The single tissue issue
Submitted: Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 12:01
Member - drbob
Yet again on a trip to Northern Australia, despite the drought, the single tissue seems to have sprung up behind every bush. Ido not understand how women can continue to carry on this disgusting habit. It would not be too hard to put in a pocket, carry back to the fire or even carry a small plastic bag to put it in. Since most of these women would have a male partner with them , I think it is time we males put some pressure on our female partners to cease this practise. After all most of us males have stopped throwing empty beer cans out the car window.
Reply By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 12:07
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 12:07
drbob
Couldn't agree more.
To make matters worse, many of them are wipes that, unlike tissues, take a long time to break down.
Reply By: Member - John G - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 12:52
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 12:52
G'day drbob
I agree that it's a disgusting habit, but aren't you are drawing a long bow to lay the problem at feet (or should I say the nether regions?) of women alone. There are plenty of bushes with more than a single tissue behind them; maybe blokes just walk further into the bush?
If folks (
well, most folks) with dogs can be encouraged to pick it all up and place it in a plastic bag, then they (we) should be able to do it with our own waste, and carry it to . . .
well, where?
Perhaps an entrepreneur needs to develop packs of five sheets of tissue/
toilet paper with an attached deodorized plastic bag. That'd solve one environmental problem, but create another. And there's probably a public health regulation that says it's OK to dispose of animal waste in the nearest bin, but not human waste.
Follow Up By: Mick T3 - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 12:59
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 12:59
I don't mean to be rude,
John G., but the term "bloke" is now sexist. Feminists go into instant retribution mode if men use the term "sheela" or "girl" or "bird" to describe female colleagues at work. It can ruin a man's career.
It is now time we stood up to feminists and stop them from referring to men as "blokes", "chaps", etc.
Follow Up By: Member - John G - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 13:13
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 13:13
Onya Mick
And LOL. I've heard Macca trying to push that line on Sunday mornings, but I don't think it gets a lot of traction.
I think we could waste (pun on original topic intended) a lot of time going 'off topic' on this.
Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexic - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 19:57
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 19:57
I'm a bloke and proud of it. I always have beenand always will be.
The nancy political correct people can take a running jump as far as I am concerned and get over it.
Follow Up By: cobber - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 00:04
Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 00:04
I will second that Des Lexic..... and I have 3 sisters and 3 daughters and not one of them could care less if you called them Girls, and that goes for the majority of their Girl friends, so I don't know where this rubbish is coming from!
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 00:28
Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 00:28
A recent increase in this rubbish can be attributed to a certain female politician who played the sexism card with the help of her
lefty media friends.
Follow Up By: Slow one - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 05:33
Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 05:33
John,
is her name Toni Abbott, I notice she has been crying a lot lately and using heaps of tissues.
Follow Up By: Mudripper - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 22:15
Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 22:15
John (Vic)
Agreed. She should have had a sex change in order to become a woman. Or a girl, sheila, gal, bird, whatever. LOL
What a misogynist I am ::slap:: !!
Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 16:42
Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 16:42
Good to see another EO thread polluted by the same idiotic mentalities time and again.
Follow Up By: Slow one - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 18:32
Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 18:32
Agree Bazooka,
I answered
John (vic) because I hate political crap and one eyed bull stuff.
Lets get away from the he said she said crap that we see every day on the soapbox news panels.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 19:03
Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 19:03
There used to be chit chat rule!
Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 19:07
Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 19:07
Chit chat is far more intelligent than the childish nonsense regularly rolled out by these blokes.
Reply By: Kris and Kev - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 13:41
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 13:41
Not to mention on walks you find them wedged in between crevices etc. My wife always brings hers back and disposes of it correctly. It is not that hard. I will always remember being camped in a
free camp near Fog
Dam,
Kakadu and a wiz bang containing 4
young girls came and stayed the night. They took off in the morning and left behind a nice spread of tissues on the ground. One minute we thought what a lovely group of
young girls travelling and the next we thought what a bunch of filthy bit****. And there were rubbish
bins in the
camp ground!! Kevin
Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 14:39
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 14:39
So tell me drbob, What is your doctorate in, Sh1t Stirring? Excuse the pun.
