'98 Prado V6 power / fuel consumption

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 23:53
ThreadID: 18053 Views:35066 Replies:12 FollowUps:17
I did the search and couldn't find the info I'm after. Hope I'm not repeating earlier questions.
I have a 98 Prado 3400 V6 5 spd manual, 196000 k's on the clock. First petrol car I've driven in a long time, have had diesels for the last 10 years. Love the quiet and smooth operation.

BUT

For general driving around town I get about 5 to 5.5 k's to the litre (20 to 18 litres/100 k's).
Highway cruising at 110 kmh I get about 6.5 to 6.8 k's per litre (15.4 to 14.7 litres / 100 k's)
Towing the boat (about 1600 kgs total) struggle to maintain 90 kph in 4th gear.
Driving into a moderate headwind at 110 kph (no trailer, lightly loaded), struggle to accelerate at all.
(I have no roofrack, no other wind catching accessories)

I've had it serviced, all new filters, new spark plugs. I 've had it into Toyota service and diagnosed (all OK).

Question is, is this normal power / consumption? It's a lovely car to drive, but if it could go just a bit better and use just a bit less fuel, it would be a terrific car. If opinion is that this is normal, then I'll just live with it.

Thanks for your time

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 07:48

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 07:48
does it accelerate in 4th gear from 110kph?

the consumption sounds a little heavy around town, but the others seem about right.

You could always add a unichip, for better economy and 17-25% more grunt out of it.
AnswerID: 85655

Reply By: Savvas - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 08:33

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 08:33
I agree with GO_OFFROAD about the consumption around town. It seems a bit heavy especially for a manual Prado.

However, the performance sounds right for the 3.4. It's not particularly powerful at 132kW and torque peaks at 303Nm.

I recall a comparison between the 3.5 Jackaroo Monterey and a 3.4 Prado GXL some years ago. Both autos, they were driven along a freeway at 100km/h then the front passenger window and rear driver side window were opened. The Prado dropped a gear to maintain 100km. I think that's just how it is.

Another good place to ask would be www.lcool.org.

AnswerID: 85661

Reply By: flappan - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 09:03

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 09:03
Something just doesn't seem right.

As an indication, your getting around town what I get in my 4.5 Petrol Patrol , and I can assure you mine will maintain 90 kph , and accelerate above 110 kph (even towing) , and using the same amount of fuel.
AnswerID: 85663

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:50

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:50
Yes and the new Prado leaves your model in its dust and only runs a 4.0 litre 179 kw job with around 13l/100 around town in manual.. Sounds heavy on fuel.
FollowupID: 344319

Reply By: Member- Starky - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 09:21

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 09:21
Russell,

I own the same vehicle, 98 Prado petrol manual GXL. My boat is not that heavy but consumption is a little better then you discribe. I towed a camper trailer from Maryborough (Qld) to Cairns in December last year and it returned a tad under 13/100 on the black stuff. That was with the cruise on and in fifth as much as possible. I don't know what it would do over100k but if you push any heavy vehicle the consumption goes out the window. You will be amazed at what they will return when you drive at 90k.
In May we went from Maryborough to the Flinders Ranges and back home through Birdsville. The consumption was not much worse. I look at the track notes on this site and consider the consumption figures are little high from my experience. However we do travel very light. Just the wife and I.

Look at tyre size and pressures. Mine are 275/70R16 at 38psi for highway and down to 25 or 26 in the dirt.

I only use the ordinary ulp at the independent servo so nothing special here either.

My Prado has done 115000 and I keep it serviced very well with the local RACQ people. He is an old friend of mine and looks after me well.

Hope thats some help.

AnswerID: 85667

Reply By: MrBitchi - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 09:28

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 09:28
Mate,
If it's that gutless you have a problem. Get someone to have a look at the catalytic converter. It's probably cactus and blocking the exhaust. (had a similar problem in my Statesman) The diagnostic equipment will not show it up but a good dyno operator should be able to tell. Or just get your local exhaust centre to have a look.
AnswerID: 85670

Reply By: manson - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 09:58

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 09:58
Bad fuel economy, welcome to petrol 4WD's. Shoulda stuck with diesel........
AnswerID: 85674

Reply By: Member - Russell - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 10:39

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 10:39
Thank you all for the replies and advice. Looks like it's not quite normal and I need to do a bit more home work. I like MrBitchi's idea of looking at the exhaust, hadn't thought of that.
Also might look at the Unichip, but at $1400? (I think) I was hoping for a cheaper fix. Then again, I average 50000 k's a year. If I average 6 k's to the litre thats 8333 litres. Say $1.30 average (In Karratha, 1500 k's north of Perth) Thats about $10800 of fuel. If I can get 10% better, I'll save over a thousand dollars in the first year.
It's horrible when you do the figures, isn't it?.

