Submitted: Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 20:25
Member - Brian P (SA)
Wow my first Explor Oz gathering. We have been
home for 3 hours and Sharron and I are talking about the next one. Dave and Nora where wonderful hosts and there knowledge of the local area and its history they freely shared with all. Thank you Dave and all your helpers for we have come away with many wonderful memories that we will cherish for a long time to come. Also thanks Sir Kev for letting me buy all those raffle tickets. Brian.
Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 20:48
Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 20:48
we will 2nd that Brian as far as Dave's turnout goes.so much to see in so little time but we did see heaps and Dave seemed to fit a lot in in that short time.
3 cheers for Dave & Nora :-))
Reply By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 21:53
Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 21:53
Thank you Dave & Nora, it was a great gathering.
A secial thanks must also go to Ken B (Qld) who put on a sausage sizzle for everyone.
Happy hour around 4.00pm and then an evening around the fire brought members together. We must not forget Sir Kev who did a wonderful job extracting money from us every day for the nightly raffles.
Congratulations to everyone!
Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 11:04
Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 11:04
Great photos there Mrs Navigator. I reckon your camera would have been hot to touch by the end of each day.The
Quandong Icecream in the cafe was scrumptous.Thanks for sharing. Cheers,Bob (The good looking bloke on the left in the cafe)
Reply By: Dust-Devil - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 22:55
Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 22:55
Nat Gathering Attendees
Sounds like a great time had by all - good to hear and see.
Someone - Dave B I think - mentioned somewhere that there had been gale force winds and dust storms whilst you were all there and I was wondering how all the Rigs and Vehicles handled same.
Also apparent that a 'swag' of touring, sight seeing etc etc was done all around
Broken Hill,
Silverton and surrounds, so how did everyone's pride and joy perform/behave. Or should I say, how did all the '4WD Pilots' skills hold up on any given day.
DD
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 23:18
Saturday, Sep 24, 2011 at 23:18
Gday DD
Read 89147 for some of the gossip.
Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 00:32
Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 00:32
Muz
Just had a look at 89147 and the wind thing was confirmed. 100MPH on that
dam wall would have been exciting.
As for the Rigs and drivers etc I would have thought someone would have developed the required intestinal fortitude by now, to give a blow by blow description of the 'Pyrenees Pirate's' adventure.
But then again as you
well know, you can only lead the horse/s to the water, however no amount of nudging/flogging will make them drink it.
See you at Glen Patrick as long as Bug-a-lugs gets himself sorted out.
DD
Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 10:57
Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 10:57
DD. It was up to 100KPH but was still pretty hairy,especially trying to take photos.Cheers,Bob
Reply By: Member - Nolo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 08:46
Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 08:46
Had a great week thanks Dave for all your efforts. The locality was fascinating and the program was always interesting. Plenty of sponsors with local discounts and raffle prizes. I even scored a prize, a jar of tomato relish – mmm tasty.
Loved the 4WD day thanks Bonz, and the earlier trip to Camerons Corner and area, thanks Wim.
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
Overall a great gathering of friendly and interesting people. That’s got to be good for you.
Follow Up By: Member - Jdub - Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 21:11
Sunday, Sep 25, 2011 at 21:11
Yes, a great event, thank you Dave & Nora you organised plenty to do everyday with raffle prizes to enjoy.
G,Day Wim, we pulled out Thurs am ,called to visit but you had already left. We still cannot get up early.
John & Suzette
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 16:06
Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 16:06
Brian,
I have just rolled in to
Chinchilla :)
Earlier than I wanted but SWMBO had spoken hehehe
We stayed 2 nights at Trilby Station and the kids loved it so we are heading back there again as 2 nights was not enough time to
check the whole station out.
Don't wanna buy a RAFFLE TICKET do you???? hehehehe
Looking forward to the one next year, hopefully it will be in Beechworth in Oct/Nov :)
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Brian P (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 19:09
Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 19:09
Kev you turn up at Beechworth with your raffle book and ill buy then. I'm glad you and the family had a good time at the station stay. All going
well we will see you all in Beechworth 2012. Brian.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 19:16
Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 19:16
Brian,
Do I prewrite a book of tickets for you or should I put Sharron's name down LOL
I will suss out holidays for next year as I have a 2 week trip in July Holidays already booked so will see if I can squeeze another 4 weeks off later in the year as
well :)
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Brian P (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 19:06
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 19:06
"Prewrite me a book" will you. Only "a" book. Are you going a bit easy on me now. Brian
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 19:11
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 19:11
Tickets are now only $5.00 each ..... have to allow for inflation hehehehe
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Member - henpecked - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 21:21
Tuesday, Sep 27, 2011 at 21:21
Brian, you are thanking Kev for LETTING you buy raffle tickets? He forced me to buy and I didn't win a brass razoo....Still it was all for a good cause. Damn shame raffles are illegal in Vic.
Chris and I would also like to thank Dave & Nora for doing such a great job in organising & hosting the gathering. It is easy to see Dave loves his part of our great country....I'm certain Dave was always last to turn in of a night and first up in the morning.
Thanks again Dave and Nora and all those who attended and made it into a great event after such a windy/dusty start.
Ted
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 16:58
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 16:58
Ted,
I had better think of a new name for them then LOL
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Member - henpecked - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 17:48
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 17:48
G'Day Kev,
Well, Beechworth is, or was, Bushranger country. Don't see why you couldn't call them "Ned Kelly's"....
Ted
Follow Up By: Member - Brian P (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 18:16
Wednesday, Sep 28, 2011 at 18:16
Maybe Kev could pre sell them before he crosses the border into
Victoria. Just an idea. Brian