, as is the nor’m

There was Lucy the Troopy, all 3.5 tonnes,
And Truckster was shooting, with all of his guns.
And Roachie, his wheels filled almost to burst,
And Willem whose Tax Post brought out our worst.
Lo! Jimbo, he aimed solar panels to the sun
As Mad Dog remembers a Rodeo and chicken runs
And now in a HiLux he runs with the rest
Like Wombat, his Triton, is surely the best

And Muddy he drove the Prado in the sand
He fell off the track and enlisted the band
There was Pesty and the Boat brought into the fray
We winched him out and all called HOORAY!
Muddy, looked at his spare seat with a sigh
And thought I am not complete being only a guy
So he struck up rapport with a lass from the North
And then he drove up there and got Jude henceforth

Now Crazie you think, be by nature and name
Tracks in the High Country being his fame
Took Big Kidz and Al and his Mrs to boot
Down a track that can only be described as a Hoot
Alas Tonester and family were drenched to the skin
In the place where sidesteps usually end up in a bin.
Where the Mud is a plenty but the streams are a trickle
And to end up at a camp round a fire is just schmick’ll.

Now DesLexic, Alpaca with Elaine beside
Will sleep everyone in the place they reside
And JohnR and Moses and Heather they too
May provide warm bed and a chat and a loo
Up North Jiarna plus one also has a place
And Redback in Sydney, he says he has space
For we travel alone thru our wide wondrous land
And realise thru EO we’re NOT one man bands

And our Cooper’s and Waeco’s and GME sets,
And Toyota’s, Land Rover’s, 3Litre Nissan jets
And Hyundai’s, and Hummers and Uniden two-ways
Will see us all out to the end of our holidays
And we all wish I reckon as we sip on our beer
That a visit to Ruth in Birdsville would be sheer
Excitement and fun tinged with nary a quiver
As the centre of OZ indeed it does deliver.

Our friends they be spread across all ages and places,
Wolfie and Lenses and Delica spaces
Never forget our good friend Rock Crawler
Who in a convertible’s, a back yard mauler
And Nudenut, his pic is a nations disgrace
Heaven help us, one and all, if that’s REALLY his face
And gramps he portrays that he carries some age
But at ExplorOz we are all on the same page
Even Duncs from the Hill, would say it’s a must,
To get out with your friends in amongst the dust
Where even GOB and Denny would be right at home,
And Glenn in the corner, he’s not a garden Gnome

So to David, Michelle, Juliana and Jackie,
The girls do the work, Dave thinks they’re his lackies.
To make what we have here a thing of renown,
Something we are all proud of and never put down.
For we sit and we read, and we laugh uncontrolled
And we seethe, froth and bubble and we type vitriol
But the real truth be know we’re no different than most
As a family community we’ve much to boast
For we all jump right in and assist as we can
As we know lots of stuff down to every last man

As I end this kerfuffle and turn in for the night
I pray that each and everyone here just might
Get all they deserve and most of what they need
In the end it’s the friends and the wine and the feed
So Bonz in Patrol, to this mob gives a whistle,
And away I will go like the down of a thistle.
But Yo! I exclaim, as I drive out of sight,
"Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good-night."

Reply By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:43

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:43
Bonz,

You're a genius. All the very best for Christmas and the New Year.

p.s. New Year's resolution for Bonz "I will not do anymore fancy, fandangled graphs that make gramps' head spin" :)))))

AnswerID: 145424

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:54

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:54
Yes Gramps and and and Always wear gloves near anything moving faster than a snail.

FollowupID: 398962

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:51

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:51
Good one Bonz

You should get a nitehood(sic) for that lol

Merry Christmas to you and the family
AnswerID: 145425

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:56

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:56
I mite like that Willem all the best to you and yours too mate.

FollowupID: 398963

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 15:43

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 15:43
I've always loved ya Bonz....Merry Christmas to you and the family
AnswerID: 145430

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 18:01

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 18:01
Same to the family Ray, Ray and I wonder what paradise you can see cause Ireckon its different from the one meatloaf was seeing hahaha Merry Christmas and a new year to remember

FollowupID: 398965

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 19:07

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 19:07
I guess paradise changes depending what stage of life you're at. You may reckon my paradise is different but you aint sure are you....hehehe

Great song eh! and Ellen Foleys performance is just outta this world...seen the video? I can't get enough of that gal
FollowupID: 398976

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 19:49

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 19:49
I think his paradise he saw by the dashboard light was one we have all sought at one time or another. I still call it paradise, just cant remember the password to open it..

No havent seen the clip or heard the rendition Ray, maybe one day I can MP3 it

FollowupID: 398985

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:18

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:18
I'm good at cracking passwords.
Try:
WALLET
CREDITCARD
FollowupID: 399009

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:32

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:32
LOL....
this man has way too much time

Safe one Ray, and also you Bonz. Good to see ya again the other night.

