Free camping on Stuart why to 3ways

G'day all, we are currently in Peterborough in SA and are about to turn right up the centre and then head over to the east coast at spoke stage. We are keen to free camp and would love some feedback from others who have done this trip. We will be back in mlb by Xmas so any ideas would be great.

Having a ball at the moment but bloody freezing - hence why we are going north not west.

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 01:19

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 01:19
The country is pretty open all the way and there are no fences. You can pull off where you like. If you are looking for rest areas with dunnies then get yourself a copy of Camps Australia Wide, it has them all. It's probably too late to get it posted by the ExplorOz shop, however you can get it from camping shops, newsagents and book shops, possibly even service stations where they sell magazines.

AnswerID: 464401

Reply By: Marksom - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 07:53

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 07:53
Hey Wandy, Mark from Ballina, recently done central oz, check out Lake Hart, Cadney Homestead Park...not free but excellent, Devils Marbles..small Nat Park fee, Avon Downs on the Barley..perfect. Heaps provided in the NT mainly...do get camp Australia..6 with photos is excellent and worth it. Enjoy, just a beautiful part of the world. ps We stayed at Peterborough in July, heard its been renamed Pluracy Plains Caravan Park, omg it was a shocker climate.
AnswerID: 464407

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 14:20

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2011 at 14:20
Wandy,

Travelled the Stuart H'way between Plenty turnoff, and Erldunda a few weeks ago, and noticed a few places in that stretch. Big fires south of Alice, so much of the roadside is burnt, making camping a little easier, if maybe a little sooty. Think there was a camping spot near Henbury, also with toilets. Quite a number of nomads there too.

Saw people camped at Tropic of Capricorn parking bay(toilets too), and there were a few spots between there & Alice too. If you weren't too fussy, you might find a spot at the Plenty Turn-off too.

On the Barkly H'way, there's camping possible at many of the large repeater towers stretched across that way. There's a big parking/camping spot on south of h'way east of 3-Ways, maybe in first 30 or 40 km. Then the old Frewena Roadhouse site, about 130 km east, Wonarah stop(phone coverage at night here) about 40 km past Barkly Homestead and Soudan Bore rest stop, about 40 kms past Wonarah. It is just before you get out onto the open downs country, past Soudan Station & Rankine River.

There is the odd spot after Soudan, around the Barkly Stockroute turn off, that would be suitable at a pinch, but you might have to share some of them with a road train or two.Avon Downs is good, with a dunny, but I suspect that it would be very noisy some nights, with road trains coming through there, at 90 plus clicks.

Not much from there to Camooweal, as h'way is all fenced.Camooweal has camping on the Georgina, and think you can camp at the Caves, south of town. Worth a look!!!

From Camooweal to Isa, there is a spot at Gregory/Burketown turnoff, one just past Yelvertoft Station, and another 50 kms from Isa. This latter one is also a WWII history site, & has toilets. There's also one spot 40 km from the Isa, but it always looks very dusty to me. There numerous places where the old highway is accessible, alongside the new bitumen, so it would depend how many reds you'd had, as to whether this would be a restful spot.

You could also camp near Spring Ck, about 25 km from Isa, and there's 2 parking/inspection bays, between Hilton Mine & the Isa, that would be suitable, unless the "scalies" were doing truck inspections.

Suppose you'll just have to draw straws, as to where you camp?

AnswerID: 464432