home brewers?

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 20:20
ThreadID: 28875 Views:2493 Replies:12 FollowUps:20
G'day,

triggered by gramps reference in another post....

just keen to know who our fellow home brewers are out there in EO "land".

i too have made the shift to PET after many years using king browns and recycling screw lids. no regrets at all, just need to be aware that they take a bit longer to chill. so much less space taken up and no worries about broken glass GEEZ that brown glass is sharp when broken.

been through the years of trying this and that, home boiling (too long ago to remember) and then fancy brews in tins of wort. now just happy to pick the specials from the small business man or occasionally the super.

love my home brew and always chide myself when i get out of sync and buy a slab of some commercial stuff.

anyway, cheers all!

ps. love my black stump stout with a tad of lactose added :)

Reply By: angler - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 21:29

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 21:29
Bushfix

Been home brewing for years, you get used to the slightly different taste and after a very short time you get to like your own better than the commercial stuff.
I own my gas bottle and save around $80.00 a year in hire rates. I run three kegs in rotation and keep two in the 100 litre trailblazer fridge that runs on solar panels and a couple of batteries. A keg costs around $13.00 per 18 litres. I use 500gms of dextrose in each brew, I like the taste and donlt want to get blind every night. My favorite brew is called canecutter draught from coopers. There is usually one or two tallies left in the brewer after filling a keg and I use this for fishing trip refreshments.

Pray tell, what is PET?

Pooley
www.bycompass.com
AnswerID: 143899

Reply By: cabbageoz - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 21:34

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 21:34
PET =plastic bottles. I tried these a couple of years ago and find that the brew goes flat if you leave it for a couple of monthsso went back to the real thing
AnswerID: 143907

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 21:36

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 21:36
Home Brew is like a Fart.

Your own is terrific and everbody else's is dreadful.
AnswerID: 143908

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 12:18

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 12:18
If that is, in fact, true Jimbo then I think the sun may actually shine out of my Father in Law's arse 'cos his home brew is nectar from heaven. I knew I had the right woman when the second question I asked her was "Does your dad own a brewery?" and the answer was "Yes!".
FollowupID: 397466

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 12:38

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 12:38
Is that before or after a curry there Jimbo?
FollowupID: 397470

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 12:55

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 12:55
Wombat,

I would have gauged her more by her answer to the first question....

That Rodney Rude is a bit of a dude, hey?

lol...

Chump
FollowupID: 397472

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 21:48

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 21:48
Kevin Bloody Wilson I believe Chump.

I response to question 4 Wombie, did she show them to you?
FollowupID: 397558

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 00:35

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 00:35
I've got about 80 of the older King Browns, the ones with the proper cap top, not the poxy screw top that doesn't seal properly, everynow and then one breaks, and I shed a tear... We've just got a set of plastic bottles with the coopers kit my brother inlaw has got, it will be interesting to see how they go, I've heard they only stay gassed for about 3 months in plastic, but for most purposes that would be fine... Nothing like crunching the bench capper for 30 minutes to build up a thirst though!! ;-)

I dunno, all my mates enjoy my home brew and they don't much like my farts! In fact every now and then I can't even stand my farts!! LOL
I guess when it's free it always tates better though hey...
AnswerID: 143942

Follow Up By: Jeepster-WA - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:07

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:07
The plastic is fine as long as you don't store too long, however having said that, I had some stout in 1.2l coke bottles for 10 months when I was overseas and came home to a fantastic drop. I will talk to you about this when I get back in january Jeff.

Andy
FollowupID: 397491

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 00:51

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 00:51
Howdy,

I split my brew between PET and heavy green glass bottles I bought from the home brew supplies. Feel like a bit of a heel demanding my bottle back before leaving somewhere we've been for dinner, but heck, them's important bottles..

I drink the PET first before it goes flat. Not sure about only a three month life span. Must use fresh closures - screw lids - according to home brew supplier. Don't reuse old caps.

I've drunk 18 month and 2 year old beer stored in glass. Beautiful stuff. I reckon 6 months is a good time to leave it to mature until drinking. Sure you can get into it after a month or so, but once you've built up a cellar, you can afford to leave it. Well worthwhile.

Always keep PET in the dark - beer oxidises and tastes like bad stuff when left in the sun.
My favourite is a Morgans Dockside Stout with an Irish Stout kit enhancer, or a ginger beer from Brigalow is very nice on a hot day, or even a nice lager, or in fact - anything really!!

Tim
AnswerID: 143945

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 11:37

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 11:37
A Month!!! Ha, in a WA summer you can have Woa to go in about 2.5 weeks! LMAO! And if you use finings it's actually not bad!

But yeah I had some 18month old stuff that I left in the cupboard in the shed over winter and it was pretty good!!
FollowupID: 397452

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 12:16

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 12:16
Jeff,

Sure you can drink in 2.5 weeks, but you'd have to be desperate. I'm ALWAYS disappointed with the brew at that age, and it always gets better.

Patience Jeff, patience.....

The trick is to brew up heaps so you are way in front of your consumption rate, then you can afford to leave it for over a year. So when you recover from your liver transplant or live in stint at Harry Hunter recovery centre, you'll have some real nice ales to get back to.