Take care.
FollowupID: 399016

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:36

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:36
Time is relative Bruce, yes good to catch up again, I like your two monthly idea, stay sane and safe and Have a great one this year mate

FollowupID: 399019

Reply By: rickwagupatrol - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 15:48

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 15:48
merry christmas bonz,,,,hope santa brings you everything you want.
love the poem.

rick
AnswerID: 145431

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 18:04

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 18:04
And the same to yours Rick, mmm all I want....or all I need I think the latter, no matter, get fatter, cest la vie

FollowupID: 398967

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 16:30

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 16:30
WOW Bonz...you are a talented man! That was great reading!

From the BigKidz Home to the Bonz Family Home, we send all our love and thoughts your way this Christmas. The circle of friends that is EO is truly a blessing. May you, Marie, Paul and Imogen feel the spirit of love that we have for you guys.

Jen, Andrew, and kids xxxxxx
AnswerID: 145436

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:16

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:16
Hi Bonz - you are so clever, so eloquent, so much rhythm, smooth as Jenelle's .....touch. I think I am in love.

FollowupID: 398957

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:59

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:59
Yes Andrew and Jen and Co we can sure feel that, you've been a great comfort for us this year as well as a source of great enlightenment, and Imogen still talks about her Big Kid friend Andrew Have a gr8 Christmas and safe new year.

And Andrew your use of superlatives demonstrates your persipicacious nature.

FollowupID: 398964

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 19:03

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 19:03
Struth, so sorry to hear about the superlaxative problem, I didn't know.
FollowupID: 398975

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:30

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:30
Ahh Ray its a burden we all carry at one time or another, dont be perturbed for mastication often soothes the savage blockage

FollowupID: 399013

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:52

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 17:52
Ain't it funny how the way special interests bring people together. Glad we can call your family friends - Geoff, Marie, Paul and Imogen along with the people you have illuminated in your poem mate. Friends all.

Have a bonza Christmas and a greater year ahead where we can welcome new memories and greater achievements.
AnswerID: 145447

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 18:08

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 18:08
Yessirree John we must get down there soon Imogens itchin for a spa and a ride on the mower, all the best to you and Heather, indeed a year to be

FollowupID: 398968

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 18:18

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 18:18
Cheers to all.....that was a bloody nice ode to the EO family of friends Bonz....you've missed your calling I reckon!!! Like all families, we have a base of diverse people as well as the odd "black sheep"; but we love 'em all the same anyway.

I'm hoping that twenty-o-six will be a great year for all on here and elsewhere.......like a sign I saw in a local country bowling club many years ago said......"There are no strangers here, only friends who haven't met yet".....

Merry Christmas and a Happy (and safe) New Year to one and all.

Roachie, Annette, Matt, Jarrod and Zak
FollowupID: 398970

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 22:23

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 22:23
goodday bonz
thanks for including us in your ode to oz
we wish you and your family a very merry christmas
my replies are a bit late had to drive to moe this arvo and pick up the in laws and then family for tea now its relax time before bed
cant be late santa wont come

AnswerID: 145492

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:32

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:32
Your most welcome Steve great to catch up the other night, hope you and yours have a great time.

FollowupID: 399015

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:25

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:25
Great stuff Bonz ,
Happy Chrissy to you and yours ,
Willie
AnswerID: 145502

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:35

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 23:35
Thanx Willie, I live to serve, oh and to eat, Happy Christmas to you and yours anbd a safe and well and wunderbar new year

FollowupID: 399018

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 01:05

Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 01:05
Well you have outdone yourself this time.

Merry X-mas to the Bonz'ssssss and remember the following:

What you cannot enforce, do not command.

Hell, there are no rules here--we're trying to accomplish something.

The only way to reform some people is to chloroform them.

Never trust the advice of a man in difficulties.

Imagination is more important than knowledge

Never miss a chance to keep your mouth shut.

Where facts are few, experts are many.

The price is what you pay; the value is what you receive.

A judge is a law student who marks his own examination papers.

God invented whiskey to keep the Irish from ruling the world

I think the world is run by 'C' students.

Familiarity breeds contempt - and children.

Sleep... Oh! how I loathe those little slices of death....

If marriage is your object, You'd better start loving your subject.

Military intelligence is a contradiction in terms.

May 2006 be a better one.

Mr & Mrs lucy
AnswerID: 145511

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 09:05

Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 09:05
Sometimes the first one is overwhelming....... and

Thank God for Whiskey

FollowupID: 399040

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 09:15

Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 09:15
I was gunna try to put something funny/profound here in response to your words of wisdom Ken, but they are ALL so true and have nothing whatever to do with Toyotas or Nissans.

All the very best for Chrissy and New Year from Annette, myself and the lads.

