Night Clothes

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 12:15
ThreadID: 95110 Views:2811 Replies:14 FollowUps:10

Related Pages

When I'm out bush during this beautiful time of the year (3 weeks and I'm out there) with the nights being crisp and fresh I wear track pants and top to bed but I turn around under the covers the tracky dacks get all twisted and tight around me. So I'm wondering what do other wear to bed? I've been thinking about thermal type clothing. Any suggestions?

Rod

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 12:53

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 12:53
Rod,

I wear the same as I do at home ................... My birthday suit hehehe

AnswerID: 484009

Follow Up By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 13:16

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 13:16
Second that.. and a second blanket.
FollowupID: 759267

Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 18:12

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 18:12
Jocks and tee shirt at most, otherwise nothing...
FollowupID: 759288

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 18:16

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 18:16
Maybe you should get Sam to Iron your birthday suit Kev as I reckon it would be a bit wrinkly? Anyway, ironed or otherwise I reckon you would be a horrible sight. LOL
FollowupID: 759289

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 12:54

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 12:54
Hi Rod,

At a guess you are referring to fleecy type track pants made from a knitted rather than a woven fabric, in which case they will tend to "catch" on your bedding as you move around - especially if you are using flanelette sheets, or no sheets. Thermals would probably do the same. Try something made from a smooth woven fabric and you might have less of a problem. Or use smooth sheets - or both!

Val

AnswerID: 484010

Reply By: TheMightyMoose - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 12:56

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 12:56
Mate you need warmer bedding. Then you can wear something like silk (or synthetic equivalent) PJs which allow for slippage.
AnswerID: 484012

Reply By: Lifetime Member-Heather MG NSW - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 13:38

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 13:38
Hi Rod,

Try merino thermals... (Icebreaker brand are my favourites - have a look at the website. They are not cheap but are are fantastic in cool weather. In fact merino clothing is fantastic any time of the year, depending on which weight garment you choose...good to layer too.

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 484018

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 22:23

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 22:23
Gday Heather
Lil Wes is in Christchurch at the moment and I have asked him to have a look for the Icebreaker product in case we need a new jacket or thermals.

FollowupID: 759328

Follow Up By: Lifetime Member-Heather MG NSW - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 06:38

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 06:38
Hi Musbry,

I am a kind of a walking advertisement for Icebreaker (and merino clothing in general) these days.....after buying a couple of pieces some years ago, I was so impressed I wear almost nothing else. It is so lightweight to travel with, wears well and easy to care for!

Have a look at these websites, both have some good specials at times and the prices are pretty competitive when converted to AUS $.
http://www.natureshop.com/au/icebreaker and
http://www.bivouac.co.nz/brands/icebreaker.htm

The cold weather arrived at our place yesterday and I wore my thermals to bed last night...in my case they are probably also a good contraceptive as I am, alas, no longer young and beautiful...was I ever?? lol

regards,

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

FollowupID: 759345

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 07:33

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 07:33
Good morning Heather
Now don't be like that. There is something beautiful about every woman, sometimes it is a bit hard to find , but its there.

FollowupID: 759347

Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 15:03

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 15:03
Get a good Doona with flannete sheets, then all you wear is what you had on when you were born.

The only time I wear thermals is when snow camping, and then I get to hot, but better when getting dressed in the morning.
AnswerID: 484027

Follow Up By: toffytrailertrash - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 15:16

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 15:16
Second and Third that. It has been well known for years that you will stay warmer in your birthday suit with a good quality doona and flannelette sheets. Just remember what you don't have on if you have to get up in the middle of the night....to check the possums.

Merv/Di
Sweet dreams..
FollowupID: 759281

Follow Up By: Ian & Sue - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 07:34

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 07:34
I am joining the birthday suit throng - I used to pack on heaps of cloths then met my now husband who had wintered twice at Mawson and Casey - he taught me less is best with good quality donna over. Hmmm... thinking about it now maybe an alterior motive????? :-) Seriously, he was right - as usual.

