corona fuel economy

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 19:17
ThreadID: 139948 Views:10018 Replies:11 FollowUps:12
I have been watching fuel prices and wondered how low they will go . At the moment i have not filled my tank for eight weeks . How good is that. Not in my opinion. I used to take my grand son to school every day and now nothing .. I supose he will need me again soon , but i am a bit lost . My 35 plus a day in the city has changed to less than 5 and they are only to go shopping . Any one else feeling the loss as i am ?

Back Expand Un-Read 2 Moderator

Reply By: Hoyks - Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 20:02

Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 20:02
No change for me.

My work was stood down, but I was classified as 'essential', so had to come in each day anyway and do bugger all.

My Mrs is immune-compromised, so I get to do all the hunting and gathering as well, not much change there though. We both drive past the same shops on the way home, but its apparently a lot more convenient for me to stop in.

We're eating less takeaway and I'm missing out on my weekend trip to the big red hammer shop though, so that is saving us some $$.
AnswerID: 631242

Reply By: RMD - Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 20:25

Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 20:25
Muzbry.
There aren't many Coronas on the road anymore to have to worry about Corona fuel economy!
AnswerID: 631243

Follow Up By: Member - Warren H - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 10:44

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 10:44
I used to get 28-30 mpg out of mine at about 30 c/gallon. Great tough little car, very reliable for their day, pity about the brakes.
NT Pajero
2007 Goldstream Crown

FollowupID: 907205

Reply By: swampy - Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 23:01

Sunday, Apr 26, 2020 at 23:01
Look how the mongrel bastard fuel companies treat the customer regards diesel prices . Until a week ago there was upto 40c/ltr difference between high vs low .Now its around 20c/ltr high vs low .

All of the above and diesel is still 20-30c/ltr more cents than unleaded .
Diesel costs less to refine !!!!!!
Wholesale barrel costs never cheaper!!!!!!!!!!

The tru independents are the cheapest .

Until recent LPG same cost as unleaded !!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 631245

Follow Up By: Tony W - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 08:06

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 08:06
I find it incredible that a company spends billions drilling in deserts and in the sea, then billions in rights to a government, then billions to build and operate a refinery, then billions in putting it in a ship to travel half way across the world. Then Billions in local storage and shipping to the local service station. Then billions of profit to owners and shareholders along the way.

Then the Australian government takes GST and Levy at around 50c per litre and then after all that you can buy it in small quantities for less than 90 cents a litre at the moment.

Then we complain about getting ripped off.

Then while you are paying for it, you grab a 300ml bottle of water for $3.50 ( $10.00 per litre) without thinking about how that comes out of a tap in a factory straight into the bottle and10000 times as much of a rip-off and what the bottle is doing for the environment. Coca Cola pay 0.02 cents a litre for water. Amongst other places, it's bottled in a factory area in Moorabbin in Melbourne.

FollowupID: 907198

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 08:09

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 08:09
Might have something to do with diesel the only fuel there is still a demand for because of industry, the mines alone plough through millions of litres a day.

Not being familair with the process but if they make diesel from the crude they still have the byproducts to get rid of, and now petrol is a byproduct.
FollowupID: 907199

Follow Up By: swampy - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 11:40

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 11:40
hi
Still amazed how independents still make money at the lesser retail cost .
Smart people don`t buy bottled water . All Coke do is filter it that's well documented .

As long as fuel companies act like banks they are still scum .

Oh yea in some countries it costs way way less . The only reason big companies are interested in Ozzy is because we are an advanced western country with a population that does not object to any thing . Australian people pay more than most for many products in the world . So the choice is clear are to a giver or a receiver !!!!LOL
Don`t act like sheep .
FollowupID: 907207

Reply By: Sir Kev - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 07:58

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 07:58
Hi Muz,

I am down from 1500km per week average to 500km per week average.
I am having major driving withdrawals and have even had big name fuel companies calling to check up on me LOL

AnswerID: 631247

Reply By: 9900Eagle - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 07:59

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 07:59
Mine has improved out of sight. We are now getting 6 days to the litre. My driving now is focused on more fuel saving and I hope to improve it to between 6 and 7 days to the litre.

