Superwinch X9

Submitted: Monday, Dec 22, 2003 at 23:31
ThreadID: 9290 Views:9316 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
Forumites,
Just been offered a Superwinch X9 at a very good price, only been used approx 4 times, 3 years old looks good to me. Anyway could I have some real life experiences, I'll take both good and bad, looks easy enough to fit seeing as I have a winch bull bar, what I need is a wiring diagram / user manual anyone got one they can fax me or even better email to me. I figured out the majority of the bigger wires it's just a small black one that's got me, does this go to the chassis as an earth or does it go to the X9 solenoid box somewhere. Thanks in anticipation, I've checked the archives can't fnd a wiring diagram. Ta Keep the shiny side up

Reply By: Member - Ross - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 00:09

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 00:09
Know nothing about them, but the earth wire for the main circuit should be as heavy as the +'ve ... so more likely for a secondary circuit. Perhaps solenoid as you suggest.Fidei defensor

Rosco
AnswerID: 40918

Reply By: Member - Eric- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 00:49

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 00:49
I have a superwinch on my 80 series and love it . I have used it twice recovering Nissans ( you going to bite Truckster/ Diamond lol ) havent had to use the snatch block as yet , so in other words very happy . Remember that you can get them on specoal for around $1100 , so for a second hand one , you want it to be alot cheaper since you dont get warranty , the little black wire that come from the control box , goes to the eath on the winch body Venus Bay
AnswerID: 40926

Follow Up By: jemima puddle duck - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 14:01

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 14:01
gday ereic.
its crissy time mate why would we bite lol.
have a happy and safe one mate.you reckon your cute
richard(eskimo)
but im a lot cuter

FollowupID: 303501

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 16:27

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 16:27
Soooooooo you mean you used the Nissans as winch points and hauled yourself out? I have seen many a Toyota recover a Nissan like that!!Laterally Literal
Seriously Cerebral
FollowupID: 303521

Follow Up By: Member - Eric- Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:49

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 22:49
say what you like boys , but the video dosnt lie lol Venus Bay
FollowupID: 303568

Reply By: tim - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 07:07

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 07:07
Martyn
I got a ramsay winch at a good price with no instructions either so i rang a distributer and they faxed me the info i needed. Even look for the manufacturer or on the web and you may be able to download of get sent instructions and wiring diagrams.
Tim
AnswerID: 40937

Reply By: gompy - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 12:26

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 12:26
Martyn,
go to http://www.superwinch.com/support/images/wiring/x9
you can download the complete owner's manual or just the diagram.
I have an X9 and am very happy with it.
AnswerID: 40959

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:41

Tuesday, Dec 23, 2003 at 15:41
Gompy,
Did that great help, just what I wanted, wiring diagram in colour to boot. Thanks.Keep the shiny side up
FollowupID: 303518