100 series batterys

g'day all
i'm going to fit a third battery in the rear of my cruiser,manual isolator,which one of the original dual batterys should i connect it to.
thanks in advance
cheers toohey

Reply By: luke80 - Tuesday, Nov 01, 2011 at 21:47

Tuesday, Nov 01, 2011 at 21:47
I would think the second battery, not the crank. That way you can link those two together and run flat with all your appliances and still start the truck. Also then your crank batt will still charge first then the other two together. If you linked it to the crank and then forgot to isolate and ran flat you wouldn't be able to start But I am only guessing as I have never done this.
AnswerID: 469036

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 07:22

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 07:22
Toohey,

I think the 100 series uses two batteries connected in parallel for cranking the engine. If this is the case connecting to either is in fact connecting to both and is fine. Not sure what you mean by a manual isolator - suggest something like this one would do the job automatically and reliably. I assume you are using the third battery for household chores like running a fridge. ( Due to losses in the long cable, it won't be much help to the main batteries if you are planning on it supplementing them.)

AnswerID: 469050

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 09:07

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 09:07
You are correct John. They are in parallel. I have not heard nor read of anyone successfully separating them either. So it doesn't matter which one he connects to.

To Toohey.
We have a 100 series with two fridges. A 40L as a fridge and a 21L purely as a freezer. We also have two low voltage detector devices in line, one for each fridge, with the fridges that switch the power to the fridge off if it gets too low. At least that way we can start the car.

We have as yet not had any troubles with batteries and only have the standard ones fitted without a third. But it is not a bad idea. May even do it myself one day.

FollowupID: 743381

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 20:36

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 20:36
"I have not heard nor read of anyone successfully separating them either."
You are Joking of course vk1dx
FollowupID: 743431

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 21:52

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 21:52

Not at all.

I personally have not heard of it being done. I am not saying that it hasn't.

Maybe it has.

Have you?

FollowupID: 743435

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 22:03

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 22:03
PS: I see Muddy.au has done it. Thats a first for me.

FollowupID: 743437

Follow Up By: chisel - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 23:27

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 23:27
A significant percentage of the 100 series owners on lcool have split their starting batteries in order to have a primary starter and a secondary 'auxiliary' battery.
FollowupID: 743448

Reply By: Member - Howard P (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 15:36

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 15:36
Hi Toohey,
I have installed a 3rd battery in the engine bay of my 100 series, this is connected to the 2 paralleled start batteries via a Redarc solenoid, and then run cables to fridge plugs etc to the rear of the vehicle. This system works well and the isolator will separate the batteries when the voltage of either battery falls below the isolator's set point. Another advantage is the solenoid has an external start button which enables you to start the vehicle if the start batteries fail.
Hope this info helps
Howard
AnswerID: 469067

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 17:41

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 17:41
Howard

Have you got a picture of the engine bay? One day we may do the same and any info would be great.

FollowupID: 743411

Follow Up By: toohey - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 18:02

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 18:02
g'day howard
which battery is it connected to passenger side or drivers.
thanks for the answers to all.
cheers toohey
FollowupID: 743413

Follow Up By: Muddy.au - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 19:05

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 19:05
It is connected to passenger side in most 3 battery set ups.
FollowupID: 743418

Follow Up By: Member - Howard P (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 22:26

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 22:26
Hi Toohey
The battery is connected to the passenger's side battery, the fuel filter was moved to allow the 3rd battery to be installed.

Sorry mate no pic's of the engine bay, if you can send me a member message I will take some pics late next week when I get home from work.

Howard
FollowupID: 743440

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 22:43

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 22:43
Unfortunately I am not a member.

Muddy.au posted a pic and I copied that. My email is vk1dx@bigpond.net.au.

I am not in a hurry as the current twin Allrounders are doing an excellent job. Looking at the multitude of wires which come of BOTH batteries it will not be just a simple job. But I have not given up yet. I am unable to do it myself so it will be given to an auto electrician to do it for us. But I need to know more before we decide either way. So any photo will help.

FollowupID: 743441

Reply By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 17:02

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 17:02
toohey,

I run a 100AH AGM battery in the rear to power accessories such as the fridge.
It is connected to the main battery through a Piranha isolator.
Has worked well for many years although currently trying to isolate a .5 amp current drain when everything is turned off.
AnswerID: 469074

Follow Up By: toohey - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 18:42

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 18:42
g'day richard
same as above follow up which one.
cheers mates.
toohey
FollowupID: 743416

Follow Up By: Member - Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 06:08

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 06:08
toohey,

Assuming you mean which main battery, the passenger side battery is normally considered the main battery in the TD100.
FollowupID: 743451

Reply By: Muddy.au - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 19:29

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 19:29
Toohey it is true the 100 series uses two batteries connected in parallel for cranking the engine, they are 450CCA each. I ran a third battery for a few years but found the smaller size that fitted in the space under the hood did not offer enough amp hours for my application.
I split the 2 originals with a redarc, replaced the starter with a 760CCA N77 and in the other position (drivers side) fitted a 105 AH N77 as the auxiliary, a simple solution, now after 4 years I have just replaced it with a 120AH Fullriver

AnswerID: 469083

Follow Up By: toohey - Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 20:00

Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011 at 20:00
cheers and thanks
toohey.
FollowupID: 743425

Reply By: murrayman - Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 08:04

Thursday, Nov 03, 2011 at 08:04
Hi all, i also installed the third battery under the bonnet like howard. i rerouted the wiring so both crankers are on the passenger side, the new battery carrier will only take a ns 50 size battery. i run a 710 cca and a 530 cca as crankers and a n70zz size deep cycle on the drivers side chargered via a rotronics for the auxillary. i also installed a manaul link using a master switch to link all batterys together when not running anything on the aux battery for long periods of time to make all batterys active in the system. This has increased the life of my aux battery by heaps. Have been doing the charging system on my landcruisers for many years this way and it works well. cheers mm.
AnswerID: 469108