Isuzu D max dual cab ute

Submitted: Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 18:01
ThreadID: 89484 Views:6609 Replies:8 FollowUps:18
I am looking at changing my prado for a d max ute because of the 3 ton towing capacity.
If anybody has one what is your opinion ?/ My van has a tare weight of 2160kg
Ken

Reply By: Nickywoop - Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 18:28

Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 18:28
Ken,

You won't go wrong. I had a Toyota m/v turbo diesel 80 series and sold it (only because I wanted a traytop), and bought a D max 2 years ago, and I can't fault it. Pulls my van which is a Coromal Pioneer XC (about 2 ton loaded), with as much ease as the Toyota. The Isuzu does less revs at the same speed.
I jusy filled the Isuzu with diesel this morning and it took 62 litres and had done 616 kms, about 320 of the distance towing a tandem trailer with 2 ton in it.

Nick
AnswerID: 467272

Follow Up By: shylok - Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 19:08

Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 19:08
Many thanks Nick & Warren for your replies
I know that with the prado it does not like going up hills and that is with a chip and was worried that the power and torque of the d max is approx the same and auto is also a 3 speed with overdrive
I dont know how the 3 door prado can tow up to 3 tonne
Ken
FollowupID: 741382

Reply By: Warren B - Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 18:44

Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 18:44
Hi mate, sold the 80 series and got new D Max in Feb this year. Am i happy ? you betcha !!. Our van is a " Dirt road van" and i guess loaded it weighed 2800kg + we have modified the Max bull bar, winch, 2nd battery, ironman suspension lifted 55mm. towed the van up through mungo, mennindee, milparinka. nocunda innaminkca, the strezlicki track flinders rangers etc, we got 14 -15l / 100 klm most of the time. handled the van no probs, some would argue that it is to small to tow a very large van but in "only 6000k,s " we had no problems at all. When money (or george tatts) allow will get a mandrel bent exhaust system fitted then maybe chip it but thats down the track a bit. Brother in law has one and all it does is tow Vans ( for a living ).
Cheers Warren
AnswerID: 467275

Follow Up By: Warren B - Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 20:49

Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 20:49
Forgot to add mine is a Manual
FollowupID: 741394

Follow Up By: Nickywoop - Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 21:58

Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 21:58
Howdy Warren,

I have 3 mates with D-maxes as well, like us all ex. Toyota blokes, and nothing against Toyo's, but very happy with our purchases.
Hey, Do you really reckon they need the upgrades your talking about?

lIt's like buying a "B" Double" to shift a bag of spuds, when your happy the job the D-max is doing at present. Just my tight arse thoughts!!

Cheers Nick
FollowupID: 741402

Follow Up By: shylok - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 09:21

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 09:21
Hello Nick
I am looking for an auto as I have got lazy
The missis is worried about the comfort on long travels as the test drive I had, the ride was a bit rough but I suppose with a load it would not be as rough?
Ken
FollowupID: 741416

Follow Up By: Warren B - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:30

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:30
Hi Nick, the Max does EVERY thing i ask of it with ease so i guess the chip and exhaust are not really required. However a mandrill bent exhaust will be the first ( peformance) thing i will add. D-max will not honor warranty with a chip fitted and i are yet to be convinced of their worth and besides you are right they are very pricey.
one item I will fit is the relay that allows low range in 2wd ( handy hey ) apparently D max is the only 4wd it can be done to.

Cheers Warren
FollowupID: 741486

Reply By: Isuzumu - Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 20:26

Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 20:26
Love our two Isuzu's to death now waiting for this 2012 model to replace one of the MU'sSite Link
AnswerID: 467283

Reply By: Member -Paintar - Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 22:36

Monday, Oct 10, 2011 at 22:36
Best thing i done was bourght the Isuzu DMax for towing my van, all up weight gust under 5 ton all up and i get min 6 km/l or 16.6 l/100, and i drive hard .

Image Could Not Be FoundHi shylok
AnswerID: 467303

Reply By: Wayne&Gaby - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 09:42

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 09:42
Hi Shylok,

We have an 09 auto LSU, towing a van about 2 ton loaded, very happy. We have replaced the leaf spring, shockies (EFS), 2inch lift and fitted air bags (Air Bag Man, Firestone) to level the load. Do not use weight distribution bars, if you read the instructions thoroughly it will tell you not to use in 'drive ways', every servo in Australia, do not go over 'speed humps', every caravan park in Australia, so do your homework first. We have noticed just about every vehicle using them still appears to be sagging in the rear. If you decide to buy a canopy, have a good look at the EGR brand, we are rapt with ours, very strong, we have the 150kg rated racks (tinnie). Also fitted a Safari Snorkel but have noticed no difference to the fuel economy. Best economy around town empty, 7-7.5 lts to the 100klm, towing best was 11.1 to the 100, worst was 16.5 to the 100 (hilly country).
Good Luck.
AnswerID: 467311

Follow Up By: Warren B - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:41

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:41
Hi wayne, I am interested in the air bags you have, we have a crusader van that is tow ball heavy and probably comes in at over 2800kgs when on the road. but to be fair to it that was our 1st trip. so we have some sorting to do. But I do find the weight dristribution bars a" pain in the arse" to use. My previous response to this thread tells me we have almost the same set up.

Cheers Warren
FollowupID: 741488

Follow Up By: Wayne&Gaby - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 11:47

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 11:47
Hi Warren,

Just Google Air Bag Man, that is the brand we went with, Firestone air bags are the only one's to use from my research and word of mouth, good luck.

