White Tyre Paint

Submitted: Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 13:16
ThreadID: 91695 Views:5428 Replies:25 FollowUps:20

My BFG atr's have started to lose their white paint on the branding after alot of off road use. Are any of you able to recommend what i should use to touch it up with? I used a white paint marker however this just rubs off with any sort of abrasion.

I found this stuff, but is this what i need?

http://www.badpennycustoms.com.au/zen/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=248

I must admit when i went around this the pen, they actually looked fantastic, so if this works ill be really impressed! I was also thinking i could spray the tyre with some sort of sealant to avoid the abrasion?

Thanks.

Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 13:28

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 13:28
Any auto shop shoulkd have tyre marking crayons.......they look just like a white crayon but are made to be used on tyres.
AnswerID: 477110

Reply By: member - mazcan - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 13:47

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 13:47
hi danz1M
the white lettering has no effect on the longivity or safety factors/grip/performance of your tyres and is just u .s. a. b/-sh--
but if you insist on the letters been white try a white out pen it is quiet durable but the actuall tyre pens maybe better in the long run and more resistant to dirt and mud
AnswerID: 477111

Follow Up By: bob smith 1 - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 13:53

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 13:53
.....Yeh but it looks heaps better and that's what counts !
BS
FollowupID: 752279

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 17:32

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 17:32
Maybe he should try pink or flouro green for a difference?
FollowupID: 752300

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 19:54

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 19:54
Why would he try fluro pink or green?
FollowupID: 752315

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 14:08

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 14:08
I have assumed that the white is in fact white rubber - a layer under the outer black layer, which emerges in the lettering. Anyway, giving the tyres a thorough work over with a scrubbing brush and a good cream cleanser (I use Jif) will make the black really black and the white much cleaner. If you do give that a try, wear gloves - Jif is really bad for skin.
AnswerID: 477115

Reply By: vk1dx - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 14:24

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 14:24
I turn them around so that you cannot see the lettering. Not only do I think that it looks out of place on a 4WD thats used as a 4WD, but we have had several sets of newish mud tyres stolen within a radius of 10 Kms of our house. So no to advertising. Kind of marks the car as a "city" suv.

AnswerID: 477120

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 16:11

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 16:11
"I turn them around so that you cannot see the lettering"
Same here Phil.
I use to have the white letter on the outside on my street cars, then I decided it looked better being black, carried that over to the 4wd.
Each to their own I guess.

FollowupID: 752295

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 16:26

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 16:26
Too true

We had the lettering showing on the 1968 Holden HK. But that was a show. And NOT they were not white walls.

FollowupID: 752296

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 16:50

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 16:50
A good mate has just put a set of white walls on his 69 XW ute, looks real nice too with the 12 slotters.
Even has the white Venetian rear window sun defector and the hinged mesh stoneguard headlight protectors and he is chasing a meshed windscreen protector as well.
Hmmm
FollowupID: 752297

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 17:05

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 17:05
Mesh winscreen protectot! I haven't seen one of those since my sister had one on her Chev Bellair. They lived in Holbrook and a lot of the roads were gravel as well as the sides of the the old Hume.

Best of luck there. May have to make it.

Phil Thinking we are drifting of into the OT world mate.
FollowupID: 752298

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 18:27

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 18:27
"Kind of marks the car as a "city" suv"

this might be viewed as reverse psychology-but "in the bush" I dont think many if any give a rats crack whether their letters are this way or that.
I think its more to do with city folk wanting to look "bush" and its a "cool" fad not to face them out.
Some give the impression that being a city person is something to hide or be ashamed of-I kind of wonder why?
FollowupID: 752308

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 20:09

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 20:09
The only time I would never turn then around (white lettering facing out) is if they gave me a set for FREE..... then I would kindly advertise for them.

I have never understood why people put stuff like ARB, TJM, Warn, Cooper, BFG and the list goes on and on stickers on their 4x4's... hey if someone want to put my name on thier 4x4 I'm happy to do it...... that's if you pay an exaggerated price for the sticker.