AnswerID: 631248

Follow Up By: qldcamper - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 08:16

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 08:16
I am so glad we fitted a long range tank. At this rate should last till xmas.
FollowupID: 907200

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 10:15

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 10:15
Exactly, Qldcamper.

Before this pestilence I did a bit of volunteer work for BlazeAid, using my vehicle to tow fencing trailers, etc. At the end of my stretch I was given full tanks - all 270 litres. I still have all that minus the 350km worth to get home. At this rate I won't have to fill up until the first fuel stop in the 2021 winter travelling season.

FollowupID: 907203

Follow Up By: Member - rocco2010 - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 10:56

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 10:56
Diesel in WA is still way more expensive than ULP but still cheaper than it was before the virus.

But Murphy’s law says it will be even dearer than it was when we are finally able to travel.

Filled the Prado (150l) on March 28. Used a quarter of a tank.
FollowupID: 907206

Follow Up By: RMD - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 12:54

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 12:54
9900Eagle.
We used to use Kilometres to the litre and Miles per gallon as fuel measurement, now I see you have developed the Days per Litre measurement system.
It is handy to use seeing distance isn't an issue anymore. I like it!
With Diesel, I wonder how any, Weeks to the Algae, can we manage? Quite a challenge I reckon.
FollowupID: 907208

Follow Up By: 9900Eagle - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 13:44

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 13:44
RMD, where I live as long as my tanks are full I have never had a problem with algae, down south could be a problem, but with full cold tank and fuel it should be ok.
FollowupID: 907211

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 13:41

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 13:41
You know Muz - Within these crazy rules you can still drive up to our property at Yarck and get a load of firewood.

We are still doing lots of k's and its so great owning a gus guzzler , and as per picture diesel is 35% dearer than ulp around here .

Never had it so good , all our friends which converted to V8 petrol patrols are so happy.

AnswerID: 631253

Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 21:45

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 21:45
Hi Robin
Good things don't last for ever, but enjoy these prices while you can. l'm measuring in days per litre like a few other people at moment. Diesel has dropped by 30 cents a litre and l'm smiling but you as much as you.

Murray
Another Mexican

FollowupID: 907220

Reply By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 16:34

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 16:34
As soon as we get the all clear, that we can start travelling again.....the prices will go up again to what they were two months ago!
AnswerID: 631254

Reply By: Member - pedro1 - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 20:53

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 20:53
Can anyone explain , in our mad dash from Tassie to Perth a few weeks ago to beat the border lockout, why diesel cost $1.049 at a couple of service station in Ceduna. It is now $ 0.999

AnswerID: 631256

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 22:04

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 22:04
Can’t help you with your query, but in 2018, during our 10K kms trip through SA, WA & NT, we refuelled at the Ceduna Puma robot servo for about $1.43c/L. Would have been the cheapest fuel during that trip.

Here in Winton Qld, diesel dropped 13c/L some time after the barrel price crashed, to 129.9, but hasn’t budged at all since. Makes one think that it won’t slide anymore, because we “may” soon be driving further & become regular customers again.

FollowupID: 907221

Reply By: swampy - Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 22:49

Monday, Apr 27, 2020 at 22:49
Diesel
Independent in Adelaide 1.05
Majors Bp etc 1.35
AnswerID: 631258

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2020 at 08:42

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2020 at 08:42
Hey mate, RUOK?

I think everyone else has missed something in your post. We all miss our grandchildren and the social contact with our friends. Why don't you set up a Zoom meeting with your family from time to time, just to see their faces can be enough!
AnswerID: 631259

Follow Up By: Member - Jim S1 - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2020 at 13:39

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2020 at 13:39
Quite right Notso

We use the Apple FaceTime for our weekly chats. When we were babysitting we had a Pizza night all together, so now we have the Pizza night on FaceTime instead. Just set up the iPad on the table and munch and chat away. The grandkids are very comfortable with it.

We also use Zoom for other meetings.

Jim

"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

FollowupID: 907225

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 19:10

Sunday, May 10, 2020 at 19:10
Diesel in Perth is currently 96.7c/L and ULP is 81.7c/L today.

Last week ULP was selling here for 76.7c/L. No doubt the price went up for Mothers Day.

Don't bet on these prices lasting for long, as soon as the airlines start flying again, the price will rise rapidly.

Fuelwatch (W.A.)

AnswerID: 631463