pmk03
G'Day All
Hoping someone can advise on the current condition of the road from
Bourke via
Wanaaring & on to
Tibooburra. On the EO map it looks like it's a solid line to the
Tibooburra turnoff. Does this mean it's sealed?
Also looking for info on the section from the turn off to
Tibooburra which is shown as unsealed.
Just doing some research for an upcoming trip to this area
Thanks in advance
Reply By: rumpig - Thursday, May 02, 2019 at 11:31
Thursday, May 02, 2019 at 11:31
Drove
Tibooburra to
Wanaaring to
Hungerford last September, was dirt all the way....was a good wide dirt road back then, but boring as buggery to drive that
Wanaaring to
Tibooburra stretch IMO, and a mate driving his vehicle with me said the same....reckon it’s due to scrub lining the road most of the way giving you very little else to look at. Recent rains obviously will have changed actual road conditions, so can’t help with that exact info.
Follow Up By: pmk03 - Thursday, May 02, 2019 at 14:05
Thursday, May 02, 2019 at 14:05
Thanks for the info. Have been that way many years back but couldn't remember what it was like.
From your comments I might give it a miss as we only have a week out there on this trip
Follow Up By: pmk03 - Thursday, May 02, 2019 at 21:38
Thursday, May 02, 2019 at 21:38
I am familiar with the section through the
Sturt National Park as we have done this a number of times over the years on our way further north.
It was the section to the east I was checking on, but thanks for your comments.
We only have 9 days in the region for this trip so I was looking for something new to see. I think we'll stick around
Wilcannia,
White Cliffs areas as we will probably come up along the Darling through
Menindee
Thanks again for you comments
Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Friday, May 03, 2019 at 16:44
Friday, May 03, 2019 at 16:44
Whitecliffs to Mootawintji Nat Park is a nice drive and the Park itself has nice camping and some wonderful walks.
Also, the drive from
Wilcannia north to the Paroo-Darling Nat Park and Peri Lake is worthwhile, with petroglyphs around the shores of the lake near the
carpark. I don't think you can
camp there, but there are some nice bush camps on the way, or go from the lake to Whitecliffs.
Follow Up By: pmk03 - Friday, May 10, 2019 at 10:04
Friday, May 10, 2019 at 10:04
Agree, have been that way before.
Unfortunately on this trip will have the dog with me.......No Nat. Parks.
Am planning a trip where we can take her along
Reply By: Gramps - Thursday, May 02, 2019 at 11:35
Thursday, May 02, 2019 at 11:35
Paul,
Just in case you haven't got this link
NSW road conditions
Reply By: Bob A5 - Friday, May 03, 2019 at 21:05
Friday, May 03, 2019 at 21:05
havnt been through the cut line for a while but if there has been rain it gets boggy and they will close it.
Got stuck in
wanaaring and its's definitely a one pub town