Sunday, May 24, 2015 at 18:38
1. Ahh yes, the I'm a safe driver, drive to the conditions and never had an accident.... but left a trail of destruction in my wake.
The 85-90, is that because it is a safe speed and that is how you justify it, or the most efficient speed?
I've been stuck in the conga line of vehicles behind vans coming down the Bruce highway and it is painful. 20, 30 cars and trucks all stuck behind someone doing
well under the limit, it leads to frustration and risk taking to get past. As for safe passing, a car or a modern ute might get past, but most trucks have no hope, so you get some seriously bleep off drivers stuck there too, so the trucks get to the front of the
cue and then cars try and pass a few truck and then the bloke in the hat towing the van. It is OK for those on holiday, but these guys are driving to a schedule. I know when I'm in my workshop doing stuff, nothing annoys me more than having someone getting in the way. The road is their workshop.
"Division 1; General
125. Unreasonably obstructing drivers or pedestrians
(1) A driver must not unreasonably obstruct the path of another driver or a pedestrian.
Maximum penalty—20 penalty units.
(2) For this section, a driver does not unreasonably obstruct the path of another driver or a pedestrian only because—
(a) the driver is stopped in traffic; or
(b) the driver is driving more slowly than other vehicles (unless the driver is driving abnormally slowly in the circumstances).
Example of a driver driving abnormally slowly — a driver driving at a speed of 20km/h on a length of road to which a speed limit of 80km/h applies when there is no reason for the driver to drive at that speed on the length of road
So, driving 15 below the limit on a straight road on a clear day is an offence.
http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/LEGISLTN/CURRENT/T/TrantOpRURR09.pdf#G3.1017915
2. Has been the rule since 2005 and I suspect it has been also since 1995.
"9.1 Registration Plate (Number Plate)
Provision must be made for mounting of a 372 mm x 136 mm registration plate to the rear of every trailer so that no part of the plate is more than 1300 mm above the ground. "
http://www.infrastructure.gov.au/roads/vehicle_regulation/bulletin/vsb1/vsb_01_a.aspx#anc_7
But, like most things, you would have to have had done something to make the cop go to the effort to get out the tape measure.
And before you mark me as a hoon, 30 years behind the wheel or the handle bars, and never had a speeding ticket, or any ticket for that matter and one accident...1st year on my P's.
Follow Up By: Slow one - Sunday, May 24, 2015 at 19:17
Sunday, May 24, 2015 at 19:17
I will stick up for peter and you should read what he posted. Read it again please.
Follow Up By: Hoyks - Sunday, May 24, 2015 at 19:28
Sunday, May 24, 2015 at 19:28
I have, a few times. Which bit did I miss??
"For this section, a driver DOES NOT unreasonably obstruct the path of another driver or a pedestrian only because—
(b) the driver is driving more slowly than other vehicles "
It doesn't state that you HAVE to do the limit, but does say that you can't hold up other traffic. In this instance it would be up to the interpretation of the officer writing the ticket and if you didn't agree, then don't pay the fine and have your day in court.
Follow Up By: The Original JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, May 24, 2015 at 21:36
Sunday, May 24, 2015 at 21:36
I wonder then what way they look to tractors that have the plates at the top of the cab and seldom travel at more than 40kph?
Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Sunday, May 24, 2015 at 22:05
Sunday, May 24, 2015 at 22:05
Hoyks,
"I have, a few times. Which bit did I miss??
"For this section, a driver does not UNREASONABLY obstruct the path of another driver or a pedestrian only because—"
The bit you missed is related to the word in upper case above.
If there is a reason for driving at that speed, then the charge is a nonsense.
Follow Up By: Slow one - Monday, May 25, 2015 at 05:30
Monday, May 25, 2015 at 05:30
Statement by yourself about the op.
. Ahh yes, the I'm a safe driver, drive to the conditions and never had an accident.... but left a trail of destruction in my wake.
The 85-90, is that because it is a safe speed and that is how you justify it, or the most efficient speed?
I've been stuck in the conga line of vehicles behind vans coming down the Bruce highway and it is painful. 20, 30 cars and trucks
Statement by op.
That is, if you are like me I tow my caravan to the road & weather conditions. If everything is good I travel at a speed between 85 & 90kmph unless in a 110 speed zone where I travel at 95kpph. The reason at this speed is it allows motorists behind me to overtake with safety and not exceed the speed limit. Plus once I get more than a couple of vhicles (or one truck) behind me I start looking for a safe place to pull over.
Note. No congo line, he states he pulls over when he gets a couple behind him and doesn't hold up traffic.
Also you state he travels at between 85 and 95kph because it is an efficient speed. That is what you have decided. What he states was a safe speed for him.
Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, May 25, 2015 at 13:07
Monday, May 25, 2015 at 13:07
Original
John,
My take on your query,
John, is that many tractors and other machinery often have implements/attachments, both front and rear, and any number plates at or below 1.3M, would usually be obscured.
Qld has a concessional rego for tractors, graders, bobcats,
farm bikes and similar vehicles, that allows them on gazetted roads, with 3rd party cover. Most plates I've seen in this class have them
well up on the cab. Probably less chance of "injury" up there too. :-)
Follow Up By: Member - johnat - Monday, May 25, 2015 at 21:12
Monday, May 25, 2015 at 21:12
As, in fact does NSW - it's called "Conditional" rego - although having just taken the cheque into the RMS for a work tractor, I do not see that there's much of a Concession! - and requires plates to be affixed fore and aft, a mirror and all for driving a couple metres across a newly created road.
Mounting the rear plate at under 1.3m would be mostly obscured by the slasher/other implement, so anywhere up high is ideal. Be a really miserable SOB copper that tried to book me for illegal plate location as I drive across a road about 50 metres wide (
gate to
gate).
Follow Up By: Member - Blue M - Tuesday, May 26, 2015 at 01:50
Tuesday, May 26, 2015 at 01:50
Hoyks
It was only last night I was reading on here about the idiots that travel on dirt roads at 100kph.
Tell me, what speed would you travel on a very corrugated dirt road that was sign posted at 100kph.
My guess it would not be the speed limit, and if I wanted to
test my vehicle and do 100 you would call me an "Idiot".
These rules that are quoted by you, do they refer to bitumen roads only, or do they cover all types of roads.
It often intrigues me how the interpretation of a law can change in the eyes of those that is displeases the most on the day.
Slow caravans,
Grey Haired Nomads, and the likes annoyed me for years, now I am one and it is my turn to annoy others, as I am sure you will when you get to my age.
Just my
views.