Member - Tony H (touring oz)

Broken back
Reply By: Jackolux - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2018 at 20:11
Tuesday, Apr 17, 2018 at 20:11
Those Apollo Mits have been bending like that for years , I saw 2 in
Broome probably 5 or more years ago , can't understand why Apollo would still be using them .
I wonder if they try and blame the Hirer of the vehicle .
A good mate of
mine bent his Triton in the Simpson, he was able to fix it ok .
But all dual cabs will bend the Dmax is no stronger than any other and I own one but
mine is a extra cab , I can at least get a bit of weight further forward of the rear axle , I bought the extra cab with that in mind but load it wrong and hit the right hole / bump , I'm sure it would bend just like all the others .
Ppl go on about the Dmax having a truck engine, I have even see it said they have a truck chassis that's BS , the Isuzu's have plenty of issues just like all the rest .
Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Tuesday, Apr 17, 2018 at 20:15
Tuesday, Apr 17, 2018 at 20:15
Popcorn locked and loaded....bring it on. :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 07:23
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 07:23
I read where the dmax chassis is from 4.8mm steel whereas 3.2 mm is the commonly used thickness in other dual cabs. Also the load area is more centrally located over the rear axle..
Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 11:27
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 11:27
Thats very interesting Bigfish. I brought a D-Max because by visual inspection it seemed to me that the Isuzu chassis was thicker. None of the dealers of all makes I asked seemed to know. I would like to know where you read that a D-Max chassis is 4.8mm steel, can you remember?
I have a reasonably heavy camper on my D-Max and the
places I have taken it would suggest it is very strong.
Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 11:46
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 11:46
"The Hilux has a chassis of folded 9/64th (3.6mm) steel plate, whilst the DMax chassis is 3/16th (4.8mm) steel plate. So the DMax steel plate used to make the chassis is 25% thicker than a Hilux, and the DMax chassis cross section also give the Isuzu's chassis a 1/2" further advantage. There are also more cross members on my DMax than the Hilux, with each cross member substantially larger than the Hilux to boot."
http://www.ozisuzu.com.au/index.php/topic,2139.0.html
Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 12:49
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 12:49
Thanks Bigfish. If the Hilux is 3.6mm and the D-Max 4.8mm that is a 33.3% increase in my book, not 25%. That is substantial.
Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Apr 29, 2018 at 09:28
Sunday, Apr 29, 2018 at 09:28
Depth of the section is probably more significant than thickness and tube is vastly stronger than C channel.
OKA196 motorhome
Reply By: bigden - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 07:53
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 07:53
On another post somewhere it was stated that the Isuzu's don't break, so I set out to find one online.
Now I found just about every make and model ,cruisers and patrols as
well but I never did find an Isuzu.
I had a hilux that cracked thru one chassis rail
Not sure if that means anything, maybe there is not as many or not used in a way that might break a chassis but I would like someone to post a
pic of a broken isuzu
Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 11:51
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 11:51
So would I.
Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 10:35
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 10:35
I reckon the major issue with any of the utes is the way people treat them. LCs, Tritons Hilux, you name it, we've all seen examples of sheer stupidity in the way people treat them and load them. My friend had Bushtracker Caravan LC 75 Series single cab and he broke his chassis. I towed a somewhat lighter (280kg ball weight) Off Road Van with my Triton Dual cab for 7 years and never had an issue with anything including the chassis.
It appears that some people get parochial about "Brands" and take any opportunity to point out how superior there's is!
Reply By: rocco2010 - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 16:54
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 16:54
Where utes (and other 4WDs for that matter) are concerned it seems some old advice I once got about the speed limit could apply.
Maximum weight means maxmium, it doesn't mean all the time.
Just as a sensible driver would adjust his speed to the conditions regardless of the maximum allowed, owners need to adjust the weights they carry according to the conditions.
It still surprises me that even after all the publicity this issue gets it is common to see cases where you suspect the owner is pushing the limits.
On my Simpson crossing a few years ago we were only an hour or so out
Birdsville when we were passed by a ute from the garage.
A little while later we came across the people he been called to help. An extra cab ute with camper canopy and a damaged chassis.
Sadly for the couple and their companions an adventure was over basically before it started.
Is someone to blame? Should manufacturers do more to highlight the load limits when driving off bitumen? Do accessory sellers have a duty of care? How can you stop an enthusiastic owner with a big budget loading up?
Hopefully threads like these prove helpful and maybe save an owner or three.
Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 17:36
Wednesday, Apr 18, 2018 at 17:36
Of course they have a duty of care but with an ACCC as weak as p..s it is little wonder they do not bother. Most claim their 2 and a bit tonne ute will tow a 3.5 tonne trailer - what utter rubbish. You load any twin cab ute to its GVM and the bump stop travel will be between 0 and 15mm - an accident waiting to happen. As I said the ACCC are a joke.
Reply By: Ron N - Thursday, Apr 19, 2018 at 00:16
Thursday, Apr 19, 2018 at 00:16
I really don't understand why ute-type campers aren't banned from being fitted to dual-cab utes.
It's not rocket science to figure out the simple physics involved in mounting a huge camper on a dual cab ute, with the additional height, and weight towards the rear, is going to be highly detrimental to the chassis.
I must admit, I've seen a few bent ute chassis', but I've yet to see an Isuzu ute chassis bent.