Thanks all.
AnswerID: 85678

Follow Up By: Mal58 - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 11:27

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 11:27
Russell,
A couple of things about the Prado and fuel economy and performance,
a) Tyres - These make a big difference. When I went from the Grand Treks to the BFG AT (same size), the fuel economy dropped by about 1-2lt/100km.
b) Cat Convertor - Unless your prado is the third revision (made after 2000), it will not have a Cat Convertor,

It has been noted that generally Petrol Prado's have good fuel economy until around 80,000 km. After that it starts to decline to the 20lt/100 km around town.

Several areas need checking to restore fuel economy and performance.
1) Air Flow Sensor - This is located just afer the air cleaner. This may need cleaning as the sensors may have a very fine layer of dust, which in turn effects the ECU control of the engine. Most people clean the Air Flow Sensor with "carbie cleaner". Care should be taken when cleaning this as the mechanism is fairly delicate and will cost in excess of $300 to replace if you are too heavy handed.
2) Throttle Body - This is located just prior to the inlet manifold. Over time, due to the condensation of oil from the PCV pipe, the various valves (incluing the idle solenoid) may become gummed up with oil residue. Most people clean this with "carbie cleaner", but care again must be taken with the throttle sensor and the idle solenoid when using the carbie clean.
3) Injectors - These may be needed to be ultrasonically cleaned, as the esters in petrol over time will produce a plastic like coating on the nozzles, which inturn effects the spray patterns etc. To clean is a specialist job.
4) Service-able items - Air Cleaner, Fuel Filter, spark plugs should all be regularly checked and replaced depending on condition, rather than distance covered.

I hope this helps.
Mal
FollowupID: 344207

Follow Up By: Member - Russell - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 11:36

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 11:36
Thanks Mal, very useful info. I was about to drive down to the local exhaust place but you say the 98 Prado doesn't have a converter?
According to Toyota diagnostics, motor is running exactly right. Just as well, I got a price of around $900 for the air flow sensor!
I think your idea of a good clean may be the best thing to try first.
FollowupID: 344210

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:10

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:10
A bashed up muffler (or restricted muffler) can also cause problems.

Made quite a difference to my V6 Pajero , just putting a free flowing exhaust on it.
FollowupID: 344215

Follow Up By: pjchris - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:17

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:17
All ULP vehicles manufactured after January 1986 MUST have catalytic converters.

I believe it's a legal requirement (ADR) regardless of how clean the engine runs.

Your 1998 Prado WILL have a Cat...

FollowupID: 344226

Follow Up By: Mal58 - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:18

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:18
pjchris, (Peter),
Sorry to disagree with you, but my 98 Prado does not have a cat convertor and never has had one. I have had the 4wd from new.

The cat convertor was not introduced into the 90 series Prado until the third revision (the one with the fog lights in the bumber bar).

I understand that despite the ADR requirement for motor vehicles, Four Wheel Drives were exempt from the requirement until around 2000.

Mal
FollowupID: 344257

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 11:18

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 11:18
Mate i think there is something really wrong here, on comparison to our Explorer 119kw 4.0l V6 5 spd manual, fuel economy around town 15l to 18l/100k and highway 10 to 11l/100 and will accelerate in 5th at 110kph no prob, towing the camper 1.3t same as around town economy wise and will accelerate in 4th very well tends to struggle up hill but then it only has 119kw of power compared to your 135kw, our Explorer is setup like yours no roof rack not even a bullbar so i'd be looking at maybe the injectors or something just doesn't seem to be getting full power.

AnswerID: 85683

Follow Up By: Penguin (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:36

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 12:36
Have you STILL got that Ford Baz? I'm dissapointed in you - I thought you'd be in a Cruiser by now!

