Alternative Piston Choices : Quote ZD30 - Four Cracked Pistons - Follow Up #6279

Submitted: Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 13:54
ThreadID: 90728 Views:9028 Replies:10 FollowUps:3
Hello, Similar problem to other posts 62790 etc. 2004 GUIII STL Auto ZD30 has 4 cracked Pistons along gudgeon pin centre line, and 8mm blow hole in No: 3 @ 110k on the this the second motor.NRMA very good & towed us back from Dubbo to Penrith with the Caravan. 1st original motor only did 40k back in 2006 & blew hole in No: 1 only other 3 were OK. (was replaced under warranty)
Minimal wear on this engine, absolutely no ring lip in bore, still to measure bore dia's & crank journals to check for any discrepancies. All failures have been whilst towing our 2500 kg caravan which the vehicle is rated to accept.
I am not in touch with the goings on these days and I have a few questions:
1. Is there anyone out there who has used any alternative after-market Pistons (steel or otherwise) that have been highly successful in combating this cracking problem??
2. Any success also with using an additional (air) lube oil cooler in conjunction with the water-cooled plate heat exchanger on the side of the block??
3. What about the EGR system performance which contradicts why you have an intercooler on a turbo diesel (Engineering Science & logic). Should it be blocked off?

we are retired and have no disposable income so I cant trade this thing or who would buy it, Not towing...great, towing it can't hack it (boy doing a man's job)'and we have a lot of caravanning still to do in this great country of ours,
cheers to all & have a Safe & Blessed Christmas.
Donald A

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 14:11

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 14:11
Try ACL's Dura-Lite range of pistons. A popular choice by performance engine builders.

Fab.
AnswerID: 472900

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 14:37

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 14:37
Sorry to hear about your second engine failing, You should be able to get all the info you want herehttp://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/
Cheers Dave.
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 472903

Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 14:59

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 14:59
Retired & Lovin it, Sorry to hear about your problems but it's almost common place with that engine. Not sure if you could nominate what pistons are used in a warranty job, and I don't believe it's the pistons that are failing, is it, isn't it more a design issue.? Increasing the oil capacity and cooling the oil better are your best options. If you are retired the last thing you want to worry about is engine failure and reliability, get out of it someway and buy a Cruiser if you could afford it.
AnswerID: 472905

Reply By: Patrol22 - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 18:05

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 18:05
I can't figure this problem out at all.....there are thousands of ZD30 engines running around with no problems at all.....and there are others that seemed to be bloody possessed and just giving their owners no end of problems. I think that most effort has gone into preventing overboost and egt problems among the Patrol 4x4 community so that is probably the best place to conduct your research as someone has already posted.
AnswerID: 472913

Reply By: Geoff H (Q - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 19:15

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 19:15
The Patrol forum is really good, they have heaps of information of the ZD30. There are a number of recommendations for stoping the problems, so it might be worth spending a few thousand for some peace of mind.

Best of luck.
AnswerID: 472919

Reply By: bushfly 1 - Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 21:04

Monday, Dec 19, 2011 at 21:04
I went through an over boost problem with my 3lt auto earlier this year.
I nearly went nuts and broke trying to get the issue resolved.
If you have read up you know that the over boost issue is the lead up to more serious problems that you have experienced.

I am a member of the Nissan Patrol Club of NSW. I followed the advice to back off the VNT screw a half turn and I haven't had a problem since.
That was 9 months ago, I've been 4WDing and towed my caravan without a problem.

Beware there is a lot of misinformation out there. I tried a few ideas but this simple one fixed it at no cost.

This may not solve the immediate problem but may prevent it happening again.

AnswerID: 472927

Follow Up By: Retired & Lovin It - Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 21:56

Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 21:56
Hello,
Well I rebuilt the ZD30, amazing there was no wear or damage apart from 4 piston crowns, After considerable measuring a clean-up bore hone and Standard sizes re-used throughout, Changing oil & Lube Oil Filter every 5000km kept it clean.
I did not service the Injection Pump or the injectors as only 110,000km use & I intend the upgrade the vehicle. (Repair cost under $2K so far),
Re-assembled strictly in accordance with manual. Easy to rotate by hand and socket on front pulley with glow plugs out, All timing marks spot on, started easy

