tare of 1983 Viscount

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 11:38
ThreadID: 89497 Views:6170 Replies:3 FollowUps:12
Hi does anyone know the tare weight of an 1983 Viscount aerolite,
cant seem to get any info anywhere's, there being out of production.

Reply By: snoopyone - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 12:30

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 12:30
Some idea of the size may be a help. Otherwise like finding a needle in the dark.

AnswerID: 467330

Follow Up By: STAN C1 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 13:56

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 13:56
yere you right,(it would help) its 15ft , and tug is an Xtrail
FollowupID: 741435

Reply By: disco driver - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 13:07

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 13:07
Stan,
My 82 Viscount Grand Tourer 16ft says "Tare 800kg" on it's rego papers.
That doesn't mean that it's totally accurate, but is a start.

The Aerolite is quite a bit lighter but I'm not prepared to guess by how much.

The safest and easiest way is to take it to a public weighbridge and weigh it. Keep the weighbridge docket with your other papers relating to the van.

Disco.
AnswerID: 467332

Follow Up By: STAN C1 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 13:58

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 13:58
Tks for that Disco, I thought mine would have been around the 800kg, its 15ft in length . I'll have to look around to find a weighbridge somewhere's in Gippsland
vic..
FollowupID: 741436

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 15:19

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 15:19
Gday Stan
If you google Public weigh bridges in Victoria, there is a list of all the address

FollowupID: 741451

Follow Up By: STAN C1 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 12:16

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 12:16
Thankyou Muzbry, will be getting on to it now
Stan
FollowupID: 741550

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 13:24

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 13:24
Pleasure Stan

FollowupID: 741554

Follow Up By: STAN C1 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 14:34

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 14:34
hi Muzbry & Disco,
Looked up weighbridges and found one in my area (thks Muza)
Disco, looked at my rego sticker and the tare says 940kg havig only just purchased the van havent got the rego papers yet, due for rego in Feb 2012.
stan
FollowupID: 741563

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:00

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:00
Gday Stan
It's all to easy Stan....

FollowupID: 741565

Follow Up By: STAN C1 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:17

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:17
Muzbry,
Photo's of you aren't far from where I live.
FollowupID: 741568

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:39

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 15:39
Gday Stan
I'll let you know next time we come up that way...

FollowupID: 741570

Reply By: ozjohn0 - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 11:28

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 11:28
from memory the Tare was around 940Kg and 960Kg with two gas cylinders, but best to get it weighed to be on the safe side.
Remember to empty the water tanks, and have empty gas cylinder(s) or subtract the weight of any LPG in the cylinder(s).
Cheers, ozjohn.
AnswerID: 467510

Follow Up By: STAN C1 - Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 12:14

Thursday, Oct 13, 2011 at 12:14
thks for that oz john, the water tank is empty and have only one gas cylinder for van it's off at present , might as well leave it off.... Ive just put a new coupling on so i will be able to disengage brake when reversing...
cheers Stan C1
FollowupID: 741650

Follow Up By: ozjohn0 - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 13:42

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 13:42
Stan,
leave the Gas bottle on Mate, just subtract the gas weight for the weigh bridge figure.
I.e. a full cylinder will have 8 - 9Kg of LPG.
Cheers, ozjohn.
FollowupID: 741732

Follow Up By: STAN C1 - Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 14:40

Friday, Oct 14, 2011 at 14:40
ozjohn0 right thanks for that mate, will put it on before weighing...
good to know all of this info...
stan
FollowupID: 741736