Just on the off chance that you are serious, My experience on this and previous trips is that many rest areas, even those with
toilets, have a pretty fair collection of "paper flowers" blowing in the wind and decorating the surrounding area. Not having made a close study of the problem, but my casual observation is that many if not most of the "flowers" have a brown center and "petals" numbering much more than one. While not professing to be an anatomical expert such as your good self, I feel pretty confidant in saying that this trait is not exclusive to either sex.
Hmmm..let's see, on a scale of 1 to 10, which would be the most disgusting, a single sheet with a possibly damp center or a stream of sheets with a lovely brown drag stripe.
Not that I am condoning either variety but why draw attention to one type. I would think burying or burning or maybe taking with you would be more appropriate.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 16:04
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 16:04
Maybe because the "other type" has been discussed here at length.
Why is it that anything containing the word woman, lady or girl is immediately seized upon & deemed to sexist, yet males can be derided & put down to the enth degree without an eyebrow being raised?
This is patently obvious in the current crop of television advertisements.
It's a bit like we can't use slang terms to describe others with different coloured skin or religions, yet there a never a murmur when the term Pom is used!
Follow Up By: Member - drbob - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 16:56
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 16:56
Pop --a Gynaecologist . And my experience of this issue is that there are humdred times more single tissues and I believe even a Scotsman would use more than one tissue to wipe their ar****.regards Robin
Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 18:06
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 18:06
My apologies drbob.
Considering your area of expertise you are eminently qualified.
Maybe a Scotsman would identify himself by the use of both sides of the paper..(;-))
Follow Up By: nickoff - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 09:45
Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 09:45
This post needs a LIKE button.
Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 06:32
Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 06:32
Reminds me of the old joke where the Gynaecologist decided to become a mechanic. Bob, (and I am a mechanic.)
Reply By: John and Regina M - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 15:40
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 15:40
Haha. These sort of threads r a good joke. But valid.
Now if someone could tell smokers they r the world's biggest litterers and get them to take their filthy refuse with them for appropriate disposal then that's a war worth waging.
Follow Up By: Stoutman - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 16:13
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 16:13
I would say that the vast majority of smokers are filthy, stinking people. They reek of the stuff all of the time.
I have a retail
shop and they (smokers) will tread on the but on the footpath and walk in to my store just reeking of smoke.
I am opposite our local Centrelink Office and I would also say that the vast majority of smokers just but out on the footpath on their way in to the office.
I have always been a non smoker and can't stand the stuff around me.
The majority of smokers are just filthy dirty pigs.
I have had my say.
The Bigfella
Follow Up By: AlanTH - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 18:16
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 18:16
As an ex smoker I can but agree with you there fat man.....sorry stoutman. :_)
In WA we have regs about smoking in pubs so they stand right outside the doors smoking with it all blowing in. It's got so bad in my local I've stopped going there. The landlady will do nothing about it so I drink in her Mum's pub instead now!
As for tinkle tissues or other lovely flowers in the bush, we were at
Eagle Rock WA at
Easter, nice quiet posi and some locals rocked up, peace and quiet gone and one of them did their business at the base of
the rock and left the bog paper to cover it.......a bloody big
rock surrounded by
miles of sand and they couldn't be bothered to dig a hole!
I noticed when they left someone had covered it with a bit of rubbish carpet, probably something else they'd taken out there to dump.
And locals dare complain about tourist behaviour!
AlanH.
Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 18:15
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 18:15
G'day drbob
I see this quite often with my outback tour business and I would have a half educated guess that 25% of the problem lies with overseas tourists who think that "ahh there's nothing out here and a bit of paper won't bother anyone" and another 25% lies with the city slickers on their first outing 250 plus kilometres from their
home and their local restaurant and coffee
shop !
I lay down the rules on day one of my trips and anyone caught incorrectly disposing of "any rubbish" pays the price - they have to pay for all of my beer for the remainder of the trip - a very very costly mistake !! lol
Happy travelling ( in a hopefully clean enviroment ! )
Gazz
Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 18:24
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 18:24
Gidday gazz
Sadly, That still leaves 50 percent who should know better.
On our trip through Karlamilyi, aka
Rudall River national park, in early May, we came to believe we might have been the first group to visit some spots since last year. Apart from the fact there were no tyre tracks, there was no dunny paper at the
camp sites!
And there wasn't any when we left either.