Having said that.... the mongrel won't rev more than 1500 rpm & exhaust won't go above 160deg c @ turbo inlet.. Starving of fuel, plenty of air...
It is diagnostics time..
The only error code that comes up when checked is 0505 which is.."No Faults Detected" I read up on the Air mass flow sensor and carried out the voltage checks as specified, all indications it is OK??
I can't drive it more than 10k hr so I am stuck, will need it towed to.....

any ideas out there on what I may of missed or overlooked, disposable income does not exist these days
FollowupID: 749987

Reply By: toohey - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 06:36

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 06:36
g'day donald
i feel sorry for you mate,bl..dy disapointing.the van at 2500kg is the max tow for your patrol,a bit of other gear then may be a bit over,i towed 1650kg van ,loaded ,witha zd30 navara fitted with an egt gauge,the egt temps had be watched as they woud get very high,sorry to say mate i reckon the van is to heavy for that motor.i think some vehicle makers kid em selves about max tow capacity,the manual for my 2003 navara said 3500kg max that is crazy,later dropped to 2800kg.
cheers toohey
AnswerID: 472955

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 17:45

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 17:45
I agree with Bushfly, pistons are more a symptom than a cause. Overboost and overfuel problems are commonly the cause, usually brought on by MAF sensor problems and other simple things to fix. Amazing how many stories I've heard of multiple failures until the real problem was addressed. Investing in boost and EGT gauges were peace of mind for me. Tranny temp is a good idea too if you are heavy towing. I did 130K on mine and it ran like a swiss watch but I watched the MAF sensor and air filters closely and monitored boost and EGT to be sure. It always had something on the back of it and I learnt that it liked to rev, not lug for lower figures all round.

OBT
AnswerID: 472999

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 21:31

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2011 at 21:31
Hi Retired and lovin it
I used to get alot of ZD30 engines through my workshop prior to me selling it in Penrith. I used to get them rebuilt in Melbourne at a company called "The complete engine company" (02) 9604 3266. Don't worry about the Sydney number it will divert.
Trevor will be the man to speak to. He will be able to tell you what brand he uses in them. I never had one return ZD30 or any other engine in about 10 years from them.

Scott
AnswerID: 473015

Follow Up By: Retired & Lovin It - Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 22:00

Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 22:00
Gidday Scott, I got my parts from them in Melbourne, they werea great help and a good deal also.
Please have a look at my reply (10) on this original post. I am still not out of the Jungle yet and you may be able to point me in the right directions,
cheers Don
FollowupID: 749988

Reply By: Retired & Lovin It - Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 21:53

Sunday, Jan 15, 2012 at 21:53
Hello,
Well I rebuilt the ZD30, amazing there was no wear or damage apart from 4 piston crowns, After considerable measuring a clean-up bore hone and Standard sizes re-used throughout, Changing oil & Lube Oil Filter every 5000km kept it clean.
I did not service the Injection Pump or the injectors as only 110,000km use & I intend the upgrade the vehicle. (Repair cost under $2K so far),
Re-assembled strictly in accordance with manual. Easy to rotate by hand and socket on front pulley with glow plugs out, All timing marks spot on, started easy

Having said that.... the mongrel won't rev more than 1500 rpm & exhaust won't go above 160deg c @ turbo inlet.. Starving of fuel, plenty of air...
It is diagnostics time..
The only error code that comes up when checked is 0505 which is.."No Faults Detected" I read up on the Air mass flow sensor and carried out the voltage checks as specified, all indications it is OK??
I can't drive it more than 10k hr so I am stuck, will need it towed to.....

any ideas out there on what I may of missed or overlooked, disposable income does not exist these days
AnswerID: 475027

Follow Up By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Monday, Jan 16, 2012 at 08:51

Monday, Jan 16, 2012 at 08:51
I am presuming you have a manual.
Check the vacuum hoses that run from the mass air flow sensor/air intake area to the turbo. It is quite easy to mix these hoses up and have them the wrong way around. The only other thing I would check is all the electrical connections. It sounds like an electrics problem because if it was fuel or air or mechanical it would not start. By it starting means all that is ok and the fuel is being restricted. If it is an air restriction due to blockage or inop turbo, it would still rev up but alot slower. I would check the big plug on the back of the injector pump.
Just some thoughts
Scott
FollowupID: 750008