Air Compressors

Submitted: Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 14:56
ThreadID: 28990 Views:2189 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Does anyone have anything to say about the "heavy duty 12V air compressors" available from places like Supa Cheap. I know they aren't as good as the ones sold in 4wd specialist shops but they are starting to look like they might cut the mustard for ligth use, pump up the kids bike tyres put an extra 5 psi in to a van tyre or on the very rare ocassion pump up a soft roaders tyres after a foray on the beach. Any feedback welcome.

Rob

Reply By: flappa - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:16

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:16
I've got one. Originally cost me about $90. Can be had now for about $70.

I've had mine for about 4 years , goes fine for the use I give it.

4bie tyres maybe once a month.

Just take care which one you grab. The one you want has the aligator clips , and the yellow air hose , not the ciggie plug one.
AnswerID: 144522

Follow Up By: Rob DG - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:27

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:27
Thanks, looks like I'll be shopping this afternoon.
FollowupID: 398058

Reply By: Rod W - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:16

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:16
Bare in mind that they probably come out of the same factory as those sold by "4wd Specalist".

Check what the warranty/garrantee is. Before I installed an ex-aircon compressor I had (and still have) a 12volt compressor that came with a 5year garrantee.
AnswerID: 144523

Follow Up By: Rob DG - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:28

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:28
I figured that seeing as they looked very similar and you are right about warranty its like ozito drills and the like cost you next to nothing and if it breaks just take it back and get a new one.
FollowupID: 398060

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:21

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:21
No - absolutely not. There are various posts on other 4WD forums that go to the trouble of pulling both the Bushranger MaxAir ($390) and cheapo brands down and comparing the innards. The differences are in the quality of the motor's stator, brushes and piston/sleeve/conrod. The MaxAir will pump for nearly 4 times as long without overheating too... and at the same time it keeps it's initial airflow right up to end of its thermal cycle - whereas the others fade quickly and become red hot. If I can find the post - I'll put the link up.
FollowupID: 398184

Reply By: bombsquad - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:17

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:17
recently got a "dr air" for about $100.00. So far is quick and quiet, and a lot cheaper than the brandnames. I also have a $29.00 special that has been running for years, but I couldn't put up with the noise or slow speed anymore.

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 144524

Reply By: Ron173 - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:18

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:18
Big W do a reasonable one for bout $90.00 looks a dead ringer for ARB's $300 one, identical size the lot.

I have inflated 4x4 tyres from flat to 36psi in 3 mins with mine, no trouble at all, few others on here have rated it too, croc clips direct on battery like all good uns should (due to high current from 1/2hp motor, cig lighter not good) reckon it would do for all but hardest use.

My mate bought one too and immediately let all air out out of two huge tractor tyres, and set about restoring them to full pressure, working on theory that if it stuffed up it would go straight back, it passed the test and wasnt even hot.

Ron
AnswerID: 144525

Follow Up By: Rob DG - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:29

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:29
I'll add Big W to my shopping trip this arvie.
FollowupID: 398061

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:29

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:29
Quote: Big W do a reasonable one for bout $90.00 looks a dead ringer for ARB's $300 one, identical size the lot.

They may look the same , but they aren't the same.

Pull one apart and its not hard to tell the difference.

The ARB, Bushranger etc , have substantially better parts , and are rebuildable with spares.

they cheapos cant be.

That said , and as I said above , it depends on your use. I have had my cheapo for ages , still going fine , but , it has quite limited use. If it was being used every weekend you would be far better to pay good money for one that will last.
FollowupID: 398062

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 18:51

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 18:51
Slightly flawed theory you got there Flappa ,at $300+ for the arb /bushranger ect I would never ever want to have to get "spare parts" ,, the so called cheap copies at least have a Full replacement warranty ,, would like to see getting parts for an ARB in Birdsville. ,, better to buy 3x copies than only have 1 comp that may bust but "yes you can get parts " lot of blo-dy good in the scrub/bush/beach.
FollowupID: 398123

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:15

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:15
"better to buy 3x copies than only have 1"
What sort of a theory is that Flappa?? I suppose you drive a Lada Niva & have 2 spares in the shed for when they break down ;-) Better to have a unit that will do the job in the first place & last for many years without letting you down when you need it most.
I purchased a Thomas compressor 14 years ago, pumps tyres up 3 times faster than the cheapies you speak of, has never had any mainenance or let me down ever despite constant regular use & recently sold it for $120 after I upgraded to a faster model. In that same time you would of needed 100 cheapies to pump the same volume of air so don't even try to comare the two. In the long run very little is to be saved by by buying cheap rubbish.
Having said all that if you don't need a high capacity compressor, rarely need to pump much up & aren't in remote places where you count on your equipment then the cheapy will do just fine. Just please stop trying to justify your poor choice when shopping at Big W & SupaCheap for 4x4 gear.
Cheers Craig ;-)
FollowupID: 398139

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 16:15

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 16:15
You only get what you pay for , chinese made rubbish .
AnswerID: 144535

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 20:05

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 20:05
Nice to know that not all racists live in Sydney ,, was a time "if made in Japan " was the call for inferior product ,, your 4x4 was built/ designed where ? think about it !! and a happy holiday to you .,not.
FollowupID: 398131

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:12

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:12
I apologise if i sounded racist . I am not racist in any way . "chinese made rubbish" didnt mean rubbish made by chinese . I should have in fact on reflection said rubbish made in china maybe . Nothing to do with the workers who make it . I dont know what else to say .
FollowupID: 398454

Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 19:08

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 19:08
I have the $160 super cheep Job, hasn’t let me down yet, It was starting to run a little ruff so I stripped it down cleaned up the bore, sprayed the crank with some Lithium grease and put a light coating of 10W30 oil on the bore and now runes almost as good as new.

A couple of point’s, the rubber O-Ring that seal the head is chit and melt’s a bit after a bit of use. I am planing to replace mine with a Hydraulic 0-ring from work when I get a round to it.

The conrod is connected to the crank very loose, probably the only reason it hasn’t sized up yet (Hopefully the lithium grease will extend the life a bit)

The Ring on the piston is very soft metal, once agene probably the only rasion the piston hasn’t seized. But it is a tight fit I had to shrink fit mine back into the cylinder I.E put the piston in the freezer for 2 Hour’s and heat the bore up and I still damaged the ring a bit trying to get it back in (Has not affected it much) It seems to pump a little slower that’s about it.

However there is now way I world depend on this thing for solo outback travel.
AnswerID: 144563

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 19:56

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 19:56
You got it in 1 , would not depend on 1 cheapy ,but then again if a dear job fails { and they do, ergo the spare parts and so called reliabillity } you are stuffed !!!!would sooner carry 2x or even 3x "cheapy" and be guarenteed an inflation when needed .
FollowupID: 398130

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:15

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:15
I agree c/t,

at $300 I'd be spittin chips if it stuffed up.

I got the $90 big dub job, and fair dinkum I treat it rough and cant break it, and guess what.....I got $200 to spend on summit else!!

Big brands aint what they used to be, chinese copies are becoming VERY good, and so cheap you can even buy a complete spare unit and still be better off.

I hear they've copied a 2005 Hilux now for $50, still a bit expensive for me, I'll wait till they are free with fuel for your kids....lol

Ron
FollowupID: 398140

Reply By: fourstall2000 - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:15

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:15
I have the early model of ARB compressor and went to buy a set of rings for it last week.
To my shock I was told none were available as ARB were not supplying parts for them any more!
So much for buying locally made.
AnswerID: 144640