FollowupID: 741545

Reply By: Wayne&Gaby - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 10:00

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 10:00
Hi Shylok, you may be interested in thread Id 86441.

Eg

"General Operating Instructions for the use of Load Levelling Devices

• Disengage the Spring Bars of the Load Leveller / Weight Distribution system when
driving or reversing into and out of driveways.
• The Load Leveller / Weight Distribution system must be disengaged (the spring/torsion
bars must be released) when –
o Negotiating rough, uneven terrain
o Entering or exiting
?? driveways,
?? short steep gutters,
?? access ramps,
?? speed humps and dips
o negotiating tight, acute turns at low speeds, such as when reversing or
manoeuvring; or
o when travelling up/down abrupt steep inclines
?? i.e. severe, undulating road surfaces, creek crossings etc
• Drivers must proceed with caution when negotiating corrugated roads and approach
inclines slowly whilst the Load Leveller / Weight Distribution system is in use.
o Disengagement of the torsion / spring bars may be necessary to prevent undue
load and stress on the frame / towing coupling and/or hitch assembly.
The above is a general summary of various manufacturers Operating Instructions for the use of Load Levelling Devices. Refer to the manufacturer of your load levelling device/s and/or towing equipment for specific details."

Note the reference to undulating road surfaces. This would cover most country roads.

Best of luck???

AnswerID: 467316

Reply By: Thinkin - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 12:27

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 12:27
hello Ken,
Holden colarado would do the same as what all the other replies you have got on this subject.
Holden colorado is just a re badged izusu with a different grill.

Also don't forget a cab chassis dual cab has a longer wheelbase than a well bodied ute but no automatic, if this is of any interest.
Alpero
AnswerID: 467329

Follow Up By: shylok - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 12:32

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 12:32
many thanks Alpero
Have looked at them also but need auto
Ken
FollowupID: 741426

Follow Up By: Warren B - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:17

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 19:17
Hi Alpero, I know that this is gunna start a bun fight sorry. the colarado and izusu motors & g/boxes, get them side by side and strip them down together I think you will find diferences not only with parts but also in the metal composition.

My mate has one he works the hell out of it and it never complains nor has it let him down. Colarado / Izusu almost 6 of one half a dozen of the other.
FollowupID: 741485

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:02

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:02
The Isuzu has a four valve head and the Holden has a two valve head, can check this out in Red Book, Isuzu where not going to give GM the best now where they.
The 2012 models have same bodies but totally different motors and drive trains.
FollowupID: 741491

Follow Up By: malglo - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:25

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:25
"The Isuzu has a four valve head and the Holden has a two valve head, can check this out in Red Book"

If you are refering to Isuzu D-max and Holden Colorado, Redbook is WRONG, this has been done to death on several forums including this one. Holden Rodeo RA07 also has the same 4JJ1 diesel engine, twin OHC with 4 valves per cyl.

mal
FollowupID: 741494

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:31

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:31
Local Holden dealer also confirmed this to me and he owns a Colorado
FollowupID: 741496

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:42

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:42
Local Holden dealer also confirmed this to me and he owns a Colorado
FollowupID: 741500

Follow Up By: Thinkin - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 21:45

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 21:45
hello Bruce,

Checked Red Book, Holden Rodeo 2007 to Holden Colarado 2011 and Isuzu Dmax 4x4 all have same engine code4JJI-TC, double overhead cam and all have 4 valve per cylinder, same capacity 2999cc.

All have same dimensions eg: track, wheelbase,weights, wheel tyre size, engine power, torque.

Manufacturer transmission ratios all the same, diff ratios all the same. 4 wheel drive selection the same. Fuel tank capacity same for both. Suspension dimension same , eg front wishbones rear spring lengths. The manufacturers seem to mention something about "improved ride over previous models whenever they update current models , so spring set ups could differ. eg: number of leaves, thickness of leafs, torsion bar composition.

The after market suspension specalists all list the same suspension parts to fit both holden rodeo2007- colarado 2011 and isuzu Dmax.
I am no metallergist to say anything about metal composition, that answer can best be given by the designers and the engineers on the specifics.

(Bit like the mazda bt-50 and just superceded ford ranger, mainly frontal cosmetic difference.)

Not saying one is better than the other, they will both do the job Ken is after.

Alpero
FollowupID: 741508

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 20:23

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 20:23
Alpero, I suggest you go take the tappet cover off a Colorado.
FollowupID: 741604

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:52

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 16:52
A couple of old threads that may help

Rodeo Towing Issues

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 467353

Follow Up By: shylok - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:07

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:07
many thanks for all your replies and the d max is looking good
Ken
FollowupID: 741492

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:16

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2011 at 20:16
That's a good read Tony and I wish I had read it then. I believe if every one who tows with a TD had a EGT (exhaust gas temperature) gauge fitted would be changing down a gear much sooner than before they have one. I drive by mine, especially when towing, best money I have spent on the MU. I am safe to 750 deg C but do not like seeing anything over 600 deg C, my probe is in the manifold.
FollowupID: 741493

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 17:17

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2011 at 17:17
Bruce - I have fitted a Scan Guage - Worth its weight in gold - I can see my water temperature, intake temperature, manifold pressure etc etc.

Scan Guage 11

You can also check Fault codes and reset the engine check light if you go into limp mode.

I do have issues towing the boat up the hills here in the Hot Weather

Regards Tony
FollowupID: 741587