Reply By: Member-Heather MG NSW - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 19:03
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 19:03
Yes, I totally agree with you drbob. I am an avid 'walker' and never leave any paper out along any of my walks. It's such an easy thing to carry a small plastic (snap lock) bag and take any rubbish back to a bin or
home!
cheers,
heather
Reply By: SDG - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 20:42
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 20:42
Been a
foster carer now for a few years. As a single male I only get boys.
During the last few years I have noticed something new with the different boys that are coming around.
As most of you would know, kids often do not flush the
toilet. What I have noticed is that many boys are now using a sheet or two when they go.
Going to be a new set of litterers in the future?
Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 20:55
Monday, Jun 16, 2014 at 20:55
As long as you train them to leave the up!
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 09:33
Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 09:33
Edit Function Please!!
Should have read ...
As long as you train them to leave the
seat up!
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 00:24
Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 00:24
A constant problem that is so easy to deal with.
I carry a quantity of brown paper lunch bags, they cost a couple of dollars for a couple of hundred from Coles etc.
Do the business, if number 2's bury the crap and place your paper and wet ones into the paperbag, then put the bag into your rubbish bag for either burning at a suitable later campfire or disposal in a proper bin etc.
No worries about animals digging up the paper, no throwing it on the ground, no trying to burn it in the
toilet hole.
Everyone knows what's in the brown paper bags and treats it accordingly.
You carried the paper out there, you can carry it
home, same with other rubbish.
It's not that difficult to do and requires a very small amount of effort and consideration.
Reply By: Slow one - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 06:13
Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 06:13
drbob,
one of the facts is this has occurred since man made his first stone wheel. When it broke he just left it lying where it failed.
Humans are humans and I am afraid you can't change that, while some will do the nice thing, others will just chuck it out the window or in this case let it blow in the wind.
When we go to a historical site it is just junk left lying around in the broken glass that was not useful elsewhere. On thing is, all the single wiping leaves have long returned to the earth without leaving a trace.
One advantage of brown flowers is, they are a warning of something more nasty lurking on the ground ready to attack your toes.
Reply By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 09:01
Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 09:01
I wonder what was used to clean up before the advent of the ubiquitous
toilet tissue.
No handy stream to dunk ones nether regions into. Can't use the local plants, too many green tree, or worse fire ants, and leaves that have nasty hairs that cause a case of "ring of fire".
Just rely on the local fly
population to do the job?
Hmmm...I am sure some uni student could wangle a government grant to conduct a thorough investigation and produce a "paper" to submit as part of a thesis.
(;-+)
Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 09:58
Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 09:58
You're on a roll today, Pop..........and I don't mean
toilet roll :-)
When I was a
young bloke, was told about the "Boorooloola Fly veil". This was simply a hole in the
seat of your strides..........the flies would then hang around your arse, and not worry your face!
Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 11:03
Tuesday, Jun 17, 2014 at 11:03
G'day Bob,
When we have a subject that is at the bottom of everyones heart, or should that the be the heart of everyones bottom... we need to explore all avenues so to speak. I mean this is not just an issue, or should that be tissue we can turn the other cheek to. I think a wee spot of explanation is in order, don't you?
As far as the "Boorooloola Fly veil" goes, this could be a solution but how do you know if the fly that just alighted on the corner of your mouth and proceeded to clean it's feet came from your fundamental orifice or that of another. Maybe even another species or should that be faeces.
(;=x)
Reply By: Grumblebum and the Dragon - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 17:22
Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 17:22
Anyone that leaves any kind of rubbish should be ashamed...... and ladies why is that it is OK to tuck a snotty germ laden handkerchief up your sleeve but gasp in horror at retrieving a bit of tissue with a smidge of sterile pee on it..... never figured that out.
Reply By: Member - Chris and Lindsay - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 21:55
Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 21:55
My husband does his bit to clean up. On
Davies Plain track Victoria last December rather than stay angry at the mess left by others beside the
Murray River, he got too and dug a hole and proceeded to collect all the mess with his spade and bury it. Doesn't solve the problem but felt better than just having to look at it. What upset us the most was that this is a 4wd track and a long way from where amateurs travel. These people should know better.
Reply By: Ozrover - Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 23:12
Wednesday, Jun 18, 2014 at 23:12
I had a dummy spit about this subject last year, when I constantly found
toilet paper scattered around the
Simpson Desert,
well being in town seems to make no difference, still finding the odd piece of
toilet paper in the campers area, 30 meters from the ablution blocks!
Yes, I do blame the girls, not just backpackers either!