Sue
Karratha WA
FollowupID: 759348

Follow Up By: Member - wicket - Thursday, Apr 26, 2012 at 14:12

Thursday, Apr 26, 2012 at 14:12
Forget about the flannelette sheets, find yourself some polar fleece sheets, they leave the flannelette ones for dead, you do have to sleep naked though otherwise you'll get too warm.
FollowupID: 759516

Reply By: Member - Barnray (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 17:46

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 17:46
Don't forget the pepper and tweezers. B
AnswerID: 484036

Reply By: Member - Richard H - West NSW - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 18:10

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 18:10
Out bush, I'll sleep in what I'm wearing, sans footwear, if it's cold. Otherwise a pair of clean stubbies and a T shirt.

As an aside, in army days, when it was raining, which was most of the time, we were told to sleep in our wet clothes. The experts saying that they'll dry out a bit with your body heat, and then in the morning you don't have to put wet clothes back on. Which is not very pleasant at 5.30am.

Of course we didn't worry about the aches and pains of old age then, did we?

AnswerID: 484042

Reply By: Wayne david - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 21:10

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 21:10
Silks or satins work well and will not get caught up.

Silk is surprisingly warm & comfortable too.

And you can be assured of making a big impression at the Men's Washroom when you show-up to brush you teeth and so forth.

It's just a suggestion that not everyone is ready for yet. ;-)

Cheers - Wayne D
AnswerID: 484065

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 22:06

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 22:06
I found that a nice full bodied woman was as good or better than any fancy bed clothes. Trouble is, mine won't come with me on most trips, so it is thermals and a couple of good blankets , and a beeenie.

AnswerID: 484078

Reply By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 22:14

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 22:14
I wear undies, a singlet and a pair of socks if it is cold.

We use a wool filled doona in the roof top tent. In the snow we add an opened up sleeping bag on top of the doona.

In the heat the doona tends to find its way to the bottom of the bed.

AnswerID: 484080

Reply By: Dirt Princess - Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 23:34

Tuesday, Apr 24, 2012 at 23:34
A good pair of woolley socks. Wool doona and a beenie if it's that cold. If my feet are warm I'm warm and the slippery the clothes the better. But boy I look an awful sight, good thing I'll be in the bush.
AnswerID: 484095

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 07:41

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 07:41
Good morning
I think exploroz should have a pyjama party around the camp fire some time. That would be interesting,,,,,,,,,,

AnswerID: 484104

Reply By: Member - Geoff B (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 10:37

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 10:37
You could do what my brother-in-law does. When we are out in the desert, camping with camper trailers, they put their electric blanket on! Of course it has to go off when we turn the gennie off.
Sue B
AnswerID: 484141

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 10:50

Wednesday, Apr 25, 2012 at 10:50
Gday Geoff
I have a 12 volt electric blanket that I have never used. Next trip mught be time to test.

FollowupID: 759370

Reply By: ExplorOz - Thursday, Apr 26, 2012 at 13:13

Thursday, Apr 26, 2012 at 13:13
As usual, I find myself agreeing with Heather. Both David and I are also fond of the merino wool (Icebreaker brand) clothing/thermals. They come in long sleeve/leg and short sleeve/leg and even singlets and shorts options and a wide variety of styles (round neck, v-neck, high neck, low neck) and colours/patterns. However, we have always just bought them from our local Mountain Designs store but I guess you might get them cheaper online... must look at those links, thanks Heather.

We wear them on cold mornings in winter out cycling under our jersey tops as they wick away the sweat yet keep your warm - somehow, I don't know the science but technical fabrics are well worth their money. David's first merino singlet has lasted daily use for 5 years. We also run in ours as they are great for adjusting to temperature and best of all they tend to repeal body odour too so are ideal for camping/adventure/workouts.

This post relates to what to wear to bed camping in winter - and yes, we started out wearing thermals (also from Mountain Design) but now we always wear our merino icebreakers to bed. Very similar to thermals only the fabric is better. You don't get tangled and you don't get overheated, and you stay toasty warm. Highly recommended.

Best of luck with your PJ dilema! I'm a bit freaked out by the suggestion of an ExplorOz pj party though!!!

ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

AnswerID: 484265