I have a simple motto...... if you want to advertise on my 4x4 user pays!
FollowupID: 752318

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 20:37

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 20:37
Hey Phil,
Thread, 71382, Windscreen Stoneguard

fisho64, I don't give a rats what others do, It's just my preference to have the writing on the inside.
Just like when I bought my new Smoked Bonnet Protector for the cruiser, the young girl asked if for an extra 20 bucks I could get the word LandCruiser sticker for it. I asked why, I know it's a landcruiser, I don't have to tell others what it is.

Hey olcoolone, not a bad way of looking at it.
"if you want to advertise on my 4x4 user pays!"

FollowupID: 752321

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 20:52

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 20:52
Hey you guys. Don't start me on advertising. Thats why we are getting a plain spare wheel cover. Unless I can get an Eels one.

I have three stickers on the car. One for Bilstein as they did me a deal. One for the 4WD workshop because they warrant it as they have done extra for us. And one for the coppers to read when they look at the windscreen.

Nice chat guys. Not one argument. Thats surprises me. I have to go to bed. Bloody treatment early tomorrow.

Catchya

FollowupID: 752322

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 21:28

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 21:28
Put covers on my spares so they weren't stolen, even put 3 different size wheel nuts to confuse them as well.
Andy

FollowupID: 752326

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2012 at 07:39

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2012 at 07:39
We have a padlock on the Kaymar carrier. It was used by the local Parks mob on a gate near our place that gave us rear access to our house as well as giving them another exit in case of fire.. They had a fire and couldn't open it even with the bolt cutters. The mechanism froze up. They had cut the chain. They gave me the padlock. I already had a key from a friendly ranger years back.

Worked wd40 etc into it and then soaked it in a PCB (Printed Circuit Board) cleaner in to remove everything and then filled it with graphite. Works a treat. It took a while.

I am happy that the smaller, even larger, bolt cutters that a thief were to carry will not open it. Don't worry I work the padlock to keep it in good order. Wouldn't be good to have to cut up the Kaymar to get at the spare if the padlock froze up again. Hey!

FollowupID: 752454

Reply By: Ray - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 14:25

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 14:25
Why should you want to paint them anyway??????
Perhaps some of the older readers remember white spats that used to be on cars. Mainly American cars when they used to be called automobiles
AnswerID: 477121

Reply By: Member - David M (SA) - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 14:38

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 14:38
Think I read some where that by having the white on the outside you get more punctures so I always have mine inside.
Dave.
AnswerID: 477124

Follow Up By: Axle - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 15:06

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 15:06
You go faster having them that way as well Dave!..))).

FollowupID: 752289

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 15:54

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 15:54
Axle

I always considered you a little 'out there' but not any more.

You beat me to the keyboard on this one, however you and I both now know that we are the only ones 'in the know' re this little gem of 4WD technology.

DD

PS

It's also why you don't see white lettering on 2WD sedans - makes them go too fast.
FollowupID: 752293

Reply By: time waster - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 15:01

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 15:01
I use a steelo that brings the white up like new.
AnswerID: 477125

Follow Up By: Member - Carl- Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 16:00

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 16:00
scotch brite scouring pad is even matter with some detergent
FollowupID: 752294

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 16:45

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 16:45
To refinish white lettering on a 4WD tyre there is really only one worthwhile product. Look here.

AnswerID: 477129

Reply By: CraigB - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 17:58

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 17:58
Try toothpaste!
AnswerID: 477135

Reply By: River Swaggie - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 17:58

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 17:58
The blokes wants to do his tyres white and is asking whats the best product to use...ffs...

Not because you used to do it and now you have decided its a wank factor so reply with B.S...

Oh my MTZ's where put on how they decided too (tyre joint)...So the lettering is facing in..
AnswerID: 477136

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 18:21

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 18:21
well said-but you will get moderated cos you used a word commonly used in the bush but a little sensitive for here :-)
FollowupID: 752307

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 18:49

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 18:49
I just give 'em a good scrub with a stiff-bristle scrubbing brush...

