Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 20:45
Member - The Crow (QLD)
Hi anyone been on the
great central road lately? From WA to Alice. If so what condition was it in? I know roads can change daily but I am thinking of doing a trip across it with my van. I also know I will get some flack for even suggesting this but after seeing what the Kedron boys have done in their vans I am thinking of the adventure and will be
well prepared. Have 9 or 10 mths to work on it.
| 200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The CrowLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 21:03
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 21:03
G'day mate, if it's 9 or 10 months before your trip then there's no point me telling you the condition of the rd now, because it will change, a lot.
W e have caravans across here all the time, it's easy enough, you just need the old saying, drive to the conditions.
Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 21:22
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 21:22
only about nine days away for us, any of this rain getting up that way ?????
Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 21:34
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 21:34
No mate, no rain here ( yet anyway) And hopefully the
grader well be
well on the way from
Laverton.
Still some heavy corrugations in
places, but mostly good.
See ya in nine days mate
Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 22:38
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2011 at 22:38
Hi The Crow
Like any of the long inland dirt roads, there will always be corrugations, and long distances of corrugations will harm even the toughest rig eventually. It is a nice drive through some lovely country (you can see My
Blogs 2008). A better alternative is the
Gary Junction Road - even more scenic country and usually in better condition. A lot less traffic too, hence less corrugations (My
Blogs 2009).
Reply By: Member - Stevo_62 - Thursday, Sep 22, 2011 at 17:18
Thursday, Sep 22, 2011 at 17:18
Just arrived in Kalgoorlie today from
Boulia . The WA section is fairly good with a few corrugated sections . I'm in dual cab Rodeo so not sure how van would handle it , did see one trailer in trouble about 50 km west of The Olgas . On the good sections 100 km/h was comfortable but I slowed down to 60-70 km/h on some of the worse stretches .The corrugations on the
Boulia to Alice section were worse .
Wildflowers were amazing all the way .
Also make sure you plan an
overnight camp at Tjukayirla , great burgers and great friendly service . Thanks heaps Al & Serena .
Also dont fuel up at
Curtin Springs , $0.30 per litre more than
Yulara