FollowupID: 399042

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 10:35

Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 10:35
Yeah! I have decided to give the Toyota/Nissan thingy a break until 2006 when I shall resume with a vengence.

Merry X-mas and a happy new year to the Roaches and Roachettes.

Definitely will catch you early in 2006 with a little surprise for you all.

Ken & deirdre.

PS

Just get a JEEP and be done with it.

No over heating problems with these suckers - just 3 days in the shop with a mega computer management problem. Turned out to be the wrong chassis number enetered into fuel/decurity module during maunfacture.

Now waiting in terror for the next installment this technological wizzer is going to serve up to me.
FollowupID: 399050

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 09:03

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 09:03
Silence is profound Roachie, its the sound a Toyota makes when its at its best. Its akin to the sound a Jeep owner makes, just before the inrush of air, following learning of the next electronic thingamyjig that just went WHOOF.

FollowupID: 399113

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 09:39

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 09:39
Hey Bonz,

I heard a rumor that ever since he bought the Jeepney, every time he goes to Macca's and they ask him "would you like fries with that".....he says "YES PLEASE".

Nobody every understood why he'd had this change of dietry desire, because until then he'd always been VERY mindful of his wasteline, and refused the kindly offer of the additional fare.

It has now twigged!!!! and I can announce to all the world that Lucy has a large (no, make that VERY LARGE) collection of spare chips behind the front seat of the jeepney......he keeps them there in the hope that one day, he'll find just the right one to replace one of the many chips that he has fried under the bonnet of said jeepney. He keeps saying that he's gunna drive over here in that marvel of modern science, but I'm not in the least worried........it'll never make it to the border, let alone all the way over here to God's own country!!!! hahahaha ;-)))

FollowupID: 399117

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 11:29

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 11:29
Listen here you two 'pink Nissan mafios'.

Not only did God invent whishey to stop the Irish ruling the world.

He invented 'delete' buttons for the likes of you two.

Just a pity I don't control the master one or you two would be permannently off the air.

"Chips behind the back seat' - to think I even read all that pre-diatribe to get to the punchline makes me wonder about myself sometimes.

However I know I will readily enter 2006 in JEEP bliss knowing that I am not going to over heat and end in a firey molten mass/mess on a Hummock thingy in the back blocks of the Sahara's twin sister - Sth Aust., or wait in serious trepidation for 'my' 3.0L GU to erupt in a cloud of white smoke.

Now remember you two:

To accomplish great things, we must dream as well as act.

Analysis kills spontaneity.

Technology: No Place for Wimps

MENDACIOUS, adj. Addicted to rhetoric.

Man invented language to satisfy his deep need to complain.

Critics are like pigs at the pastry cart

and most importantly

Never miss a chance to keep your mouth shut.

(ROFLMAO) - you two helped make my year and give me incentive to do better in 2006. Thank you for your efforts.

See you in 2006

Mr Lucy
FollowupID: 399122

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 09:47

Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 09:47
You're a talented guy Bonz!!!! Looooooooooooooved the Ode!!

From us here at our humble abode to you and your family, we wish you a safe and healthy Christmas and New Year,

Gold Coast
AnswerID: 145528

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 09:04

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 09:04
Thanx Brian, safe and healthy is the plan this year, same to you and yours.

FollowupID: 399114

Reply By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 21:32

Sunday, Dec 25, 2005 at 21:32
To you Bonz and your lovely Rose, Immy and Paul, I hope your day was everything you wanted it to be. Our thoughts are with you and to the heavens above.
Hopefully we can catch up next year to strengthen the bonds of our extended family.
To all of the forumites here, compliments of the season to you all.
Desmond and Elaine.

AnswerID: 145561

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 09:10

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 09:10
Thanx Desmond, tis a thing we would like to do sooner rather than later

FollowupID: 399115

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 00:12

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 00:12
Well Bonz that was an absolute pleasure to read.

I am at work. Just got back to the station after standing by at a fireworks display to mark Christmas. It was put on for free by a mate of mine. He's got the fireworks licence and his neighbour helped pay for the gear. About $3000.00 of fun put on for the town to enjoy.

Steve is a singer in a country band made up of his family9 (wife and kids). If you are out on the road and see "The Lees" playing somewhere say "G'day!" and let him know you know me.

There was dust and friends and it was good. When I got back to the station I wanted to check out my mates here before it got too late. To find your poem made it worth the effort. Sums up a lot of what a lot of us feel.

Thanks mate
Merry Christmas
AnswerID: 145572

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 09:15

Monday, Dec 26, 2005 at 09:15
Thanx Duncs, you're most welcome mate, I hope to catch up this next year at the Challenge, a bit more than this year. Have to look out for the band too.

All the best for 06 mate

FollowupID: 399116

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 07:10

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 07:10
good one Bonz

no its not really my face but its not much better

AnswerID: 145851