If that doesn't work for you, Supercheap has this >>

Tyre & Touch Up Stick

I also use o this stuff on a regular basis, seems to slow the "ageing" process >>

CRC 'So Easy' Tyre Care

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 477138

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 19:22

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 19:22
DanziM
I like the white letters on the outside too
Gotta do a little pose , and attitude.

Twice a year I really clean up my tyres to get the cow schyte, and red mud off everything.
Has to be good, mind you I like to park up to some do-gooder when the 4B is as filthy as too.

Different pose then, that's the "Redneck pose.

Autobahn sell "Eagle 1, All wheel and Tyre cleaner"
For my femanine side

Clean tyres and rims first with this stuff, then do the lettering , why not ?

Cheers Bucky
AnswerID: 477139

Reply By: Bigfish - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 20:03

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 20:03
Sugar soap...bloody brilliant
AnswerID: 477143

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 21:08

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 21:08
I will second the brilliant sugar soap. Great product.

And Danz M if you want your 4 be to look good that is great.

Happy cleaning,
RA.
FollowupID: 752325

Reply By: Crocks - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 21:07

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 21:07
Use a small river stone or pumice stone and scrub with water. It always works.
AnswerID: 477148

Reply By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 22:36

Monday, Feb 06, 2012 at 22:36
I've heard it said that every piece of camping kit should have two uses. A cake of Solvol works perfectly on white lettering, and your hands are clean afterwards :-)

Frank

AnswerID: 477156

Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 09:37

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 09:37
I think if you're out camping and are worrying about your white lettering then you should probably stay at home.

Agree about everything have dual uses though.
FollowupID: 752347

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 10:20

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 10:20
No, Ben, though I do other maintenance in the bush, the desert red is only removed in the driveway at home.

The solvol is useful in the camp, though.

FollowupID: 752351

Reply By: Member - DingoBlue(WA) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 10:15

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 10:15
It's not white paint, it's white rubber. Just clean with water and pumice stone. no need for expensive cleaners from auto shops.
Rather a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy!

AnswerID: 477168

Reply By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 11:19

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 11:19
As others have posted..if its "real white lettering" it is white rubber moulded into the tyre.

like evrything this white rubber oxidises.

To bring it back some sort of abrasive is the go.....pummice and river stones have been mentioned.

back in the day we used to use 180 or 240 wet & dry on a block with bucket or soapy water..it don't take much.

AnswerID: 477172

Reply By: wombat100 - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 11:55

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 11:55
Don't forget to polish the dip-stick while you're at it !!!!!

AnswerID: 477176

Reply By: Member - Lloyd M - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 16:13

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 16:13
I'm very casual about cleaning the vehicle, just give everything a very hot, soapy blast with the pressure cleaner on the outside and blow everything out from inside with the aircompressor. The pressure cleaner would clean up the white rubber on the tyres (but mine face inwards).

AnswerID: 477205

Reply By: Inflataduck - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 22:05

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 22:05
Ive alway just scrabbed mine to bring them back but if you want to paint them I have geniune white hypalon paint used on inflatable boats & a lot of guys use it to paint the old white wall look (just msg)
AnswerID: 477248

Reply By: Member - Tony H (touring oz) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2012 at 22:53

Reply By: swampy460 - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2012 at 06:42

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2012 at 06:42
I used to keep a rubber sanding block with 240 grit wet and dry in my wash kit, easy and brings them up like new.

Swampy
AnswerID: 477262

Reply By: petengail - Thursday, Feb 09, 2012 at 11:41

Thursday, Feb 09, 2012 at 11:41
I think this explanation from Wikipedia sums it all up

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anal_retentiveness
AnswerID: 477342

Reply By: xtragrouse - Friday, Feb 10, 2012 at 11:39

Friday, Feb 10, 2012 at 11:39
I had my LC detailed, and couldn't believe how the lettering came up on the tyres. Seems the Detailers use some sort of acid cleaner.
AnswerID: 477414

Reply By: 267 - Monday, Feb 13, 2012 at 21:05

Monday, Feb 13, 2012 at 21:05
Use a cake of Solvol soap to scrub the white lettering and then rinse off and the lettering will look like new. Brother put me onto this method and they come up looking like new with no need to paint the lettering.
AnswerID: 477688