FollowupID: 344217

Follow Up By: flappan - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:17

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:17
He cant get rid of it . . . no one wants it . . . ;)

Both Yota and Nissan said HE would have to pay for them to take it.
FollowupID: 344225

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:52

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:52
Did you know Explorer's are referred to as Exploders in the industry ?

FollowupID: 344321

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:53

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:53
Nobody wants an Explorer in their garage,

Bite the bullet and get a real 4wd.

LC100 !!
FollowupID: 344322

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:38

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:38
(Back tracks said.
Did you know Explorer's are referred to as Exploders in the industry ? )

Do you know why ??

FollowupID: 344415

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:47

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:47
Back tracks, has the front diff blown yet in your LC100 or the IFS broken !! I don't normally bag other peoples 4WD but one bagging deserves another.
FollowupID: 344422

Reply By: porl - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:45

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:45
I got an RV 2000 3.4L prado with 30,000km. I got 16x7" wheels with BFG AT's. I got a hiclone, which i believe does nothing but couldn't be bothered taking it out, and use a premium fuel. If it stick round 90 - 100km/hr on the highway (eg brisbane to canberra) i get between 10.80 and 11.20 L/100km - and that is taking into account fuel transfers between tanks and larger size wheels and tyres. But if i bump up to average 120km/hr then fuel consumption jumps to around 13 - 15l/100km.

Round town its around the 14l/100km mark. I drive lightly.

Yahoo has a 90 series site - very very informative, join it and you'll get all your answers.

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/90scool/

AnswerID: 85710

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:56

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:56
That'll be

Ivan
2008 D4D Prado

FollowupID: 344326

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:57

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 13:57
We were looking at the Prado as well as others but looking at this, i don't think so scrub the Prado.
AnswerID: 85715

Follow Up By: Back tracks- Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:54

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 20:54
New shape Prado is much better !
FollowupID: 344324

Reply By: Billy - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:10

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 14:10
FWIW In '98 the new 158Kw 3.5 Jack/Monty was the power/economy king of the mid-size brigage and remained so until the NEW Prado. SOME Prado's of this vintage also had a bad engine harmonic vibration when under load.
AnswerID: 85719

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:35

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 15:35
Doesn't sound as good as it should be.
Injectors could definetly be up for a clean, as stated, clean the afm, and throttle body well, and the air bypass valve. this will help the air fuel mixtures, toyo's are renouned for restrictive pipes at the best of times, so a new exhaust wouldn't go astray, as said hits to the muffler can dislodge baffles and choke it up, as for the cat it depends if it was first regod and complianced as a commercial vehicle or passenger, our 96 hilux doesnt have one as it's a light truck according to the compliance, just stick your head under for a look.
Check for any restrictions in the air intake as well.
Tyres - yeah tread patterns and tyre construction make a huge difference, i went from b/stons 693 to MTR's 245/70 to 265/75 and are now using about 1.5- 2 litres more per 100k , but i dont take it easy, i know i should.....
Make sure you are running a high enough pressure on road about 38 should be right for you, and get the alignment checked, too much toe in will sap power as well.
Toyo probably only checked for fault codes, could be worth a dyno run to check the a/f mixtures.

ps- towing heaps recently moving house, up to a tonne in the trailer, hardly even slowed it down, passing trucks from 80 up to 110 in 4th no worries at all, cruise 100-110 in 5th easy.
my 3.5v6 manual jack is putting out about 170kw and is lifted 1.5 inches with 3 inch bigger tyres as well, with a bullbar and driving lights on top of the bar, it is getting 14-15/100 general, havent done a pure highway cruise yet with the new setup but it should get better. Used to get 12 highway 110-120kph and 13-14 town. standard height, stock size tyres, no bar.
AnswerID: 85734

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:00

Wednesday, Nov 24, 2004 at 18:00
Now that sounds better the Jack with that many kw I thought they were only around the 120kw to 130 kw impressive so what about the diesel what are the kw for the TD Jack Bradley.
FollowupID: 344279

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 09:10

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 09:10
gday baz, the 3.0 td is abut 120 kw from memory, they are a towing weapon.
FollowupID: 344389

Follow Up By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:48

Thursday, Nov 25, 2004 at 11:48
Thanks mate for that.
FollowupID: 344423