Tim
FollowupID: 397465

Reply By: gramps - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 01:15

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 01:15
"triggered by gramps reference in another post"

Bloody hell bushfix, you've really got me scratching. I know I dribble/babble on but I only drink "brew". Could never trust myself to make it. Too damn impatient to taste the product LOL

Think you've got me confused with another old codger.
AnswerID: 143950

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 07:19

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 07:19
ooh 'eck you're right mate,

oh well, free publicity.

!MPG:5!
FollowupID: 397421

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 07:25

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 07:25
Me too but i use Grolsh bottles if bottling but mostly i keg my homebrew.

Much easier i think

AnswerID: 143954

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 07:27

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 07:27
From the last house i lived in have now moved but still looks similar
FollowupID: 397423

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 07:29

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 07:29
Try again

FollowupID: 397424

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 08:13

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 08:13
you're a class act Baz.

I couldn't trust myself if it was that easy, just pull the tap and you're right again.

yeah i left all my grolsch bottles in perth when i moved east.
FollowupID: 397431

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 08:14

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 08:14
LMAO ... Love it Baz. Perfect for secret men's business :)))
FollowupID: 397432

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 14:05

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 14:05
Hey Baz,

Isnt there some people missing from that second pic?

This my setup at the moment, I sit and have a few, looking at it planning to make it better with a bar and all (bench that is) and then when I wake up the next day, ive forgotten.

FollowupID: 397484

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 14:06

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 14:06
and

FollowupID: 397485

Reply By: revhead307 - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 11:39

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 11:39
Is good to see a healthy amount of brewers on the site!

I've only been brewing 2 years...but its turned from a way of cheap grog, to a hobby, to an obsession..

I use stubbies, king browns, and the odd 1.25 or 2L coke bottle.
within the next 12 months will organise a keg setup.

Fav brews:
Munich lager or anything aleish
Dark Ale with extra roast grains.

Alcoholic Ginger beer from scratch (ie ginger root) experimenting with mild hops in it.

Tropical death (6L golden circle sunshine punch, 4L water, 700g dextrose) ferment it up..turns out like highly alcoholic punch with a grapefruit flavoured twist.

Rev

AnswerID: 143984

Reply By: The Bigfella - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:05

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:05
Paul J (ACT)

That Keg System looks familiar.
I have been brewing for 22 years and now have my own homebrew shop. Like being in heaven. It is great to make a living out of your favourite hobby. I do bottles, PET and kegs. Make all types of beer. Favourite would be "American Pale Ale". Have also judged at homebrew competitions all over Australia over the years. Someone has to do it.
It is a growing industry and with the price of commercial beer going up like it is I think homebrewing will keep growing and become more popular in the future.
The extra dollars you save on beer can then be spent on travelling our great country and you can take your beer with you.
If any of you are ever in Bathurst, call in for a cold beer and say G'Day.
The Bigfella
AnswerID: 144023

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:33

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:33
And I thankyou very much, all is going well with it.

I now have another 2 kegs, eventually want to get another tap and t piece so I can run 2 different types of beer.

Today I put down 2 cans of 3kg ESB Australian Special Bitter, made up 45 litres of course, you done this one before?
FollowupID: 397493

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 19:41

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 19:41
good stuff bigfella,

when in bathurst next i will convince the fam that i need to stop at your shop, can you give me it's name? in a completely non-advertising way because i asked you...:)
FollowupID: 397523

Follow Up By: The Bigfella - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 23:04

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 23:04
I am not looking for FREE! publicity on this forum. Someone give me a flogging as I am not even a member. Yes, I will put my hand up but that could change in the New Year.
E-Mail me at stoutman@tpg.com.au and I will give you all my shop details.
Here is a hint:-
www.countrybrewer.com.au
The Bigfella
FollowupID: 397563

Reply By: Jeepster-WA - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:13

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:13
For those stout lovers, I do a coopers stout with a milk stout booster from the local brew shop in Greenwood and 500gms of dark brown unprocessed sugar. Give it three months(or ten) and it is very good. Comes in at around 6-7% Alc though.

Jeepster
AnswerID: 144026

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 22:26

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 22:26
I've only ever seen 18L kegs. Can you get 22/23L ones?
AnswerID: 144095

Follow Up By: The Bigfella - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 23:00

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 23:00
Having had a homebrew shop for 3 and a half years there are no 23 litre kegs any more. I have 12 for my own use that I got about 9 years ago. All I have in the shop are 19 Litre ones. My 23 Litre kegs are for sale for $300 each. I know it is a ridiculous price but if someone is willing to pay $300 per keg I will sell them.
The Bigfella
FollowupID: 397562

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 08:18

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 08:18
steve i have a 45ltr keg in mine along with 2 23ltr kegs and one 10ltr party keg run from a soda stream gas bottle for parties or weekends away ;-))))

FollowupID: 397575

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 08:34

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 08:34
anyone know where you can get 45L kegs - Sydney/N'castle area?
AnswerID: 144115

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 08:40

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 08:40
See Damian at Whats Brewing in Rocky Point Rd Kogarah opposite Caravan accessories

FollowupID: 397578